DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are currently under examination. Claim 2 is amended. Claim 7 is newly added.
Previous Grounds of Rejection
In the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, with respect to claim 2 is withdrawn.
The rejection under35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitazono et al. (US 2015/0259216 A1, applicant submitted in IDS) with respect to claims 1 and 3-5 is withdrawn because applicant’s Argument/Remarks filed on 10/22/2025 is persuasive.
New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase of “…a ratio (Mo: Mm)… ” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it is based on a weight ratio or a molar ratio. For purpose of the examination, a ratio of Mo: Mm is interpreted as a molar ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazono et al. (US 2015/0259216 A1, applicant submitted in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kitazono et al. teach a method of making antimony trisulfide ([0010]-[0040], FIG. 6 and 7, Table 1) via a reaction of antimony trioxide power and sulfur power and heating the mixture at 580 0C in a vessel as shown in the reaction formula below (FIG.7, [0015]):
Another reaction for making Sb2S3, a metal antimony powder reacts sulfur powder, and then heating the mixture at 580 0C in in the vessel as shown in the reaction formula below (FIG.6, [0014]):
As set forth in MPEP 2144,06, the combination of equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious in the absence of new and unexpected results. Here, Kitazono et al. teach that Sb metal is a composition reacting with S for the purpose of producing Sb2S3. Kitazono et al. also teach that Sb2O3 is a composition reacting with S for the purpose of producing Sb2S3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to perform a process for preparing Sb2S3 as taught by Kitazono et. al. where Sb and Sb2O3 are combined to react with S to produce Sb2S3 since they are compositions known for this purpose absent evidence of new and unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, as we see above the reaction formula, a molar ratio of Mo: Mm is 2 as the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, the reaction temperature taught by Kitazono et al. is at 580 0C which is encompassed by the instant claimed ranges ([0038]).
Regarding claim 4, the particle size of antimony metal powder taught by Kitazono et al. is <10 micrometer as the instant claim ([0007]).
Regarding claim 5, the particle size of antimony trioxide powder taught by Kitazono et al. is <2 micrometer as the instant claim ([0016]).
Regarding claim 6, although Kitazono et al. do not specifically disclose a total mass of 1 Kg or more of the mixture as per applicant claim 6, Kitazono et al. teach all of the claimed reagents including metal antimony powder, antimony trioxide powder, and sulfur powder, and method of making antimony trisulfide, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed would expect to scaleup the raw material mixture to 1 Kg or more through routine experimentation in the art, in an effort to reduce the cost of antimony trisulfide product.
Regarding claim 7, Kitazono et al. teach a method of making antimony trisulfide ([0010]-[0040], FIG. 6 and 7, Table 1) via a reaction of antimony trioxide power and sulfur power and heating the mixture at 580 0C in a vessel as shown in the reaction formula below (FIG.7, [0015]):
Another reaction for making Sb2S3, a metal antimony powder reacts sulfur powder, and then heating the mixture at 580 0C in in the vessel as shown in the reaction formula below (FIG.6, [0014]):
As set forth in MPEP 2144,06, the combination of equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious in the absence of new and unexpected results. Here, Kitazono et al. teach that Sb metal is a composition reacting with S for the purpose of producing Sb2S3. Kitazono et al. also teach that Sb2O3 is a composition reacting with S for the purpose of producing Sb2S3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to perform a process for preparing Sb2S3 as taught by Kitazono et. al. where Sb and Sb2O3 are combined to react with S to produce Sb2S3 since they are compositions known for this purpose absent evidence of new and unexpected results.
As we see above the reaction formula, a molar ratio of Mo: Mm is 2 as the instant claim.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the previous Grounds of Rejection
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6 filed on 10/22/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738