DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8-10 are pending as amended on 7 August 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the remarks/arguments have been entered and fully considered.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph of claim 9. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment does not distinguish from US 20210019258A1(Zou).
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zou does not disclose the additive as amended. The examiner disagrees. Zou teaches the electrolyte salt comprises lithium difluorooxalate borate ([0080]), which meets the claimed LiFOB additive.
In response to applicant's argument that Zou fails to disclose various effects, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, Zou teaches the same electrolytic solution thus inherently exhibits the same effects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 6 and 8-10 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2)as being anticipated by Zou.
Regarding claims 1-2, 6 and 8, Zou teaches an electrolytic solution for lithium battery comprises an electrolyte salt selected from one or more of lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluoroarsenate (LiAsF6), Lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI), lithium bistrifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate (LiTFS), lithium dioxalate borate (LiBOB) and lithium difluorooxalate borate, i.e., LIFOB([0080]) , which anticipates the claimed combination of a lithium salt and an additive LiFOB
Zou exemplifies the lithium salt as LiPF6 in the amount of 1 mol/L ([0123]), which meets the claimed electrolyte salt and amount.
Zou teaches that the electrolytic solution further comprises a low viscous solvent and a certain amount of wetting agent ([0074]), wherein the wetting agent includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether ([0077]), which meets the claimed first solvent 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane thus inherently a vapor pressure at 25°C of 0.003 MPa or more and no flash point, and the wetting agent can present in an amount of 10 wt.% ([0078]), which meets the claimed amount of the first solvent.
Zou teaches the low viscous solvent includes 1,2-dimethoxyethane ([0075]), which meets the claimed second solvent thus inherently a vapor pressure at 25°C of 0.007 MPa or less, and the low viscous solvent can be present in an amount of 30 or 40 wt.% ([0076]), which meets the claimed amount of the second solvent.
Regarding claim 5, Zou teaches the electrolytic solution has a viscosity of 0.5 mPa·s to 5.0 mPa·s at 25±3° C ([0073]), which meets the claimed viscosity.
Regarding claim 9, Zou teaches that the electrolytic solution may further include one or more of ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC) and sulfolane (SF) ([0079]).
Regarding the flashing point of claim 10 , Zou teaches all the claimed component of the electrolyte solution in the same amount, the claimed flash point would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed components. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766