DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 05/28/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2014/0354810 A1) in view of Rakshit (US 2021/0364648 A1) in further view of Kim (US 2025/0085112 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for securing data stored in a low earth orbit (LEO) data center, comprising:
obtaining physical characteristics of a data center (Wang: Fig. 1; [0008]-[0009] obtaining moving state of a moving data center 30);
obtaining physical characteristics of one or more celestial objects (Wang: Fig. 1; [0008]-[0009] obtaining moving state of a moving object);
comparing the physical characteristics of the one or more celestial objects and the data center (Wang: Fig.1; [0010] determining whether the moving data center will collide with moving object);
based on a determination that the one or more celestial objects pose a risk to the LEO data center, backing up one or more data items stored on the data center to another data center in communication with the data center (Wang: Fig. 1; [0010], backup data from the moving data center to a remote data center in communication with the moving data center).
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the data center is a low earth orbit (LEO) data center.
Rakshit teaches low earth orbit (LEO) data center (Rakshit: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0005] space-based data center formed by LEO satellites).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang wherein the data center is a low earth orbit (LEO) data center as disclosed by Rakshit to provide a system for coordinated smart contract-based satellite operation (Rakshit: Abstract).
Wang in view of Rakshit does not explicitly disclose the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects.
Kim teaches the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects (Kim: Fig. 10, [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Ralshit wherein the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for collision avoidance in the space (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a computing system having a memory having computer readable instructions and one or more processors for executing the computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions controlling the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
obtaining physical characteristics of a data center (Wang: Fig. 1; [0008]-[0009] obtaining moving state of a moving data center 30);
obtaining physical characteristics of one or more celestial objects (Wang: Fig. 1; [0008]-[0009] obtaining moving state of a moving object);
comparing the physical characteristics of the one or more celestial objects and the data center (Wang: Fig.1; [0010] determining whether the moving data center will collide with moving object);
based on a determination that the one or more celestial objects pose a risk to the LEO data center, backing up one or more data items stored on the data center to another data center in communication with the data center (Wang: Fig. 1; [0010], backup data from the moving data center to a remote data center in communication with the moving data center).
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the data center is a low earth orbit (LEO) data center.
Rakshit teaches low earth orbit (LEO) data center (Rakshit: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0005] space-based data center formed by LEO satellites).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang wherein the data center is a low earth orbit (LEO) data center as disclosed by Rakshit to provide a system for coordinated smart contract-based satellite operation (Rakshit: Abstract).
Wang in view of Rakshit does not explicitly disclose the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects.
Kim teaches the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects (Kim: Fig. 10, [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Ralshit wherein the physical characteristics including a size, a speed, and a trajectory of the one or more celestial objects as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for collision avoidance in the space (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Wang in view of Rakshit teaches wherein the physical characteristics of the LEO data center include orbit details of the LEO data center including a distance from an earth surface, a trajectory vector, and a speed of travel (Wang: [0009], Rakshit: [0030]).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Wang in view of Rakshit teaches wherein the physical characteristics of the one or more celestial objects are obtained from a celestial object detection service of a space station (Wang: Fig. 1; [0009], obtaining moving states/characteristic of a moving object).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Wang in view of Rakshit teaches wherein the determination that the one or more celestial objects pose the risk to the LEO data center is based on one of determining that an interference area exists between the one or more celestial objects and the LEO data center and determining that at least one of the one or more celestial objects will come within a threshold distance of the LEO data center (Wang: Fig.1; [0009]-[0010] determining whether the moving data center will collide with moving object).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Wang in view of Rakshit teaches wherein the threshold distance is a distance that is set by an administrator of the LEO data center (Wang: Fig.1; [0009]-[0010] determining whether the moving data center will collide with moving object; system 10 design by an administrator).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Wang in view of Rakshit teaches wherein backing up the one or more data items stored on the LEO data center to another LEO data center in communication with the LEO data center comprises: querying a network of connected LEO data centers, including the another LEO data center, to obtain an available storage capacity for each of the network of connected LEO data centers; obtaining physical characteristics of each of the network of connected LEO data centers; and selecting the another data center from the network of connected LEO based on the available storage capacity and the physical characteristics of each of the network of connected LEO data centers (Wang: Fig. 1; [0010], backup data from the moving data center to a remote data center in communication with the moving data center).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478