DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/02/2026 in which claims 1, 3-7, 11, 13-17 are pending. Claims 2, 8-10, 12 and 18-20 were canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 01/13/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1, 3-7, 11, 13-17 are pending.
Claims 2, 8-10, 12 and 18-20 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Zhang does not disclose “a sensing interval for a sidelink transmission burst including multiple sidelink synchronization signals and physical SL broadcast channel (PSBCH) blocks (S-SSBs)” and “based on the channel being idle for the sensing interval” with “a time duration of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a first threshold” and “a duty cycle of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a second threshold”, because the cited portions of Zhang relates to only a single SS/PBCH and the description does not teach that a channel sensing is performed for a sidelink transmission burst including multiple S-SSBs.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang shows in Fig. 7 and discloses in [0192] that a SL SS/PBCH burst set encompasses one or multiple SS burst(s) and a SL SS burst comprises multiple SL SS Blocks. Each SL SS Block includes PSSS, SSSS and PSPBCH. Zhang subsequently discloses different conditions to start to transmit the SL SS/PBCH, where condition 4 indicates a channel sensing during a sensing time for the SL SS/PBCH. The UE starts to transmit the SL SS/PBCH when the channel is clean after the sensing time is completed. Zhang further discloses in [0198] the UE stopping the transmission of the SL SS/PBCH burst set, in [0218]-[0221] the UE transmitting SL SS/PBCH burst set and in Fig. 13, [0251] the UE initiating the SL SS/PBCH burst transmission. Figs 7, 8A, 9, 10, 11A-B and 13 show that the SL SS/PBCH burst set transmitted by the UE starts with a SL SS/PBCH. Thus, in order for the UE to initiate the transmission of the SL SS/PBCH burst, the UE determines that the channel is clean and starts the transmission of the SL SS/PBCH which is the start of the SL SS/PBCH burst. The sensing of the channel is for the SL SS/PBCH and the SL SS/PBCH burst.
Therefore, based on the response to argument presented above, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claim 11 recites similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus is rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0168574) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0246790), hereinafter “Liu”.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Zhang, Fig. 1E, 1F, Fig. 4, [0166], Fig. 13, a WTRU (UE) in a wireless network), the first UE comprising:
a transceiver (Zhang, Fig. 1F, [0127], the UE includes a transceiver 120); and
a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Zhang, [0126]-[0127], Fig. 1F, the WTRU (UE) includes a processor 118, coupled to the transceiver 120, to perform the functions of the UE):
perform a channel access procedure of a channel for a sensing interval for a sidelink transmission burst (Zhang, [0197], “If UE is out of coverage, before sending SL SS/PBCH, it has to perform channel sensing on pre-defined SL SS/PBCH resource (the sensing time is depend on a random value in terms of ms), if channel is clean after sensing time is completed then it can start to transmit the SL SS/PBCH, otherwise, it indicates other UE has transmitted SL SS/SSPBCH”. The UE performs channel sensing during a sensing time for a SL SS/PBCH. [0009], [0192] and Figs 7, 8A, 9, 10, 11A-B and 13 show that the SL SS/PBCH burst set transmitted by the UE starts with the SL SS/PBCH. [0198] further indicates that the UE is transmitting SL SS/PBCH burst set. Thus, the channel sensing during the sensing time is for the SL SS/PBCH burst set which starts with the SL SS/PBCH transmitted by the UE) including multiple sidelink synchronization signals and physical SL broadcast channel (PSBCH) blocks (S-SSBs) (Zhang, Figs 7, 8A, 9, 10, 11A-B and 13, the SL SS/PBCH burst set include SPSS, SSSS and PBCH blocks), and
transmit, to a second UE, the sidelink transmission burst based on the channel being idle for the sensing interval (Zhang, [0197], “If UE is out of coverage, before sending SL SS/PBCH, it has to perform channel sensing on pre-defined SL SS/PBCH resource (the sensing time is depend on a random value in terms of ms), if channel is clean after sensing time is completed then it can start to transmit the SL SS/PBCH, otherwise, it indicates other UE has transmitted SL SS/SSPBCH”. The UE transmits the SL SS/PBCH based on the channel being clean after the sensing time. Fig. 13, [0251]-[0252], the UE transmits the SS/PBCH burst set to another UE),
wherein a time duration of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a first threshold (Zhang, Figs. 7-8, 10, 11, 13, the duration of the SL SS burst is less than a slot duration).
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, wherein a duty cycle of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a second threshold.
However, Liu teaches wherein a duty cycle of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a second threshold (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the sensing interval is 25 microseconds.
As to claim 3, Liu teaches wherein the sensing interval is 25 microseconds (Liu, [0103], “a 25 microsecond channel sensing duration is used for 25 microsecond Cat 2 LBT”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
As to claim 5, Zhang teaches wherein each of the S-SSBs includes a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS) and a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) (Zhang, Fig. 7, [0192], the NR SL SS/PBCH burst set includes multiple SS bursts and each SS burst include multiple SL SS block with corresponding index. Each SL SS Block includes SPSS, SSSS and PSPBCH).
As to claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein at least one of the PSBCHs is associated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) (Zhang, [0191], “The DMRSs may be used as a reference for channel estimation, demodulation of the PSBCH”, Fig. 7, [0192], “A SL SS Block may include one symbol PSSS, one symbol SSSS and two symbols PSPBCH (including DMRS)”. The SL SS/PBCH burst include PBCHs).
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein the sidelink transmission burst is a discovery burst transmission of the S-SSBs including a set of at least one of signal or channel (Zhang, [0004], discovery, [0005], each SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set is assigned with a unique number starting from 0 and increased by 1. [0155], a UE transmitting a synchronization signal burst and NR-PSBCH (NR physical sidelink broadcast channel) to other UEs for discovery. Fig. 7, [0192], the NR SL SS/PBCH burst set includes multiple SS bursts and each SS burst include multiple SL SS block with corresponding index. Each SL SS Block includes SPSS, SSSS and PSPBCH. Figs. 8A-B, [0204]-[0205], the SyncRef UE determines which SL SS/PBCH blocks to transmit with corresponding index).
Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang and Wu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, signal or channel associated with the duty cycle.
However, Liu teaches signal or channel associated with the duty cycle (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
As to claim 11, Zhang teaches a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Zhang, Fig. 1E, 1F, Fig. 4, [0166], Fig. 13, a WTRU (UE) in a wireless network performing transmissions), the method comprising:
performing a channel access procedure of a channel for a sensing interval for a sidelink transmission burst (Zhang, [0197], “If UE is out of coverage, before sending SL SS/PBCH, it has to perform channel sensing on pre-defined SL SS/PBCH resource (the sensing time is depend on a random value in terms of ms), if channel is clean after sensing time is completed then it can start to transmit the SL SS/PBCH, otherwise, it indicates other UE has transmitted SL SS/SSPBCH”. The UE performs channel sensing during a sensing time for a SL SS/PBCH. [0009], [0192] and Figs 7, 8A, 9, 10, 11A-B and 13 show that the SL SS/PBCH burst set transmitted by the UE starts with the SL SS/PBCH. [0198] further indicates that the UE is transmitting SL SS/PBCH burst set. Thus, the channel sensing during the sensing time is for the SL SS/PBCH burst set which starts with the SL SS/PBCH transmitted by the UE) including multiple sidelink synchronization signals and physical SL broadcast channel (PSBCH) blocks (S-SSBs) (Zhang, Figs 7, 8A, 9, 10, 11A-B and 13, the SL SS/PBCH burst set include SPSS, SSSS and PBCH blocks); and
transmitting, to a second UE, the sidelink transmission burst based on the channel being idle for the sensing interval (Zhang, [0197], “If UE is out of coverage, before sending SL SS/PBCH, it has to perform channel sensing on pre-defined SL SS/PBCH resource (the sensing time is depend on a random value in terms of ms), if channel is clean after sensing time is completed then it can start to transmit the SL SS/PBCH, otherwise, it indicates other UE has transmitted SL SS/SSPBCH”. The UE transmits the SL SS/PBCH based on the channel being clean after the sensing time. Fig. 13, [0251]-[0252], the UE transmits the SS/PBCH burst set to another UE),
wherein a time duration of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a first threshold (Zhang, Figs. 7-8, 10, 11, 13, the duration of the SL SS burst is less than a slot duration).
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein a duty cycle of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a second threshold.
However, Liu teaches wherein a duty cycle of the sidelink transmission burst is equal to or smaller than a second threshold (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the sensing interval is 25 microseconds.
As to claim 13, Liu teaches wherein the sensing interval is 25 microseconds (Liu, [0103], “a 25 microsecond channel sensing duration is used for 25 microsecond Cat 2 LBT”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
As to claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein each of the S-SSBs includes a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS) and a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) (Zhang, Fig. 7, [0192], the NR SL SS/PBCH burst set includes multiple SS bursts and each SS burst include multiple SL SS block with corresponding index. Each SL SS Block includes SPSS, SSSS and PSPBCH).
As to claim 16, Zhang teaches wherein at least one of the PSBCHs is associated with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) (Zhang, [0191], “The DMRSs may be used as a reference for channel estimation, demodulation of the PSBCH”, Fig. 7, [0192], “A SL SS Block may include one symbol PSSS, one symbol SSSS and two symbols PSPBCH (including DMRS)”. The SL SS/PBCH burst include PBCHs).
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein the sidelink transmission burst is a discovery burst transmission of the S-SSBs including a set of at least one of signal or channel (Zhang, [0004], discovery, [0005], each SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set is assigned with a unique number starting from 0 and increased by 1. [0155], a UE transmitting a synchronization signal burst and NR-PSBCH (NR physical sidelink broadcast channel) to other UEs for discovery. Fig. 7, [0192], the NR SL SS/PBCH burst set includes multiple SS bursts and each SS burst include multiple SL SS block with corresponding index. Each SL SS Block includes SPSS, SSSS and PSPBCH. Figs. 8A-B, [0204]-[0205], the SyncRef UE determines which SL SS/PBCH blocks to transmit with corresponding index).
Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang and Wu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, signal or channel associated with the duty cycle.
However, Liu teaches signal or channel associated with the duty cycle (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0168574) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0246790), hereinafter “Liu” and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0086782), hereinafter “Chen”.
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond and the second threshold is 1/20.
As to claim 4, Liu teaches wherein the second threshold is 1/20 (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang and Wu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond (Chen, Fig. 14, the S-SSB burst set includes two S-SSBs, which are transmitted within a slot. [0017], Fig. 6 shows that a slot is within a subframe of 1ms. Thus, the S-SSB burst set is transmitted within a slot which is smaller a subframe of 1ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang and Liu to have the features, as taught by Chen in order to perform synchronization between UEs to establish sidelink connectivity (Chen, [0033]).
Zhang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond and the second threshold is 1/20.
As to claim 14, Liu teaches wherein the second threshold is 1/20 (Liu, [0106], the S-SSB transmissions have a low duty cycle. The duty cycle is less than or equal to 1/20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to have the features, as taught by Liu in order to give the S-SSB a high priority and protection during the discovery process between UEs to improve sidelink communications (Liu, [0095]).
Zhang and Liu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Zhang and Wu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first threshold is 1 millisecond (Chen, Fig. 14, the S-SSB burst set includes two S-SSBs, which are transmitted within a slot. [0017], Fig. 6 shows that a slot is within a subframe of 1ms. Thus, the S-SSB burst set is transmitted within a slot which is smaller a subframe of 1ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang and Liu to have the features, as taught by Chen in order to perform synchronization between UEs to establish sidelink connectivity (Chen, [0033]).
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473