DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 1/29/2026.
Claims 1 and 3-17 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
In line 1 of claim 7, “the receiver” is brought to applicant’s attention because claim 1 introduces at least two receivers. However in light of the drawings, examiner notes that the recitation in claim 7 is clearly referring to both receivers of the plurality of retention features therefore the scope of the claim is clear.
In lines 21-22 of claim 16, “the vibration attenuation feature is configured to directly mate with the first end of the adjacent rotatable latch to form the graspable handle” is brought to applicant’s attention because the claim recites at least two vibration attenuation features. However in light of applicant’s drawings (specifically fig. 6), the recitation is clearly referring to that the vibration attenuation feature of each adjacent rotatable latch directly mating with the first end of its respective other adjacent rotatable latch therefore the scope of the claim is clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helms et al. (US 8333036) (hereinafter “Helms”).
Claim 1
(Helms discloses) A vehicle (figures 6-8; the invention of Helms is directed to vehicle see at least abstract) comprising:
a vehicle body including a movable body (the moving vehicle body to which 2024 is attached) attached thereto, the movable body defining an opening (the opening which the panel 2024 opens and closes) configured for receipt of a window system (figure 6);
the window system including:
a fixed panel (2024) that is fixed to the movable body;
a removable panel (2010) that is configured to be attached to and detached from the fixed panel (lines 46-50 of col. 5); and
a plurality of retention features (2018) that are configured to attach the removable panel to the fixed panel (figures 6-8; lines 46-50 of col. 5),
wherein the plurality of retention features each include a rotatable latch (top two 2018; Annotated figure 6 below) attached to the removable panel that is configured to engage with a receiver (2018a) to attach the removable panel to the fixed panel (lines 46-50 of col. 5); and
wherein each of the rotatable latches are L-shaped members including a first end (Annotated figure 6 below) configured to engage with the receiver when the removable panel is attached to the fixed panel (Annotated figure 6 below), and configured to directly mate with the first end of the adjacent rotatable latch (via cable 2031; Annotated figure 6 below; note that applicant’s own rotatable latches are directly mated with each other via an element in between [see applicant’s own annotated figure 7 below], therefore the limitation ‘configured to directly mate’ was also interpreted in a similar manner) to collectively form a graspable handle when the removable panel is to be detached from the fixed panel (Annotated figure 6 below), and each of the rotatable latches including a second end (Annotated figure 6 below) rotatably attached to the removable panel (Annotated figure 6 below).
Annotated figure 6
applicant’s own annotated figure 7
Claim 3
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein each of the rotatable latches are configured to rotate 90 degrees (see at least figures 7-8).
Claim 4
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein each of the rotatable latches include a vibration attenuation feature (2031) at the first end that, when the first end of the rotatable latch is engaged with the receiver, attenuates vibrations experienced by the window system during operation of the vehicle (this is taught as a feature of the cable); and
when the first end of the rotatable latch is mated with the adjacent rotatable latch (figure 6), the vibration attenuation feature is configured to directly mate with the first end of the adjacent rotatable latch (figure 6).
Claim 9
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising a seal (2010e; figure 4) positioned between the fixed panel and the removable panel (figure 4).
Claim 10
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the seal is attached to the fixed panel (figure 4).
Claim 11
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the seal includes a molded corner (molded corners of 2010e; figure 3) configured as an alignment feature to align the removable panel relative to the fixed panel when attaching the removable panel to the fixed panel (figure 4).
Claim 12
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the removable panel is configured to be flushly aligned with the fixed panel when the removable panel is attached to the fixed panel (Annotated figure 5 below).
Annotated figure 5
Claim 13
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the removable panel is configured to be offset from the fixed panel when the removable panel is attached to the fixed panel (Annotated figure 5 above).
Claim 14
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein when the adjacent rotatable latches collectively form the graspable handle (2032a; figure 6), a space (the space between 2032a and panel 2010c) is provided between the graspable handle and the removable panel that is configured for receipt of an operator's hand (figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 9-14 above, in view of Randall (US 5326140).
Claim 5
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 4.
Helms is silent regarding wherein the first end of each rotatable latch includes a recess configured for receipt of the vibration attenuation feature of the adjacent rotatable latch.
(However, Randall teaches) wherein an end (at end 31 to which the cable 48 is attached; Randall figures 3 and 7) of each rotatable latch (24) includes a recess (31A) configured for receipt of a vibration attenuation feature (48) of an adjacent rotatable latch (Randall figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the respective first ends of each of the latches of Helms with the recess of Randall, with a reasonable expectation of success, for properly receiving each vibration attenuation features and securing them as such they would not snap or separate from the latches.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 9-14 above, in view of Fallis, III et al. (US 7240960) (hereinafter “Fallis”).
Claim 6
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1.
Helms is silent regarding wherein the movable body is a swing-gate including a swing-gate header that defines the opening.
(However, Fallis teaches) a movable body (42) is a swing-gate (Annotated figure 1 below) including a swing-gate header (Annotated figure 1 below) that defines an opening (Annotated figure 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to install the window system of Helms to a swing gate similar to the swing gate of Fallis, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an emergency egress/ingress to the rear of the vehicle if the swing gate is jammed or blocked.
Annotated figure 1
Claim 7
(Helms, as modified above, discloses) The vehicle according to claim 6, wherein the receiver is attached to the swing-gate header (this is taught via the combination above).
Claim 8
(Helms, as modified above, discloses) The vehicle according to claim 6, wherein the fixed panel includes a plurality of locator clips (Annotated figure 5 above; note that “clip” was interpreted as -- Any of various devices for gripping or holding things together-- and ‘device’ was broadly interpreted as --An object designed and manufactured to perform one or more functions--) bonded thereto that are configured to mate with a through-hole formed in the swing-gate header (intended use; the locator clips can be mated with a through hole formed by the swing-gate header).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 9-14 above.
Claim 15
(Helms discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the removable panel is formed of glass (at least panel 2010b is a glass window).
Helms is silent regarding the fixed panel is formed of glass.
However, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice, therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fixed panel such that the fixed panel is formed of glass, with a reasonable expectation of success, for providing visibility to the interior of the vehicle such that first responders are aware of any trapped passengers that requires assistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art Damboiu et al. (US 11053715) (hereinafter “Damboiu”) in view of Helms et al. (US 8333036) (hereinafter “Helms”) seems to teach most of the limitations of the independent claim 16.
However, the combination of the limitations and the amendments to define the mating of the first end of the rotatable latch with the first end of the adjacent rotatable latch further defines the claim such that the combination of prior art does not teach the limitations of claim 16.
Note that the prior office action relies on the teachings of Helms regarding the directly mating of the rotatable latches. However, as applicant noted in the remarks, filed on 1/29/2026, the end to which the rotatable latches are directly mated with each other is not the same end that is received by the receiver of the retention features. Examiner also notes that “directly mated” was interpreted similar to applicant’s invention as having an element in between (see figure labeled “applicant’s own annotated figure 7” on the office action filed on 12/16/2025).
Additionally, examiner also considered applying Helms to reject claim 16 as it seems to meet most of the limitations of claim 16 including those noted above, however the prior art fails to meet some limitations which is explained in the annotated figure of Helms below. Also note that examiner is interpreting "wherein adjacent rotatable latches are configured to rotate in a direction toward each other" such that one latch rotates clockwise and while the other latch rotates counter clockwise such that they both rotate towards each other similar to applicant's invention.
Further modifications such that any of the prior art meets the claim limitations would require hindsight and/or piecemeal rejection such that examiner finds them unreasonable to apply and reject the claims recited.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The responses below were directed to applicant’s arguments on the Remarks section.
Applicant argued that “While Helms also appears to teach rotatable latches that are L-shaped (see below annotated FIGS. 6 and 8), the "first end" of the L-shaped latches that are engaged with the receiver do NOT mate with each other via the cable when rotated out of engagement with the receiver”. Referring to the annotated figure 6 of Helms included by the applicant, examiner agrees that the top right and bottom right rotatable latches do not have ends that are engaged with the receiver and also mated with each other.
However, the top left and top right rotatable latches (see figure 6 of Helms) both have ends that: (i) engages with the receiver, and (ii) configured to be directly mated with the first end of the adjacent latch as required by the claims. Additionally, both top latches 2018 are also L-shaped (see note in the rejection above) as such, in light of the interpretation of ‘directly mated’ noted above, this argument was found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634