DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Amendment of the claims filed on 03/09/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 10 have been amended, no new matter is presented.
Claim 9 and 20 are cancelled.
Claim 21-25 are newly added.
Claims 1-8, 10-19, 21-25 are remaining for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previously cited Specification Objection has been withdrawn as Applicant submitted the amended page of the disclosure.
The previous 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn due to the amendment.
The previously cited 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-14, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro Yoshidome et.al. [US20210296031A1] [Filed on Mar. 23, 2021 and Foreign Application Priority Data Mar. 23, 2020 (JP)], and in view of Yoshihara Akihito et.al. [JP2008251735A] (machine translation, original provided in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 22 and 23, Yoshidome discloses a magnetic particles that contain 80% by mass of Fe atoms (soft magnetic metal powder and the composition thereof was Fe0.800Nb0.070B0.093P0.030S0.002) [Section 0119], which is within the as recited range.
Yoshidome discloses the magnetic particles have a crystal structure of Fe (The nanocrystal structure of each soft magnetic metal powder was confirmed using XRD and STEM) [Section 0122], and an average particle diameter of 2 to 30 µm (a number-based average particle diameter (D50) of each of the obtained soft magnetic metal powders was 10.3 µm), and an aspect ratio less than 8 (an average aspect ratio A1 of the large particles in finally obtained magnetic cores of 1.01, 1.30, 1.50, and 2.00 were prepared) [Section 0120]. Both the average particle diameter and the aspect ratio of Yoshidome, are within the as recited range.
But Yoshidome is silent about a polymerization initiator.
However, Akihito teaches a method for producing a magnetic sheet, producing a magnetic sheet that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties [Section 0001]. Akihito’s magnetic powder can be a nanocrystalline metal that contains Fe [Section 0021-0024]. Akihito’s magnetic sheet further comprises binder, various polymers can be used without any particular limitation [Section 0030] and are easy to handle, easy to mix and disperse, and easy to achieve uniform dispersion [Section 0034] Akihito further teaches potassium persulfate as an initiator to start the polymerization reaction [Section 0087], potassium persulfate is a photopolymerization initiator.
Akihito is directed to magnetic material composition and therefore, analogous to Yoshidome and to the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching polymerization initiator to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic component that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties.
Regarding claims 2,
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 45)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 42.5)][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 43.75)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 47.5)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (400)][AltContent: textbox (100)][AltContent: textbox (200)]Yoshidome discloses the nanocrystal structure of each soft magnetic metal powder is confirmed using XRD and STEM [Section 0122]. Yoshidome then discloses Fe have a diffraction peak which has a half-width of 0.2° to 3° and appears at 20 in a range of 42° to 48° in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by X-ray diffraction analysis, (X-ray crystal structure analysis on the soft magnetic metal powder by using XRD to identify a phase, reading a peak of crystallized Fe or a crystallized compound, and calculating a crystallization rate based on the peak intensities. The X-ray crystal structure analysis is performed by using XRD on the soft magnetic metal powder and a chart as shown in FIG. 1 is obtained. The chart is profile-fitted using a Lorentz function represented by the following formula (2) to obtain a crystal component pattern αc showing the scattering integrated intensity of crystal phase, an amorphous component pattern αa showing the scattering integrated intensity of amorphous phase, and a combined pattern thereof αc+a’ as shown in FIG. 2. [Section 0108-109].
Yoshidome’s a half-width of 0.4° and appears at 2[Symbol font/0x71] in a range of 43.75° to 45° in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by X-ray diffraction analysis, as calculated from the scattering integrated intensity of crystal phase, i.e. diffraction peak the intensity of αc, as shown in the FIG. 2, which are within the as recited range.
Yoshidome then discloses the magnetic particles that contain an average particle diameter of 2 to 30 µm (a number-based average particle diameter (D50) of each of the obtained soft magnetic metal powders was 10.3 µm), and an aspect ratio less than 8 (an average aspect ratio A1 of the large particles in finally obtained magnetic cores of 1.01, 1.30, 1.50, and 2.00 were prepared) [Section 0120]. Both the average particle diameter and the aspect ratio of Yoshidome, are within the as recited range.
Yoshidome further discloses a rheology control agent (an epoxy resin diluted with acetone was added to the soft magnetic metal powder obtained by mixing). Epoxy resin are well known rheology control agent in the art. The paragraph [0054] of the instant specification also defines “the organic rheology control agent is a resin”.
a magnetic particles that contain 80% by mass of Fe atoms (soft magnetic metal powder and the composition thereof was Fe0.800Nb0.070B0.093P0.030S0.002) [Section 0119], which is within the as recited range.
But Yoshidome is silent about a polymerization initiator.
However, Akihito teaches a method for producing a magnetic sheet, producing a magnetic sheet that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties [Section 0001]. Akihito’s magnetic powder can be a nanocrystalline metal that contains Fe [Section 0021-0024]. Akihito’s magnetic sheet further comprises binder, various polymers can be used without any particular limitation [Section 0030] and are easy to handle, easy to mix and disperse, and easy to achieve uniform dispersion [Section 0034] Akihito further teaches potassium persulfate as an initiator to start the polymerization reaction [Section 0087].
Akihito is directed to magnetic material composition and therefore, analogous to Yoshidome and to the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching polymerization initiator to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic component that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties.
Regarding claims 3, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, in addition, Yoshidome discloses Fe have a diffraction peak which has a half-width of 0.2° to 3° and appears at 20 in a range of 42° to 48° in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by X-ray diffraction analysis, (X-ray crystal structure analysis on the soft magnetic metal powder by using XRD to identify a phase, reading a peak of crystallized Fe or a crystallized compound, and calculating a crystallization rate based on the peak intensities. The X-ray crystal structure analysis is performed by using XRD on the soft magnetic metal powder and a chart as shown in FIG. 1 is obtained. The chart is profile-fitted using a Lorentz function represented by the following formula (2) to obtain a crystal component pattern αc showing the scattering integrated intensity of crystal phase, an amorphous component pattern αa showing the scattering integrated intensity of amorphous phase, and a combined pattern thereof αc+a’ as shown in FIG. 2. [Section 0108-109].
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 45)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 42.5)][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 43.75)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2[Symbol font/0x71] = 47.5)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (400)][AltContent: textbox (100)][AltContent: textbox (200)]Yoshidome’s a half-width of 0.4° and appears at 2[Symbol font/0x71] in a range of 43.75° to 45° in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by X-ray diffraction analysis, as calculated from the scattering integrated intensity of crystal phase, i.e. diffraction peak the intensity of αc, as shown in the FIG. 2, which are within the as recited range.
Regarding claims 5, 16 and 24-25, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 2 are applicable to these claims, wherein, Yoshidome is silent about the rheology control agent is one or more substances selected from the group consisting of a polycarboxylic acid, a polycarboxylic anhydride, and an amide wax.
Akihito teaches the rheology control agent is one or more substances selected from the group consisting of a polycarboxylic acid, a polycarboxylic anhydride, and an amide wax (dispersant a compound that is soluble in the solvent used, and has the effect of improving the uniform dispersion of the soft magnetic powder, binder, etc. some examples are polycarboxylic acids, copolymers of maleic anhydride, maleic acid, or fumaric acid) [Section 0042, 0051, 0052, 0059], and solvent that can be used to prepare the slurry is appropriately selected depending on the type of binder. The solvent is preferably one that does not dissolve the soft magnetic powder and the binder, and can uniformly disperse these particles, one of the example groups are amides such as diethylformamide dimethylacetamide, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, and dimethylimidazolidinone [Section 0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching of a polycarboxylic acid, a polycarboxylic anhydride, and an amide wax to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic component powder having an improving the uniform dispersion of the soft magnetic powder, binder, etc. so the soft magnetic powder and the binder, and can uniformly disperse these particles within the component.
Regarding claims 10, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 10, wherein, Yoshidome does not discloses any solvent.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 11, in but Yoshidome is silent about a magnetic particle containing film and electronic component.
However, Akihito teaches a method for producing a magnetic sheet, producing a magnetic sheet that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties [Section 0001] for application in electronic devices that utilize high frequencies, including digital electronic devices, that require miniaturization and high performance, and the electronic components inside are mounted at high density so that in electronic devices incorporating electromagnetic radiation components such as ICs that emit electromagnetic waves, can be made without any issue to prevent electromagnetic interference or faults caused by electromagnetic noise [Section 0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching of magnetic sheet to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic component as an electronic component for intended use.
Regarding claims 13-14, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 12 are applicable to claim 13 and 14, Yoshidome is silent about an inductor and/or antenna.
Although, Akihito is silent about the Antenna, claim “recites antenna” as an intended use without defining any structure. As Akihito teaches a method for producing a magnetic sheet, producing a magnetic sheet that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties [Section 0001] for application in electronic devices that utilize high frequencies, including digital electronic devices, that require miniaturization and high performance, and the electronic components inside are mounted at high density so that in electronic devices incorporating electromagnetic radiation components such as ICs that emit electromagnetic waves, can be made without any issue to prevent electromagnetic interference or faults caused by electromagnetic noise [Section 0002] and as an inductor and an antenna are electronic component and Akihito’s magnetic sheet can be used for electronic components, therefore, Akihito’s magnetic sheet can be used for both the inductor and Antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching for making magnetic powder sheet and electronic component containing magnetic particle-containing sheet, to modify Yoshidome for an intended application like antenna.
Regarding claims 21, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 5, wherein, Yoshidome is silent about the solvent.
Akihito teaches composition further contains solvent that can be used to prepare the slurry is appropriately selected depending on the type of binder. The solvent is preferably one that does not dissolve the soft magnetic powder and the binder, and can uniformly disperse these particles, one of the example groups are amides such as diethylformamide [Section 0057]. Akihito teaches solvent amount used is adjusted with respect to the solid content concentration is usually in the range of 1 to 50% by weight. When the solid content is in this range, the dispersibility of the binder is highly improved, which is preferable [Section 0058].
Akihito’s solvent content is overlapping as recited in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have content of the magnetic particles selected and produced from Kim’s teaching, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Akihito’s teaching of solvent to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic component powder so the soft magnetic powder and the binder, and can uniformly disperse these particles within the component.
Claim(s) 4-7, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro Yoshidome et.al. [US20210296031A1] [Filed on Mar. 23, 2021 and Foreign Application Priority Data Mar. 23, 2020 (JP)], and in view of Yoshihara Akihito et.al. [JP2008251735A] (machine translation, original provided in the IDS) as applied to the claim 1 and 2, and further in view of Tae Kyoung Kim et.al. [US20170345535A1].
Regarding claims 4, and 15 all the above discussions about claim 1are applicable to claim 4, wherein, Yoshidome discloses a ratio of the resin to the entire magnetic core may be 1.5 mass% or more and 5.0 mass % or less [Section 0114].
But Yoshidome is silent about a content of the magnetic particles is 70% to 90% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
Akihito is also silent about a content of the magnetic particles is 70% to 90% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
However, Kim discloses when the circuit board to which a magnetic sheet is bonded is installed as an antenna device in a mobile device, efficiency of internal space, which is inevitably limited by the mounting of various parts, of the mobile device becomes reduced. Also, owing to weak adhesiveness between the circuit board and the magnetic sheet, delamination may occur, and, to prevent the delamination, a total thickness of the antenna device undesirably increases. an attempt to prepare an antenna device by using the magnetic sheet as a substrate to laminate a conductive foil thereon and then forming an antenna pattern by etching. However, for achievement of such an attempt, a chemical-resistant property that is not deformed by an etchant for patterning, and a heat-resistant property that withstand a reflow or soldering process which is performed for the application to a product, are required for the magnetic sheet [Section 0004-0005]. As a solution Kim discloses a thin magnetic sheet having excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property which may be used for multiple applications such as NFC, WPC, and MST, which is capable of being prepared by a simple process to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet [Section 0006].
Kim discloses a magnetic particles that contain 65% to 98% by mass of Fe atoms [Formula 1, Section 0058-0059] which is overlapping with the as recited range. Kim also discloses the core may contain ferrite; a metallic magnetic material such as Permalloy, Sendust, an FeSi-Cr alloy, and Fe-Si nanocrystals; or a mixed component thereof [Section 00066]. Kim discloses he magnetic sheet may comprise 70 wt. % to 90 wt. % of a magnetic powder, and 6 wt. % to 12 wt. % of a polyurethane-based resin, 0.5 wt. % to 2 wt. % of an isocyanate-based hardener, and 0.3 wt. % to 1.5 wt. % of an epoxy-based resin, as the binder resin, based on the total weight of the magnetic sheet. [Section 0121-122]. Kim’s content of the magnetic particles is within the range as recited in the claimed invention.
Kim’s content of the magnetic particles is within the range as recited in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have content of the magnetic particles selected and produced from Kim’s teaching, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Kim’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component with excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property for multiple applications to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet.
Regarding claims 5, 16 and 24-25, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 5, wherein, Yoshidome is silent about the rheology control agent is one or more substances selected from the group consisting of a polycarboxylic acid, a polycarboxylic anhydride, and an amide wax. Akihito also meets these limitations.
Alternatively, in addition, Kim also discloses when the circuit board to which a magnetic sheet is bonded is installed as an antenna device in a mobile device, efficiency of internal space, which is inevitably limited by the mounting of various parts, of the mobile device becomes reduced. Also, owing to weak adhesiveness between the circuit board and the magnetic sheet, delamination may occur, and, to prevent the delamination, a total thickness of the antenna device undesirably increases. an attempt to prepare an antenna device by using the magnetic sheet as a substrate to laminate a conductive foil thereon and then forming an antenna pattern by etching. However, for achievement of such an attempt, a chemical-resistant property that is not deformed by an etchant for patterning, and a heat-resistant property that withstand a reflow or soldering process which is performed for the application to a product, are required for the magnetic sheet [Section 0004-0005]. As a solution Kim discloses a thin magnetic sheet having excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property which may be used for multiple applications such as NFC, WPC, and MST, which is capable of being prepared by a simple process to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet [Section 0006].
Kim discloses a magnetic particles that contain 65% to 98% by mass of Fe atoms [Formula 1, Section 0058-0059] which is overlapping with the as recited range. Kim also discloses the core may contain ferrite; a metallic magnetic material such as Permalloy, Sendust, an FeSi-Cr alloy, and Fe-Si nanocrystals; or a mixed component thereof [Section 00066]. Kim discloses he magnetic sheet may comprise 70 wt. % to 90 wt. % of a magnetic powder, and 6 wt. % to 12 wt. % of a polyurethane-based resin, 0.5 wt. % to 2 wt. % of an isocyanate-based hardener, and 0.3 wt. % to 1.5 wt. % of an epoxy-based resin, as the binder resin, based on the total weight of the magnetic sheet. [Section 0121-122]. Kim’s content of the magnetic particles is within the range as recited in the claimed invention.
Kim discloses a curable resin is used as the binder resin which may comprise a photo-curable resin, a thermosetting resin, and/or a high heat- resistant thermoplastic resin. As a resin cured to exhibit adhesiveness, a resin comprising at least one heat-curable function group or moiety such as a glycidyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, or an amide group; or at least one active energy-curable function group or moiety, such as an epoxide group [Section 0067-0068]. Kim further discloses the magnetic sheet may comprise a corrosion inhibitor. Examples of the corrosion inhibitor may be an organic corrosion inhibitor, and specific examples of the organic corrosion inhibitor may be succinic acid (a polycarboxylic acid) [Section 0087].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Kim’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component with excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property for multiple applications to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 17 and 18, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 2 are applicable all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 6, But Yoshidome and Akihito is silent about a curable component.
However, Kim discloses a curable resin is used as the binder resin which may comprise a photo-curable resin, a thermosetting resin, and/or a high heat -resistant thermoplastic resin. As a resin cured to exhibit adhesiveness, a resin comprising at least one heat-curable function group or moiety such as a glycidyl group, an isocyanate group, a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, or an amide group; or at least one active energy-curable function group or moiety, such as an epoxide group [Section 0067-0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Kim’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component with excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property for multiple applications to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet.
Regarding claims 14, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 12 are applicable to claim 14, Kim further discloses a thin magnetic sheet having excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property which may be used for multiple applications such as NFC, WPC, and MST, which is capable of being prepared by a simple process to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet [Section 0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Kim’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for having a magnetic component with excellent heat- and chemical-resistant properties while having a magnetic property for multiple applications to provide a conductive magnetic composite sheet and the antenna device comprising the magnetic sheet.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro Yoshidome et.al. [US20210296031A1] [Filed on Mar. 23, 2021 and Foreign Application Priority Data Mar. 23, 2020 (JP)], and in view of Yoshihara Akihito et.al. [JP2008251735A] (machine translation, original provided in the IDS) as applied to the claim 1 and 2, and further in view of Hiroshi Suzuki, et.al. [US6121342].
Regarding claims 8 and 19, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 2 are applicable to claim 8 and 19 respectively, wherein, Yoshidome teaches epoxy resin, but both Yoshidome and Akihito are silent about the polymerizable compound includes one or more oxetanyl groups.
However, Suzuki discloses photo-cationically curable composition according to the present invention has an excellent photo-curability and form a coating film of high hardness, so that it is useful as hard coating agents [Col. 1 line 9-13]. "compounds having an oxeta-nyl group" may be referred to as "oxetane compounds" [Col. 1 line 52-53]. Suzuki discloses the photocationically curable composition contain a photocationically polymerizable reactive diluent (simply referred to as "reactive diluent", hereinafter) in order to decrease viscosity of the composition, or to control physical properties of cured products. Such reactive diluents include one or more compounds selected from those having a photocationically poly-merizable group such as vinyloxy, epoxy and oxetanyl groups. Among these diluents, epoxide and oxetane compounds are preferable, since they give cured products having excellent heat resistance, adhesion and chemical resistance [Col. 8, line 1-11]. Suzuki further discloses when the photocationically curable composition is mixed with reactive diluents, the physical properties of the cured product can freely be adjusted [Col. 19, line 1-14].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Suzuki’s teaching to modify Yoshidome in view of Akihito for having a magnetic component comprises a magnetic sheet that has a uniform sheet density, excellent flexibility, high strength, and excellent magnetic properties with excellent heat resistance, adhesion and chemical resistance.
Claims 4, 10 – 13 and 15 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro Yoshidome et.al. [US20210296031A1] [Filed on Mar. 23, 2021 and Foreign Application Priority Data Mar. 23, 2020 (JP)], and in view of Yoshihara Akihito et.al. [JP2008251735A] (machine translation, original provided in the IDS) as applied to the claim 1 and 2, and further in view of Katsutoshi Nakagawa, et.al. [US7920043B2].
Regarding claims 4, and 15, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 2 are applicable to claim 4, and 15 wherein, Yoshidome discloses a ratio of the resin to the entire magnetic core may be 1.5 mass% or more and 5.0 mass % or less [Section 0114]. But Yoshidome is silent about a content of the magnetic particles is 70% to 90% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
Akihito is also silent about a content of the magnetic particles is 70% to 90% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
However, Nakagawa discloses a magnetic particles Sendust, that contain 85% by mass of Fe atoms [Table 1, Example 3], which is within the as recited range. Nakagawa’s magnetic particles have a crystal structure of Fe, because it is well known in the art the sendust a soft magnetic alloy of iron, silicon, and aluminum, is inherently crystalline.
Nakagawa’s mass of Fe atoms is within the range as recited in the instant claim.
Nakagawa discloses the magnetic particles have an average particle diameter of 20 µm [Table 1, Example 3], and an aspect ratio less than 1.6 (L=32 µm and D =20 µm. thus, aspect ratio is L/D = 1.6) [Table 1, Example 3]. Nakagawa also discloses particles of magnetic powders have various shapes, such as flat shape, sphere, and rod shape, and are different in length -to-width ratio (aspect ratio) to some extent depending on the shape [Col. 17, line 39-43].
Nakagawa’s average particle diameter and the aspect ratio are within the range as recited in the instant claim.
Nakagawa further discloses a rheology control agent as each magnetic powder is mixed with an ethyl cellulose solution in a proportion of 16% by mass relative to the magnetic powder to prepare a magnetic powder paste, respectively [Col. 7, line 22-24]. Therefore, in other words, Nakagawa’s composition (magnetic powder paste) comprises a content of the magnetic particles is 84% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
Nakagawa’s content of the magnetic particles is within the range as recited in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Nakagawa’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for making magnetic powder composition.
Regarding claims 10, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 10, wherein, Yoshidome does not disclose any solvent.
Nakagawa also does not disclose any solvent.
Regarding claims 11, all the above discussions about claim 1 are applicable to claim 11, wherein, Yoshidome is silent about the magnetic particle-containing film formed of the composition.
However, Nakagawa discloses the planar coil may be formed by drying or heating a mixture of a metal powder (electroconductive powder) and a resin binder to solidify. Use of a mixture of a metal powder and a resin binder is preferred because it allows coil formation at a low cost [Col. 4, line 64-67, Col. 5, line 1-2]. Nakagawa discloses the magnetic powder paste is printed at a thickness 25 of 150 µm on a polyimide sheet as a substrate 2, as shown in FIG. 3, and was then dried at 150°C for 60 minutes to form a first magnetic layer 3. A 15-tum spiral coil as a planar coil 4 having a line is printed on the upper surface of the first magnetic layer 3 as shown in FIG.1. Then, the printed paste was fired at a low temperature of 150°C for 60 minutes, thus fanning the planar coil 4. Subsequently, a second magnetic layer 5 was printed at a thickness of 150 µm on the upper surface of the planar coil 4 in the same manner as the first magnetic layer 3 [Col. 7, line 25-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Nakagawa’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for making magnetic powder paste and hence a magnetic particle-containing film formed of the composition to produce a planner coil.
Regarding claims 12, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 11 are applicable to claim 12, wherein, Nakagawa discloses an electronic component ( a planar coil) comprising the magnetic particle-containing film according to claim 11. Nakagawa discloses the planar coil may be formed by drying or heating a mixture of a metal powder (electroconductive powder) and a resin binder to solidify. Use of a mixture of a metal powder and a resin binder is preferred because it allows coil formation at a low cost [Col. 4, line 64-67, Col. 5, line 1-2]. Nakagawa discloses the magnetic powder paste is printed at a thickness 25 of 150 µm on a polyimide sheet as a substrate 2, as shown in FIG. 3, and was then dried at 150°C for 60 minutes to form a first magnetic layer 3. A 15-tum spiral coil as a planar coil 4 having a line is printed on the upper surface of the first magnetic layer 3 as shown in FIG.1. Then, the printed paste was fired at a low temperature of 150°C for 60 minutes, thus fanning the planar coil 4. Subsequently, a second magnetic layer 5 was printed at a thickness of 150 µm on the upper surface of the planar coil 4 in the same manner as the first magnetic layer 3 [Col. 7, line 25-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Nakagawa’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for making magnetic powder paste and hence a magnetic particle-containing film formed of the composition to produce a planner coil.
Regarding claims 13, all the above discussions about claim 1 and 12 are applicable to claim 12, wherein, Nakagawa discloses the magnetic powder contained in the magnetic layers is in contact with the planar coil or is close to the planar coil at a distance of 1 µm or less. By bringing the magnetic powder in the magnetic layers into direct contact with the planar coil or bringing the magnetic powder close to the 35 planar coil at a distance of 1 µm or less, the magnetic permeability in the magnetic field generated in the coil can be increased effectively, and accordingly, the resulting thin inductor can exhibit a high inductance [Col. 3, line 31-39]. Nakagawa further discloses, the resulting planar magnetic device 1 as a thin inductor exhibited a sufficiently high inductance. [Col. 9, line 41-43].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Nakagawa’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for making magnetic powder paste and hence a magnetic particle-containing film formed of the composition to produce a planner coil for a thin inductor can exhibits a high inductance.
Regarding claims 15, all the above discussions about claim 2 are applicable to claim 15, wherein, Yoshidome discloses a ratio of the resin to the entire magnetic core may be 1.5 mass% or more and 5.0 mass % or less [Section 0114]. But Yoshidome is silent about a content of the magnetic particles is 70% to 90% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
However, Nakagawa further discloses a rheology control agent as each magnetic powder is mixed with an ethyl cellulose solution in a proportion of 16% by mass relative to the magnetic powder to prepare a magnetic powder paste, respectively [Col. 7, line 22-24]. Therefore, in other words, Nakagawa’s composition (magnetic powder paste) comprises a content of the magnetic particles is 84% by mass with respect to a total mass of the composition.
Nakagawa’s content of the magnetic particles is within the range as recited in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have content of the magnetic particles selected and produced from Nakagawa’s teaching, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Nakagawa’s teaching to modify Yoshidome for making magnetic powder paste.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
In response to applicant's argument about
Applicant’s argument regarding Akihito is referring to paragraph 0087 in Akihito, “Applicant notes that Akihito only describes that potassium persulfate is used in synthesis of latex that is to be mixed with magnetic particles, and does not describe potassium persulfate as a component to be mixed with magnetic particles. Hence, there is no technical motivation to mix potassium persulfate with magnetic particles of Yoshidome based on Akihito”, this does not seem persuasive, as in the paragraph [0087] and [0088] of Akihito, Akihito teaches an example composition with a soft magnetic particles that contains Fe, and a binder (a rheology control) that contains a polymerization initiator potassium persulfate, with a motivation that the polymerization initiator potassium persulfate helps to start the polymerization reaction. It is further to be noted, In the instant specification, the paragraph [0262] describes about the effect of the polymerization inhibitor being marked in a case where the inhibitor is used together with a resin containing a curable group and then in [0275-0276], resin can be mixed in known mixing method and it doesn’t matter what the mixing order is.
Therefore, 35 USC § 103 rejection of the claim 1 and other dependent claims have been maintained, however, rewritten due to the amendments (please check the section of the 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and 35U.S.C. 103 rejection associated with this office action for further details).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
4/3/2026