DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amended limitation of the barcode having location information embedded within is recited at a high level of generality and does not impart any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea This limitation amounts to no more than mere data gathering necessary to perform the abstract idea, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This limitation is additionally considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art, as bar codes and QR codes are well-known concepts in the field.
Additionally, the amended limitation of guiding a place to pass through on the route is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere post-solution output, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Examiner notes that concepts directed to organizing human activity are considered to recite an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made to the claims, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Independent claims 1, 6, and 11 are directed to a system, method, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, respectively, for indoor voice navigation. Therefore, independent claims 1, 6 and 11 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The other analogous independent claims, claims 6 and 11, are rejected for the same reasons as the representative claim 1 as discussed here. Claim 1 recites:
An indoor voice navigation system applied to a mobile device for performing navigation in an indoor environment,
the indoor voice navigation system comprising a processor and a non-transitory data storage, the non-transitory data storage storing:
a computer code of a map data storage module including a two-dimensional plan map corresponding to the indoor environment;
a computer code of a route navigation module configured to input an initial location and a target location in the indoor environment to calculate an actual navigation route from the initial location to the target location, so that a predetermined map data navigation route corresponding to the route from the initial location to the target location is calculated on the two-dimensional plan map, in which the actual navigation route includes at least one positioning location, and each of the at least one positioning location has a two-dimensional barcode with location information embedded therein;
a computer code of a route calculation module configured to search for one of the at least one positioning location closest to the mobile device on the map data navigation route, and automatically set the closest one as a candidate location, and dynamically calculate a distance and a traveling direction between the mobile device and the candidate location;
a computer code of a voice guidance module configured to guide the distance between the mobile device and the candidate location and the traveling direction by voice;
a computer code of an image capture and analysis module configured to capture the two-dimensional barcode of the candidate location to read the location information of the candidate location embedded within the two-dimensional barcode;
a computer code of a route rearrangement module configured to read the location information of the candidate location after the mobile device arrives at the candidate location, set the candidate location as the initial location and input the initial location to the route navigation module, so that the route navigation module recalculates the actual navigation route and the map data navigation route from the candidate location to the target location; and
a computer code of a route display module configured to update and display the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route,
wherein the voice guidance module is configured to guide a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, the steps of inputting an initial location and a target location to calculate a route, search for a closest location, calculate a distance and traveling direction, read the location information, set the candidate location, and recalculating the route in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected (received, detected, etc.) and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either mentally or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
An indoor voice navigation system applied to a mobile device for performing navigation in an indoor environment,
the indoor voice navigation system comprising a processor and a non-transitory data storage, the non-transitory data storage storing:
a computer code of a map data storage module including a two-dimensional plan map corresponding to the indoor environment;
a computer code of a route navigation module configured to input an initial location and a target location in the indoor environment to calculate an actual navigation route from the initial location to the target location, so that a predetermined map data navigation route corresponding to the route from the initial location to the target location is calculated on the two-dimensional plan map, in which the actual navigation route includes at least one positioning location, and each of the at least one positioning location has a two-dimensional barcode with location information embedded therein;
a computer code of a route calculation module configured to search for one of the at least one positioning location closest to the mobile device on the map data navigation route, and automatically set the closest one as a candidate location, and dynamically calculate a distance and a traveling direction between the mobile device and the candidate location;
a computer code of a voice guidance module configured to guide the distance between the mobile device and the candidate location and the traveling direction by voice;
a computer code of an image capture and analysis module configured to capture the two-dimensional barcode of the candidate location to read the location information of the candidate location embedded within the two-dimensional barcode;
a computer code of a route rearrangement module configured to read the location information of the candidate location after the mobile device arrives at the candidate location, set the candidate location as the initial location and input the initial location to the route navigation module, so that the route navigation module recalculates the actual navigation route and the map data navigation route from the candidate location to the target location; and
a computer code of a route display module configured to update and display the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route,
wherein the voice guidance module is configured to guide a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations above, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (processor) to perform the process. In particular, the limitations of storing map data containing positioning locations with two-dimensional barcodes and capturing two-dimensional barcode information are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of storing information for use in the determining and other steps), and amounts to no more than mere data gathering necessary to perform the abstract idea, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The steps of guiding a distance by voice, updating and displaying the map and route, and guiding a place to pass through are also recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere post solution action, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, claims 1, 6, and 11 further recite a processor, non-transitory data storage, and computer code. These limitations merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose navigation environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The processor, non-transitory data storage, and computer code are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 9 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor, data storage, and computer code to perform the steps amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations discussed above are insignificant extra-solution activities.
The additional limitations of storing map data, capturing barcode data, and displaying map data detecting/detectable are well-understood, routine and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the map data and barcode data is anything other than conventional map data and barcode data. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-15 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210372798 A1, with an earliest priority date of 04/29/2020, hereinafter “Bian”, in view of US 20180296427 A1, with an earliest priority date of 10/16/2015, hereinafter “Troesch”, further in view of US 20200124437 A1, with an earliest priority date of 10/22/2018, hereinafter “Miyake”.
Regarding claim 1, Bian teaches an indoor voice navigation system applied to a mobile device for performing navigation in an indoor environment. See at least [0099] and figure 1.
a computer code of a map data storage module including a two-dimensional plan map corresponding to the indoor environment. See at least [0100]-[0101], figure 1, step 1, and figure 4, wherein two-dimensional map data corresponding to an indoor environment is obtained. See at least [0049], wherein the map data is obtained from a map module.
a computer code of a route navigation module configured to input an initial location and a target location in the indoor environment to calculate an actual navigation route from the initial location to the target location, so that a predetermined map data navigation route corresponding to the route from the initial location to the target location is calculated on the two-dimensional plan map, in which the actual navigation route includes at least one positioning location, and each of the at least one positioning location has a two-dimensional barcode with location information embedded therein. See at least [0101]-[0103] and figure 1, step 2, wherein an initial location of the device and a destination location are obtained, along with a planned path in the map data connecting the initial location to the target location. See at least [0103] and figure 4, wherein the initial location of the device is 1, the destination is 22, and the map contained a planned path connecting the locations. The path contains positioning locations 2-10 and 17, each associated with code information. See at least [0101], wherein the code information is QR code information, and a map is used to associated coordinate information with QR code content. See at least [0053], wherein the route is obtained from an optimal route planning module.
a computer code of a route calculation module configured to search for one of the at least one positioning location on the map data navigation route, and automatically set the closest one as a candidate location. See at least [0104]-[0112] and figure 1, steps 3-6, wherein the next positioning location on the route is obtained and set as a target location. See at least [0054], wherein the next positioning location is obtained from a destination signpost obtaining module.
and dynamically calculate a distance and a traveling direction between the mobile device and the candidate location. See at least [0115]-[0118], [0136]-[0146], and figure 1, step 9, wherein a direction between the device and the target location is calculated based on a relative position of the QR code and the device.
a computer code of an image capture and analysis module configured to capture the two-dimensional barcode of the candidate location to read the location information of the candidate location embedded within the two-dimensional barcode. See at least [0113]-[0116] and figure 1, steps 7-8, wherein an image detection algorithm in the control module captures an image of the QR code and recognizes location information of the target location. Additionally, see at least [0121]-[0135], wherein the coordinates of the target location are obtained from the image data. Additionally, see at least [0074]-[0077], wherein several units are configured to scan the QR code and obtain coordinate information of the QR code.
a computer code of a route rearrangement module configured to read the location information of the candidate location after the mobile device arrives at the candidate location, set the candidate location as the initial location and input the initial location to the route navigation module, so that the route navigation module recalculates the actual navigation route and the map data navigation route from the candidate location to the target location. See at least [0150]-[0151] and figure 1, steps 11-12, wherein, once the device arrives at the target location, the method returns to step 3 and obtains the current location of the device at the target location. Additionally, see at least [0104]-[0107] and figure 1, steps 3-5, wherein a new optimal route is calculated from the new current location of the device to the destination location.
Bian remains silent on the indoor voice navigation system comprising a processor and a non-transitory data storage. Bian additionally remains silent on the candidate location being closest (as discussed above, Bian teaches selecting the next QR code on the route as the candidate location), dynamically calculating a distance (as discussed above, Bian teaches dynamically calculating a relative position between the mobile device and the candidate location), a computer code of a voice guidance module configured to guide the distance between the mobile device and the candidate location and the traveling direction by voice; and a computer code of a route display module configured to update and display the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route, wherein the voice guidance module is configured to guide a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route.
Troesch teaches the indoor voice navigation system comprising a processor and a non-transitory data storage. See at least [0048] and figure 4, wherein the mobile device comprises a processor 36 and a storage device 38.
the candidate location being closest. See at least [0009] and [0027], wherein the location nearest the mobile device is selected as the next location along the route.
dynamically calculating a distance. See at least [0058], wherein the distance between the mobile device and the next waypoint is calculated.
a computer code of a voice guidance module configured to guide the distance between the mobile device and the candidate location and the traveling direction by voice. See at least [0055] and [0058], wherein voice messages are generated to inform the user of the relative location and distance of the next waypoint on the route.
and a computer code of a route display module configured to update and display the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route. See at least [0055], wherein the route guidance includes displaying the route on a building map and updating the current location of the mobile device along the path.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s processor, storage medium, closest waypoint, distance calculation, voice guidance, and route display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Miyake teaches wherein the voice guidance module is configured to guide a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route. See at least [0117]-[0124] and figure 10, steps S4-2-4, S4-2-6, and 4-2-8, wherein map information items, alert items, and landmark items are identified along the route. These items are distinct from the nodes, or positioning locations, that make up the route. See at least figures 11A-B, 12A-B, and 13A-B for examples of voice guidance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Miyake’s technique of providing voice guidance to guide a place to pass through on the route, in addition to the positioning locations. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables visually impaired people to travel to a destination without excess stress, as recognized by Miyake (see at least [0212]-[0215].
Regarding claim 2, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Bian remains silent on wherein the voice guidance module further includes enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign.
Troesch teaches enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. See at least [0049], wherein the destination is input by the user through spoken input. Additionally, see at least [0030]-[0031] and figure 1, wherein the user uses speech input to select a destination based on the name of a shop in a shopping center.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the at least one positioning location includes any one of an intersection. See at least [0101] and figure 4, wherein the positioning locations 4, 7, and 10 are intersection locations.
Bian remains silent on a curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. Examiner notes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “any one of” indicates that Bian reads on claim 3 as a whole, since Bian discloses one listed alternative.
Troesch teaches curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. See at least [0030] and figure 1, wherein the positioning locations 4 include elevators 10. Additionally, see at least [0033]-[0034], wherein the positioning locations 4 aid the mobile device in determining its current location based on scanning a QR code.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of ethe positioning location including an elevator entrance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the two-dimensional barcode includes a QR code. See at least [0101] and figure 3, wherein the code is a QR code.
Regarding claim 6, Bian teaches a computer implemented indoor voice navigation method. See at least [0099] and figure 1.
comprising: storing a two-dimensional plan map corresponding to an indoor environment. See at least [0100]-[0101], figure 1, step 1, and figure 4, wherein two-dimensional map data corresponding to an indoor environment is obtained. See at least [0049], wherein the map data is obtained from a map module.
inputting an initial location and a target location in the indoor environment to calculate an actual navigation route from the initial location to the target location, thereby outputting a predetermined map data navigation route corresponding to the route from the initial location to the target location on the two-dimensional plan map, in which the actual navigation route includes at least one positioning location, and each of the at least one positioning location has a two-dimensional barcode with location information embedded herein. See at least [0101]-[0103] and figure 1, step 2, wherein an initial location of the device and a destination location are obtained, along with a planned path in the map data connecting the initial location to the target location. See at least [0103] and figure 4, wherein the initial location of the device is 1, the destination is 22, and the map contained a planned path connecting the locations. The path contains positioning locations 2-10 and 17, each associated with code information. See at least [0101], wherein the code information is QR code information, and a map is used to associated coordinate information with QR code content. See at least [0053], wherein the route is obtained from an optimal route planning module.
searching for one of the at least one positioning location on the map data navigation route, and automatically setting the closest one as a candidate location. See at least [0104]-[0112] and figure 1, steps 3-6, wherein the next positioning location on the route is obtained and set as a target location. See at least [0054], wherein the next positioning location is obtained from a destination signpost obtaining module.
dynamically calculating a distance and a traveling direction between the mobile device and a candidate location. See at least [0115]-[0118], [0136]-[0146], and figure 1, step 9, wherein a direction between the device and the target location is calculated based on a relative position of the QR code and the device.
capturing the two-dimensional barcode of the candidate location when the mobile device reaches the candidate location, and reading the location information of the candidate location embedded within the two-dimensional barcode. See at least [0113]-[0116] and figure 1, steps 7-8, wherein an image detection algorithm in the control module captures an image of the QR code and recognizes location information of the target location. Additionally, see at least [0121]-[0135], wherein the coordinates of the target location are obtained from the image data. Additionally, see at least [0074]-[0077], wherein several units are configured to scan the QR code and obtain coordinate information of the QR code.
setting the candidate location as an initial location and recalculating the actual navigation route and the map data navigation route from the candidate location to the target location. See at least [0150]-[0151] and figure 1, steps 11-12, wherein, once the device arrives at the target location, the method returns to step 3 and obtains the current location of the device at the target location. Additionally, see at least [0104]-[0107] and figure 1, steps 3-5, wherein a new optimal route is calculated from the new current location of the device to the destination location.
Bian remains silent on the candidate location being closest (as discussed above, Bian teaches selecting the next QR code on the route as the candidate location), dynamically calculating a distance (as discussed above, Bian teaches dynamically calculating a relative position between the mobile device and the candidate location), guiding the distance and the traveling direction by voice; and updating and displaying the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route; wherein the method further comprises guiding a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route.
Troesch teaches the candidate location being closest. See at least [0009] and [0027], wherein the location nearest the mobile device is selected as the next location along the route.
dynamically calculating a distance. See at least [0058], wherein the distance between the mobile device and the next waypoint is calculated.
guiding the distance and the traveling direction by voice. See at least [0055] and [0058], wherein voice messages are generated to inform the user of the relative location and distance of the next waypoint on the route.
and updating and displaying the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route. See at least [0055], wherein the route guidance includes displaying the route on a building map and updating the current location of the mobile device along the path.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s processor, storage medium, closest waypoint, distance calculation, voice guidance, and route display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Miyake teaches wherein the method further comprises guiding a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route. See at least [0117]-[0124] and figure 10, steps S4-2-4, S4-2-6, and 4-2-8, wherein map information items, alert items, and landmark items are identified along the route. These items are distinct from the nodes, or positioning locations, that make up the route. See at least figures 11A-B, 12A-B, and 13A-B for examples of voice guidance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Miyake’s technique of providing voice guidance to guide a place to pass through on the route, in addition to the positioning locations. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables visually impaired people to travel to a destination without excess stress, as recognized by Miyake (see at least [0212]-[0215].
Regarding claim 7, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign.
Troesch teaches enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. See at least [0049], wherein the destination is input by the user through spoken input. Additionally, see at least [0030]-[0031] and figure 1, wherein the user uses speech input to select a destination based on the name of a shop in a shopping center.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 8, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the at least one positioning location includes any one of an intersection. See at least [0101] and figure 4, wherein the positioning locations 4, 7, and 10 are intersection locations.
Bian remains silent on a curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. Examiner notes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “any one of” indicates that Bian reads on claim 3 as a whole, since Bian discloses one listed alternative.
Troesch teaches curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. See at least [0030] and figure 1, wherein the positioning locations 4 include elevators 10. Additionally, see at least [0033]-[0034], wherein the positioning locations 4 aid the mobile device in determining its current location based on scanning a QR code.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of ethe positioning location including an elevator entrance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the two-dimensional barcode includes a QR code. See at least [0101] and figure 3, wherein the code is a QR code.
Regarding claim 11, Bian teaches an indoor voice navigation method. See at least [0099] and figure 1.
comprising steps of: storing a two-dimensional plan map corresponding to an indoor environment. See at least [0100]-[0101], figure 1, step 1, and figure 4, wherein two-dimensional map data corresponding to an indoor environment is obtained. See at least [0049], wherein the map data is obtained from a map module.
inputting an initial location and a target location in the indoor environment to calculate an actual navigation route from the initial location to the target location, thereby outputting a predetermined map data navigation route corresponding to the route from the initial location to the target location on the two-dimensional plan map in which the actual navigation route includes at least one positioning location, and each of the at least one positioning location has a two-dimensional barcode with location information embedded therein. See at least [0101]-[0103] and figure 1, step 2, wherein an initial location of the device and a destination location are obtained, along with a planned path in the map data connecting the initial location to the target location. See at least [0103] and figure 4, wherein the initial location of the device is 1, the destination is 22, and the map contained a planned path connecting the locations. The path contains positioning locations 2-10 and 17, each associated with code information. See at least [0101], wherein the code information is QR code information, and a map is used to associated coordinate information with QR code content. See at least [0053], wherein the route is obtained from an optimal route planning module.
searching for one of the at least one positioning location on the map data navigation route, and automatically setting the closest one as a candidate location. See at least [0104]-[0112] and figure 1, steps 3-6, wherein the next positioning location on the route is obtained and set as a target location. See at least [0054], wherein the next positioning location is obtained from a destination signpost obtaining module.
dynamically calculating a distance and a traveling direction between the mobile device and a candidate location. See at least [0115]-[0118], [0136]-[0146], and figure 1, step 9, wherein a direction between the device and the target location is calculated based on a relative position of the QR code and the device.
capturing the two-dimensional barcode of the candidate location when the mobile device reaches the candidate location, and reading the location information of the candidate location embedded within the two-dimensional barcode. See at least [0113]-[0116] and figure 1, steps 7-8, wherein an image detection algorithm in the control module captures an image of the QR code and recognizes location information of the target location. Additionally, see at least [0121]-[0135], wherein the coordinates of the target location are obtained from the image data. Additionally, see at least [0074]-[0077], wherein several units are configured to scan the QR code and obtain coordinate information of the QR code.
setting the candidate location as an initial location and recalculating the actual navigation route and the map data navigation route from the candidate location to the target location. See at least [0150]-[0151] and figure 1, steps 11-12, wherein, once the device arrives at the target location, the method returns to step 3 and obtains the current location of the device at the target location. Additionally, see at least [0104]-[0107] and figure 1, steps 3-5, wherein a new optimal route is calculated from the new current location of the device to the destination location.
Bian remains silent on a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer codes stored thereon, the computer codes when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform. Bian additionally remains silent on the candidate location being closest (as discussed above, Bian teaches selecting the next QR code on the route as the candidate location), dynamically calculating a distance (as discussed above, Bian teaches dynamically calculating a relative position between the mobile device and the candidate location), guiding the distance and the traveling direction by voice; and updating and displaying the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route, wherein the method further comprises guiding a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route.
the candidate location being closest (as discussed above, Bian teaches selecting the next QR code on the route as the candidate location), dynamically calculating a distance (as discussed above, Bian teaches dynamically calculating a relative position between the mobile device and the candidate location), a computer code of a voice guidance module configured to guide the distance between the mobile device and the candidate location and the traveling direction by voice; and a computer code of a route display module configured to update and display the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route.
Troesch teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer codes stored thereon, the computer codes when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform. See at least [0048] and figure 4, wherein the mobile device comprises a processor 36 and a storage device 38.
the candidate location being closest. See at least [0009] and [0027], wherein the location nearest the mobile device is selected as the next location along the route.
dynamically calculating a distance. See at least [0058], wherein the distance between the mobile device and the next waypoint is calculated.
guiding the distance and the traveling direction by voice. See at least [0055] and [0058], wherein voice messages are generated to inform the user of the relative location and distance of the next waypoint on the route.
and updating and displaying the two-dimensional plan map and the map data navigation route. See at least [0055], wherein the route guidance includes displaying the route on a building map and updating the current location of the mobile device along the path.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s processor, storage medium, closest waypoint, distance calculation, voice guidance, and route display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Miyake teaches wherein the method further comprises guiding a place, in addition to the at least one positioning location, to pass through on the actual navigation route. See at least [0117]-[0124] and figure 10, steps S4-2-4, S4-2-6, and 4-2-8, wherein map information items, alert items, and landmark items are identified along the route. These items are distinct from the nodes, or positioning locations, that make up the route. See at least figures 11A-B, 12A-B, and 13A-B for examples of voice guidance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Miyake’s technique of providing voice guidance to guide a place to pass through on the route, in addition to the positioning locations. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables visually impaired people to travel to a destination without excess stress, as recognized by Miyake (see at least [0212]-[0215].
Regarding claim 12, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Bian remains silent on or enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign.
Troesch teaches enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. See at least [0049], wherein the destination is input by the user through spoken input. Additionally, see at least [0030]-[0031] and figure 1, wherein the user uses speech input to select a destination based on the name of a shop in a shopping center.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of enabling a user to voice input the target location or an identifiable sign. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the at least one positioning location includes any one of an intersection. See at least [0101] and figure 4, wherein the positioning locations 4, 7, and 10 are intersection locations.
Bian remains silent on a curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. Examiner notes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “any one of” indicates that Bian reads on claim 3 as a whole, since Bian discloses one listed alternative.
Troesch teaches curved road, an elevator entrance, or a stairway. See at least [0030] and figure 1, wherein the positioning locations 4 include elevators 10. Additionally, see at least [0033]-[0034], wherein the positioning locations 4 aid the mobile device in determining its current location based on scanning a QR code.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing distance of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Bian with Troesch’s method of ethe positioning location including an elevator entrance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables indoor navigation systems to better guide visually impaired users along a route, as recognized by Troesch (see at least [0002]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the two-dimensional barcode includes a QR code. See at least [0101] and figure 3, wherein the code is a QR code.
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian, Troesch, and Miyake as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20170089709 A1, filed 09/29/2015, hereinafter “Marusco”.
Regarding claim 5, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the distance includes a horizontal distance. See at least [0135], wherein the relative position between the mobile device and the target location includes horizontal coordinates of the target location.
Bian remains silent on and a vertical distance.
Marusco teaches a vertical distance. See at least [0083], wherein positioning calculations within an indoor map are associated with distance information including horizontal distance and vertical distance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Bian with Marusco’s technique of determining a vertical distance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables more accurate and stable navigation within an indoor space, as recognized by Marusco (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the distance includes a horizontal distance. See at least [0135], wherein the relative position between the mobile device and the target location includes horizontal coordinates of the target location.
Bian remains silent on and a vertical distance.
Marusco teaches a vertical distance. See at least [0083], wherein positioning calculations within an indoor map are associated with distance information including horizontal distance and vertical distance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Bian with Marusco’s technique of determining a vertical distance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables more accurate and stable navigation within an indoor space, as recognized by Marusco (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Bian, Troesch, and Miyake in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Bian additionally teaches wherein the distance includes a horizontal distance. See at least [0135], wherein the relative position between the mobile device and the target location includes horizontal coordinates of the target location.
Bian remains silent on and a vertical distance.
Marusco teaches a vertical distance. See at least [0083], wherein positioning calculations within an indoor map are associated with distance information including horizontal distance and vertical distance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Bian with Marusco’s technique of determining a vertical distance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables more accurate and stable navigation within an indoor space, as recognized by Marusco (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667