DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-9 are pending in this Application. In an amendment filed on 4/13/2026, Claims 10 was added as a new claims and claims 1-9 were amended. Therefore, claims 1-10 are still pending in this Application.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 5, with respect to claim interpretations of rejections to claims 1-4 and 7-9 under 35 USC § 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The amendments overcome the interpretations of the claims under 112f.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 5-6, with respect to rejections to claims 1-9 under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and they are respectfully persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been maintained.
On page 5-6, the Applicant argues that:
“Taking into consideration the USPTO 2019 PEG, Step 2A, Prongs 1 and 2, as for Step 2A, Prong 1, amended claim 1 is not a mental process, because the human mind is not equipped and incapable of performing the claimed process of the processor. As pointed out in MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), "Claims do not recite a mental process when they do not contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations." Thus, if a human mind cannot practically perform or is incapable of performing the claims, the claim is not a mental process. This claimed process monitors and determines based on temperatures of plural components and relationship(s) among the temperatures, namely "based on a temperature relationship among the respective temperatures" such that clearly, a human mind is unequipped to practically perform such a task as the human mind lacks the speed, accuracy, unwavering focus, attention to detail, and data throughput to effectively perform the claimed process. Therefore, claim 1 is not a mental process”. The arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
In response to the arguments above, the limitations is broad and in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure the limitation above recites the collection of data and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists an abnormality in a device such as a cooling mechanism based on a relationship such as when any temperature value is abnormal in the temperatures (see Fig. 9 row 3). For instance, a person having access to the collected data and the table of Fig. 9 can easily and mentally correlate the values and decide that there is a problem in a cooling mechanism by simply comparing the collected data to a the table. Thus, these arguments are unpersuasive.
On page 6, the Applicant further argus that:
“In addition, as for Step 2A, Prong Two, amended claim 1 as a whole recites additional elements that integrate any abstract idea into a practical application and recite a specific improvement over prior systems on basis of paragraph [0064] of the original specification”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
Claim [0064] recites “[0064] As described above, in the present embodiment, in the cooling system ST in which air cooling and water cooling are used, the abnormality determination unit 12B can determine an abnormality of the cooling mechanism such as a failure of any one of the cooling mechanisms 116 and 117 and a decrease in the amount of the coolant 10 supplied to the cooling mechanisms 116 and 117”. This paragraph simply recites the collection of data, comparing of data and judgment of condition based on the comparison. This paragraph does not recite any improvement to a conventional system.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 7, with respect to rejections to claims 1 under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been withdrawn based on the amendments.
On page 7, the Applicant argues that:
“In contrast, Kazuhiko does not disclose present claim 1 recitations "the cooling mechanisms" and "each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively." The Office Action points out that the cooling mechanisms correspond to cold plates 35 in FIG. 4, 6 of Kazuhiko (see page 18 of the Office Action). However, FIG. 4 of Kazuhiko only discloses a single cold plate. There is a description that "a partition 37 is provided to direct the liquid coolant that strikes a cold plate 35 corresponding to integrated circuit element 3 to another location on the cold plate 35 corresponding to the adjacent integrated circuit element 3 in the same row via nozzle 33" (see paragraph 013 of Kazuhiko). That is, Kazuhiko only discloses the single cold plate and fails to teach or suggest the present claimed recitation "each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively." Cader fails to teach or suggest the above features recited in amended claim 1”. The arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
Kazuhiko clearly teaches temperature of each water cooled target components 3 (Circuit devices 3) is measured (0008) and cooling plate 35 with partitions 37 in Fig. 5 which suggests several cooling plates 35. Fig. 5 shows a single reference number 37, this cannot be interpreted as a single partition from the Fig. 5. The same goes for cooling plates 35 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 4. Each portion of metal in each cooling plate 35, with lateral walls, adjacent to each conductive component 36 exchange thermal energy between the components 35 and 36, in Figs 4 and 5. Thus, arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract without significantly more.
The claim(s) 1 and 9, recite in part, “monitoring respective temperatures of an air-cooling target component and water-cooling target components measured by temperature sensors and a determinator that determines an abnormality in any one of the cooling mechanisms, based on a temperature relationship among the respective temperatures”.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of monitoring/observation/collecting data, evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally but for the recitation of generic components. The claims recites the collection of data and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists an abnormality in a device such as a cooling mechanism. That is other than reciting “a processor communicationally coupled to a memory and configured to execute a process to implement,” in claim 1 or monitoring circuit in claim 9 nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. These processor with memory and the circuit have been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as a generic CPU with memory to execute the steps/algorithm of the recited functions. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer processor/unit/device does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements such as a processor with memory and a circuit in claim 1 and 9 respectively, when interpreted in the BRI refers to a generic CPU and its memory which is recited in high level of generality and represents no more than instructions “to apply” the abstract idea on a computer or to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). The Claims also recite that the temperature of monitored devices such as are target components which are heat radiating electronic components, wherein each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively, and which are air cooled and water cooled, and which are recited at high level of generality and represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of monitoring temperature of heat radiating components which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Claims 1 and 9 further recite “to monitor status of an apparatus which includes an air-cooling target component, water-cooling target components and cooling mechanisms, the apparatus using air cooling and water cooling” which are recited at high level of generality and represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of monitoring temperature of heat radiating components which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Claim 9 further recites “a monitored apparatus includes the air-cooling target component, the water-cooling target components, the cooling mechanisms, the temperature sensors, a water-cooling pump that supplies a coolant to the cooling mechanism, and an air-cooling fan that cools the air-cooling target component” recited at high level of generality represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a component enclosing generic components used as the location for gathering the data used in the abstract idea, which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Claims 1 and 9 further recite monitoring temperatures which refers to the collection of data to be used in the abstract idea and which is recited in a high level of generality and is considered insignificant extra solution and pre-solution activities of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above, the additional element in the claims 1 and 9 such as computer and it memory or circuit to perform the steps, using the abstract idea to monitor an apparatus which includes an air-cooling target component, water-cooling target components and cooling mechanisms, the apparatus using air cooling and water cooling, each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively, and claim 9 which recites further additional elements such as the apparatus is monitored by the monitoring circuit and includes the temperature sensors, a water-cooling pump that supplies a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan that cools the air-cooling target component and which are recited a high level of generality and simply represents no more than instructions “to apply” the abstract idea on a computer or to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of heat radiating electronic components which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)) and/or to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a component apparatus enclosing generic components used as the location for gathering the data used in the abstract idea, which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Claims 1 and 9 further recite monitoring temperatures which refers to the collection of data to be used in the abstract idea and which is recited in a high level of generality and is considered insignificant extra solution and pre-solution activities of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-8 and 10 depend from claim, and thus recite or inherit the limitations and the abstract ideas of their respective parent claim.
Claim 2, further recites “…determines that a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms has decreased when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal and temperatures of the water-cooling target components are all abnormal”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally. The claims recites the collection of data and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists an abnormality in a device such as a decrease in cooling coolant based on the comparison/evaluation. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 3, “wherein when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal, temperatures of one or some of the water-cooling target components are normal, and a temperature of a remaining water-cooling target component of the water-cooling target components is abnormal, the determinator determines that a cooling mechanism provided in the remaining water-cooling target component has failed”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally. The claims recites the collection of data and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists an abnormality in a device such as a cooling mechanism. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 4, further recites “wherein when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is abnormal and temperatures of the water-cooling target components are all abnormal, the determinator determines that a temperature of a component environment including the air-cooling target component and the water-cooling target components is abnormal”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally. The claims recites the collection of data and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists in a temperature of a component environment. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 5, further recites the additional limitations of “wherein each of the cooling mechanisms is a plate that is in close contact with a corresponding one of the water-cooling target components and exchanges heat of the corresponding one of the water-cooling target components and heat of a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms”, recited at high level of generality simply represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of heat radiating electronic components which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 6, further recites the additional limitations “wherein the air-cooling target component, the water-cooling target components, the cooling mechanisms, the temperature sensors, a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component are provided in the apparatus that is monitored by the monitoring device” are recited at high level of generality and represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a component enclosing generic components used as the location for gathering the data used in the abstract idea, which cannot provide an inventive concept as stated by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 7, further recites the additional limitations of “…determines the abnormality based on a rotation speed of an air-cooling fan that cools the air-cooling target component and the temperature relationship among the respective temperatures”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally. The claims recites the collection of data such as speed and temperature and comparing the data with another set of data (table) and decide or judge that there exists an abnormality in a device such as a cooling mechanism. Also, the additional of using speed and temperature which is recited in a high level of generality and is considered insignificant extra solution and pre-solution activities of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 8, further recites the additional limitation of “…estimates that the respective temperatures are normal temperatures when the rotation speed has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps of evaluation and judgment which are steps that can be easily performed mentally. The claims recites the collection of data such as speed and temperature and compares the data to make a judgment or opinion, which are steps that can be easily performed in the mind by looking at data. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 10 further recites “wherein the apparatus includes an optical processing device that uses the air cooling and the water cooling and executes a process of converting an electric signal into an optical signal” which is a tangential limitations and is recited a high level of generality and represents no more than instructions to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of an apparatus component enclosing generic components such as optical processing devices which are common in server racks/data centers (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiko (JP 07-146188 cited in the IDS in view of Cader et al (US 20170231118).
As per claim 1, Kazuhiko teaches a monitoring device (see page 4 claim 1 “A temperature abnormality detecting apparatus for a multi-chip module…”; also, see [0004]; also, see Fig. 1 and 2 monitoring device; also, see [0007] and [0010]) to monitor status of an apparatus (see [0007] monitoring device 7 and [0010] monitoring device/processor 17 to monitor apparatus 1) which includes air cooling target components has been interpreted as air cooled target components and water-cooling target components as water cooled target components in light of the disclosure. see Kazuhiko Fig. 1 a plurality of target components 3 being monitored) and cooling mechanisms, the apparatus using (see [0013] “…Heat generated in the integrated circuit element 3 is transferred through the thermally conductive compound 36 to the cooling plate 35 and is released into the coolant. Here, water is used as the liquid refrigerant. The liquid cooling module of FIG. 4, as shown in FIG. 5, is arranged in a grid on a multi-chip module 1 to distinguish between the flow of the liquid medium in the row, which is a header portion 38, and the flow of the liquid medium in the other rows for cooling the 1 rows of the integrated circuit element 3 in series of the liquid medium), the monitoring device comprising:
a processor communicationally coupled to a memory and configured to execute a process to implement (see [0010] “…An output port 14 receives the temperature data from the microprocessor 17 and an operation result of whether the temperature exceeds an allowable value, and outputs a temperature abnormal output temperature value….”),
a monitor that monitors (the monitor has been interpreted as portion of program executed in a processor 17; see [0010]) respective temperatures of (air cooling target components has been interpreted as air cooled target components and water-cooling target components as water cooled target components in light of the disclosure. see Kazuhiko Fig. 1 a plurality of target components 3 comprise a temperature sensor 6, see [0008] “…Each integrated circuit element 3 incorporates a temperature measuring diode 6, and its anode and cathode are connected to the input/ output terminal 5 through conductive wiring in the wiring substrate 3. The measuring circuit 7 selects an arbitrary one from a plurality of integrated circuit elements 3 and includes a built-in diode 6 and a measuring circuit 7….”; also, see Fig. 3 water cooled target components 3 are measured, see [0010] “…The A/ D converter 11 converts the analog output signal from the voltmeter 10 into a digitaI output signal. It is also possible to use a voltage directly as an analog input of the A/ D converter 11 without using the voltmeter 10. The forward voltage drop of the diode 6, which is converted into a digital signal by the A/ D converter 11, is sent to the calculator 12. The computing unit 12 includes a microprocessor 17 and a peripheral circuit (not shown). Storage part Reference numeral 13 denotes a read-only memory circuit (ROM) 18 and a memory circuit (RAM) 19 which can be read and written. The ROM 18 stores a program for controlling the relays 15 a to 15 f and 16 a to 16 f, converting data of a forward voltage drop of the diode 6 into a temperature, and comparing the data with a reference value… An output port 14 receives the temperature data from the microprocessor 17 and an operation result of whether the temperature exceeds an allowable value, and outputs a temperature abnormal output temperature value…”; also, see [0013-0014] “Heat generated in the integrated circuit element 3 is transferred through the thermally conductive compound 36 to the cooling plate 36 and is released into the coolant. Here, water is used as the liquid refrigerant… As a case where the temperature of the integrated circuit element 3 rises in this embodiment, the following 3 cases may be considered.”; also, see [0015-0017]; thus, at least three or more target components temperatures are measured; also, see Fig. 6 and [0018-0019]), each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7 each of the water-cooled target components 3 provided with a cooling mechanism 35/cooling plates 35; see [0037] “The liquid cooling module of FIG. 4, as shown in FIG. 5, is arranged in a grid on a multi-chip module 1 to distinguish between the flow of the liquid medium in the row, which is a header portion 38, and the flow of the liquid medium in the other rows for cooling the 1 rows of the integrated circuit element 3 in series of the liquid medium. A partition 37 is provided to cause liquid refrigerant impinging on the cooling plate 35 corresponding to the integrated circuit element 3 in this row to impinge on other locations of the cooling plate 35 corresponding to the adjacent integrated circuit element 3 in the same row via the nozzle 33”, . Each portion of metal in each cooling plate 35, with lateral walls, adjacent to each conductive component 36 exchange thermal energy between the cooling mechanisms 35 and component 36, in Figs 4 and 5 teach or suggests a cooling mechanism) and
a determinator that determines an abnormality in any one of cooling mechanisms based on a temperature relationship among the respective temperatures (see Fig. 6 and see [0018-0119] “…If there is no abnormal location, it is considered normal (step 202). If there is an abnormal location, it is determined whether an anomaly is all locations (step 203). If the whole location is abnormal, it is judged whether or not cooling water is normally flowing into the liquid cooling module 31 by some means (step 204). When cooling water is normally flowing, it is considered as a failure of the measuring circuit 7 (Step 205), and when the cooling water does not flow normally, it is regarded as an abnormality of the refrigerant supply system (Step 206). If it is determined in step 203 that all the locations are not abnormal, all of the specific row s are abnormal… If all of the rows are not abnormal, the temperature data of the abnormal location stored in the storage unit 13 is referred to several times before, for example, about 10 times before (step 209). At this time, as a cause of the temperature abnormality, for example, a cooling abnormality of the location, such as deterioration of the thermally conductive compo und 36, and a failure of the diode 6 may be considered… If this is the case, it is considered to be a cooling abnormality of the location (step 211), and if not, a diode failure of the location (step 212). According to the above procedure, the mode of abnormality of the liquid cooling module 31 is identified according to
the arrangement of locations indicating temperature abnormality”).
Kazuhiko teaches the monitoring device detecting a cooling mechanism abnormality based on detecting temperature relationship on a plurality of target component locations, but it does not explicitly teach an air-cooling target component, to monitor temperature of the air-cooling target component and the apparatus using air cooling.
Cader teaches a monitoring system comprising an apparatus using an air cooling system for cooling air cooling target components (see Fig 1 air cooling device and [0014] “…the air cooling device 160 to provide air to cool a second set of components of the modular data center…”; also, see [0026] “… approximately ten to thirty percent of the components may be cooled via air cooling; however, the actual percentage may be determined based on environmental conditions. The temperature of the air delivered may be, for example, thirty degrees Celsius … , and air cooling for the balance of the components, such as hard drives, power supplies, host bus adapters, supporting power regulation for CPU, GPU, and/or DIMMs and other board related logic ASICs, i.e., the second set of components”, thus, different type or air cooled target components; also, see claim 1 “an air cooling device to provide an air to cool a second set of components”; also, see [0030]), a monitor that monitors temperature of an air-cooling target component (see [0011] “The phrase “environmental condition” refers to a measurable value in the air surrounding the electronic components…”, thus this is the temperature of near the ai cooled target components; see [0019] “The control apparatus 120 determines an air cooling temperature based on an environmental condition, such as an air temperature and a relative humidity; see [0026] “…The temperature of the air delivered may be, for example, thirty degrees Celsius…”; also, see 0035 measure air cooling temperatures; also, see [0046] “…the temperature of the data center and the electronic components are evaluated…”), wherein the apparatus also comprises water cooling target components each being provided with a cooling mechanisms (see [0021] “…the fluid cooling device 140 may include, for example, an adiabatic fluid cooler (AFC) 240 that supplies water to cold plates that provide component level cooling, such as cooling of central processing units (CPUs), dual in-line memory modules (DIMMs), and/or graphics processing units (GPUs) using the fluid. By using the fluid cooling device 140 for a first set of components that provide a high heat load, such as the CPUs, DIMMs, and/or GPUs, a percentage of the rack heat load may be managed and cooled using the fluid cooling device 140….”; see Fig. 3 cod plates 346 to each water target component 331 and 333 in each module 232, see [0022-0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko’s invention to include an apparatus which includes an air cooling system for cooling air cooling target components, wherein the apparatus also comprises water cooling target components each being provided with a cooling mechanisms, and the monitor that monitors temperature of an air-cooling target component as taught by Cader in order to provide air cooling to a set of components that produce less heat (see [0026] and [0030]) and to control or maintain the temperature of air cooled components and water cooled components within desired ranges based on the relation of measured temperatures of air cooled components and water cooled components (see Fig. 6-8, see [0019], [0021] [0042-0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to had used the air cooled components in the system of Kazuhiko or used the teachings of Kazuhiko in the system of Cader to determine different type of abnormalities in the air cooling mechanisms of the water cooling target components since the system of Kazuhiko simply requires at least three or more temperatures of target components to determine the fault in cooling mechanisms.
As per claim 5, Kazuhiko-Cader teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Kazuhiko wherein each of the cooling mechanisms is a plate that is in close contact with a corresponding one of the water-cooling target components and exchanges heat of the corresponding one of the water-cooling target components and heat of a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms (see [0013-0014] “Referring to FIG. 4, in a liquid cooling module 31 according to a 1 embodiment of the present invention, a liquid refrigerant enters from a refrigerant inlet 32, is ejected from a
nozzle 33, and collides with a cooling plate 35. Heat generated in the integrated circuit element 3 is transferred through the thermally conductive compound 36 to the cooling plate 36 and is released into the coolant. …”; also, see Fig. 4 cooling plate 35 and target components 3 exchange heat (cold and heat)). Cader also teaches water cooling components in close contact with cold plates to exchange heat (see [0021], the functions of a cold plate is to exchange cold-heat with heat radiating component; and [0022-0023]).
As per claim 6, Kazuhiko-Cader teaches the monitoring device according claim 1, Kazuhiko further teaches wherein (see Fig. 4 and 6 target components 3, 51) , the cooling mechanisms (see Fig. 4,6 cold plates 35), the temperature sensors (see Fig. 4,6 sensors 53), (see monitored device of Fig. 4 and 6; also, see [0018-0019]).
Kazuhiko does not explicitly teach the air-cooling target component, a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component, are provided in the apparatus.
However, Cader further teaches the air-cooling target component (see [0011], [0014], “…the air cooling device 160 to provide air to cool a second set of components of the modular data center”; [0019], [0026], [0046]), a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms (see [0021] plates and see 0030 …For example, the set of fluid cooling components may include a pump…”), and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component (see [0030] “The set of air cooling components may include a heat exchanger, a fan, a heat sink, and/or a sensor”), are provided in the apparatus (see Fig. 2 monitored device or apparatus such as a data center).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko’s invention to include the air-cooling target component, a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component, are provided in the apparatus as taught by Cader in order to allow the pump to actively circulate the water/fluid in the system plates to reduce heat/temperatures (see 0030, 0045), allow the fan to run to reduce/remove heat/temperatures form the components (0025, 0030), and provide all of the components in/within the apparatus to avoid contaminants and hazards that could damage the components or the system.
As per claim 9, Kazuhiko teaches a cooling system comprising:
an apparatus that includes an (air cooling target components has been interpreted as air cooled target components and water-cooling target components as water cooled target components in light of the disclosure. see Kazuhiko Fig. 1 a plurality of target components 3 being monitored) and cooling mechanisms (see [0012]-[0013] cooling plates 35), the apparatus using (see [0013] “…Heat generated in the integrated circuit element 3 is transferred through the thermally conductive compound 36 to the cooling plate 35 and is released into the coolant. Here, water is used as the liquid refrigerant. The liquid cooling module of FIG. 4, as shown in FIG. 5, is arranged in a grid on a multi-chip module 1 to distinguish between the flow of the liquid medium in the row, which is a header portion 38, and the flow of the liquid medium in the other rows for cooling the 1 rows of the integrated circuit element 3 in series of the liquid medium…”); and
a monitoring circuit that monitors status of the apparatus (see page 4 claim 1 “A temperature abnormality detecting apparatus for a multi-chip module…”; also, see [0004]; also, see Fig. 1 and 2 monitoring device; see [0010] “…An output port 14 receives the temperature data from the microprocessor 17 and an operation result of whether the temperature exceeds an allowable value, and outputs a temperature abnormal output temperature value….”), wherein
the monitoring circuit monitors respective temperatures of the the water-cooling target components measured by temperature sensors, respectively (air cooling target components has been interpreted as air cooled target components and water-cooling target components as water cooled target components in light of the disclosure. see Kazuhiko Fig. 1 a plurality of target components 3 comprise a temperature sensor 6, see [0008] “…Each integrated circuit element 3 incorporates a temperature measuring diode 6, and its anode and cathode are connected to the input/ output terminal 5 through conductive wiring in the wiring substrate 3. The measuring circuit 7 selects an arbitrary one from a plurality of integrated circuit elements 3 and includes a built-in diode 6 and a measuring circuit 7….”; also, see Fig. 3 water cooled target components 3 are measured, see [0010] “…The A/ D converter 11 converts the analog output signal from the voltmeter 10 into a digitaI output signal. It is also possible to use a voltage directly as an analog input of the A/ D converter 11 without using the voltmeter 10. The forward voltage drop of the diode 6, which is converted into a digital signal by the A/ D converter 11, is sent to the calculator 12. The computing unit 12 includes a microprocessor 17 and a peripheral circuit (not shown). Storage part Reference numeral 13 denotes a read-only memory circuit (ROM) 18 and a memory circuit (RAM) 19 which can be read and written. The ROM 18 stores a program for controlling the relays 15 a to 15 f and 16 a to 16 f, converting data of a forward voltage drop of the diode 6 into a temperature, and comparing the data with a reference value… An output port 14 receives the temperature data from the microprocessor 17 and an operation result of whether the temperature exceeds an allowable value, and outputs a temperature abnormal output temperature value…”; also, see [0013-0014] “Heat generated in the integrated circuit element 3 is transferred through the thermally conductive compound 36 to the cooling plate 36 and is released into the coolant. Here, water is used as the liquid refrigerant… As a case where the temperature of the integrated circuit element 3 rises in this embodiment, the following 3 cases may be considered.”; also, see [0015-0017]; thus, at least three or more target components temperatures are measured; also, see Fig. 6 and [0018-0019]), each of the water-cooling target components being provided with a cooling mechanism among the cooling mechanisms, respectively (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7 each of the water-cooled target components 3 provided with a cooling mechanism 35/cooling plates 35; see [0037] “The liquid cooling module of FIG. 4, as shown in FIG. 5, is arranged in a grid on a multi-chip module 1 to distinguish between the flow of the liquid medium in the row, which is a header portion 38, and the flow of the liquid medium in the other rows for cooling the 1 rows of the integrated circuit element 3 in series of the liquid medium. A partition 37 is provided to cause liquid refrigerant impinging on the cooling plate 35 corresponding to the integrated circuit element 3 in this row to impinge on other locations of the cooling plate 35 corresponding to the adjacent integrated circuit element 3 in the same row via the nozzle 33”, . Each portion of metal in each cooling plate 35, with lateral walls, adjacent to each conductive component 36 exchange thermal energy between the cooling mechanisms 35 and component 36, in Figs 4 and 5 teach or suggests a cooling mechanism) and determines an abnormality of any one of the cooling mechanisms based on a temperature relationship among the respective temperatures (see Fig. 6 and see [0018-0119]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein), and
the apparatus is monitored by the monitoring circuit (see monitored device/apparatus of Fig. 4 and 6 by the monitoring circuit 12 or 17 which comprises a microprocessor, see [0010]; also, see [0018-0019]) and includes thesee Fig. 4,6 sensors 53),
Kazuhiko teaches monitoring device/circuit detecting a cooling mechanism abnormality based on detecting temperatures relationship on a plurality of target component locations, but it does not explicitly teach the monitor circuit monitors temperature of the air cooling target component, the apparatus using air cooling and including the air-cooling target component, water-cooling pump that supplies a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component.
Cader teaches a monitoring system comprising an apparatus using air cooling system for cooling air cooling target components (see Fig 1 air cooling device and [0014] “…the air cooling device 160 to provide air to cool a second set of components of the modular data center…”; [0026], [0030]), and a monitor circuit that monitors temperature of an air-cooling target component (see [0011], [0019], [0026], [0046]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein), wherein apparatus includes the air-cooling target component (see [0011], [0014], “…the air cooling device 160 to provide air to cool a second set of components of the modular data center”; [0019], [0026], [0046]), a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms (see [0021] plates and see 0030 …For example, the set of fluid cooling components may include a pump…”), and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component (see [0030] “The set of air cooling components may include a heat exchanger, a fan, a heat sink, and/or a sensor”), wherein the apparatus also comprises water cooling target components each being provided with a cooling mechanisms (see [0021]; see Fig. 3 cod plates 346 to each water target component 331 and 333 in each module 232, see [0022-0023], also, see claim 1 above for the rationale).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko’s invention to include an apparatus using air cooling and includes an air-cooling target component, a water-cooling pump that supplies a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan that cools the air-cooling target component, wherein the apparatus also comprises water cooling target components each being provided with a cooling mechanisms, and the monitor circuit that monitors temperature of an air-cooling target component as taught by Cader in order to provide air cooling to a set of components that produce less heat (see [0026] and [0030]) and to control or maintain the temperature of air cooled components and water cooled components within desired ranges based on the relation of measured temperatures of air cooled components and water cooled components (see Fig. 6-8, see [0019], [0021] [0042-0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to had used the air cooled components in the system of Kazuhiko or used the teachings of Kazuhiko in the system of Cader to determine different type of abnormalities in the air cooling mechanisms of the water cooling target components since the system of Kazuhiko simply requires at least three or more temperatures of target components to determine the fault in cooling mechanisms. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko’s invention to include the air-cooling target component, a water-cooling pump configured to supply a coolant to the cooling mechanisms, and an air-cooling fan configured to cool the air-cooling target component, are provided in the apparatus device as taught by Cader in order to allow the pump to actively circulate the water/fluid in the system plates to reduce heat/temperatures (see 0030, 0045), allow the fan to run to reduce/remove heat/temperatures form the components (0025, 0030), and provide all of the components in/within the monitored device to avoid contaminants and hazards that could damage the components or the system.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiko (JP 07-146188 cited in the IDS in view of Cader et al (US 20170231118) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sasaki (US 20190067447).
As per claim 2, Kazuhiko-Cader teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1, Kazuhiko further teaches wherein the determinator determines that a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms has decreased when a temperature of the (see [0018] “Referring to FIG. 6, when an identification is initiated (step 2 00), it is first determined whether there is an abnormal location (step 201). If there is no abnormal location, it is considered normal (step 202). If there is an abnormal location, it is determined whether an anomaly is all locations (step 203). If the whole location is abnormal, it is judged whether or not cooling water is normally flowing into the liquid cooling mod ule 31 by some means (step 204). When cooling water is normally flowing, it is considered as a failure of the measuring circuit 7 (Step 205), and when the cooling water does not flow
w normally, it is regarded as an abnormality of the refrigerant supply system (Step 206). If it is determined in step 203 that all the locations are not abnormal, all of the specific row s are abnormal).
Cader further teaches a monitoring temperature system comprising a step of determining when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal (see Fig. 7 step 760; see [0011] “The phrase “environmental condition” refers to a measurable value in the air surrounding the electronic components…”, thus this is the temperature of near the ai cooled target components; see [0019] “The control apparatus 120 determines an air cooling temperature based on an environmental condition, such as an air temperature and a relative humidity; see [0026] “…The temperature of the air delivered may be, for example, thirty degrees Celsius…”; also, see 0035 measure air cooling temperatures; also, see [0046] “…the temperature of the data center and the electronic components are evaluated…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko’s invention to include a step of determining when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal as taught by Cader in order to determine if air cooling temperature of the system is within normal ranges (see Fig. 7 steps 760, 770) and control the system according to the determination.
Kazuhiko-Cader does not explicitly teach detecting an abnormality including a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms has decreased when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal and temperatures of the water-cooling target components are all abnormal.
However, Sasaki teaches a monitoring system comprising detecting an abnormality including a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms has decreased based on temperature relationships such as when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal and a temperature of a water-cooling target components is abnormal (see [0004] “…a fan…” and see Fig. 6 failure of a cooling facility; also, see page 11 claim 2 “.. .failure of a cooling facility connected via a plurality of pipes and a heat exchanger to each of the plurality of information processing apparatuses”, Thus, failure of a cooling facility results or is similar to a decrease of a coolant to the pipes bringing cooling liquid to the target components; in Fig. 6 temperature sensor 1 is ON which is an abnormal condition for temperature target component 531, see [0050] and Fig. 11; Sensor 6 is OFF (normal state) for temperature related to water pipes/target components, see [0115] and Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko-Cader’s combination as taught above to include detecting an abnormality including a coolant supplied to the cooling mechanisms has decreased based on temperature relationships such as when a temperature of the air-cooling target component is normal and a temperature of a water-cooling target components is abnormal as taught by Sasaki in order to determine different type of abnormalities and control or stop the system when an abnormality of a liquid cooling system has occurred (see [0033]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiko (JP 07-146188 cited in the IDS in view of Cader et al (US 20170231118) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Nishizawa (US 20130030643).
As per claim 7, Kazuhiko-Cader teaches the monitoring device according claim 1, Kazuhiko further teaches wherein the determinator determines see Fig. 6 and see [0018-0119] “…If there is no abnormal location, it is considered normal (step 202)….; also, see claim 1 above). Kazuhiko does not explicitly teach wherein the determination unit determines the abnormality based on a rotation speed of an air-cooling fan that cools the air-cooling target component.
However, Nishizawa teaches a monitoring cooling system for determining abnormalities in the cooling system comprising a determination unit/determinator that determines an abnormality based on a rotation speed of an air-cooling fan that cools a target component (see Fig. 1 fan 03 and target component 102; also, see Fig. 4 steps S11 and S12, wherein in S12 the rotational speed of a fan is used to determine an abnormality of a cooling system, see S13 and S14; also, see [0070-0071] “… In step S12, in the case where one of the abnormal operation of radiator fan 103 and the abnormal heat generation of inverter 14 has occurred, the process proceeds to step S13 in which the diagnosis that the abnormal heat dissipation or abnormal heat generation has occurred is confirmed. This result of diagnosis may be conveyed to an operator at this time or stored in a nonvolatile memory or the like and read and analyzed later in a repair shop”) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko-Cader’s combination as taught above to include a determination unit/determinator that determines an abnormality based on a rotation speed of an air-cooling fan that cools a target component as taught by Nishizawa in order to detect an abnormality on the cooling system and alert of an operator so that he can repair the problem (see 0071).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiko (JP 07-146188 cited in the IDS in view of Cader et al (US 20170231118) and Nishizawa (US 20130030643) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Wu et al (CN 103161746) and Ishigaki (US 20240280283).
As per claim 8, Kazuhiko-Cader- Nishizawa teaches the monitoring device according to claim 7, Nishizawa teaches that the rotational speed of a fan is detected (see claim 7 above), but Kazuhiko-Cader- Nishizawa does not explicitly teach wherein the determinator estimates that the respective temperatures are normal temperatures when the rotation speed has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed (the algorithm of the instant application in Fig. 5 detects the rotation speed of the fan and determines that the fan is normal when the rotation is within a normal range e.g. has not reached an upper limit).
Wu teaches a system comprising a determinator that determines the rotation speed has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed and determines the fan is normal (See page 3 par. 5 “the judging module 442 is used for rotating speed signal with the encoded rotational speed signal, and determines whether the received rotating speed signal in a preset speed range, if the received receiving the fan control unit 42 output is within the predetermined speed range, it indicates that the speed signal corresponding to the fan 34 is in the
Normal working state. if the received rotating speed signal is not within the preset rotating speed range the speed signal indicates that the fan 34 has faults corresponding to the speed signal, the judging module 442 the coding of the speed signal sent to the control module 444”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko-Cader- Nishizawa’s to include a determinator that determines the rotation speed has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed and determines the fan is normal as taught by Wu in order to determine that the fan is working in a normal state and continue monitoring the system (see page 3 par. 5 and see page 4 steps S2 par. 2 “…S2, the judging module 442 judges whether the speed signal in the preset rotating speed range, if the speed signal in the preset rotating speed range, returning to the step S1, if…).
However, Kazuhiko-Cader- Nishizawa-Wu still does not explicitly teach the determinator estimates that the respective temperatures are normal when the rotation speed is normal/has not reached a limit thresholds (according to Fig. 5, the system detects that the rotational speed is normal and does not perform any control because it assumes/estimates that the system is within normal operation thus, normal temperatures).
Ishigaki teaches a monitoring system for abnormality detection comprising a determinator that estimates that the respective system is normal when the rotation speed of a fan is normal/has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed (see [0072] when the rotation speed is abnormal several abnormalities of the cooling system are detected/inferred; also, see Fig. 9 when the rotation speed of a fan is normal, the system infers/estimates that the system as whole is normal, see step S113 in Fig. 9, also, see [0074] “For example, when the actual value of at least one of the …the rotation speed of outdoor fan 14 is not included within the normal range, inference unit 120 determines that the state of air conditioning system 40 is abnormal. When the state of air conditioning system 40 is abnormal (YES in S113), …When the state of air conditioning system 40 is normal (NO in S113), inference unit 120 ends the process.”, thus, when the rotation speed of fn is normal the whole system is deemed in normal conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko-Cader- Nishizawa-Wu’s combination as taught above to include a determinator that estimates that the respective system is normal including temperatures of components within the system when the rotation speed of a fan is normal/has not reached an upper limit of the rotation speed as taught by Ishigaki in order to end an inference process without transmitting any abnormality notice (see [0074]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiko (JP 07-146188 cited in the IDS in view of Cader et al (US 20170231118) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leigh et al (US 10795096).
As per claim 10, Kazuhiko-Cader, teaches the monitoring device according claim 1, While Cader teaches a fiber optic connection 110 which suggests conversion of a signal to an optical signal, Kazuhiko-Cader does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus includes an optical processing device that uses the air cooling and the water cooling and executes a process of converting an electric signal into an optical signal.
However, Leigh teaches an apparatus comprising an optical processing device that uses the air cooling and the water cooling (see Fig 8 and Fig. 9 optical processing device 104 and see Col 8 line 10-20 “In an example, line-card 104 may be a liquid-cooled electrical, optical, or a combination of electrical and optical ASIC module. For example, the line-card 104 may be a combination of an electrical and optical ASIC module. In such examples, the ASIC chip 202 may comprise an electrical/optical conversion portion 236 and a logic portion 235. Further, the electrical/optical conversion portion 236 and the logic portion 235 may be in the same package (as in, one chip) or be separate packages (as in, more than one component, all components being disposed on the line-card 104 motherboard”; also, see Fig. 9 and Col 10 lines 59-65 to Col 11 line 5 “ In a further example, cold plates 1003a, 1003b may be situated or positioned over the ASICs 1005a, 1005b, respectively. In such examples, the cold plate 1003a may receive cooling liquid from the flexible liquid line 1008a coming from the floating water block assembly 1007. Liquid from cold plate 1003a may then be moved to the cold plate 1003b via flexible liquid line (not shown). Liquid may then be moved from the cold plate 1003b to the cold plate 1005 via the flexible liquid line 1008c, and then to the floating water block 1007 via the flexible liquid line 1008d. As the liquid moves from one cold plate to another, the liquid may be heated”; also, see Col 4 lines 62-64 “The blade enclosure may accept power supplies, cooling devices (such as fans or liquid cooling interfaces”) and executes a process of converting an electric signal into an optical signal (see Col 8 line 10-20 and 30-44 “The optical transceiver, also called fiber optic transceiver or optical transceiver module, used in high-bandwidth signal communication applications. Optical transceivers may include an electrical interface on one side and an optical interface on the other side so that signals passing through the optical transceiver may be converted from electrical to optical or optical to electrical depending on the signal's direction of travel. Therefore, an optical transceiver may operate as an opto-electronic converter that converts an electrical signal into an optical signal or an optical signal into an electrical signal. In an example in which ASIC chip 202 outputs electrical signals, an optical transceiver may be positioned anywhere in the signal path between ASIC chip 202 and the line-card optical blindmate connector 206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kazuhiko-Cader’s combination as taught above and include wherein the apparatus includes an optical processing device that uses the air cooling and the water cooling and executes a process of converting an electric signal into an optical signal as taught by Leigh in order to allow electrical to optical conversion of signals, and vice versa, which allows higher capacity of transmission, lower latency, and lower power consumption compared to using copper lines, and using the cooling systems such as air cooling and water cooling as suggested by Kazuhiko-Cader and Leigh to reduce the temperature of these optical processing device which produce heat during their processing (see Col 10lin 59-65).
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Provided that the rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 USC 101 are overcome, claims 3-4 would be allowable since not prior art has been found that teaches or suggest the combination of limitations recited in claims 3-4. It is to note that only adding claims 3 or 4 into claim 1 would not overcome the rejections under 35 USC 101.
See the reasons of allowance in the Non-final Office action of 1/12/2026, same reasons for allowance applies herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gorgen et al (US 10672537), Leigh et al (US 10539753), Kurokawa et al (US 5263108), teach an apparatus includes an optical processing device that uses the air cooling and/or the water cooling and executes a process of converting an electric signal into an optical signal.
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117