-8 DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicants’ election without traverse of Group II (claims 9-16; “a transparent stretchable structure”) in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-8 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
4. It is also noted that the applicants request rejoinder of non-elected claims 1-8 and 17 (see Page 1 of the Applicants’ Remarks filed 12/15/2025). However, the request for rejoinder is moot since the instant claims are not deemed allowable for the reasons set forth below. According to MPEP § 821.04 [R-3], “Rejoinder involves withdrawal of a restriction requirement between an allowable elected invention and a nonelected invention and examination of the formerly nonelected invention on the merits.” Since no allowable subject matter is currently present, the applicants’ request for rejoinder is not granted at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 9, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of KR 10-22995291 (hereinafter referred to as “KR ‘529”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2010/0233458).
The claims are directed to a product, i.e., a transparent stretchable structure comprising nanostructures oriented in one direction, which is further defined by a rolling process performed on a stretchable film provided through a thermoplastic elastomer based on physical crosslinking.
As to Claims 9, 14 and 16: KR ‘529 teaches a transparent stretchable structure (Paragraph [0007] and see also title) comprising a base material selected from a thermoplastic elastomer, e.g., styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), and reinforcing materials oriented in one direction as a roll-to-roll processing (corresponding to the claimed rolling process) is performed on a stretchable laminate (film) using the thermoplastic elastomer based on physical crosslinking (Paragraphs [0059]-[0061], [0065] and [0067]). KR ‘529 also teaches that its transparent stretchable structure has an anisotropy in which a modulus in a first direction related to an orientation direction of the reinforcing materials is greater than 10 times than modulus in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Paragraph [0089] and [0102]), and a Poisson’s ratio of 0.05 or less (Paragraph [0085]), which is encompassed by the Poisson’s ratio of 0.1 or less recited in claim 16.
However, KR ‘529 does not specify its reinforcing materials, e.g., fibers, as including nanostructures as required by the claims, which are further defined by page 5, line 15, of the present specification as having a size of 5 nm-100 nm.
Nevertheless, Sun et al. disclose the use of nanofibers having a size of 70 nm-400 nm, (corresponding to the claimed nanostructures) in stretchable films to provide the same with improved elastic modulus and mechanical strength properties (Paragraphs [0053]-[0055] and [0086]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed nanostructures taught by Sun et al. as the reinforcing materials in the stretchable film discussed in KR ‘529, with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing the same with improved elastic modulus and mechanical strength properties.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of KR 10-2299529 (hereinafter referred to as “KR ‘529”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2010/0233458) as applied to claims 9, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2008/0081174).
The disclosures with respect to KR ‘529 and Sun et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specify the thickness of their stretchable film as recited in claim 10.
Nevertheless, Lee teaches employing stretchable films having a thickness of 50 µm-100 µm (which overlaps with the claimed thickness of 10 µm to 5 mm) via rolling process for the purposes of obtaining desired elastic properties (Paragraphs [0014], [0042]). See also MPEP section 2144.05 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use stretchable films having the claimed thickness taught by Lee for the purposes of obtaining desired elastic properties.
7. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of KR 10-2299529 (hereinafter referred to as “KR ‘529”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2010/0233458) as applied to claims 9, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of English Translation of CN 10311466 (hereinafter referred to as “CN ‘466”).
The disclosures with respect to KR ‘529 and Sun et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. While KR ‘529 disclose performing roll process together with heat treatment at a temperature of 120-150 degrees Celsius (Paragraphs [0059] and [0067]), which touches the claimed heat treatment temperature of 150-280 °C2, they do not specify the rolling process as an asymmetric rolling process in which a speed of an upper roll and a speed of a lower roll are different as required by the claims.
Nevertheless, CN ‘466 teaches using a rolling process where the rolling process is asymmetric and the speeds of the upper roll and lower rolls are different for the purposes of preparing stretchable films with improved orientation and coating properties (Paragraphs [0009]-[0010] and [0021]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the rolling process where the rolling process is asymmetric and the speeds of the upper roll and lower rolls are different taught by CN ‘466 as the rolling process used in forming the stretchable films suggested by KR ‘529 and Sun et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining improved orientation and coating properties.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of KR 10-2299529 (hereinafter referred to as “KR ‘529”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2010/0233458) as applied to claims 9, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of USUI et al. (US 2020/0224018).
The disclosures with respect to KR ‘529 and Sun et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specifically mention adding a curing agent to the stretchable film and performing a rolling process together with the curing treatment as required by claim 13.
Nevertheless, USUI et al. disclose the addition of a curing agent to a stretchable and a rolling process is performed together with the curing treatment to prepare stretched film having desired stability (Paragraphs [0057] and [0089]-[0090]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the curing agent via performing curing treatment together with rolling process taught by USUI et al. to the stretchable film suggested by KR ‘529 and Sun et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining desired stability.
9. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of KR 10-2299529 (hereinafter referred to as “KR ‘529”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2010/0233458) as applied to claims 9, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of Cooper et al. (US 2007/0106006).
The disclosures with respect to KR ‘529 and Sun et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specify their reinforcing material (nanostructure) as including those having the particular size and form (i.e., cylinder) recited in claim 15.
Nevertheless, Cooper et al. disclose the use of reinforcing fillers including those having a cylinder shape and size of less than 500 nm (which overlaps with the claimed size of 5-100 nm) to provide films with improved or equivalent mechanical performance including strength (Paragraphs [0002] and [0042]). See also MPEP section 2144.05 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the nanostructures having the claimed size and cylinder form taught by Cooper et al. in the film suggested by KR ‘529 and Sun et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing the same with improved or equivalent mechanical performance including strength.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764
1 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 10/18/2024.
2 It has been held that a range of “more than 5%” would overlap a disclosure of 1-5%, In re Wertheim, 541 F. d. 257, 191 USPQ (CCPA 1976), In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d. 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).