DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Withdrawal from Issue
Th application has been withdrawn from issue pursuant to 34 CFR 1.313 per the notice mailed on 11/10/2025 and prosecution reopened. The reasons for reopening prosecution have been detailed in the Office action below; specifically, with regards to the disclosure of Weber (US 5,652,463A) and an elastic connection provided between a housing and a cover of an injection mold. Hence, a new non-Final Office action directed to the Claim set received on 9/21/2023 is provided.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/04/2023 & 9/28/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted claims 1, 3-10 and 12-20 relate to an injection mold apparatus. Hence, limitations relating to the material or article being working upon by the injection mold are not further limiting as to the structure of the injection mold. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. Specifically, “a limiting block is disposed on the second surface of the cover, the power module is provided with a limiting hole, and the limiting block is embedded into the limiting hole to limit locations of the cover and the power module” in claims 10 and 20; and “each of the plurality of pins comprises a body part and a fixed part that protrudes from a periphery of the body part, a stepped surface is formed at a joint between the body part and the fixed part” relates to the structure of the power module (i.e., the article being worked up) in claims 8 and 18 are not further limiting as to the structure of the injection mold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitations "at a periphery of the via" in line 4 and "on the limiting surface of the via" in line 5. It is unclear if the sealing pad is disposed at a periphery of one via or all the vias or on the limiting surface of one via or all the vias. For examination purposes the limitations are read as "
Claim 13 recites the limitation "between the cover and the housing" in lines 2-3. It is unclear which cover is being referenced for the elastic connection. For examination purposes, the limitation is read as "between .
Claim 1 recites the limitation "elastically connected to the cover" in line 2. It is unclear which cover is being referenced for the elastic connection. For examination purposes, the limitation is read as ".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cover" in line. It is unclear which cover is being referenced in the limitations. For examination purposes, the limitations are read as ".
Claim 19 recites the limitations "at a periphery of the via" in line 4 and "on the limiting surface of the via" in line 5. It is unclear if the sealing pad is disposed at a periphery of one via or all the vias or on the limiting surface of one via or all the vias. For examination purposes the limitations are read as "
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second surface of the cover" in line . It is unclear which cover is being referenced for the limitation. For examination purposes, the limitation is read as ".
Claim 20 recites the limitations “the second surface of the cover" in line and "to limit locations of the cover" in line 5. It is unclear which cover is being referenced for these limitations. For examination purposes, the limitations are read as " and “to limit locations of each of the at least two covers”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang (CN111527598A; of record, translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches an injection mold (Figures 3, 7), comprising a housing (701, 702 in Figure 3; 41, 42 in Figure 7) and a cover (9 in Figures 5, 9-11; paragraph 0029),
wherein the housing is provided with a mold cavity (700 in Figure 3; 400 in Figure 7), and the mold cavity is configured to accommodate a power module (Figures 3, 7; paragraph 0006, bottom mold and the top mold are used to manufacture a power module; paragraph 0031); and
the cover is provided with a plurality of vias (holes 91 of jig 9 in Figures 5-6; paragraphs 0029-0030), the cover is detachably connected to the housing, the cover is located in the mold cavity and locates the power module jointly with the housing (Figure 6; paragraphs 0030-0031, the power module combined with the jig is placed in the cavity between the top mold and the bottom mold), and the plurality of vias is configured to match a plurality of pins of the power module (fins 12, 121 in Figures 3, 7; paragraph 0029-0030, the distribution of the through holes is the same as the arrangement of the fins; each fin 121 is inserted into the corresponding through-hole 91).
Regarding claim 7, Liang further discloses a quantity of vias of the cover is greater than or equal to a quantity of pins of the power module, and an arrangement manner of vias of the cover matches a plurality of pins of at least one power module (Figure 6; paragraph 0029-0030, the distribution of the through holes is the same as the arrangement of the fins; each fin 121 is inserted into the corresponding through-hole 91).
Regarding claim 10, Lian further discloses the cover comprises a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other, each of the plurality of vias penetrates the first surface and the second surface (Figures 5-6; paragraphs 0029-0030, jig 9 comprises a carbon body having a flat upper surface and a flat lower surface; holes 91 are through-holes), a limiting block is disposed on the second surface of the cover, the power module is provided with a limiting hole, and the limiting block is embedded into the limiting hole to limit locations of the cover and the power module (reference section 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Weber (5,652,463 A).
Liang teaches all the elements of claims 1 and 12 but does not disclose an elastic connection structure connected to the cover, to implement an elastic connection between the cover and the housing.
Weber teaches an injection mold comprising a housing (65, 75) and a cover (67) as seen in Fig. 10. Weber teaches that the housing is provided in a mold cavity configured to accommodate a package to be encapsulated (Fig. 10). Weber demonstrates in Fig. 5 that the package to be encapsulated may comprise electrical contacts in the form of pins (Fig. 5, elements 12, col 8 ln 35-47) and that during molding the pins may be placed in corresponding recesses or cavities (51, 51a). Weber is explicit that the embodiment of Fig. 10 may include having the cover element (plug 67) include such recesses for pins (col 10 ln 44-48). Weber teaches in Fig. 10 that the cover is connected to the housing structure by an elastic connection (biasing means 39). Weber teaches that the biasing means may be exchanged (col 7 ln 49-61) and thus both the biasing means and cover are detachable from the housing. The biasing means prevents molding compound from flowing across the bottom surface of the substrate except in the area of the mold cavity (col. 7, lines 53-56) and can also compensate for any tolerance variances in the thicknesses of the substrate (col. 8, lines 12-14). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of Web and included an elastic connection (i.e., biasing means) between the cover and the housing to compensate for and thickness variation in the substrate as well as to ensure resin is directed to areas as intended, as disclosed by Weber.
Claim(s) 6, 11-12, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang.
Regarding claim 6, Liang further discloses the housing comprises a first housing (bottom mold 42) and a second housing (top mold 41), the first housing is provided with a first cavity (Figure 7, bottom half of cavity 400), the first cavity comprises a first sub-cavity and a second sub-cavity (Figure 7, left-bottom portion and right-bottom portion of cavity 400),
a stepped surface is formed at a joint between the first sub-cavity and the second sub-cavity (Figure 7, middle walled surface between left-bottom portion and right-bottom portion of cavity 400),
the second housing comprises a second cavity (Figure 7, top half of cavity 400),
the cover is located in the first sub-cavity (Figure 7, jig 9 is located in left-bottom portion of cavity 400)), a part of the power module is located in the second cavity (Figure 7, surface 11 of power module is located in top half of cavity 400), and
a part of the power module is located in the second sub-cavity and is in contact with the stepped surface (as shown in Figure 7, power module is in contact with middle walled surface). Liang does not disclose the first housing and the second housing are snap-fitted so that the second cavity is connected to the first cavity. However, Liang discloses the first and second housings are top and bottom molds (41, 42 in Figure 7) and further injecting a resin (5) into the housing (paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have provided a sealing surface between the first and second housings (i.e., O-ring or the like) to ensure the first and second is properly secured together.
Regarding claim 11, Liang teaches an injection molding method, comprising:
providing an injection mold (Figure 7), wherein the injection mold comprises a housing (top mold 41, bottom mold 42) and at least two covers (as shown in Figure 7, two jigs 9 is disclosed), the housing is provided with a mold cavity (400), each of the at least two covers is provided with a plurality of vias (121);
selecting one of the covers based on a distribution status of pins of a to-be-injection-molded power module, wherein an arrangement manner of the plurality of vias on the cover matches an arrangement manner of the pins of the to-be-injection-molded power module (Figures 5-6; paragraph 029-0030, the distribution of the through holes is the same as the arrangement of the fins; each fin 121 is inserted into the corresponding through-hole 91);
placing the to-be-injection-molded power module in the mold cavity (Figure 7; paragraph 0031, the power module combined with the jig is placed in the cavity 400); and
mounting the cover to the to-be-injection-molded power module, so that the pins pass through the plurality of vias (paragraph 0030, each fin 121 is inserted into the corresponding through-hole 91). Liang does not disclose arrangement manners of the plurality of vias on different covers are different. However, Liang discloses the jig (i.e., cover) can have various structures of the holes (i.e., vias) (Figures 9-10; paragraph 0033, discloses the jig having blind holes; Figure 11; paragraph 0034, discloses the jig having a gap between each fin (i.e., pin) and blind hole). As Liang discloses the housing is provided with at least two covers (Figure 7), it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to use a different jig (i.e., cover) based on the pins of the corresponding power module. One would have been motivated to use different covers within the housing to enable molding different power modules; thus, improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Liang teaches an injection mold (Figure 7; paragraph 0031), comprising:
a housing (41, 42 in Figure 7), provided with a mold cavity (400), wherein the mold cavity is configured to accommodate a power module (Figure 7; paragraph 0006, bottom mold and the top mold are used to manufacture a power module; paragraph 0031); and
at least two covers (as shown in Figure 7, discloses the use of two jigs (i.e., covers)), wherein each of the at least two covers is provided with a plurality of vias (91),
wherein the housing selectively fits with one of the at least two covers to jointly locate the power module (as shown in Figure 7). Liang does not disclose arrangement manners of the plurality of vias on different covers are different, to match a plurality of pins of power modules of different models. However, Liang discloses the jig (i.e., cover) can have various structures of the holes (i.e., vias) (Figures 9-10; paragraph 0033, discloses the jig having blind holes; Figure 11; paragraph 0034, discloses the jig having a gap between each fin (i.e., pin) and blind hole). As Liang discloses the housing is provided with at least two covers (Figure 7), it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to use a different jig (i.e., cover) based on the pins of the corresponding power module. One would have been motivated to use different covers within the housing to enable molding different power modules; thus, improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, The injection mold according to claim 12, wherein the housing comprises a first housing and a second housing, the first housing is provided with a first cavity, the first cavity comprises a first sub-cavity and a second sub-cavity, a stepped surface is formed at a joint between the first sub-cavity and the second sub-cavity, the second housing comprises a second cavity, the first housing and the second housing are snap-fitted so that the second cavity is connected to the first cavity, each of the at least two covers is located in the first sub-cavity, a part of the power module is located in the second cavity, and a part of the power module is located in the second sub-cavity and is in contact with the stepped surface.
Regarding claim 17, Liang teaches all the elements of claim 12 and further discloses a quantity of vias of each of the at least two covers is greater than or equal to a quantity of pins of the power module, and an arrangement manner of vias of each of the two covers matches a plurality of pins of at least one power module (Figure 6; paragraph 0029-0030, the distribution of the through holes is the same as the arrangement of the fins; each fin 121 is inserted into the corresponding through-hole 91).
Regarding claim 20, Liang teaches all the elements of claim 12 and further discloses each of the at least two covers comprises a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other, at least one of the plurality of vias penetrates the first surface and the second surface of the cover (Figures 5-7; paragraphs 0029-0030, jig 9 comprises a carbon body having a flat upper surface and a flat lower surface; holes 91 are through-holes), a limiting block is disposed on the second surface of the cover, the power module is provided with a limiting hole, and the limiting block is embedded into the limiting hole to limit locations of the cover and the power module (reference section 3 above).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Muller (US 2022/0013371 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Liang teaches all the elements of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose each of the plurality of vias comprises a first section and a second section, a limiting surface is formed between the first section and the second section, each of the plurality of pins comprises a body part and a fixed part that protrudes from a periphery of the body part, a stepped surface is formed at a joint between the body part and the fixed part, the first section is configured to accommodate the body part, the second section is configured to accommodate the fixed part, and the stepped surface is in contact with the limiting surface to implement a sealed connection between the cover and the pin. However, Liang discloses the jig (i.e., cover) can have various structures of the holes (i.e., vias) (Figures 9-10; paragraph 0033, discloses the jig having blind holes; Figure 11; paragraph 0034, discloses the jig having a gap between each fin (i.e., pin) and blind hole). Hence, a cover having vias with different structures is known in the art.
In the same field, Muller teaches a mold tool (Figures 1-3, 7a-7b) for molding a power module (Figure 4) having a plurality of pins (2; paragraph 0039, the module being manufactured may comprises several pins). The mold tool comprises a cavity (7) containing a soft material (8) in which the pins of the power module is inserted therein to prevent contamination during a molding process (paragraphs 0036-0037). Further, Muller discloses pins of power modules can be of various shape and design (paragraph 0037) and discloses the pin having a body part and a fixed part that protrudes from the body part and a stepped surface formed at a joint therebetween (Figures 1, 9). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to have provided the cover(s) of Liang with plurality of vias comprises a first section and a second section, a limiting surface is formed between the first section and the second section to accommodate pins of a specific various structures, specifically, pins comprising a body part and a fixed part that protrudes from a periphery of the body part, a stepped surface is formed at a joint between the body part and the fixed part. As disclosed by Muller. One would have been motivated to provide said structure to the vias to enable mold a wider range of power modules with various pins.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as resolving the 112b issued identified above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to c
“wherein the elastic connection structure comprises a support rod and an elastic part, the support rod is elastically connected to the cover by using the elastic part, and the support rod is in contact with an inner surface of the housing.”
With respect to claims 9 and 19, the prior art neither teaches nor suggests:
“the cover comprises a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other, each of the plurality of vias and
“each of the at least two covers comprises a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other, at least one of the plurality of vias penetrates the first surface and the second surface of the [each of the at least two covers], a sealing pad is disposed on the second surface, and the sealing pad is disposed at a periphery of the [plurality of vias], and/or the sealing pad is disposed on the limiting surface of the [plurality of vias].
Claims 5 and 15 would be allowable at least for depending on claims 3 and 13, respectively.
Conclusion
/VIRAK NGUON/Examiner, Art Unit 1741 2/18/2026