DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18 and 19,20,21,22 and 23,24,25,26,27 and 28,29,30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1):
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of YOKOSE TARO (JP 2001-175939 A) plus “Higher Resolution Version” thereof with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0304835 A1):
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of YAO et al. (CN 106687989 A) with machine translation:
Claim(s) 14,15,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Laszlo et al. (US 2022/0391692 A1):
Claim(s) 23,26,27 and 28,29,30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Qi et al. (US 2018/0157929 A1):
Claim(s) 24,25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Qi et al. (US 2018/0157929 A1) as applied in claims 23,26,27 and 28,29,30 above, further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0304835 A1) as applied in claim 3:
Response to Amendment
The amendment was received 5/5/2026. Claims pending 1-30:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Since the claims are amended, the claims are re-evaluated under 35 USC 101:
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18 and 19,20,21,22 and 23,24,25,26,27 and 28,29,30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step Zero: establish broadest reasonable interpretation (footnotes);
Step 1: Claim 1 a machine, Claim 19 a process; Claim 23 a machine; Claim 28 a process;
Step 2A, prong 1:
The claim(s) recite(s) math:
1. (Currently Amended) A device comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
obtain1 encoded data2 that is associated with one or more motion values;
obtain one or more first predicted motion values based on a first encoded portion
of the encoded data;
generate , based on the one or more first predicted motion values , one or more
estimated values of one or more second input values, the second input values corresponding to particular motion value inputs used to generate34 a second encoded portion of the encoded data5;
obtain conditional input of a compression network based on the one or more
estimated values of the one or more second input values; and
process, using the compression network, the second encoded portion of the
encoded data and the conditional input to generate one or more second predicted motion values6.
Step 2A,prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (“processors” “encoded data” “encoded data” “a second portion” “conditional input of a compression network” “process, using the compression network, the encoded data and the conditional input” 7) do not improvement8 the technical field of compression as one of skill in the art would recognize in view of applicant’s disclosure at:
[0001];
[0050];
[0057];
[0069]:that discloses singling out “less information” for transmission to a “decoder” due close, “closely” similar data:
; and
FIG.1:
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (such as “processor”; “compression network”9 (wireless); and “input” (conditional)) considered individually or in combination with the abstract adhere10 to the conventional in view of applicant’s disclosure [0003]:
1. (Currently Amended/SUGGESTED11 regarding 35 USC 101: more definite language other than the disclosed “can reduce” is suggested) A device COMPRISING USING A COMMPRESSION NETWORK TO REDUCE RESOURCE USAGE12 comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
obtain encoded data that is associated with one or more motion values;
obtain one or more first predicted motion values based on a first encoded portion
of the encoded data;
generate, based on the one or more first predicted motion values, one or more
estimated values of one or more second input values ,WHEREIN THE ONE OR MORE ESTIMATED VALUES APPROXIMATE THE ONE OR MORE SECOND INPUT VALUES13, the second input values corresponding to particular motion value inputs used to14 generate15 a second encoded portion16 of the encoded data BASED ON THE ESTIMATE OF INFORMATION OR THE FIRST PREDICTED MOTION VALUE THAT IS AVAILABLE17;
obtain conditional input of a compression network based on the one or more
estimated values of the one or more second input values; and
process, using18 the compression network, the second encoded portion of the
encoded data and the conditional input to generate one or more second predicted motion values19.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 101
Upon further consideration, there is not a clear reflection in claim 1 of the disclosed improvement in view of applicant’s disclosure at [0050][0057] and especially [0069]:
35 USC 102 and 103
Discussion of Patentability of Claim 1
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026, pages 7-10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “estimated values…are motion values”, page 8, 3rd para:
Esenlik describes an image decoding that transforms an input image into latent samples. See Esenlik, Abstract. In rejecting claim 1, the Office cites to an estimated rate or estimated variance as teaching the one or more estimated values. See Office Action, page 22. Applicant respectfully submits that the estimated rate and estimated variance are not motion values. Accordingly, the cited portions do not describe one or more estimated values of one or more second input values, the second input values corresponding to particular motion value inputs used to generate a second encoded portion of the encoded data, as in claim 1.
) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants state in page 9, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs:
Further, the cited portions of Esenlik fail to disclose other elements of claim 1. For
example, the cited portions of Esenlik fail to disclose "obtain[ing] one or more first predicted
motion values based on a first encoded portion of the encoded data, " as in claim 1.
In rejecting claim 1, the Office maps the encoded data to the encoded data output by
Entropy Encoding Unit 4414. See Office Action, page 20. The Office maps obtaining predicted
motion values to residual generation unit 4407 and Entropy Encoding Unit 4414. See Office
Action, page 21. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions ofEsenlik are silent
regarding the encoded data output by Entropy Encoding Unit 4414 being used as input by either
residual generation unit 4407 or Entropy Encoding Unit 4414. Therefore, the Office's mapping
of Esenlik fails to disclose obtaining one or more predicted motion values based on a first
encoded portion of encoded data. The cited portions of Liu, Yao, Laszlo, and Qi fail to fix this
deficiency. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable for this additional reason.
In response, due to the amendment, the corresponding portion is re-mapped relative to the Office action of 2/17/2026, page 21 without given second thought and naturally assuming without second thought that there are multiple frames such that the frames ahead20 are already encoded before the current data and without the influence of applicant’s above remark:
obtain one or more first (current) predicted motion values (or a current predicted video residual21 via “residual data for the current22 video block by subtracting the predicted video block(s) of the current video block” [0027] 1st S: fig. 22:4407) based on2324 a first encoded portion (fig. 5: “bits1” with a “second bitstream (bits2)” [0074] 3rd S: fig. 5: “bits2”) of25 the encoded data;
In retro-respect under the influence of applicant’s above remark, this “obtain” limitation is broadly interpreted. Applicant’s representative put in bold “based on” in the above remark. How is “based on” to be interpreted? I see/interpret “based26 on27” broad under the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of applicant’s disclosure:
-- [0372] The previous description of the disclosed aspects is provided to enable a person skilled in the art to make or use the disclosed aspects. Various modifications to these aspects will be readily apparent to those skilled in the art, and the principles defined herein may be applied to other aspects without departing from the scope of the disclosure. Thus, the present disclosure is not intended to be limited to the aspects shown herein but is to be accorded the widest scope possible consistent with the principles and novel features as defined by the following claims.—
wherein scope is defined: Linguistics, Logic. the range of words or elements of an expression (claim 1) over which a modifier (a patent examiner) or operator (or me) has control.
In response, due to the amendment, the corresponding portion is re-re-mapped with giving second and third thought with the influence of applicant’s above remark and sticking with the encoder of fig. 22 for claim mapping of claim 1; however, Esenlik’s corresponding decoder can be introduced as mapping to the claimed “obtain one or more first predicted motion values” from Esenlik’s two encoders of (1) intra-/inter- frame encoder 4403: “Mode Selection Unit” and (2) Entropy Encoding Unit 4414: claim mapping, using just Esenlok’s fig. 22, to claim 1’s “obtain” limitation:
obtain one or more first (current) predicted motion values (or a current predicted video residual28 via “residual data for the current29 video block by subtracting the predicted video block(s) of the current video block” [0027] 1st S: fig. 22:4407) based on3031 a first encoded portion (or likewise “provide the resulting intra or inter coded block to a residual generation unit 4407 to generate residual block data” [0017] 1st S) of32 the encoded data;
Thus, the below rejection of claim 1 includes this retro-respective mapping under the influence of applicant’s above remark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1):
Re 1. (Currently Amended) Esenlik teaches via the Priority Data, A device (likewise) comprising33:
one or more (“video decoder 4500” [0007]) processors configured to:
obtain encoded data (“encoded into the bitstreams, i.e. some of the residuals are
skipped being encoded into the bitstreams.” [00172] 1st S: fig. 22: “Encoded bitstream”) that is associated with one or more (full) motion (“vector”34 [0017] last S) values;
obtain one or more first (current) predicted motion values (or a current predicted video residual35 via “residual data for the current36 video block by subtracting the predicted video block(s) of the current video block” [0027] 1st S: fig. 22:4407) based on3738 a first encoded portion (or likewise “provide the resulting intra or inter coded block to a residual generation unit 4407 to generate residual block data” [0017] 1st S) of39 the encoded data;
generate, based on the one or more first predicted motion values, one or more estimated values (via “estimated” “rate” [0054] 4th S & “estimated variance σ” [00161]: figs. 4,5,6: “Entropy Parameters”) of one 40 (via fig. 22 (reproduced below): “Video data41” OR fig. 22:4413: “Buffer42”), the second input value[[s]] corresponding43 to particular motion value inputs (fig. 22:4402: “Prediction Unit” has multiple arrow inputs) used to44 generate a second encoded portion (or a part comprised by fig. 22: “Encoded Bitstream”) of the encoded data;
obtain conditional input (y-hat [0200]: represented in fig. 1 (reproduced below): circled y-hat or in fig. 22: 4414: “Entropy Encoding Unit 4414” or fig. 6: “
y
^
”) of a (“video” [0092]) compression network based on the one or more estimated values of the one or more second input values; and
process (via feedback in fig. 22 or at a corresponding decoder of fig. 23: reproduced above/below), using the compression network, the second encoded portion of the encoded data and the conditional input to generate one or more second (feedback/decoding) predicted motion values (via:
Esenlik does not teach the difference45 of claim 1 of:(obtain encoded data)46 that is (associated with one or more motion values)
Pejhan teach the difference of claim 1 of:
(obtain encoded data)47 that is (associated with one or more motion values) (or likewise “Namely, if the current image sequence on path 210 has been previously encoded and the motion information for the image sequence is stored in storage 116, then the motion estimation process performed by the motion estimation module 240 is bypassed and the associated motion vectors for a particular frame rate are simply read from a motion file stored in storage 116.”, c.4,ll.40-50:
Since Esenlik suggests that there are other possible motion vectors to contain
and other possible outputs thereof via page 36: [0020]:
“[0020] In some examples, motion estimation unit 4404 may perform uni-directional prediction for the current video block, and motion estimation unit 4404 may search reference pictures of list 0 or list I for a reference video block for the current video block. Motion estimation unit 4404 may then generate a reference index that indicates the reference picture in list 0 or list I that contains the reference video block and a motion vector that indicates a spatial displacement between the current video block and the reference video block. Motion estimation unit 4404 may output the reference index, a prediction direction indicator, and the motion vector as the motion information of the current video block. Motion compensation unit 4405 may generate the predicted video block of the current block based on the reference video block indicated by the motion information of the current video block.”
one of skill in the art of encoders “could have”48 looked to other teachings for other possible ways to contain motion vectors and outputs thereof and thus make Esenlik’s be as Pejhan’s seeing in the change a process that “greatly increases the speed with which the image sequence is encoded”, Pejhan, c.4,ll. 50-55 via “explicit…creative steps”:
a) cut-out/uninstall/remove Pejhan’s fig. 2:116: “STORAGE”
b) re-install/glue Pejhan’s cut-out/uninstalled fig. 2:116: “STORAGE” inside Esenlik’s fig. 2:4400: “Video Encoder”; and
b) connect additional arrow wires in Esenlik’s fig. 2:4400: “Video Encoder” from Pejhan’s installed/glued fig. 2:116: “STORAGE” to Esenlik’s fig. 22: “Motion Estimation Unit 4404” and to Esenlik’s fig. 22: “Motion Compensation Unit 4405”:
Re 4. (Original) , Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more motion values represent one or more motion vectors (“for the block” Esenlik [0017] last S) associated with one or more image units.
Re 5 (Original)., Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 4, wherein an image unit of the one or more image units includes a coding (“entropy”) unit (“4414” [0013]).
Re 6. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 4, wherein an image unit of the one or more image units includes a block of (“sub-“ [0017] last S)pixels.
Re 7. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 4, wherein an image unit of the one or more image units includes a (previous reference) frame ([0094]) of (sub-)pixels.
Re 8. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more second predicted motion values represent future (“inter-prediction” [0017] last S) motion vectors.
Re 9. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more second predicted motion values correspond to a reconstructed (image) version (x-hat, [0052] penult S) of the one or more motion values.
Re 10. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are integrated in at least one of a headset, a mobile (“phone”, [0004] last S) communication device, an extended reality (XR) device, or a vehicle.
Re 12. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the compression network includes a (“ANN” [0042]) neural network with multiple layers.
Re 13. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the compression network includes a video decoder, and wherein the video decoder has multiple (ANN) decoder layers configured to decode multiple orders of resolution of the encoded data associated with the one or more motion values.
Re 18. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, further comprising a (“modulator” [0009] 8th S) modem configured to receive a bitstream from an encoder device, wherein the bitstream includes the encoded data.
Re claim 19, claim 19 is rejected similar to claim 1:
Re 19. (Currently Amended), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches A method comprising:
obtaining, at a device,49 encoded data that is associated with one or more motion
values;
obtaining, at the device, one or more first predicted motion values based on a
first encoded portion of the encoded data;
generating, at the device based on the one or more first predicted motion values,
one or more estimated values of one or more second input values, the second input values corresponding to particular motion value inputs used to generate a second portion of the encoded data;
obtaining, at the device,50 conditional input of a compression network based on
the one or more estimated values of the one or more input values; and
processing, using the compression network, the second encoded portion of the encoded data and the conditional input to generate one or more second predicted motion values.
Re 20.,(Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The method of claim 19, wherein processing the encoded data and the conditional (y-hat) input (in fig.1) includes:
processing the conditional input (y-hat) using the compression network to generate (“reconstructed” [00176] 1st S) feature data (represented as fig. 23:4501: “Entropy Decoding Unit”: detailed in fig. 3: “reconstruction”); and
processing the encoded (bitstream) data and the (reconstructed) feature data to generate the one or more second predicted motion values (via fig. 23:4502: “Motion Compensation Unit”:
Re 21., (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The method of claim 20, wherein the (reconstruction) feature data corresponds to multi-scale (“MSSIM”: MS-SSIM (MultiScale-Structural SIMilarity): in equation of [00199]) feature data having different spatial (“sub-pixel…or integer pixel” [0017] last S) resolutions.
Re 22. (Original), Ensenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The method of claim 20, wherein the feature data includes multi-scale wavelet (“based” [0088] 2nd S) transform data (via:
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of YOKOSE TARO (JP 2001-175939 A) plus “Higher Resolution Version” thereof with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 2., Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches claim 2 of The
device of claim 1, wherein the encoded data (“encoded into the bitstreams, i.e. some of the residuals are skipped being encoded into the bitstreams.” [00172] 1st S: fig. 22: “Encoded bitstream”) is51 distinct (as shown is fig. 22) from the second input values (via fig. 22 (reproduced below): “Video data52” OR fig. 22:4413: “Buffer53”),
and
wherein the one (via “estimated” “rate” [0054] 4th S & “estimated variance σ” [00161]: figs. 4,5,6: “Entropy Parameters”) are54 (i.e. “is”) generated independently of the second input value[[s]] (via fig. 22 (reproduced below): “Video data55” OR fig. 22:4413: “Buffer56”).
Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan does not teach the difference of claim 2 of:
independently.
TARO teach the difference of claim 2 of:
independently (“independently”, pg. 6, last txt blk, last S).
Since Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan suggests selecting “coding” [0017] 1st S:
[0017] Mode select unit 4403 may select one of the coding modes, intra or inter, e.g., based on error results, and provide the resulting intra or inter coded block to a residual generation unit 4407 to generate residual block data and to a reconstruction unit 4412 to reconstruct the encoded block for use as a reference picture. In some examples, mode select unit 4403 may select a combination of intra and inter prediction (CIIP) mode in which the prediction is based on an inter prediction signal and an intra prediction signal. Mode select unit 4403 may also select a resolution for a motion vector
( e.g., a sub-pixel or integer pixel precision) for the block in the case of inter prediction.
one of skill in the art of coding would have looked to other coding teachings to select coding and thus make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan be as TARO’s seeing in the change a “code amount estimating process by the second code amount estimating means is irrelevant to the nature of the input data, so that it can be performed by a light process”, TARO, pg. 7, 1st txt blk, 1st S, via explicit creative steps:
a) make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan “Mode select unit 4403” (fig. 22) be as TARO’s “coding selection device” (page 6, last txt blk, 1st S) and TARO’s fig. 1:40:“Encoding selection section” (via Google Translate of “Higher Resolution Version” of TARO’s JP 2001-175939 A):
TARO, pg. 6, last txt blk:
According to one aspect of the present invention, in the coding selection device, a data input means for inputting input data, and a code amount for at least one or more predetermined codings based on the data input by the data input means. , A second code amount estimating means for estimating a code amount for at least one or more predetermined encodings, the first code amount estimating means and the second code An encoding selection unit that determines an encoding method based on a comparison of the code amount estimated by the amount estimation unit; and a selection result output unit that outputs a result of the encoding selection unit to the outside. The code amount estimating process in the code amount estimating means is performed independently of the input data.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0304835 A1):
Re 3. (Currently Amended), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim [[2]] 1, wherein the one or more motion values are based on output of one or more sensors , and wherein the one or more sensors include an inertial measurement unit (IMU).
Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan does not teach the difference of claim 3 of:
one or more sensors , and wherein the one or more sensors include an inertial measurement unit (IMU).
Liu teach the difference of claim 3 of:
one [[or more]] sensor[[s]] , and wherein the one [[or more]] sensor[[s]] include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (or likewise “ Moreover, the vehicle 102 can also include other sensors configured to acquire data associated with the vehicle 102. For example, the vehicle 102 can include inertial measurement unit(s), wheel odometry devices, and/or other sensors” [0054] penult S).
Since Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches a “neural network” used in various “applications” with “challenges” thereof via [0040]:
[0040] Neural network-based image/video compression is not a new technique since there were a number of researchers working on neural network-based image coding [3]. But the network architectures were relatively shallow, and the performance was not satisfactory. Benefit from the abundance of data and the support of powerful computing resources, neural network-based methods are better exploited in a variety of applications. At present, neural network-based image/video compression has shown promising improvements, confirmed its feasibility. Nevertheless, this technology is still far from mature and a lot of challenges need to be addressed.
one of skill in the art of neural networks would have looked to other applications of neural networks that have addressed the challenges and thus make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan be a Liu’s seeing in the change “improving the ability of computing devices to compress image data” Liu [0002] via explicit creative steps or even routine steps:
a) make a program based in Liu’s fig. 3:
b) create a program based on Esenlik’s fig. 20:
b1) create a call function in Esenlik’s program of fig. 20:4204 calling Liu’s image compression program of fig. 3;
b2) write code to couple the data output of Esenlik’s fig. 5: “bits 1” or “bits 2” to Liu’s data input of fig. 2:218;
b3) write code to disable LIU’s encoder and quantizer of fig. 2:212: “ENCODER:”,216: “QUANTIZER (Q)” since they are redundant to Ensenlik’s encoder and quantizer of fig. 5
b4) there may be even more coding steps regarding feature maps;
c) install Esenlik’s compression program of fig. 20 in Esenlik’s memory of fig. 19:4104: “Memory”:
d) if not available, purchase a camera/IMU/LIDAR/radar sensor vehicle such as Liu’s fig. 1:102 from a car manufacturer:
e) install/couple Esenlik’s computer (fig. 19:4100) into Liu’s fig. 1: “VEHICLE COMPUTING SYSTEM” via arrow wires or even wireless arrows connecting to the VEHICLE COMPUTING SYSTEM;
f) run Esenlik’s installed program of fig. 20 calling Liu’s image compression program of fig. 3; and
g) drive the sensor vehicle 102 to a new shopping store to buy food using the results of LIU’s image compression program of fig. 3.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of YAO et al. (CN 106687989 A) with machine translation:
Re 11. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more motion (estimation) values indicate one or more of linear velocity, linear acceleration, linear position, angular velocity, angular acceleration, or angular position.
Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan does not teach the difference of claim 11:
“one or more of linear velocity, linear acceleration, linear position, angular velocity, angular acceleration, or angular position”.
Yao teaches the difference of claim 11:
Re 11., The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more motion (“information”) values (“relevant to evaluation”) indicate (“as a solution”) one or more of linear velocity, linear acceleration, linear position (or “linear recursive type geometrical relation”-“mark position”), angular velocity, angular acceleration, or angular position (via machine translation, pg. 4, last txt blk:
more specifically, in the face detection and facial expression recognition system, to define a facial shape by fixing set of the mark, wherein each single mark relates to the semantics of part face on important data point, face, such as eyes, mouth, nose, jaw line, chin, etc. the data mark position may include relevant to evaluation regardless of what data includes geometry (or a pixel) coordinates, brightness, color and/or motion information, which indicates one or more faces in the video sequence changed by the expression to expression (or from frame to frame). change in facial expression usually causing a perceptible physical geometry characteristic of the face mark around the main face is in or very small or fine change. More importantly, it has been found that such a geometrical change of facial feature of one specific facial marker is at least closely relates to cooperatively define the same face and/or one or more portions to face the vicinity of the neighboring facial marker. In some cases, all or nearly all of the sign face may relate to single sign on for a particular facial expression on the geometry. In this context, the term "relates to" means that can position a certain distance (or range) position of the mark with respect to the other mark for a particular facial expression. Therefore, dense geometric characteristic relation between corresponding subset of extracting multiple or each facial marker and comprises near neighbour mark, can describe the facial expression change is more precise and efficient manner, thereby avoiding complex actions of the unit detection technology. Therefore, in this process, the data of each one main mark position can be mark of those packet or subset but not to represent a single mark. Further, the concept can be extended forming aiming at the main mark formed every one subset comprises all limited surface part (excluding the main mark itself) or most other designations.
As a solution, by using main face flag and sub set of mark position data to formulate and solve the problem of linear recursive type geometrical relation is formed among the main mark and its subset. linear recursion can be used to capture one of the following geometric features between dense and distinctiveness of the relationship: (1) at least one or more facial marker (called each time a subset of the mark distributed to the main or anchoring mark main mark), and optionally on the face of each of the mark could be other mark main mark, and (2) forming a main mark of the mark of the subset, such as near neighbour mark, or all other mark on the same face. In other words, process or system uses each facial marker and geometrical characteristic of the corresponding subset with other mark between the linear 1 K single geometrical relation value. Therefore, for consistency and clarity, the primary concept of the main mark by performing such as linear recursive cooperatively forming a linear combination of the subset will be referred to as geometric relationship in the text, and descriptor-single relation vector with each individual mark in the subset of the known geometric relation value.).
Since Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches communication [0002], one of skill in communication can make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan be as Yao’s predictably recognizing the change resulting in “proper… communication”, Yao, pg. 1, last txt blk.
Claim(s) 14,15,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Laszlo et al. (US 2022/0391692 A1):
Re 14. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to track an object associated with the one or more motion (estimate) values across one or more frames of (“coded” [0048]) pixels.
Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan does not teach the difference of claim 14:
“to track an object”
Laszlo teaches the difference of claim 14:
Re 14., The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to track an object (via “tracking prediction 206” [0085]: fig. 2A) associated with the one or more motion values (“of the motion prediction network parameters” [0104], 3rd S) across one or more (“respective” [0086]) frames of pixels (“each” [0087] last S).
Since Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan suggests other motion predictions by providing examples of “inter prediction”, pg. 35: [0017] 2nd S via fig. 22:4403: “Mode Selection Unit”, one of skill in the art of motion prediction can make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan be as Laszlo’s predictably recognizing the change generating “accurate predictions” of motion, Laszlo [0103] 1st S:
Re 15. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Laszlo teaches The device of claim 14, wherein the one or more second predicted motion (estimated) values represent a collision avoidance (as shown in Laszlo’s fig. 3C) output associated with a vehicle.
Re 16. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Laszlo teaches The device of claim 15, wherein the collision avoidance output indicates a predicted future position (Laszlo: fig. 3C:352: “course correction”, Laszlo [0113] last S) of the vehicle relative to the (person) object.
Re 17. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Laszlo teaches The device of claim 15, wherein the collision avoidance (correction) output indicates a predicted (vectorized) future (“0,0”, Esenlik [00152] 2nd S) position of the vehicle and a predicted future position (“0,0” [00152] 2nd S) of the object (“of interest”, Laszlo [0091]).
Claim(s) 23,26,27 and 28,29,30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Qi et al. (US 2018/0157929 A1):
Claim 23 is rejected like claims 1,19:
Re 23. (Currently Amended), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches A device comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
generate a first encoded portion of encoded data that is based on a first particular motion value;
generate, based on one or more first predicted motion values based on
the first encoded portion of the data, one or more estimated values, wherein the one or more estimated values correspond to one or more motion values to be used to generate a second encoded portion of the encoded data;
obtain conditional (y-hat) input of a compression network based on the
one or more estimated values; and
process57 (via an “arithmetic encoder” [0063] 3rd S: fig. 3: “AE”), using58 the compression network,59 the conditional (y-hat) input and one or more motion values (via fig. 22:4404: “Motion Estimation Unit”) distinct from the conditional input (y-hat, twice) and the first particular motion value to generate (arithmetically) [[a]] the second encoded portion of the encoded data (y-hat upon output of fig. 3 “AD”)
Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches does not teach the difference60 of claim 23 of--(first)61 particular (motion value)--.
Qi teaches the difference of claim 23:
(first)62 particular (motion value) (“(e.g., a minimum motion value) that indicates that motion is detected” [0080] 4th S: fig. 3: “Motion Threshold 304”).
Since Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches, in the context of latency [0094][0095] as faced by applicants, dealing with low-latency, one of skill in the art of latency can make Esenlik’s of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan teaches be as Qi’s seeing the in change “Computational resources are conserved by generally reserving the second process for use on image-blocks that cannot be reliably processed using only the first process, such as image-blocks that fail to satisfy particular processing criteria.”, Qi [0017] 7th S, and “also reduce latency” Qi [0021] last S:
Re 26. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Qi teaches The device of claim 23, wherein the one or more motion (estimation) values represent one or more motion (blok) vectors associated with one or more (sub- or integer) image (pixel) units.
Re 27. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Qi teaches The device of claim 23, further comprising a (“modulator/demodulator” [0269]) modem configured to transmit a bitstream to a decoder device, wherein the bitstream includes the encoded data.
Claim 28, claim 28 is rejected similar to claim 23:
Re 28. (Currently Amended), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Qi teaches A method (to reduce latency via blocks at a decoder) comprising:
generating, at a device, a first encoded portion of encoded data that is based on a first particular motion value;
generating, at the device based on one or more first predicted motion values
based on the first encoded portion of the data, one or more estimated values, wherein the one or more estimated values correspond to one or more motion values to be used to generate a second encoded portion of the encoded data;
obtaining, at the device, conditional input of a compression network based
on the one or more estimated values; and
processing, using the compression network, the conditional input (y-hat, twice)
and one or more (encoder) motion values distinct from the conditional input (y-hat, twice) and the first particular motion value to generate [[a]] the second encoded portion of the encoded data (y-hat upon output of fig. 3 “AD”)
Re 29. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Qi teaches The method of claim 28, further comprising:
processing, at the device, the conditional (y-hat) input using the compression network to generate (reconstruction) feature data (as “quantized” [00176]: fig. 3: Q”); and
processing (arithmetically), using the compression network, the one or more motion (estimated) values and the (reconstruction) feature (Q) data to generate the encoded data (y-hat upon output of fig. 3 “AD”).
Re 30. (Original), Esenlik of the combination of Esenlik,Pejhan,Qi teaches The method of claim 29, wherein the (latent) feature (Q) data includes multi-scale (MS-SSIM) feature data having different (sub- or integer) spatial (pixel) resolutions.
Claim(s) 24,25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESENLIK et al. (WO 2024/020053 A1) with Priority Data (63/390,263 18 July 2022 (18.07.2022) US) in view of Pejhan (US 6,850,564 B1) as applied in claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,18 and 19,20,21,22 further in view of Qi et al. (US 2018/0157929 A1) as applied in claims 23,26,27 and 28,29,30 above, further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0304835 A1) as applied in claim 3:
Claim 24 is rejected similar to claim 3:
24. (Original) The device of claim 23, wherein the one or more motion values are based on output of one or more sensors.
Claim 25 is rejected similar to claim 3:
25. (Original) The device of claim 24, wherein the one or more sensors include an inertial measurement unit (IMU).
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action.
Citation
Relevance
LEE et al. (TW I743919 B) with SEARCH machine translation
LEE discloses “close” and “approximate” and “the” (adverb-form twice):
“In the training process, let the output value and the input value have the same meaning (the loss function is that the closer the output value and the input value, the better). The encoder of the auto-encoder AE can perform dimension reduction, and the decoder can perform the reduction, so that the auto-encoder AE can be interpreted as using lower-dimensional features to approximate the original input.”
as the closest to applicant’s disclosure’s [0069] last sentence’s:
“In some aspects, the more closely the estimated value 171B approximates the input value 105B, the less information has to be provided to the decoder portion 180 as the encoded data 165B.”
Choi et al. (Variable Rate Deep Image Compression With a Conditional Autoencoder)
Choi teaches a “conditional…input” (i.e., “Lagrange multiplier”), 2nd page, lcol, last para, 2nd S for compressing an image at various rates:
In particular, we propose a conditional autoencoder, conditioned on the Lagrange multiplier, i.e., the network takes the Lagrange multiplier as an input and produces a latent representation whose rate depends on the input value.
as the closest to the claimed “conditional input” of claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS ROSARIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667
1 “obtain” is plural verb
2 “data” written in the plural sense: (used with a plural verb: “obtain”) individual facts, statistics, or items of information. These data represent the results of our analyses. (Dictionary.com)
3 “generate” is a plural verb
4 “generate” maps back (one-way ticket only: no going back to claim 1: i.e., not reading limitations from applicant’s disclosure back into claim 1) to applicant’s disclosure [0050] last S (reproduced below): “Generating”. This last sentence is a singular verb “is” (of “is available”). Claim 1 does not reflect this singular verb (“is”) and thus does not reflect the singular sense of data (applicant’s fig. 1: “Encoded Data 165”) and thus does not reflect the improvement as one of skill in the art would recognize the improvment in applicant’s disclosure:
1. (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video.
2. (used with a singular verb) a body of facts; information.
Additional data is available from the president of the firm. (Dictionary.com)
5 “data” in the plural verb (“generate”) context: (used with a plural verb) individual facts, statistics, or items of information. These data represent the results of our analyses. (Dictionary.com)
6 This last limitation maps (again, one-way ticket and no returning back) to applicant’s disclosure [0080]’s last sentence’s (reproduced below) use of a singular verb “reduces”: “generating the encoded data 165B…reduces the information”
7 This last limitation maps (again, one-way ticket and no returning back) to applicant’s disclosure [0080]’s last sentence’s use of a singular verb “reduces”: “generating the encoded data 165B…reduces the information”: similarly as discussed above in applicant’s paragraph [0050], claim 1 does not reflect this singular aspect of [0080].
8 MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) Evaluating Improvements in the Functioning of a Computer, or an Improvement to Any Other Technology or Technical Field in Step 2A Prong Two [R-10.2019], 2nd para:
The courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, but have instead illustrated how it is evaluated in numerous decisions. These decisions, and a detailed explanation of how examiners should evaluate this consideration are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a). In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details (at applicant’s disclosure’s paragraph [0069]) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement (I do spot the Neural Network NN compression (fig. 1: 140) improvement as sending the NN 140 recognized compact image/data difference 165B to the decoder 180 in [0069] via [0069]’s “closely…approximates…less information”, wherein “approximate” is defined: to simulate; imitate closely, wherein closely is defined: in a close manner; closely, wherein close is defined: compact; dense, wherein compact is defined: designed to be small in size and economical in operation, wherein less ADVERB in defined: in any way different; other, wherein other comprises said “different” which in turn comprises: “distinct” and “distinguish” and “discern” and “discriminate”, wherein discriminate is defined: to note or observe a difference; distinguish accurately (Dictionary.com). The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art (of neural networks & data compression). Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim (claim 1) must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement (at said [0069]). That is, the claim includes the components ([0069]: “estimator 170” and “decoder portion 180”) or steps ([0069]:“estimate of the input value 105B that can be generated” & “approximates the input value 105B”) of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel").
9 network: Telecommunications, Computers. a system containing any combination of computers, computer terminals, printers, audio or visual display devices, or telephones interconnected by telecommunication equipment or cables: used to transmit or receive information. (Dictionary.com)
10 plural verb referring back to elements
11 MPEP 2106.07(a) II., last S: In the event a rejection is made, it is a best practice for the examiner to consult the specification to determine if there are elements that could be added to the claim to make it eligible. If so, the examiner should identify those elements in the Office action and suggest them as a way to overcome the rejection.
12 35 USC 112(a) support in [0057]
[0057] In some aspects, the encoder portion 160 is included in a first device that is different from a second device that includes the decoder portion 180, as further described with reference to FIG. 2. To illustrate, in these aspects, the compression network 140 can be used to reduce resource usage (e.g., memory, bandwidth, transmission time, etc.) associated with transmission of data from the first device to the second device. In other aspects, the encoder portion 160 and the decoder portion 180 are included in a single device, as further described with reference to FIG. 3. To illustrate, in these aspects, the compression network 140 can be used to reduce resource usage (e.g., memory) associated with storing data for access by the device.
13 35 USC 112(a) support in [0069]: “In some aspects, the more closely the estimated value 171B approximates the input value 105B, the less information has to be provided to the decoder portion 180 as the encoded data 165B.”
14 used to: (takes an infinitive or implied infinitive) used as an auxiliary to express habitual or accustomed actions, states, etc, taking place in the past (i.e., claim 1’s: “obtain…obtain…generate…obtain” is in the past relative to the last “process” limitation) but not continuing into the present (i.e. claim 1’s last “process” limitation is in the present-tense) (Dictonary.com): This footnote is different and unexpected than the corresponding footnote in the 35 US 103 rejection of claim 1.
15 “generate” maps back (one-way ticket only: no going back to claim 1: i.e., not reading limitations from applicant’s disclosure back into claim 1) to applicant’s disclosure [0050] last S (reproduced below): “Generating”. This last sentence is a singular verb “is” (of “is available”). Claim 1 does not reflect this singular verb (“is”) and thus does not reflect the singular sense of data (applicant’s fig. 1: “Encoded Data 165”) and thus does not reflect the improvement as one of skill in the art would recognize the improvement in applicant’s disclosure:
1. (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video.
2. (used with a singular verb) a body of facts; information.
Additional data is available from the president of the firm. (Dictionary.com)
16 This bold italics portion in claim 1 is jumbled compared to the improvement bolded text in [0050], reproduced below; however, this jumble is fine: there is no 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112(b) issue and the jumble is only used to illustrate the disclosed improvement.
17 35 USC 112(a) support is in applicant’s disclosure at paragraph [0050]:
[0050] The encoder conditional input is an estimate of the decoder conditional input. For example, the decoder conditional input is based on a previously predicted value generated at the decoder portion, a local decoder portion at the encoder portion is used to generate an estimate of the previously predicted value, and the encoder conditional input is based on the estimate of the previously predicted value. Generating the encoded data based on an estimate of information (e.g., the previously predicted value) that is available at the decoder portion can reduce the size of information (e.g., the encoded data) that has to be provided to the decoder portion to generate the predicted value.: “can” is not definite language
18 “using” is a present participle participating with the action of claim 1’s last limitation’s “process” and modifies claim 1’s “one or more processors” as --one or more compression network processors--.
19 This last limitation maps (again, one-way ticket and no returning back) to applicant’s disclosure [0080]’s last sentence’s (reproduced below) use of a singular verb “reduces”: “generating the encoded data 165B…reduces the information”
20 i.e., an internal looping decoder inside the encoder of fig. 22: “decoded samples of pictures from buffer 4413 other than the picture associated with the current video block.” Esenlik [0018], last S.
21 residual: a residual quantity; remainder, wherein quantity is defined: a particular or indefinite amount of anything, wherein amount is defined: the full effect, value, or significance. (Dictionary.com)
22 current: new; present; most recent, wherein new is defined: of a kind now existing or appearing for the first time; novel.
23 on: in connection, association, or cooperation with (as shown in figures 22 & 5); as a part or element of. (Dictionary.com)
24 I see the phrase(s) “based on” as broad.
25 of: (used to indicate possession, connection, or association). (Dictionary.com)
26 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE (i.e., etc.; or the like ; likewise): based: the simple past tense and past participle of base, wherein base VERB (USED WITHOUT OBJECT) is defined: to have a basis; be based (usually followed by on or upon ), wherein base VERB (USED WITH OBJECT) is defined: to place or establish on a base or basis; ground; found (usually followed by on or upon), wherein basis is defined: a basic fact, amount, standard, etc., used in making computations, reaching conclusions, or the like, wherein etc is defined: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted), wherein so is defined: likewise or correspondingly; also; too. (Dictionary.com)
27 on: in connection, association, or cooperation with; as a part or element of. (Dictionary.com)
28 residual: a residual quantity; remainder, wherein quantity is defined: a particular or indefinite amount of anything, wherein amount is defined: the full effect, value, or significance. (Dictionary.com)
29 current: new; present; most recent, wherein new is defined: of a kind now existing or appearing for the first time; novel.
30 on: in connection, association, or cooperation with (as shown in figures 22 & 5); as a part or element of. (Dictionary.com)
31 I see the phrase(s) “based on” as broad.
32 of: (used to indicate possession, connection, or association). (Dictionary.com)
33 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: a suffix of nouns formed from verbs, expressing the action of the verb or its result, product, material, etc. (the art of building; a new building; cotton wadding ), wherein etc is defined: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted)., wherein so is defined: likewise or correspondingly; also; too. (Dictionary.com)
34 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude, wherein quantity is defined: Mathematics. A) the property of magnitude involving comparability with other magnitudes. B) something having magnitude, or size, extent, amount, or the like, wherein amount is defined: the full effect, value, or significance. (Dictionary.com)
35 residual: a residual quantity; remainder, wherein quantity is defined: a particular or indefinite amount of anything, wherein amount is defined: the full effect, value, or significance. (Dictionary.com)
36 current: new; present; most recent, wherein new is defined: of a kind now existing or appearing for the first time; novel.
37 on: in connection, association, or cooperation with (as shown in figures 22 & 5); as a part or element of. (Dictionary.com)
38 I see the phrase(s) “based on” as broad.
39 of: (used to indicate possession, connection, or association). (Dictionary.com)
40 The crossed-out and bracketed text “does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation” via MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd txt blk:
As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
41 data: (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video, wherein number is defined: a numeral or group of numerals, wherein numeral is defined: a word, letter, symbol, or figure, etc., expressing a number; number, wherein word is defined: Also called machine word. Computers. a string of bits, characters, or bytes treated as a single entity by a computer, particularly for numeric purposes, wherein bit is defined: Computers.
a. Also called binary digit. a single, basic unit of digital information that is represented by one of two values, such as 1 or 0, True or False, or Yes or No.
b. the amount of computer memory required for storing such a unit of information, consisting of one of a series of identical physical components that can assume either of two states corresponding to one of two values. (Dictionary.com) .
42 buffer: Computers. a storage device for temporarily holding data until the computer is ready to receive or process the data, as when a receiving unit has an operating speed lower than that of the unit feeding data to it, wherein data is defined in the above “data”-footnote
43 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: correspond: to be similar or analogous; be equivalent in function, position, amount, etc. (usually followed by to), wherein be is defined: (used as a copula to connect the subject with its predicate adjective, or predicate nominative, in order to describe, identify, or amplify the subject), wherein describe is defined: to represent or delineate by a picture or figure (Esenlik’s fig. 22 of data-encoder). (Dictionary.com)
44 used to: (takes an infinitive or implied infinitive) used as an auxiliary to express habitual or accustomed actions, states, etc, taking (the scope of “taking” changes significantly when compared to the above suggested claim 1 in the above Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 section) place in the past (i.e., “used” is the past tense) but not continuing into the present (i.e. claim 1’s “generate” limitation is present tense) (Dictonary.com)
45 THE CLAIMED INVENTION AS A WHOLE regarding “that is”:
The problem is using resources via applicant’s disclosure [0213] “In a particular example, the compression network component 2460 operates to improve a coding efficiency to reduce an amount of resources used for transmission or storage of encoded data.”
The solution is:
[0050] The encoder conditional input is an estimate of the decoder conditional input. For example, the decoder conditional input is based on a previously predicted value generated at the decoder portion, a local decoder portion at the encoder portion is used to generate an estimate of the previously predicted value, and the encoder conditional input is based on the estimate of the previously predicted value. Generating the encoded data based on an estimate of information (e.g., the previously predicted value) that is available at the decoder portion can reduce the size of information (e.g., the encoded data) that has to be provided to the decoder portion to generate the predicted value.
[0057] In some aspects, the encoder portion 160 is included in a first device that is different from a second device that includes the decoder portion 180, as further described with reference to FIG. 2. To illustrate, in these aspects, the compression network 140 can be used to reduce resource usage (e.g., memory, bandwidth, transmission time, etc.) associated with transmission of data from the first device to the second device. In other aspects, the encoder portion 160 and the decoder portion 180 are included in a single device, as further described with reference to FIG. 3. To illustrate, in these aspects, the compression network 140 can be used to reduce resource usage (e.g., memory) associated with storing data for access by the device.
[0069] Optionally, in some implementations, the estimator 170 processes the predicted value 169A to generate an estimated value 171B. In some aspects, the estimated value 171B corresponds to an estimate of the input value 105B that can be generated at the decoder portion 180 based on the predicted value 195A. In some aspects, the more closely the estimated value 171B approximates the input value 105B, the less information has to be provided to the decoder portion 180 as the encoded data 165B. -- wherein the ADVERB is defined: (used in correlative constructions to modify an adjective or adverb in the comparative degree, in one instance with relative force and in the other with demonstrative force, and signifying “by how much … by so much” or “in what degree … in that degree”), wherein demonstrative is defined: Grammar. indicating or singling out the thing [“less information”] referred to. (Dictionary.com)
46 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
47 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
48 MPEP 2141 Examination Guidelines for Determining Obviousness Under 35 U.S.C. 103 [R-01.2024] II. THE BASIC FACTUAL INQUIRIES OF GRAHAM v. JOHN DEERE CO.
Office Personnel As Factfinders
Office personnel fulfill the critical role of factfinder when resolving the Graham inquiries. It must be remembered that while the ultimate determination of obviousness is a legal conclusion, the underlying Graham inquiries are factual. When making an obviousness rejection, Office personnel must therefore ensure that the written record includes findings of fact concerning the state of the art and the teachings of the references applied. In certain circumstances, it may also be important to include explicit findings as to how a person of ordinary skill would have understood prior art teachings, or what a person of ordinary skill would have known or could have done. Factual findings made by Office personnel are the necessary underpinnings to establish obviousness.
49 NLP
50 NLP
51 “is” essentially means look at a figure (figure 22) (Dictioanry.com)
52 data: (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video, wherein number is defined: a numeral or group of numerals, wherein numeral is defined: a word, letter, symbol, or figure, etc., expressing a number; number, wherein word is defined: Also called machine word. Computers. a string of bits, characters, or bytes treated as a single entity by a computer, particularly for numeric purposes, wherein bit is defined: Computers.
a. Also called binary digit. a single, basic unit of digital information that is represented by one of two values, such as 1 or 0, True or False, or Yes or No.
b. the amount of computer memory required for storing such a unit of information, consisting of one of a series of identical physical components that can assume either of two states corresponding to one of two values. (Dictionary.com) .
53 buffer: Computers. a storage device for temporarily holding data until the computer is ready to receive or process the data, as when a receiving unit has an operating speed lower than that of the unit feeding data to it, wherein data is defined in the above “data”-footnote
54 “are” essentially means look at a figure (Dictionary.com)
55 data: (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video, wherein number is defined: a numeral or group of numerals, wherein numeral is defined: a word, letter, symbol, or figure, etc., expressing a number; number, wherein word is defined: Also called machine word. Computers. a string of bits, characters, or bytes treated as a single entity by a computer, particularly for numeric purposes, wherein bit is defined: Computers.
a. Also called binary digit. a single, basic unit of digital information that is represented by one of two values, such as 1 or 0, True or False, or Yes or No.
b. the amount of computer memory required for storing such a unit of information, consisting of one of a series of identical physical components that can assume either of two states corresponding to one of two values. (Dictionary.com) .
56 buffer: Computers. a storage device for temporarily holding data until the computer is ready to receive or process the data, as when a receiving unit has an operating speed lower than that of the unit feeding data to it, wherein data is defined in the above “data”-footnote
57 “process” a verb
58 “using” a present participle contributing to the action of said verb “process” and further modifying the nouns “one or more processors”/ “device”.
59 This comma phrase is not a NLP (Non-Limiting-Phrase) since this comma phrase gives sequential order to the elements of claim 23
60 THE CLAIMED INVENTION AS A WHOLE: regarding the claimed prepositional modifier “particular”:
The problem faced by applicants is multi(1)(2)-faceted:
(1) injury, decay, waste, or loss of (comprised by conserve: Dictionary.com) resources such as memory and bandwidth; &
(2) “input” 105C “wait”- “165B” “latency” (fig. 1:105C,165B: “Input Value(s) 105”, “Encoded Data 165”):
[0048]Computing devices often incorporate functionality to process large amounts of data. Compressing the data prior to storage or transmission can conserve resources such as memory and bandwidth. For example, a computing device can generate an encoded version of an image frame that uses fewer bits than the original image frame. Techniques that reduce the size of the compressed data can further conserve resources. The compressed data can be processed to generate predicted data. For example, the predicted data can correspond to a reconstructed version of the image frame, a predicted future image frame in a sequence of images that includes the image frame, a classification of the image frame, other types of data associated with the image frame, or a combination thereof.
[0140]The conditional input generator 162 of FIG. 1 generates the conditional input 167B corresponding to the input value 105B independently of (e.g., prior to obtaining) subsequent input values, including the input value 105C, of the one or more input values 105. For example, the conditional input generator 162 uses the estimator 170 to generate the estimated value 171B based on the predicted value 169A, one or more additional predicted values corresponding one or more input values prior to the input value 105B in the one or more input values 105, or a combination thereof. The conditional input 167B includes the estimated value 171B, the predicted value 169A, the one or more additional predicted values, or a combination thereof. The feature generator 164 generates the feature data 163B based on the conditional input 167B, and the encoder 166 processes the input value 105B based on the feature data 163B to generate the encoded data 165B, as described with reference to FIG. 4. The encoder portion 160 can thus generate the encoded data 165B independently of (e.g., prior to) obtaining the input value 105C. A technical advantage of generating the encoded data 165B independently of the input value 105C can include reduced latency associated with generating the encoded data 165B without having to wait for access to the input value 105C.
Applicant’s solution includes the claimed “particular motion value” (fig. 20: “Estimated MV 2093A”) to reduce the input-wait-latency problem in:
[0198]In a particular example, the decoder portion 180 uses the estimated motion value 2093A (m^b→c) and the estimated motion value 2093B (m^a→b) corresponding to motion values (e.g., motion vectors) between predicted image units that are prior to the image unit 1407D as the conditional input 187D, and generates the predicted motion value 2095A (m^c→d) and the weight 2065 (∝) that can be used to generate a predicted image unit (x^d) associated with the image unit 1407D (xd), as further described with reference to FIGS. 21-23. A technical advantage of generating the predicted motion value 2095A (m^c→d) independently of the encoded data associated with any image units subsequent to the image unit 1407D can include reduced latency associated with generating the predicted motion value 2095A (m^c→d).
These very specific details (I did not see this coming) in [0198] (in the context of applicant’s amended FIG. 19, filed 12/10/2025) are not in claim 23. Thus this absence of the reduced-latency-solution is an indication of obviousness.
61 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
62 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught