DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, it recites the limitation "the waveguide" in line 4 of claim 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear whether this limitation is intended to be directed toward the bus waveguide or to a waveguide within the resonator structure. Claim 9 will be interpreted as the waveguide referring back to the “bus waveguide”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG PUB 20230045938 (hereinafter Carolan) in view of US Patent 6,351,311 (hereinafter Numai).
Regarding Claim 1, Carolan teaches a method of operating a nonlinear activation device (optical non-linearity unit 126, 700, 924), the method comprising:
adjusting a bias applied to an optical source ([0068] describes changing an optical response of a tunable ring resonator, see FIG. 7), the optical source comprising
(Carolan is silent as to the internal structure of the tunable ring resonator);
receiving a first optical signal at a first wavelength (FIG. 9B shows a first optical signal input to the left of the tunable ring oscillator and a second optical signal different from the first being output);
generating one or more secondary optical signals ([0071] describes creation of a family of curves (i.e. secondary optical signals) based on:
optical power of the first optical signal ([0093] describes the need for the optical power to meet a threshold power) and
the bias applied to the optical source ([0071]-[0072] describes how output changes based on detuning amounts applied by voltage bias); and
providing an activation function as at least one of the one or more secondary optical signals (FIG. 9D shows production of a range of nonlinear activation functions and [0072] describes how different functions can be selected by varying the bias voltage being applied to the tunable ring resonator). As indicated by strikeout above, Carolan fails to teach claimed internal features of a tunable ring resonator (i.e. optical source) and does not specifically mention injection locking function of the tunable ring resonator.
However, Numai teaches the limitations absent from Carolan. In particular, Numai teaches a ring resonator type laser including “an optically active region (active layer 48, see FIG. 14) positioned between semiconductor layers (cladding layer 46 and Semiconductor substrate 54), wherein the semiconductor layers comprise a Group III-V semiconductor material (46 and 54 are described as being formed from InP at col 17 lines 52-55, which is a Group III-V semiconductor material)”. Numai also teaches how the first optical signal injection locks the optical source (see col 17 lines 55-58).
Carolan and Numai both describe applications of tunable laser ring resonators. Given Carolan’s silence with regards to how a ring resonator is formed a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Numai to form a ring resonator capable of injection locking based on a received optical signal.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the optically active region comprises at least one of quantum dots, quantum wells, and quantum-dash structures (Col 17 lines 46-48 of Carolan teaches formation of the optically active region from InGaAsP positioned between layers of InP, which creates a Quantum well).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising operating the optical source in a stimulated emission region of an optical response based on the bias ([0083] of Carolan describes the disclosed optical neural network as running on coherent light and consequently the optical source would operate in a stimulated emission region to generate coherent light).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second wavelength differs from the first wavelength ([0068] of Carolan describes how the resonant frequency of the tunable ring resonator can be shifted to change the output frequency of the tunable ring resonator).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more secondary optical signals propagate at one or more wavelengths that are different from the first and second wavelengths ([0071] describes application of detuning to vary wavelength outputs of the tunable ring resonator and as shown by FIG. 9C capable of operating at multiple different wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more secondary optical signals comprises a first secondary optical signal of the first optical signal and a second secondary optical signal of the second optical signal (the secondary optical signals are based on both the first optical signal and resonant frequency (sometimes the same as the second optical signal) of the tunable ring resonator and so secondary signals can be said to be of the first and second optical signals, examiner has construed this limitation broadly as the instant specification does not detail what it means for the secondary signals to be of one or another optical signal ).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising driving the optically active region in stimulated emission operation responsive to adjusting the bias applied equal to or above a threshold bias ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power, [0041] of the instant specification describes how operation of the optically active region above the threshold bias is the current at which operation of the laser moves into stimulated (i.e. coherent) emission, and [0083] of Carolan describes the disclosed optical neural network as running on coherent light and consequently the optical source would operate in a stimulated emission region to generate coherent light and be operating equal to or above the threshold bias).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more secondary optical signals is responsive to the optical power of the first optical signal being equal to or above a threshold optical power ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first optical signal is received on a bus waveguide that is evanescently coupled to a resonator structure comprising an optical gain mechanism ([0068] and FIG. 7 of Carolan teach an evanescent coupling between a waveguide 710 and ring resonator 720), wherein the optical gain mechanism comprises: a cathode formed on the waveguide (FIG. 7 of Carolan shows electrical routing between detector 740 and tunable resonator 720 for optical nonlinearity unit 700, which is contained in a single photonic chip as shown in FIG. 1. FIGS. 13-14 of Numai describes a specific location for anode 43 and cathode 55 on a ring resonator, which when incorporated into the teachings of Carolan as described above would result in cathode 55 extending below optical waveguide 31 (i.e. bus waveguide) and the mesa structure); a mesa structure (see the structure formed by elements 43 and 45-49 in FIG. 14 of Numai) formed on the cathode (55), the mesa structure comprising the optically active region (active layer 48 of Numai); and an anode (anode 43 of Numai) formed on the mesa structure, wherein the optically active region emits the second optical signal based on the bias applied between the cathode and the anode ([0072] of Carolan describes applying the bias to shift the output (i.e. second optical signal) of the resonator) and generates the one or more secondary optical signals responsive to the optical power of the first optical signal being equal to or above a threshold optical power ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Carolan and Numai as applied to claim 1 teaches a nonlinear activation device comprising:
a bus waveguide (710, see FIG. 7 of Carolan) configured to receive a first lasing mode having an optical power that is based on a weighted summation of a neuron ([0044] and [0047] of Carolan teaches the use of interconnected Mach-Zehnder Interferometers to apply weight parameters via matrix transformation to the optical signals before the arrive at the nonlinear activation device by way of a waveguide);
a resonator structure optically coupled to the bus waveguide (FIG. 7 of Carolan shows tunable resonator 720 optically coupled to waveguide 710) and comprising an optical gain mechanism (active layer 48, see FIG. 14 of Numai) configured to emit a second lasing mode based on injection locking to the first lasing mode (see col 17 lines 55-58 of Numai, which describes the injection locking function of a ring resonator structure) and one or more secondary lasing modes (FIG. 9B shows a second lasing mode different from the first lasing mode following interaction between the ring resonator and the waveguide) based on injection locking to the first lasing mode and based on the optical power of the first lasing mode; and
the bus waveguide configured to output an activation function based on at least one of the one or more secondary lasing modes (FIG. 9D of Carolan shows production of a range of nonlinear activation functions and [0072] describes how different functions can be selected by varying the bias voltage being applied to the tunable ring resonator).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the nonlinear activation device of claim 16, wherein the resonator structures is a microring resonator structure (Carolan teaches a tunable ring resonator 720, given that Carolan is implemented on a photonic chip the tunable ring resonator 720 is interpreted as a microring resonator).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the nonlinear activation device of claim 16, wherein the optical gain mechanism comprises: a cathode formed on a waveguide of the resonator structure (FIG. 14 of Numai shows cathode 55 formed on the same structure as waveguide 48); a mesa structure formed on the cathode (FIG. 14 also shows a mesa structure formed of elements 43 – 54 formed on cathode 55), the mesa structure comprising an optically active region (48 of Numai) formed between a first Group III-V semiconductor material layer and a second Group III-V semiconductor material layer (cladding layer 46 and Semiconductor substrate 54 of Numai are described at col 17 lines 52-55 as being formed from InP, which is a Group III-V semiconductor); and an anode (anode 14 as shown in FIG. 14 of Numai) formed on the mesa structure, wherein the optically active region generates the second lasing mode based on injection locking (see col 17 lines 55-58, describing injection locking operation of a ring resonator) to the first lasing mode responsive to a bias applied to the cathode and the anode being equal to or above a threshold bias ([0041] of the instant specification describes how operation of the optically active region above the threshold bias is the current at which operation of the laser moves into stimulated (i.e. coherent) emission, and [0083] of Carolan describes the disclosed optical neural network as running on coherent light and consequently the optical source would operate in a stimulated emission region to generate coherent light and be operating equal to or above the threshold bias) and generates the one or more secondary lasing responsive to the optical power of the first lasing mode equal to or above a threshold optical power ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the nonlinear activation device of claim 18, wherein the optically active region comprises one or more of quantum dots, quantum wells, and quantum-dash structures (Col 17 lines 46-48 of Carolan teaches formation of the optically active region from InGaAsP positioned between layers of InP, which creates a Quantum well).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Carolan and Numai teaches the nonlinear activation device of claim 16, wherein the nonlinear activation device is formed as part of the neuron on a common substrate of a semiconductor platform (FIG. 1 of Carolan shows optical interference unit 124 and optical nonlinearity unit 126 formed on a common photonic integrated circuit 120).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carolan in view of US PG PUB 20220069541 (hereinafter Tossoun) and further in view of Numai.
Regarding Claim 10, Carolan teaches a neuromorphic computation system (Neural Network 100 of Carolan), comprising:
an optical interference unit configured to
(Carolan teaches encoding of input data onto the optical signals via electrical means instead of optical means at electronic interface 110 as shown in FIG. 1),
apply a weight matrix to the plurality of input optical signals by tuning optical interference ([0044] and [0047] of Carolan teaches the use of interconnected Mach-Zehnder Interferometers to apply weight parameters via matrix transformation to the optical signals), and
output a plurality of weighted optical signals (FIG. 1 of Carolan shows and [0033] describes optical signals 105c being guided by an array of waveguides 128 to optical nonlinearity unit 126); and
an optical nonlinearity unit (Optical Nonlinearity Unit 126) configured to provide a nonlinear activation function based on a weighted summation output from the optical interference unit (FIG. 9D shows production of a range of nonlinear activation functions & FIG. 1 shows weighted optical signals 105c being the input for optical nonlinearity unit 126), the optical nonlinearity unit comprising a plurality of ([0070] describes the optical nonlinearity unit being made up of ring resonators) configured to generate one or more secondary lasing modes (FIG. 9D shows secondary lasing modes) responsive to optical power of the plurality of weighted optical signals being at or above a threshold optical power ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power). As indicated by strikeout above, Carolan fails to teach that the encoding is performed optically and that the lasers are injection locked resonator cavity lasers.
However, Tossoun at [0028]-[0033] describes the combination of a memory device and optical device, taking the form of a microring laser and depicted in FIGS. 3-4, to modulate/encode light flowing through a waveguide (312 / 406).
Carolan and Tossoun both describe or suggest the use of ring resonators in optical neural networks. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve the configuration taught by Carolan to incorporate additional ring resonators for encoding optical signals prior to the signals running through a weighting matrix. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have found this obvious since Tossoun at [0029] suggests the use of ring resonators emulating neural synapses in a neural network and since doing so would allow more of the neural network to operate optically.
Numai teaches the limitations absent from the combination of Carolan and Tossoun. In particular, Numai teaches how ring resonators are operable in a way such that a first optical signal can be used to injection lock an optical source (see col 17 lines 55-58 of Numai).
Numai and the combination of Carolan and Tossoun both describe applications of tunable laser ring resonators. Given Carolan’s silence with regards to how a ring resonator is formed or operates a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Numai to form a ring resonator capable of injection locking a received optical signal.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Carolan, Tossoun and Numi teaches the neuromorphic computation system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of injection locked resonator cavity lasers are injection locked based on a bias applied that drives the injection locked resonator cavity lasers in stimulated emission operation (col 17 lines 55-58 of Numai describes the function of a ring resonator for injection locking a source and Carolan at FIGS. 9A – 9D shows how the bias applied results in stimulated emission operations and is capable of changing the output of the ring resonator).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Carolan, Tossoun and Numi teaches the neuromorphic computation system of claim 10, wherein the optical interference unit and the optical nonlinearity unit are formed on a common substrate of a semiconductor platform (FIG. 1 of Carolan shows optical interference unit 124 and optical nonlinearity unit 126 formed on a common photonic integrated circuit 120).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Carolan, Tossoun and Numi teaches the neuromorphic computation system of claim 10, wherein each of the injection locked resonator cavity lasers is configured to: receive a weighted optical signal of the plurality of weighted optical signals comprising at least a first lasing mode at a first wavelength (FIG. 1 of Carolan shows weighted optical signals 105c being received at optical interference unit 124); emit a second lasing mode at a second wavelength based on receiving the first lasing mode (FIG. 9B shows a difference between an input and output of nonlinearity unit 924); and responsive to the first lasing mode having an optical power at or above the threshold optical power ([0093] of Carolan describes the need to maintain the power above a threshold power), generate the one or more secondary lasing modes at one or more wavelengths that differ from the first and second wavelengths ([0071] of Carolan describes application of detuning to vary wavelength outputs of the tunable ring resonator and as shown by FIG. 9C capable of operating at multiple different wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Carolan, Tossoun and Numi teaches the neuromorphic computation system of claim 10, wherein each of the injection locked resonator cavity lasers comprises: a bus waveguide configured to receive a weighted optical signal of the plurality of weighted optical signals (see input waveguide 710 as shown in FIG. 7 of Carolan, which receives weighted optical signals from optical interference unit 124) comprising at least a first lasing mode; and a resonator structure optically coupled to the bus waveguide (FIG. 7 shows tunable ring resonator 720 optically coupled to input waveguide 710) and comprising an optical gain mechanism configured to emit a second lasing mode and the one or more secondary lasing modes (FIG. 9B of Carolan shows a difference between an input and output of nonlinearity unit 924).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Carolan, Tossoun and Numi teaches the neuromorphic computation system of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of neuron, at least one neuron of the plurality of neuron comprising the optical interference unit and the optical nonlinearity unit (FIG. 4A and [0051] of Carolan describes the optical interference unit including multiple neurons, FIG. 4B and [0055] describes how optical interference units and optical nonlinearity unit cooperatively form multiple neurons in each layer of the neural network), wherein the plurality of neurons are formed on a common substrate of a semiconductor platform (FIG. 1 of Carolan shows optical interference unit 124 and optical nonlinearity unit 126 formed on a common substrate 120).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645