DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
New Examiner
This application has been transferred to a new examiner, Nicholas Piro of Art Unit 1738, who can be reached at 571-272-6344.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazono et al. (US 2015/0259216 A1, applicant submitted in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kitazono teaches a method of producing antimony trisulfide (abstract) comprising mixing antimony trioxide powder and sulfur power to provide a mixture and heating the mixture ([0011]), wherein the heating involves a maximum attainable temperature of 580 °C (the temperature inside the reaction vessel rapidly increased to about 580 °C; [0038]) and wherein the antimony trioxide powder preferably has an average particle diameter of 2 μm or less ([0016]), which lies within the claimed range of 8 μm or less.
Kitazono also teaches another reaction for making antimony trisulfide comprising mixing metal antimony powder and sulfur powder, and then heating the mixture. Kitazono also teaches that the metal antimony powder normally has an average particle diameter of 20 μm to 30 μm, and that while more expensive to produce, particles of 10 μm or less are more reactive ([0007]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.06, the combination of equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious in the absence of new and unexpected results. Here, Kitazono teaches that antimony metal is a composition that reacts with sulfur for the purpose of producing antimony trisulfide and that antimony trioxide is also a composition that reacts with sulfur powder for the purpose of producing antimony trisulfide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine antimony metal powder with an average particle diameter of 30 μm or less with antimony trioxide powder of 2 μm or less to form a mixed composition, and to combine this mixture with sulfur powder and to heat the mixture to produce antimony trisulfide, wherein the heating is performed to a maximum attainable temperature 580 °C, as taught by Kitazono. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kitazono teaches that each of antimony metal and antimony trioxide as capable of forming the desired product under these conditions and “the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06(I).
It is additionally noted that Kitazono teaches that antimony metal powder may settle out and prevent complete reaction ([0014]), a clear disadvantage of using this reactant. However, Kitazono also teaches that the use of antimony trioxide will cause bubbles of sulfurous acid gas to form, which will serve to perturb the raw materials ([0015]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such bubbles would also disturb the antimony metal powder of the combined composition and thereby help to prevent settling and possibly remove the identified disadvantage associated with antimony metal powder.
Regarding claim 6, Kitazono teaches the method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach performing the method wherein the mixture has a total mass of 1 kg or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the reaction on whatever scale is required to produce a desired amount of product, including on the kilogram scale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to produce the desired amount of product in one step rather than many in order to reduce costs and time associated with multiple small scale reactions.
It is additionally noted that the courts have held that the "mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazono et al. (US 2015/0259216 A1, applicant submitted in IDS), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Dicks et al. (Green Chemistry Metrics: A Guide to Determining and Evaluating Process Greenness, Springer, 2015).
Regarding claim 2, Kitazono teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach any mass ratio MO:MM of the mixture.
However, Kitazono does teach that antimony metal powder may settle out and prevent complete reaction ([0014]), a clear disadvantage of using this reactant alone. Kitazono also teaches that the use of antimony trioxide will cause bubbles of sulfurous acid gas to form, which will serve to perturb the raw materials ([0015]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such bubbles would also disturb the antimony metal powder of the combined composition and thereby help to prevent settling and possibly remove the disadvantage associated with antimony metal powder.
Additionally, Dicks teaches that one goal for chemists from a “greenness” perspective is to utilize reactions with high atom economy, i.e. those in which most of the mass of the reactants is incorporated into the desired product (p. 18, ¶ 1). Based upon the balanced reactions for the two methods to form antimony trisulfide taught by Kitazono,
,
it can be seen that the reaction using antimony metal has an atom economy of 100% where all atoms end up in the product with no byproducts. In comparison, the atom economy of the reaction using antimony trioxide is calculated to be only 78%, due to the production of SO2, a toxic gas, as a byproduct.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the mass ratio of the amount of antimony trioxide powder and antimony metal powder, including into the instantly claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to balance the benefits of using antimony metal powder, including the ability to produce products atom economically and without making a toxic gas, with the benefits of using antimony trioxide, including the ability to generate gas bubbles which agitate the reaction and thereby reduce the amount of unreacted starting materials.
It is also noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the method taught by the cited prior art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazono et al. (US 2015/0259216 A1, applicant submitted in IDS) in view of Dicks et al. (Green Chemistry Metrics: A Guide to Determining and Evaluating Process Greenness, Springer, 2015).
Regarding claim 7, Kitazono teaches a method of producing antimony trisulfide (abstract) comprising mixing antimony trioxide powder and sulfur power to provide a mixture and heating the mixture ([0011]), wherein the heating involves a maximum attainable temperature of 580 °C (the temperature inside the reaction vessel rapidly increased to about 580 °C; [0038]) and wherein the antimony trioxide powder preferably has an average particle diameter of 2 μm or less ([0016]), which lies within the claimed range of 8 μm or less.
Kitazono also teaches another reaction for making antimony trisulfide comprising mixing metal antimony powder and sulfur powder, and then heating the mixture. Kitazono also teaches that the metal antimony powder normally has an average particle diameter of 20 μm to 30 μm, and that while more expensive to produce, particles of 10 μm or less are more reactive ([0007]). Each of these sizes falls within the claimed range of 120 μm or less.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.06, the combination of equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious in the absence of new and unexpected results. Here, Kitazono teaches that antimony metal is a composition that reacts with sulfur for the purpose of producing antimony trisulfide and that antimony trioxide is also a composition that reacts with sulfur powder for the purpose of producing antimony trisulfide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine antimony metal powder with an average particle diameter of 30 μm or less with antimony trioxide powder of 2 μm or less to form a mixed composition, and to combine this mixture with sulfur powder and to heat the mixture to produce antimony trisulfide, wherein the heating is performed to a maximum attainable temperature 580 °C, as taught by Kitazono. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kitazono teaches each of antimony metal and antimony trioxide as capable of forming the desired product under these conditions and “the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06(I).
Kitazono further teaches that antimony metal powder may settle out and prevent complete reaction ([0014]), a clear disadvantage of using this reactant alone. Kitazono also teaches that the use of antimony trioxide will cause bubbles of sulfurous acid gas to form, which will serve to perturb the raw materials ([0015]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such bubbles would also disturb the antimony metal powder of the combined composition and thereby help to prevent settling and possibly remove the disadvantage associated with antimony metal powder.
Regarding the mass ratio MO:MM of the mixture, Kitazono does not teach any mass ratio MO:MM of the mixture.
However, Dicks teaches that one goal for chemists from a “greenness” perspective is to utilize reactions with high atom economy, i.e. those in which most of the mass of the reactants is incorporated into the desired product (p. 18, ¶ 1). Based upon the balanced reactions for the two methods to form antimony trisulfide taught by Kitazono,
,
it can be seen that the reaction using antimony metal has an atom economy of 100% where all atoms end up in the product with no byproducts. In comparison, the atom economy of the reaction using antimony trioxide is calculated to be only 78%, due to the production of SO2, a toxic gas, as a byproduct.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the relative amounts of antimony trioxide powder and antimony metal powder, including into the instantly claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to balance the benefits of using antimony metal powder, including the ability to produce products atom economically and without making a toxic gas, with the benefits of using antimony trioxide, including the ability to generate gas bubbles which agitate the reaction and thereby reduce the amount of unreacted starting materials, as taught by Kitazono.
It is also noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the method taught by the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, Applicant argues on page 5 that Kitazono teaches away from the use of antimony metal because Kitazono teaches that unreacted antimony metal settles to the bottom of the reaction vessel. However, Kitazono also teaches that the use of antimony trioxide will cause bubbles of sulfurous acid gas to form, which will serve to perturb the raw materials ([0015]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such bubbles would also disturb the antimony metal powder of the combined composition and thereby help to prevent settling and possibly remove the disadvantage associated with antimony metal powder. So, while Kitazono may teach away from using antimony powder alone, Kitazono cannot be considered as teaching away from the combination of antimony metal and antimony trioxide.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735