DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action responds to the Application filed on 3/14/2023.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and similarly claims 9 and 17 recited “performing a quantum operation using a plurality of qubits associated with a plurality of trapped ions, wherein a first subset of the plurality of qubits are in first one or more states and a second subset of the plurality of qubits are in second one or more states; applying a first light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the first one or more states to one or more shelving states; detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits as the subspace leakage; applying a second light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the one or more shelving states to the first one or more states; and
applying a third light to readout the first subset of the plurality of qubits”, however it is not apparent what is the relationship between the applying of the first light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits and the detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits as the subspace leakage. It is not apparent how one would determine that the second subset as being the set with the subspace leakage. The claims recited applying a first light, applying a second light, and applying a third light to readout the first subset of the plurality of qubits – however it is not apparent what the applying of the first light to the third light represent, as it appears that the second subset is always a leakage subset, and one can directly perform a readout of the first subset with the third light, without applying of the first light and the second light.
As per claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-24 are rejected to for incorporating the above limitations into the claims by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0272005 A1).
As per claim 1, King discloses:
A method for detecting subspace leakage, comprising:
performing a quantum operation using a plurality of qubits associated with a plurality of trapped ions, wherein a first subset of the plurality of qubits are in first one or more states and a second subset of the plurality of qubits are in second one or more states (See Figures 3A&3B, See Para [0107]-[0113], i.e. plurality 211 of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…first optical trapping site 211a, second optical trapping site 211b, See Para [0172]-[0178], i.e. plurality of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…applying electromagnetic energy to one or more atoms of the plurality of atoms… thereby inducing the one or more atoms to adopt one or more superposition states of a first atomic state and at least a second atomic state that is different from the first atomic state);
applying a first light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the first one or more states to one or more shelving states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving);
detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits as the subspace leakage (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level);
applying a second light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the one or more shelving states to the first one or more states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving –[prior art use light from light source in order switch spin states of the qubit (See Para [0077]), would include shifting from shelving into the first one or more states]); and
applying a third light to readout the first subset of the plurality of qubits (See Para [0082]-[0083], i.e. one or more readout optical units. The readout optical units may be configured to perform one or more measurements of the one or more superposition states…make measurements, such as projective measurements, by applying light resonant with an imaging transition).
As per claim 2, King discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein King also discloses in response to detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits, one or more of: discarding at least a portion of the quantum operation, skipping one or more subsequent detection steps, or discarding results of the one or more subsequent detection steps (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level –[prior art separate leakage into different population, considered as discarding of a portion as cited above])
As per claim 3, King discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits comprises applying an additional laser to the second subset (See Para [0107]-[0113], See Para [0111], i.e. one or more focused laser beams…provide an attractive or repulsive force).
As per claim 4, King discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein applying the first light comprises: applying a first plurality of pulses to a first portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a first ground state of the first one or more states to a first plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states; and applying a second plurality of pulses to a second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a second ground state of the first one or more states to a second plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences).
As per claim 5, King discloses all of the features of claim 4 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits comprises detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits in states other than the first plurality of shelving states or the second plurality of shelving states (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level).
As per claim 6, King discloses all of the features of claim 4 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein applying the second light comprises: i) applying a third plurality of pulses to deshelve a qubit of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a state in the second plurality of shelving states to the first ground state; and ii) optically pumping the qubit to transfer the qubit from the first ground state back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units).
As per claim 7, King discloses all of the features of claim 6 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein applying the second light further comprises repeating steps i) and ii) to transfer remaining qubits of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units).
As per claim 8, King discloses all of the features of claim 7 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein one or more of the first plurality of pulses, the second plurality of pulses, or the third plurality of pulses includes one or more of square pulses, Knill pulses, BB1 pulses, or SK1 pulses (See Para [0105], i.e. composite pulses include, but are not limited to, broadband (e.g., BB1)).
As per claim 9, King discloses:
A quantum information processing (QIP) system (See Figure 1), comprising:
a controller configured to perform a quantum operation using a plurality of qubits associated with a plurality of trapped ions, wherein a first subset of the plurality of qubits are in first one or more states and a second subset of the plurality of qubits are in second one or more states (See Figures 3A&3B, See Para [0107]-[0113], i.e. plurality 211 of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…first optical trapping site 211a, second optical trapping site 211b, See Para [0172]-[0178], i.e. plurality of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…applying electromagnetic energy to one or more atoms of the plurality of atoms… thereby inducing the one or more atoms to adopt one or more superposition states of a first atomic state and at least a second atomic state that is different from the first atomic state); and
an optical system configured to: apply a first light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the first one or more states to one or more shelving states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving);
detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits as the subspace leakage (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level);
apply a second light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the one or more shelving states to the first one or more states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving –[prior art use light from light source in order switch spin states of the qubit (See Para [0077]), would include shifting from shelving into the first one or more states]); and
apply a third light to readout the first subset of the plurality of qubits (See Para [0082]-[0083], i.e. one or more readout optical units. The readout optical units may be configured to perform one or more measurements of the one or more superposition states…make measurements, such as projective measurements, by applying light resonant with an imaging transition).
As per claim 10, King discloses all of the features of claim 9 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits, perform one or more of: discarding at least a portion of the quantum operation, skipping one or more subsequent detection steps, or discarding results of the one or more subsequent detection steps (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level –[prior art separate leakage into different population, considered as discarding of a portion as cited above]).
As per claim 11, King discloses all of the features of claim 9 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the optical system is further configured to apply an additional laser to the second subset of the plurality of qubits (See Para [0107]-[0113], See Para [0111], i.e. one or more focused laser beams…provide an attractive or repulsive force).
As per claim 12, King discloses all of the features of claim 9 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the optical system is further configured to: apply a first plurality of pulses to a first portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a first ground state of the first one or more states to a first plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states; and apply a second plurality of pulses to a second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a second ground state of the first one or more states to a second plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences).
As per claim 13, King discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the optical system is further configured to detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits in states other than the first plurality of shelving states or the second plurality of shelving states (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level).
As per claim 14, King discloses all of the features of claim 12 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the optical system is further configured to: i) apply a third plurality of pulses to deshelve a qubit of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a state in the second plurality of shelving states to the first ground state; and ii) optically pump the qubit to transfer the qubit from the first ground state back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units)
As per claim 15, King discloses all of the features of claim 14 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the optical system is further configured to repeat steps i) and ii) to transfer remaining qubits of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units).
As per claim 16, King discloses all of the features of claim 15 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein one or more of the first plurality of pulses, the second plurality of pulses, or the third plurality of pulses includes one or more of square pulses, Knill pulses, BB1 pulses, or SK1 pulses (See Para [0105], i.e. composite pulses include, but are not limited to, broadband (e.g., BB1)).
As per claim 17, King discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by a processor of a quantum information processing (QIP) system, cause the processor to (See Figure 1):
perform a quantum operation using a plurality of qubits associated with a plurality of trapped ions, wherein a first subset of the plurality of qubits are in first one or more states and a second subset of the plurality of qubits are in second one or more states (See Figures 3A&3B, See Para [0107]-[0113], i.e. plurality 211 of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…first optical trapping site 211a, second optical trapping site 211b, See Para [0172]-[0178], i.e. plurality of spatially distinct optical trapping sites…applying electromagnetic energy to one or more atoms of the plurality of atoms… thereby inducing the one or more atoms to adopt one or more superposition states of a first atomic state and at least a second atomic state that is different from the first atomic state);
cause an optical system to apply a first light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the first one or more states to one or more shelving states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving);
cause the optical system to detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits as the subspace leakage (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level);
cause the optical system to apply a second light to shuttle the first subset of the plurality of qubits from the one or more shelving states to the first one or more states (See Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving –[prior art use light from light source in order switch spin states of the qubit (See Para [0077]), would include shifting from shelving into the first one or more states]); and
cause the optical system to apply a third light to readout the first subset of the plurality of qubits (See Para [0082]-[0083], i.e. one or more readout optical units. The readout optical units may be configured to perform one or more measurements of the one or more superposition states…make measurements, such as projective measurements, by applying light resonant with an imaging transition).
As per claim 18, King discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein King also discloses in response to detecting the second subset of the plurality of qubits, one or more of: discarding at least a portion of the quantum operation, skipping one or more subsequent detection steps, or discarding results of the one or more subsequent detection steps (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level –[prior art separate leakage into different population, considered as discarding of a portion as cited above]).
As per claim 19, King discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the instructions for causing to optical system to detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits comprises instructions for causing to optical system to apply an additional laser to the second subset (See Para [0107]-[0113], See Para [0111], i.e. one or more focused laser beams…provide an attractive or repulsive force).
As per claim 20, King discloses all of the features of claim 17 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the instructions for causing to optical system to apply the first light comprises instructions for causing to optical system to: apply a first plurality of pulses to a first portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a first ground state of the first one or more states to a first plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states; and apply a second plurality of pulses to a second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a second ground state of the first one or more states to a second plurality of shelving states of the one or more shelving states (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences).
As per claim 21, King discloses all of the features of claim 20 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the instructions for causing to optical system to detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits comprises instructions for causing to optical system to detect the second subset of the plurality of qubits in states other than the first plurality of shelving states or the second plurality of shelving states (See Para [0008], i.e. the remaining nuclear spin states can be outside the qubit subspace, and population of these states can constitute a leakage error, See Para [0201]-[202], i.e. levels which make the qubit subspace and the leakage level).
As per claim 22, King discloses all of the features of claim 20 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the instructions for causing to optical system to apply the second light comprises instructions for causing to optical system to: i) apply a third plurality of pulses to deshelve a qubit of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits from a state in the second plurality of shelving states to the first ground state; and ii) optically pump the qubit to transfer the qubit from the first ground state back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units).
As per claim 23, King discloses all of the features of claim 22 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein the instructions for causing to optical system to apply the second light further comprises instructions for causing to optical system to repeat steps i) and ii) to transfer remaining qubits of the second portion of the first subset of the plurality of qubits back to the second ground state (See Para [0006], i.e. apply a second electromagnetic energy comprising one or more pulse sequences to the one or more multi-qubit units, Para [0074]-[0083], i.e. A Stark shift may be driven optically. An optical Stark shift may be driven off resonance with any, all, or a combination of a single-qubit transition, a two-qubit transition, a shelving transition… Atoms may be selectively transferred into such a state to reduce cross-talk or to improve gate or detection fidelity. Such a storage or shelving, See Para [0100]-[0105], i.e. electromagnetic energy may comprise one or more pulse sequences, See Para [0165]-[0166], i.e. one or more optical pumping units).
As per claim 24, King discloses all of the features of claim 23 as discloses above wherein King also discloses wherein one or more of the first plurality of pulses, the second plurality of pulses, or the third plurality of pulses includes one or more of square pulses, Knill pulses, BB1 pulses, or SK1 pulses (See Para [0105], i.e. composite pulses include, but are not limited to, broadband (e.g., BB1)).
Conclusion
/NHA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851