DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/31/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “the cited portions [Paragraphs 0065 and 0073-0075] of SUN do not disclose ‘select, based at least in part on a traffic condition, a priority, or an energy profile of the UE, resources within the CG configuration,’ as recited in claim 1, as amended (emphasis added)..” Remarks at 10-11. Examiner respectively disagrees. First, Sun discloses “selecting resources within the CG configuration” is based on “admission control procedure” which relies on “admission probability” and “admission probability parameter” such as “admission threshold” and “admission probability index” (See Paragraphs 0065 and 0073-0075 of Sun and Remarks at 10-11 with emphasis on those terms). Sun clearly show that “admission probability” and “admission probability parameter are based on at least on a traffic condition (different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted, overload indicator) and a priority (priority level). See the rejection of claim 1 for details. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions [paragraph 0509] of TSAI do not disclose the features recited in amended claim 8”. Remarks at 12. Examiner disagrees. Tsai teaches, throughout its disclosure, the features of claim 8. For example, Sun discloses the indication (uplink control information (UCI)) indicates CG periods to use or skip within a maximum quantity of periods (Figs.22-27 and descriptions thereof; See, e.g. ‘Unused CGO Indication’ indicating period(s) that are used or skipped within CG periods 1-3), CG occasions to use or skip (Figs.20-27, 30-33 and descriptions thereof; See, e.g., ‘Unused CGO Indication’ indicating ‘Unused CGO’). This argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-12, 15-20, 22-25, 27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 20210400695 A1, hereafter Sun).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs.1-4, UE 120), comprising: one or more memories (Fig.2, Memory 282); and one or more processors (Fig.2, processors and controller/processor of UE 120; e.g., 252, 254, 256, 258, 260, 262, 264, 266, 280), based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, configured to ([0046] The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein (e.g., with reference to FIGS. 4-7). [0048] For example, the controller/processor 240 of the base station 110, the controller/processor 280 of the UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, process 600 of FIG. 6, process 700 of FIG. 7, and/or other processes as described herein. The memory 242 and the memory 282 may store data and program codes for the base station 110 and the UE 120, respectively.): receive configured grant (CG) group information ([0056], [0057], [0062], CG configuration information, [0072] configuration information) ([0056] As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 305, the base station may transmit a CG configuration to the UE. For example, the base station may transmit CG configuration information (e.g., radio resource configuration (RRC) information and/or downlink control information) that identifies a CG. In some aspects, the configuration information identifying the CG may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain), a periodicity associated with the resource allocation, and/or the like. The CG configuration information may identify a resource or set of resources in which the UE is to perform an uplink communication (e.g., data and/or control information). For example, the CG configuration information may identify a resource allocation for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the UE. In some aspects, the CG configuration information may identify a resource pool or multiple resource pools which may be available for the UE to perform an uplink transmission. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information (e.g., RRC information and/or downlink control information) that identifies the resource pool for CG uplink communications. The resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink communication by the UE 120. In some aspects, the base station 110 may configure the same resource pool for the UE 120 and one or more other UEs, such that the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs can be allocated resources from the configured resource pool for CG uplink communications.; See also [0057], [0062]) indicating groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools) ([0057] In some aspects, the CG configuration information received by the UE may be used to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE to transmit uplink communications. In this case, the CG configuration information may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) dedicated for the UE to use to transmit uplink communications. The CG configuration information may also be used to configure the resource allocation for the UE to occur periodically, such that the resource allocation corresponds to periodically occurring transmission time occasions.; [0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs.; See also [0058], [0059], [0060], [0061]); select, from the groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools), a group of CG configurations ([0062] a group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools, [0073] configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information to configure multiple resource pools) based at least in part on the CG group information (CG configuration information, configuration information) ([0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs. [0073] The resource pool may identify one or more uplink transmission occasions. For example, the resource pool may identify multiple uplink transmission occasions that occur periodically. An uplink transmission occasion may include multiple transmission resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) and multiple transmission times that may be allocated for the UE 120 to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the resource pool may identify PUSCH transmission occasions that include multiple PUSCH transmission resources that can be allocated for multiple transmission times. In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure multiple resource pools for CG uplink communications.; configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information and/or configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information are selected by receiving CG configuration information and/or configuration information.); select a CG configuration ([0062] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information, [0073] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per configuration information) from the group of CG configurations ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. In some aspects, the admission control procedure may include the UE selecting a random number (e.g., between 0 and 1), comparing the random number with an admission threshold, and determining whether the random number satisfies the admission threshold. If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. The admission probability parameter may be an admission probability threshold p or another parameter, such as an admission probability index pindex that is used to determine the admission probability threshold p. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the admission probability threshold p may be set as 0≤p≤1 and a random number q in the range 0≤q≤1 may satisfy the threshold (and allow admission to resource pool by the UE 120) if q≥p.; a CG configuration is selected by determining if the admission control procedure is successful per the contention-based CG configuration ([0065]) or by determining if the UE 120 can access the resource pool per the admission probability threshold p in the CG configuration ([0075])); select, based at least in part on a traffic condition (different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted, overload indicator), a priority (priority level), or an energy profile of the UE, resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) within the CG configuration ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0073] The resource pool may identify one or more uplink transmission occasions. The resource pool may identify one or more uplink transmission occasions. For example, the resource pool may identify multiple uplink transmission occasions that occur periodically. An uplink transmission occasion may include multiple transmission resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) and multiple transmission times that may be allocated for the UE 120 to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0096] Different UEs (e.g., the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs) may derive different modified admission probabilities from the same indicated admission probability parameter based at least in part on different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted by the different UEs. [0110] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 510, a UE may derive an admission probability from an indicated parameter (e.g., admission probability index and/or overall overload indicator) using a mapping associated with the indicated parameter. [0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level. ); and transmit a communication ([0065] uplink communication, [0074] [0075] CG uplink communication) using the resources ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 2, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) within the CG configuration ([0062] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information, [0073] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per configuration information) based at least in part on one or more selection parameters (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 3, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more selection parameters (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) comprise a probability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) of selection as a resource ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 4, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of the probability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) ([0065] The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool.).
Regarding claim 5, Sun further discloses:
wherein the probability is associated with a remaining packet delay budget ([0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level. ).
Regarding claim 6, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources (one or more resources from the resource poo) based at least in part on a downlink control information (DCI) format (format of DCI to monitor), a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), a search space (search space), or a field in DCI (bitfield identified by bitfield position, and/or bitfield length) ([0080] In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a group common physical downlink control channel (GC-PDCCH) for an indication that modifies the admission probability for the resource pool. For example, the configuration information may indicate a search space in which to monitor the GC-PDCCH and which downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), length, bitfield position, and/or bitfield length) to monitor in the search space. The configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor the same bit field in a GC-PDCCH communication as one or more other UEs, or may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a different bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication from one or more other UEs. Different resource pools configured for the UE 120 may be associated with the same bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication, or may be associated with different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication).
Regarding claim 7, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of the resources ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.; an indication of the resources is transmitted by transmitting a communication using the resource as recited in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an ordered list (bit field(s) in the GC-PDCCH communication) of resource owners (the same bit field or different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication associated with different resource pools), and wherein the one or more processors, to select the CG configuration and select the resources, are configured to select the CG configuration and select the resources based at least in part on the ordered list of resource owners ([0080] In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a group common physical downlink control channel (GC-PDCCH) for an indication that modifies the admission probability for the resource pool. For example, the configuration information may indicate a search space in which to monitor the GC-PDCCH and which downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), length, bitfield position, and/or bitfield length) to monitor in the search space. The configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor the same bit field in a GC-PDCCH communication as one or more other UEs, or may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a different bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication from one or more other UEs. Different resource pools configured for the UE 120 may be associated with the same bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication, or may be associated with different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication.; See also [0092]).
Regarding claim 12, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an updated ordered list (bit field(s)) of resource owners (the same bit field or different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication associated with different resource pools) ([0092] In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit the indication to a group of UEs, that includes the UE 120 and one or more other UEs, to perform group overloading control. The indication may be included in a GC-PDCCH communication transmitted by the base station 110 to the group of UEs including the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs. The indication may be included in a bit field of a GC-PDCCH communication that the UE 120 is configured to monitor. The UE 120 may monitor the same bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication as the one or more other UEs, or the UE 120 may monitor a different bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication from the one or more other UEs. Indications to dynamically modify the admission probabilities of different resource pools configured for the UE 120 may be included in the same bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication, or the UE 120 may be included in different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication.; See also [0080]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to select a subresource (a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) for one of the resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 16, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) based at least in part on a probability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) of selection for the resources ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.), and wherein the one or more processors, to select the subresource, are configured to select the subresource (a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) based at least in part on a subprobability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) per resource ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 17, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the subresource, are configured to select the subresource (a resource within one or more resources from the resource pool) based at least in part on a resource location parameter ([0056] e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain, a periodicity associated with the resource allocation for resource allocation, CG configuration information in downlink control information, [0072] configuration information in downlink control information, [0090] a limited time domain range of 10 slots for the modified admission probability associated with the resource pool selection, [0096] a quality of service (QoS) parameter, different QoS parameters, admission probability index Pindex, [0103] a pseudo-random number, a resource pool index for a CB, MCS parameter, [0111] priority, delay budget) ([0056] As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 305, the base station may transmit a CG configuration to the UE. For example, the base station may transmit CG configuration information (e.g., radio resource configuration (RRC) information and/or downlink control information) that identifies a CG. In some aspects, the configuration information identifying the CG may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain), a periodicity associated with the resource allocation, and/or the like. The CG configuration information may identify a resource or set of resources in which the UE is to perform an uplink communication (e.g., data and/or control information). For example, the CG configuration information may identify a resource allocation for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the UE. In some aspects, the CG configuration information may identify a resource pool or multiple resource pools which may be available for the UE to perform an uplink transmission. [0090] The indication may specify a time domain range during which the modified admission probability is associated with the resource pool. In some aspects, the indication may specify a persistent time domain range. In this case, the modified admission probability (e.g., modified admission probability thresholdp) is to be used by the UE 120 for admission control until another indication that modifies the admission probability for the resource pool is received by the UE 120. In some aspects, the indication may specify a limited time domain range for the modified admission probability. In this case, the modified admission probability is applied for a limited time duration from when the indication is received. The limited time domain range may be specified as an amount of time or an offset value from the indication. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the indication specifies a limited time domain range for the modified admission probability of 10 slots for the modified admission probability.).
Regarding claim 18, Sun further discloses:
wherein the resource location parameter ([0056] e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain, a periodicity associated with the resource allocation for resource allocation, CG configuration information in downlink control information, [0072] configuration information in downlink control information, [0090] a limited time domain range of 10 slots for the modified admission probability associated with the resource pool selection, [0096] a quality of service (QoS) parameter, different QoS parameters, admission probability index Pindex, [0103] a pseudo-random number, a resource pool index for a CB, MCS parameter, [0111] priority, delay budget) comprises one or more of a starting resource block (RB), a starting symbol, a quantity of RBs, or a quantity of symbols ([0090] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the indication specifies a limited time domain range for the modified admission probability of 10 slots for the modified admission probability.; a slot or 10 slots are a quantity of symbols).
Regarding claim 19, Sun further discloses:
wherein the resource location parameter ([0056] e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain, a periodicity associated with the resource allocation for resource allocation, CG configuration information in downlink control information, [0072] configuration information in downlink control information, [0090] a limited time domain range of 10 slots for the modified admission probability associated with the resource pool selection, [0096] a quality of service (QoS) parameter, different QoS parameters, admission probability index Pindex, [0103] a pseudo-random number, a resource pool index for a CB, MCS parameter, [0111] delay budget) comprises one or more of a priority ([0111] priority), a quality of service ([0096] a quality of service (QoS) parameter, different QoS parameters, admission probability index Pindex), a remaining packet delay budget ([0111] delay budget), a randomization identifier ([0103] a pseudo-random number), a CG index ([0096] admission probability index Pindex for a CG, [0103] a resource pool index for a CB), or a modulation and coding scheme ([0103] MCS parameter) ([0096] Additionally, and/or alternatively, the UE 120 may derive the modified admission probability (e.g., the modified admission probability thresholdp) based at least in part on the indicated admission probability parameter (e.g., the admission probability index Pindex) and a quality of service (QoS) parameter associated with the traffic to be transmitted by the UE 120 in the CG uplink communication. Different UEs (e.g., the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs) may derive different modified admission probabilities from the same indicated admission probability parameter based at least in part on different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted by the different UEs., [0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level. [0103] In some aspects, q may be randomly generated by the UE 120 from a uniform distribution in a target range (e.g., between 0 and 1). In some aspects, different distributions may be used for determining q in order to weight q to be higher or lower based at least in part on one or more UE-specific parameters, such as a traffic QoS parameter and/or UE priority. In some aspects, q may be a pseudo-random number generated as a function of one or more parameters including a parameter associated with the base station 110 (e.g., base station ID), a parameter associated with the UE 120 (e.g., UE ID), a time, a resource pool index, and/or an MCS parameter.).
Regarding claim 20, Sun further discloses:
wherein the resource location parameter ([0056] e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain, a periodicity associated with the resource allocation for resource allocation, CG configuration information in downlink control information, [0072] configuration information in downlink control information, [0090] a limited time domain range of 10 slots for the modified admission probability associated with the resource pool selection, [0096] a quality of service (QoS) parameter, different QoS parameters, admission probability index Pindex, [0103] a pseudo-random number, a resource pool index for a CB, MCS parameter, [0111] priority, delay budget) includes one or more of a downlink control information parameter ([0056] CG configuration information in downlink control information, [0072] configuration information in downlink control information), a Layer 1 or Layer 2 identifier, a frequency band, a bandwidth part index, a scrambling identifier, or a component carrier index ([0056] As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 305, the base station may transmit a CG configuration to the UE. For example, the base station may transmit CG configuration information (e.g., radio resource configuration (RRC) information and/or downlink control information) that identifies a CG. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information (e.g., RRC information and/or downlink control information) that identifies the resource pool for CG uplink communications.).
Regarding claim 22, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) based at least in part on a machine learning model ([0016] While aspects are described in the present disclosure by illustration to some examples, those skilled in the art will understand that such aspects may be implemented in many different arrangements and scenarios. Techniques described herein may be implemented using different platform types, devices, systems, shapes, sizes, and/or packaging arrangements. For example, some aspects may be implemented via integrated chip embodiments or other non-module-component based devices (e.g., end-user devices, vehicles, communication devices, computing devices, industrial equipment, retail/purchasing devices, medical devices, and/or artificial intelligence devices). Aspects may be implemented in chip-level components, modular components, non-modular components, non-chip-level components, device-level components, and/or system-level components.) and one or more of a remaining packet delay budget ([0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level. ) or a transport block size ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 23, Sun further discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Figs.1-4, Base Station 110), comprising: one or more memories (Fig.2, Memory 242); and one or more processors (Fig.2, processors and controller/processor of BS 110; e.g., 212, 220, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 239, 240, 244, 246), based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, configured to ([0047] The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) and the memory 242 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein (e.g., with reference to FIGS. 4-7). [0048] For example, the controller/processor 240 of the base station 110, the controller/processor 280 of the UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, process 600 of FIG. 6, process 700 of FIG. 7, and/or other processes as described herein. The memory 242 and the memory 282 may store data and program codes for the base station 110 and the UE 120, respectively.): generate configured grant (CG) group information ([0056] , [0057], [0062], CG configuration information, [0072] configuration information) ([0056] As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 305, the base station may transmit a CG configuration to the UE. For example, the base station may transmit CG configuration information (e.g., radio resource configuration (RRC) information and/or downlink control information) that identifies a CG. In some aspects, the configuration information identifying the CG may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain), a periodicity associated with the resource allocation, and/or the like. The CG configuration information may identify a resource or set of resources in which the UE is to perform an uplink communication (e.g., data and/or control information). For example, the CG configuration information may identify a resource allocation for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the UE. In some aspects, the CG configuration information may identify a resource pool or multiple resource pools which may be available for the UE to perform an uplink transmission. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information (e.g., RRC information and/or downlink control information) that identifies the resource pool for CG uplink communications. The resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink communication by the UE 120. In some aspects, the base station 110 may configure the same resource pool for the UE 120 and one or more other UEs, such that the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs can be allocated resources from the configured resource pool for CG uplink communications.; See also [0057], [0062]) indicating groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools) ([0057] In some aspects, the CG configuration information received by the UE may be used to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE to transmit uplink communications. In this case, the CG configuration information may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) dedicated for the UE to use to transmit uplink communications. The CG configuration information may also be used to configure the resource allocation for the UE to occur periodically, such that the resource allocation corresponds to periodically occurring transmission time occasions.; [0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs.; See also [0058], [0059], [0060], [0061]), wherein the CG group information is used for selecting a group of CGs ([0062] a group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools, [0073] configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information to configure multiple resource pools) ([0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs. [0073] The resource pool may identify one or more uplink transmission occasions. For example, the resource pool may identify multiple uplink transmission occasions that occur periodically. An uplink transmission occasion may include multiple transmission resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) and multiple transmission times that may be allocated for the UE 120 to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the resource pool may identify PUSCH transmission occasions that include multiple PUSCH transmission resources that can be allocated for multiple transmission times. In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure multiple resource pools for CG uplink communications.; configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information and/or configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information are selected by receiving CG configuration information and/or configuration information.) from the groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools), a CG configuration ([0062] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information, [0073] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per configuration information) ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. In some aspects, the admission control procedure may include the UE selecting a random number (e.g., between 0 and 1), comparing the random number with an admission threshold, and determining whether the random number satisfies the admission threshold. If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. The admission probability parameter may be an admission probability threshold p or another parameter, such as an admission probability index pindex that is used to determine the admission probability threshold p. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the admission probability threshold p may be set as 0≤p≤1 and a random number q in the range 0≤q≤1 may satisfy the threshold (and allow admission to resource pool by the UE 120) if q≥p.; a CG configuration is selected by determining if the admission control procedure is successful per the contention-based CG configuration ([0065]) or by determining if the UE 120 can access the resource pool per the admission probability threshold p in the CG configuration ([0075])), and resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) within the CG configuration ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0096] Different UEs (e.g., the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs) may derive different modified admission probabilities from the same indicated admission probability parameter based at least in part on different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted by the different UEs. [0110] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 510, a UE may derive an admission probability from an indicated parameter (e.g., admission probability index and/or overall overload indicator) using a mapping associated with the indicated parameter. [0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level.), the resource within the CG configuration selected based at least in part on, based at least in part on a traffic condition (different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted, overload indicator), a priority (priority level), or an energy profile; and transmit the CG group information ([0056] CG configuration information, [0072] configuration information) (See [0056] [0072]).
Regarding claim 24, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of a probability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) of selection of resources ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 25, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of the resources selected from within the CG configuration ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.; an indication of the resources is received by receiving uplink communication ([0065]) and/or CG uplink communication ([0074] [0075]) on the resources within the CG configuration selected as in claim 23).
Regarding claim 27, Sun further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an ordered list (bit field(s) in the GC-PDCCH communication) of resource owners (the same bit field or different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication associated with different resource pools) ([0080] In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a group common physical downlink control channel (GC-PDCCH) for an indication that modifies the admission probability for the resource pool. For example, the configuration information may indicate a search space in which to monitor the GC-PDCCH and which downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), length, bitfield position, and/or bitfield length) to monitor in the search space. The configuration information may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor the same bit field in a GC-PDCCH communication as one or more other UEs, or may be used to configure the UE 120 to monitor a different bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication from one or more other UEs. Different resource pools configured for the UE 120 may be associated with the same bit field in the GC-PDCCH communication, or may be associated with different bit fields in the GC-PDCCH communication.; See also [0092]).
Regarding claim 29, Sun further discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Figs.1-4, UE 120), comprising: receiving configured grant (CG) group information ([0056], [0057], [0062], CG configuration information, [0072] configuration information) ([0056] As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 305, the base station may transmit a CG configuration to the UE. For example, the base station may transmit CG configuration information (e.g., radio resource configuration (RRC) information and/or downlink control information) that identifies a CG. In some aspects, the configuration information identifying the CG may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain), a periodicity associated with the resource allocation, and/or the like. The CG configuration information may identify a resource or set of resources in which the UE is to perform an uplink communication (e.g., data and/or control information). For example, the CG configuration information may identify a resource allocation for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the UE. In some aspects, the CG configuration information may identify a resource pool or multiple resource pools which may be available for the UE to perform an uplink transmission. [0072] As shown by reference number 405, the base station 110 transmits, to the UE 120, a configuration of a resource pool for CG uplink communications. For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information (e.g., RRC information and/or downlink control information) that identifies the resource pool for CG uplink communications. The resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink communication by the UE 120. In some aspects, the base station 110 may configure the same resource pool for the UE 120 and one or more other UEs, such that the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs can be allocated resources from the configured resource pool for CG uplink communications.; See also [0057], [0062]) indicating groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools) ([0057] In some aspects, the CG configuration information received by the UE may be used to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE to transmit uplink communications. In this case, the CG configuration information may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) dedicated for the UE to use to transmit uplink communications. The CG configuration information may also be used to configure the resource allocation for the UE to occur periodically, such that the resource allocation corresponds to periodically occurring transmission time occasions.; [0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs.; See also [0058], [0059], [0060], [0061]); selecting, from the groups of CG configurations (a group of configurations, such as a configuration about periodicity, and configuration(s) about time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain resource allocation, to configure a contention-free CG with resources dedicated for the UE; another group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools), a group of CG configurations ([0062] a group of configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information to configure a contention-based CG with resource pools, [0073] configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information to configure multiple resource pools) based at least in part on the CG group information (CG configuration information, configuration information) ([0062] As shown in FIG. 3, the CG configuration information received by the UE may configure a contention-based CG with resource pools that are available for multiple UEs to use to transmit uplink communications. The contention-based CG configuration uses statistical multiplexing to share the resource pools among multiple UEs. A resource pool includes multiple resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated for uplink transmissions by the UE. For example, an x-axis of a resource pool may indicate transmission times and the y-axis of the resource pool may indicate resources (e.g., frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) that can be allocated at each transmission time. In some aspects, the same resource pools may be configured for multiple UEs. [0073] The resource pool may identify one or more uplink transmission occasions. For example, the resource pool may identify multiple uplink transmission occasions that occur periodically. An uplink transmission occasion may include multiple transmission resources (e.g., time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, and/or code domain) and multiple transmission times that may be allocated for the UE 120 to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the resource pool may identify PUSCH transmission occasions that include multiple PUSCH transmission resources that can be allocated for multiple transmission times. In some aspects, the configuration information may be used to configure multiple resource pools for CG uplink communications.; configurations of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information and/or configurations of multiple resource pools per configuration information are selected by receiving CG configuration information and/or configuration information.); selecting a CG configuration ([0062] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information, [0073] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per configuration information) from the group of CG configurations ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. In some aspects, the admission control procedure may include the UE selecting a random number (e.g., between 0 and 1), comparing the random number with an admission threshold, and determining whether the random number satisfies the admission threshold. If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. The admission probability parameter may be an admission probability threshold p or another parameter, such as an admission probability index pindex that is used to determine the admission probability threshold p. [0075] In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of the admission probability threshold p in order to directly set the admission probability threshold p for the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. For example, the admission probability threshold p may be set as 0≤p≤1 and a random number q in the range 0≤q≤1 may satisfy the threshold (and allow admission to resource pool by the UE 120) if q≥p.; a CG configuration is selected by determining if the admission control procedure is successful per the contention-based CG configuration ([0065]) or by determining if the UE 120 can access the resource pool per the admission probability threshold p in the CG configuration ([0075])); selecting, based at least in part on a traffic condition (different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted, overload indicator), a priority (priority level), or an energy profile of the UE, resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) within the CG configuration ([0065] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 315, for the contention-based CG configuration, when the UE has uplink data to be transmitted, the UE performs an admission control procedure and selects one or more resources from the resource pool if the admission control procedure is successful. ... If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. The admission threshold for admission control may be set by the base station in the CG configuration, may be set in a standard, and/or may be stored by the base station. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0096] Different UEs (e.g., the UE 120 and the one or more other UEs) may derive different modified admission probabilities from the same indicated admission probability parameter based at least in part on different QoS parameters associated with the traffic to be transmitted by the different UEs. [0110] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 510, a UE may derive an admission probability from an indicated parameter (e.g., admission probability index and/or overall overload indicator) using a mapping associated with the indicated parameter. [0111] In some aspects, a UE may use the first mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a first priority level, and the UE may use the second mapping to derive an admission probability value from the indicated parameter for traffic with a second priority level. For example, the first priority level may be a relatively lower priority (e.g., when traffic has a relatively large delay budget), as compared to the second priority level.); and transmiting a communication ([0065] uplink communication, [0074] [0075] CG uplink communication) using the resources ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 30, Sun further discloses:
wherein selecting the resources comprises selecting the resources (one or more resources from the resource pool) within the CG configuration ([0062] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per CG configuration information, [0073] a configuration of each of multiple resource pools per configuration information) based at least in part on one or more selection parameters (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The configuration information may include an indication of an admission probability parameter that is associated with the resource pool. The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.), and wherein the one or more selection parameters (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) comprise a probability (admission threshold, admission probability parameter, admission probability threshold p) of selection as a resource ([0065] If the random number satisfies the admission threshold, the admission is successful and the UE may select a resource from the resource pool to transmit the uplink communication. [0074] The admission probability parameter may control an admission probability for the UE 120 to access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication. [0075] The admission probability threshold p determines the admission probability for the UE 120 to gain admission to (hence select) the resource pool. The admission probability threshold p may be a threshold that is compared with a random number q selected by the UE 120 to determine if the UE 120 can access (hence select) the resource pool to transmit a CG uplink communication.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Tsai et al. (US 20240284449 A1, hereafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 8, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of CG resources, other than the selected resources, that are skipped, wherein the indication indicates CG periods to use or skip within a maximum quantity of periods, CG occasions to use or skip, CG configuration groups to use or skip within each CG occasion, CG configurations to use or skip within each CG configuration group, or CG resources to use or skip within each CG configuration.
However, Tsai discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication (uplink control information (UCI)) of CG resources (one or more CG resources, of the plurality of CG resources, that are unused or skipped), other than selected resources (one or more CG resources, of the plurality of CG resources, that are used and not skipped), that are skipped (Figs.20-27, 30-33; See also descriptions on Figs.20-27, 30-33, e.g., [0297] A dynamic indication of the unused CG PUSCH occasion(s) (may be referred to as unused CGO indication), e.g., based on a UCI, by the wireless device (e.g., UE) may be supported to dynamically recycle unused resources to avoid resource wastage (and to increase the system capacity) [0298] A wireless device (e.g., UE), as shown in FIG. 20, may not use one or more CG PUSCH resources (e.g., CGO m, CGO n, CGO p), for example, if the wireless device (e.g., UE) send/transmit the unused CGO indication (e.g., via UCI). [0303] A report (e.g., UCI) may comprise a bitmap indicating which CGO will be unused. [0308] The unused CGO indication may be sent (e.g., transmitted) by a UCI (e.g., CG-UCI or a UCI for XR), a MAC CE, and/or a RRC signaling [0331] Each field of the unused CGO indication may indicate a plurality of CG occasion/resources (e.g., within the same CG period (as the CG period that the unused CGO indication is sent (e.g., transmitted) on) and/or within different CG periods). The quantity (e.g., number) of the plurality of CG occasion/resource may be configured by a configuration parameter. [0376] The counter may be configured in a CG configuration. The counter may be configured in a configuration for multiple CGOs within a CG period. The counter may be configured in a configuration for unused CGO indication. [0381] The wireless device (e.g., UE) may not skip the CG resources after the time of sending (e.g., transmitting) the unused CGO indication and before the time period/offset from the time of sending (e.g., [0387] A wireless device (e.g., UE), as shown in FIG. 26, may send (e.g., transmit) one or more unused CGO indications. The wireless device (e.g., UE) may skip CG resources within a quantity (e.g., number) of one or more CG periods in response to sending (e.g., transmitting) the unused CGO indication. [0389] A quantity (e.g., number) of the one or more CG periods may be indicated (configured) by a configuration parameter (e.g., RRC configuration). [0509] A wireless device may receive a configured grant (CG) configuration indicating a plurality of CG resources; the wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) uplink control information (UCI) indicating that one or more CG resources, of the plurality of CG resources, are unused; and/or the wireless device may skip (e.g., prevent from use of) the one or more CG resources after a time period (offset) from sending (e.g., transmitting) the UCI.), wherein the indication (uplink control information (UCI)) indicates CG periods to use or skip within a maximum quantity of periods (Figs.22-27 and descriptions thereof; See, e.g. ‘Unused CGO Indication’ indicating period(s) that are used or skipped within CG periods 1-3), CG occasions to use or skip (Figs.20-27, 30-33 and descriptions thereof; See, e.g., ‘Unused CGO Indication’ indicating ‘Unused CGO’), CG configuration groups to use or skip within each CG occasion, CG configurations to use or skip within each CG configuration group, or CG resources to use or skip within each CG configuration.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to transmit an indication of CG resources as taught by Tsai, in order to use the report or the indication to reallocate resources for other wireless devices, which may improve network efficiency. (Tsai, [0004] [0283]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of skipped CG resources, and wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources based at least in part on the skipped CG resources.
However, Tsai discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of skipped CG resources ([0283] The wireless device (e.g., UE) may receive and/or send (e.g., transmit) an indication of one or more unused CGOs. The indication may be referred to as an unused CGO indication.), and wherein the one or more processors, to select the resources, are configured to select the resources based at least in part on the skipped CG resources ([0282] An unused CGO is an CGO that wireless device (e.g., UE) determines as a grant or resource available for UL transmission and determines not to use for the UL transmission, e.g., due to no more data to be sent (e.g., transmitted) via the CGO. The unused CGO may refer to as an CGO that the wireless device (e.g., UE) does not use and/or skips for UL transmission.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to transmit an indication of CG resources and select the resources as taught by Tsai, in order to use the report or the indication to reallocate resources for other wireless devices, which may improve network efficiency. (Tsai, [0004] [0283]).
Regarding claim 21, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: divide the resources into a block based at least in part on a transport block (TB) to be mapped to the resources; and select one or more blocks based at least in part on a quantity of TBs to transmit.
However, Tsai discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to:
divide resources (Resources for a quantity (e.g., number) of CG resource occasions) into a block (Resources for a CG resource occasion; e.g., Resources for each of CGO 1, CGO 2, CGO 3 in CG Period 1, Resources for each of CGO 1, CGO 2, CGO 3 in CG Period 2) based at least in part on a transport block (TB) (TB1, TB2, TB3, TB4, TB5, TB6) to be mapped to the resources (Figs. 18&19, [0295] A quantity (e.g., number) of CG resource occasions for different TBs may be allocated. Each CG PUSCH resource occasion (CGO) within the same CG period, as shown in FIG. 18, may be used for a new transmission of a new TB.; See also [0296] [0297]); and
select one or more blocks based at least in part on a quantity of TBs to transmit (Figs. 18&19, [0295] Resources for each of CGO 1, CGO 2, CGO 3 in CG Period 1 and resources for each of CGO 1, CGO 2, CGO 3 in CG Period 2 are selected based at least in part on a quantity of TB1, TB2, TB3, TB4, TB5, TB6 to transmit).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to divide the resources and select one or more blocks as taught by Tsai, in order to perform mapping of transport channels to physical channels and/or digital and analog signal processing functions, for example, for sending and/or receiving information (e.g., via an over the air interface) for Transport Blocks (TBs) delivered from the MAC layer. (Tsai, [0078] [0079]).
Claims 10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Ganesan et al. (US 20240146483 A1, hereafter Ganesan).
Regarding claim 10, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a request to halt group utilization of CG resources, based at least in part on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) satisfying a PDB threshold.
However, Ganesan discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to transmit a request (a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant) to halt group utilization of CG resources (resources of a dynamic grant is used for the burst; hence group utilization of CG resources for the burst is halted) ([0114] In one implementation, if the PDB does not allow transmission in the next period, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant. In such an embodiment, a separate SR may be configured for this purpose and a gNB could proactively provide a dynamic grant to one or more UEs in the group with one or more time offsets according to their burst arrival time.), based at least in part on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) satisfying a PDB threshold ([0114] In one implementation, if the PDB does not allow transmission in the next period, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to transmit a request as taught by Ganesan, in order to satisfy PDB using the resources of a dynamic grant. (Ganesan, [0114]).
Regarding claim 26, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive a request to halt group utilization of CG resources, based at least in part on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) satisfying a PDB threshold; and adjust scheduling or skipping of CG resources based at least in part on the request.
However, Ganesan discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to: receive a request (a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant) to halt group utilization of CG resources (resources of a dynamic grant is used for the burst; hence group utilization of CG resources for the burst is halted) ([0114] In one implementation, if the PDB does not allow transmission in the next period, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant. In such an embodiment, a separate SR may be configured for this purpose and a gNB could proactively provide a dynamic grant to one or more UEs in the group with one or more time offsets according to their burst arrival time.), based at least in part on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) satisfying a PDB threshold ([0114] In one implementation, if the PDB does not allow transmission in the next period, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (“SR”) to a gNB to request a dynamic grant.); and adjust scheduling (a separate SR may be configured for this purpose and a gNB could proactively provide a dynamic grant to one or more UEs in the group) or skipping of CG resources based at least in part on the request ([0114] In such an embodiment, a separate SR may be configured for this purpose and a gNB could proactively provide a dynamic grant to one or more UEs in the group with one or more time offsets according to their burst arrival time.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to receive a request and adjust scheduling as taught by Ganesan, in order to satisfy PDB using the resources of a dynamic grant. (Ganesan, [0114]).
Claims 13-14 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Sarkis et al. (US 20200260499 A1, hereafter Sarkis).
Regarding claim 13, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for the resources.
However, Sarkis discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for resources ([0146] As indicated above, a base station 105 may indicate for a UE 115 to transmit an uplink message based on a type 1 configured grant that is activated by RRC signaling (e.g., higher-layer signaling). Accordingly, when the UE 115 is configured with an uplink grant through the RRC signaling (e.g., the type 1 configured grant through an rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant message), it may transmit one or more uplink messages without receiving additional uplink grants according to a configuration associated with the uplink grant. In some cases, the uplink grant configuration received via the RRC signaling may be part of a general grant configuration family of configured messages (e.g., ConfiguredGrantConfig messages). Additionally, the base station 105 may indicate transmission parameters with the uplink grant configuration (e.g., the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant message, the ConfiguredGrantConfig message, etc.) that the UE 115 is to use for transmitting the corresponding uplink messages. In some cases, the UE 115 may read some of the transmission parameters from a configuration for a physical uplink channel (e.g., via a PUSCH-Config message). The transmission parameters may include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the uplink messages, frequency and time resource allocation for the uplink messages, power control parameters for the UE 115 to transmit the uplink messages, a spreading factor (e.g., for non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA)), transport block size (TBS), and any other parameters for the uplink messages.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to receive an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for the resources as taught by Sarkis, in order to facilitate a UE to use easily detectable transmission parameters to infer difficult-to-detect parameters for communications with a base station (Sarkis, Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication to select the resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources.
However, Sarkis discloses:
wherein one or more processors are configured to receive an indication to select resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources ([0170] Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may receive multiple uplink grant configurations as described above with reference to FIG. 1. In such cases, the UE 115 may select one of the uplink grant configurations that includes the at least one different transmission parameter based on the easy-to-detect transmission parameters. For example, the UE 115 may use a first uplink grant configuration for transmitting uplink messages within resource allocation 310-a, where the first uplink grant configuration includes an indication of resource allocation 310-a in addition to the rest of the transmission parameters (e.g., including a specific MCS value, TBS value, spreading factor, etc.). Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may use a second uplink grant configuration for transmitting uplink messages within resource allocation 310-b, where the first uplink grant configuration includes an indication of resource allocation 310-b in addition to the rest of the transmission parameters specific to it.; See Fig.3A where resource allocation 310-a is not overlapping with resource allocation 310-a).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to receive an indication to select the resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources as taught by Sarkis, in order to facilitate a UE to use easily detectable transmission parameters to infer difficult-to-detect parameters for communications with a base station (Sarkis, Abstract).
Regarding claim 28, Sun does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for the resources or an indication to select the resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources.
However, Sarkis discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for resources ([0146] As indicated above, a base station 105 may indicate for a UE 115 to transmit an uplink message based on a type 1 configured grant that is activated by RRC signaling (e.g., higher-layer signaling). Accordingly, when the UE 115 is configured with an uplink grant through the RRC signaling (e.g., the type 1 configured grant through an rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant message), it may transmit one or more uplink messages without receiving additional uplink grants according to a configuration associated with the uplink grant. In some cases, the uplink grant configuration received via the RRC signaling may be part of a general grant configuration family of configured messages (e.g., ConfiguredGrantConfig messages). Additionally, the base station 105 may indicate transmission parameters with the uplink grant configuration (e.g., the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant message, the ConfiguredGrantConfig message, etc.) that the UE 115 is to use for transmitting the corresponding uplink messages. In some cases, the UE 115 may read some of the transmission parameters from a configuration for a physical uplink channel (e.g., via a PUSCH-Config message). The transmission parameters may include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the uplink messages, frequency and time resource allocation for the uplink messages, power control parameters for the UE 115 to transmit the uplink messages, a spreading factor (e.g., for non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA)), transport block size (TBS), and any other parameters for the uplink messages.) or an indication to select the resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources ([0170] Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may receive multiple uplink grant configurations as described above with reference to FIG. 1. In such cases, the UE 115 may select one of the uplink grant configurations that includes the at least one different transmission parameter based on the easy-to-detect transmission parameters. For example, the UE 115 may use a first uplink grant configuration for transmitting uplink messages within resource allocation 310-a, where the first uplink grant configuration includes an indication of resource allocation 310-a in addition to the rest of the transmission parameters (e.g., including a specific MCS value, TBS value, spreading factor, etc.). Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may use a second uplink grant configuration for transmitting uplink messages within resource allocation 310-b, where the first uplink grant configuration includes an indication of resource allocation 310-b in addition to the rest of the transmission parameters specific to it.; See Fig.3A where resource allocation 310-a is not overlapping with resource allocation 310-a).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the one or more processors of Sun to transmit an indication of a power control adjustment for a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme for the resources or transmit an indication to select the resources based at least in part on avoiding overlapping resources as taught by Sarkis, in order for the BS to facilitate a UE to use easily detectable transmission parameters to infer difficult-to-detect parameters for communications with a base station (Sarkis, Abstract).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418