Formal Matters
Applicant's response, filed 30 December 2025, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-17, and 20-23 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-17, and 20-23 have been rejected.
Priority
The instant application claims the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. § 120, 121, or 365(c). Accordingly, the effective filing date for the instant application is 14 March 2022 claiming benefit to Provisional Application 63/319601.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 15-17, 20-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volek (US Patent Application No. 2020/0315891)[hereinafter Volek] in view of Sciacchitano et al. (US Patent App No 2018/0008498)[hereinafter Sciacchitano].
As per claim 1, Volek teaches on the following limitations of the claim:
an electronic processor configured to is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0060 (teaching on a computer run by a central processing unit for controlling the medication cart and corresponding drawers);
receive, via a user interface, a selection of an administering unit is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0108 (teaching on a provider communicating, via a medication cart computer or disapply device such as a tablet, the desire to access a particular drawer/cassette);
identify a prescription box corresponding to the administering unit from the plurality of prescription boxes is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091 and ¶ 0094 (teaching on automatically determining what drawer/cassette within the medication cart corresponds to the selected drawer/cassette);
receive identification information of a patient is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0096, and ¶ 0104 (teaching on scanning the patient identifier bar code with a scanner in communications with the computer);
determine whether the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box, and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 (teaching on comparing the scanned ID with stored information to see if a drawer on the cart has a matching patient ID associated);
provide an indication when the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 and ¶ 0065 (teaching on the drawer and corresponding medication container automatically opening via actuating a latch on the drawer (treated as synonymous to an indication) to allow the provider access to the medication).
Volek fails to teach the following limitation of claim 1. Sciacchitano, however, does teach the following:
a prescription administration system comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a prescription delivery cart with a plurality of removable delivery modules (treated as synonymous to trays) and removable individual prescription bins (treated as synonymous to boxes) );
a medication tray including a plurality of removably received prescription boxes, each of the plurality of prescription boxes configured to receive a plurality of medications corresponding to a single administration time; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290));
and automatically actuate, via an actuator, a box cover of the prescription box in response to determining that the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek to include a removable bin from the tray wherein the lid is only opened with an electrical signal to a bin actuator of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the “the locked state can remain, even when power is lost” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052).
As per claim 2, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Volek also discloses the following:
wherein the prescription administration cart includes a plurality of drawers, and wherein the plurality of drawers define the plurality of storage areas is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette))).
Volek fails to teach the following; Sciacchitano, however, does disclose:
the prescription administration system of claim 1, further comprising: a prescription administration cart including a plurality of storage areas and a plurality of medication trays configured to receive the plurality of prescription boxes, wherein the medication tray is one of the plurality of medication trays, and wherein the plurality of medication trays is removably received in the plurality of storage areas, wherein the prescription administration cart includes a plurality of drawers, and wherein the plurality of drawers define the plurality of storage areas is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek to include a removable bin from the tray wherein the lid is only opened with an electrical signal to a bin actuator of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the “the locked state can remain, even when power is lost” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052).
As per claim 4, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 1, further comprising a tablet device communicatively coupled to the electronic processor, wherein the indication is provided using the tablet device is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0108 (teaching on a provider communicating, via a medication cart computer or disapply device such as a handheld tablet, the desire to access a particular drawer/cassette).
As per claim 5, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 1, further comprising a scanner configured to scan a wearable device of the patient, wherein the identification information of the patient is received by scanning, using the scanner, the wearable device is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0096, and ¶ 0104 (teaching on scanning the patient identifier bar code affixed to a wristband (treated as synonymous to a wearable device) with a scanner in communications with the computer).
As per claim 6, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 1, wherein the indication is a first indication, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to provide a second indication when the identification information of the patient does not correspond to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0065, and in the Figures at fig. 16B rows 1 & 2 (teaching on the alternative drawers not unlocking when the patient identification does not match the drawer (treated as synonymous to a second indication) to prevent the provider from accessing the incorrect medication OR prompting the user to override the patient credential scan and enter the patient's PAN or MRN number to alternative unlock the drawer (also treated as synonymous to a second indication)).
As per claim 15, Volek teaches on the following limitations of the claim:
an electronic processor configured to is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0060 (teaching on a computer run by a central processing unit for controlling the medication cart and corresponding drawers);
receive prescription data for a plurality of patients as a group is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0068, ¶ 0088, ¶ 0096, and in the Figures at fig. 17B row 5 (teaching on receiving a plurality of patient identifications for a patient group);
determine identification information of the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 (teaching on comparing the scanned ID with stored information to see if a drawer on the cart has a matching patient ID associated).
Volek fails to teach the following limitation of claim 15. Sciacchitano, however, does teach the following:
a prescription administration system comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a prescription delivery cart with a plurality of removable delivery modules (treated as synonymous to trays) and removable individual prescription bins (treated as synonymous to boxes) );
a medication tray including a plurality of removable received prescription boxes, each of the plurality of prescription boxes configured to receive a plurality of medications corresponding to a single administration time; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290));
retrieve a portion of the prescription data corresponding to the medication tray; receive a selection of a prescription data unit of the portion of the prescription data corresponding to the medication tray, identify a prescription box corresponding to the prescription data unit from the plurality of prescription boxes of the medication tray, and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a the bin opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin );
automatically actuate, via an actuator, a box cover of the identified prescription box, in response to determining that the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek to include a removable bin from the tray wherein the lid is only opened with an electrical signal to a bin actuator of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the “the locked state can remain, even when power is lost” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052).
As per claim 16, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 15, further comprising: a prescription administration cart including a plurality of medication trays, wherein the medication tray is one of the plurality of medication trays is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette);
wherein the electronic processor is further configured to identify a storage area of the prescription administration cart corresponding to the medication tray when the medication tray is filled is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette);
determine whether the medication tray is placed in the storage area in response to identifying the storage area, and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0079-80 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on automatically determining when a storage drawer is placed within a cassette and corresponding drawer ID);
provide an indication when the medication tray is placed in the storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0081-82 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on locking the storage drawer (treated as synonymous to an indication) when the drawer is placed within the cassette).
As per claim 17, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 16, further comprising an indicator provided on the storage area, wherein the indication is provided using the indicator of the storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0081-82 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on locking the storage drawer (treated as synonymous to an indication) when the drawer is placed within the cassette with an actuated lock (treated as synonymous to an indicator provided on the storage area)).
As per claim 18, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration system of claim 16, wherein the prescription administration cart includes a drawer that defines the storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette wherein a plurality of cassettes may be placed on the medication cart).
As per claim 21, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Volek fails to teach the following; Sciacchitano, however, does disclose:
the prescription administration system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to actuate, via a box actuator, the prescription box, moving the prescription box from the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek to include a removable bin from the tray of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the individual bins “are preferably individually - lockable and track able” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035).
As per claim 23, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Volek fails to teach the following; Sciacchitano, however, does disclose:
the prescription administration system of claim 15, wherein the electronic processor is configured to actuate, via a box actuator, the identified prescription box, moving the identified prescription box from the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek to include a removable bin from the tray of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the individual bins “are preferably individually - lockable and track able” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035).
Claims 7-14, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volek (US Patent Application No. 2020/0315891)[hereinafter Volek] in view of Sciacchitano et al. (US Patent App No 2018/0008498)[hereinafter Sciacchitano] in further view of Wagner (US Patent App No 2017/0116815)[hereinafter Wagner].
As per claim 7, Volek teaches on the following limitations of the claim:
a storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0053, ¶ 0059, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0066, and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on the plurality of cassettes (treated as synonymous to a storage area) that are removable from the storage cart);
a medication tray removably received within the storage area…and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette).
Volek fails to teach the following limitation of claim 7. Wagner, however, does teach the following:
a prescription administration cart comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0049-50, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0085, and ¶ 0099 (teaching on a mobile medication management smart storage system);
a storage area; a medication tray removeably received within the storage area; and a plurality of prescription boxes removably received in the medication tray, each of the plurality of prescription boxes ...configured to receive a plurality of medications corresponding to a single administration time is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0049-50, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0085, and ¶ 0099 (teaching on a medication cart with a plurality of removable trays/drawers with a plurality of medication containers wherein each container contains a particular medication with name, location, and time labels for a particular patient with a computer program making a comparison to verify that patient the patient who is to take the medications within container).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system of Volek with the individual date/time subsection containers within a patient medication tray of Wagner with the motivation “to verify the accuracy of the medications which are ultimately placed in a given patient-specific container” (Wagner in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0045).
The combination of Volek and Wagner fails to teach the following limitation of claim 7. Sciacchitano, however, does teach the following:
a medication tray removably received within the storage area and including box actuators; and a plurality of prescription boxes… including a box cover and an actuator is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290));
wherein the box cover is configured to be actuated by the actuator to be lifted such that the contents of the prescription box may be accessed is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0050-51, ¶ 0064-65, and in the Figures at fig. 12 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator);.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek and Wagner to include a removable bin from the tray wherein the lid is only opened with an electrical signal to a bin actuator of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the “the locked state can remain , even when power is lost” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052).
As per claim 8, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 7, further comprising: an electronic processor configured to is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0060 (teaching on a computer run by a central processing unit for controlling the medication cart and corresponding drawers);
receive, via a user interface, a selection of an administering unit is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0108 (teaching on a provider communicating, via a medication cart computer or disapply device such as a tablet, the desire to access a particular drawer/cassette);
identify a prescription box corresponding to the administering unit from the plurality of prescription boxes is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091 and ¶ 0094 (teaching on automatically determining what drawer/cassette within the medication cart corresponds to the selected drawer/cassette);
receive identification information of a patient is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0096, and ¶ 0104 (teaching on scanning the patient identifier bar code with a scanner in communications with the computer);
determine whether the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box, and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 (teaching on comparing the scanned ID with stored information to see if a drawer on the cart has a matching patient ID associated);
provide an indication when the identification information of the patient corresponds to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 and ¶ 0065 (teaching on the drawer and corresponding medication container automatically opening via actuating a latch on the drawer (treated as synonymous to an indication) to allow the provider access to the medication).
As per claim 9, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 8, further comprising a tablet device communicatively coupled to the electronic processor, wherein the indication is provided using the tablet device is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0091, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0108 (teaching on a provider communicating, via a medication cart computer or disapply device such as a handheld tablet, the desire to access a particular drawer/cassette).
As per claim 10, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 8, further comprising a scanner communicatively coupled to the electronic processor and configured to scan a wearable device of the patient, wherein the identification information of the patient is received by scanning, using the scanner, the wearable device is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0096, and ¶ 0104 (teaching on scanning the patient identifier bar code affixed to a wristband (treated as synonymous to a wearable device) with a scanner in communications with the computer).
As per claim 11, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 8, wherein the indication is a first indication, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to provide a second indication when the identification information of the patient does not correspond to the prescription box is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0065, and in the Figures at fig. 16B rows 1 & 2 (teaching on the alternative drawers not unlocking when the patient identification does not match the drawer (treated as synonymous to a second indication) to prevent the provider from accessing the incorrect medication OR prompting the user to override the patient credential scan and enter the patient's PAN or MRN number to alternative unlock the drawer (also treated as synonymous to a second indication)).
As per claim 12, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 7, further comprising: an electronic processor configured to is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0060 (teaching on a computer run by a central processing unit for controlling the medication cart and corresponding drawers);
receive prescription data for a plurality of patients as a group is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0068, ¶ 0088, ¶ 0096, and in the Figures at fig. 17B row 5 (teaching on receiving a plurality of patient identifications for a patient group);
determine identification information of the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093 (teaching on comparing the scanned ID with stored information to see if a drawer on the cart has a matching patient ID associated).
Volek fails to teach the following limitation of claim 12. Wagner, however, does teach the following:
retrieve a portion of the prescription data corresponding to the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0075 (teaching on retrieving a portion of one of the patient's prescription data for a predetermined timeframe (here - a patient's prescription data for one particular day));
receive a selection of a prescription data unit of the portion of the prescription data corresponding to the medication tray, and identify a prescription box corresponding to the prescription data unit from the plurality of prescription boxes of the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0093, ¶ 0099, and ¶ 0103 (teaching on determining the specific container within the medication drawer for the portion of the patient's prescription).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system of Volek with the individual date/time subsection containers within a patient medication tray of Wagner with the motivation “to verify the accuracy of the medications which are ultimately placed in a given patient-specific container” (Wagner in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0045).
As per claim 13, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 12, further comprising: a plurality of storage areas, wherein the storage area is one of the plurality of storage areas is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0053, ¶ 0059, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0066, and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on the plurality of cassettes (treated as synonymous to a storage area) that are removable from the storage cart);
a plurality of medication trays removably received within the plurality of storage areas, wherein the medication tray is one of the plurality of medication trays is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette);
wherein the electronic processor is further configured to determine whether the medication tray is placed in the storage area after the medication tray is filled, and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0079-80 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on automatically determining when a storage drawer is placed within a cassette and corresponding drawer ID);
provide an indication when the medication tray is placed in the storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0081-82 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on locking the storage drawer (treated as synonymous to an indication) when the drawer is placed within the cassette).
As per claim 14, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Volek also discloses the following:
the prescription administration cart of claim 7, further comprising a drawer that defines the storage area is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0052, ¶ 0063 and in the Figures at fig. 2A-C (teaching on a plurality of storage drawers (treated as synonymous to a tray) that are removable from the cassette).
As per claim 22, the combination of Volek, Wagner, and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Volek and Wagner fail to teach the following; Sciacchitano, however, does disclose:
the prescription administration cart of claim 7, wherein the box actuators are each configured to selectively move a respective prescription box received in the medication tray from the medication tray is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0050-52, ¶ 0064-65, in the Figures at fig. 4, fig. 12, and fig. 14 (teaching on a plurality of removable bins within a single delivery module (treated as synonymous to a tray) wherein each bin has a lock and lid actuator (ref char 400) that opens when the patient identification data matches that of the assigned bin and a bin actuator that locks a bin into the delivery module (ref char 290)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system with divided subsections of Volek and Wagner to include a removable bin from the tray of Sciacchitano with the motivation of ensuring the individual bins “are preferably individually - lockable and track able” (Sciacchitano in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035).
As per claim 20, the combination of Volek and Sciacchitano discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Volek and Sciacchitano fail to teach the following; Wagner, however, does disclose:
the prescription administration system of claim 15, wherein the prescription data unit includes information related to a single administration unit provided to a single patient at a particular time of day is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0075 (teaching on retrieving a portion of one of the patient's prescription data for a predetermined timeframe (here - a patient's prescription data for one particular day)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the mobile medication storage and secure access system of Volek and Sciacchitano with the individual single day/time subsection containers within a patient medication tray of Wagner with the motivation “provid[ing] a storage location and dispensing time period for each medication” (Wagner in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0103).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 December 2025 with respect to 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. However, the rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendments and a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Sciacchitano, as per the rejection above. Applicant asserts that Sciacchitano fails to teach on individually removable bins, presenting only Figure 1 and Figure 2 from the prior art reference. Examiner is wholly unpersuaded. As clearly demonstrated in Figure 12 as cited in Examiner previous rejection, each bin is removable from the delivery tray.
As the amendments necessitate the removal of Wagner from the independent claims 1 and 15, a new grounds of rejection was made to further clarify the comparable structure of Sciacchitano and the instant application’s medical drawer with removable individual boxes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORDAN L JACKSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857