DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to applicant’s argument that Wang does not teach “identify the two facing pages by comparing pixel values,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. The argument appears to be based on the teachings around the word identify. It is noted that it is not clear in the claims what is meant by identify. All the claims language requires is to compare pixel values and through the result of the comparison of pixel values the two facing pages are identified in some fashion. This could mean identifying which of the pages are two facing pages or how the two facing pages should be orientated, or perhaps another form of identification utilizing the two facing pages. Wang discloses in paragraph 42 that two pages are aligned with respect to each other through the analysis of the pixel values. This would be a form of comparison of the pixel values in order to align the edges of the pages. Furthermore, this is also a form of identification in that there is an identification of not only where the edges that are needed to be aligned together are, but also identifying how to orient that pages to align them together. Therefore, Wang does teach “identify the two facing pages by comparing pixel values.”
It is noted that the objection to the title is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawa (US 2018/0124276) in view of Wang (US 2014/0029073).
Regarding Claim 1, Sawa teaches an information processing apparatus (Paragraph 2) comprising:
a processor (Element 12, wherein the control unit is a processor) configured to:
obtain a plurality of page images obtained by reading pages (Paragraphs 17 and 21, wherein images of a document, page images, can be obtained by scanning, reading, the pages);
identify, in two page images that are target pages among the plurality of page images, a torn part in edge parts adjacent to each other when the target pages are two facing pages that show one image (Paragraphs 23 and 24, wherein it is identified if the images that are scanned are not rectangular and have a torn edge); and
detect and output the two facing pages by using an obtained result of identification (Paragraph 26 and 35, wherein the composite image is outputted based on connecting the two torn images).
Sawa does not teach wherein the processor is configured to identify the two facing pages by making a comparison between pixel values in the edge parts.
Wang does teach wherein the processor is configured to identify the two facing pages by making a comparison between pixel values in the edge parts (Paragraph 42, wherein the edges are compared at pixel level).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Sawa further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
detect the two facing pages while compensating for the torn part in accordance with the result of identification (Paragraphs 24, 31, and 41, wherein the images are combined together based on identifying the fit with the torn edges. In addition, further information can be used to combine for missing data).
Regarding Claim 5, Sawa further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
identify, in the edge parts, at least one of a part in which an outline is lost or a part in which a feature value related to a predetermined color is detected, as the torn part (Paragraphs 37 and 38, wherein color is used to determine how to combine the images).
Regarding Claim 6, Sawa does not teach wherein:
the processor is configured to:
detect the two facing pages while excluding the torn part in accordance with the result of identification.
Wang does teach wherein:
the processor is configured to:
detect the two facing pages while excluding the torn part in accordance with the result of identification (Paragraph 42, wherein artifacts and areas affected by the tear are excluded from the determination).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
exclude the torn part when the torn part has an area that is larger than or equal to a predetermined threshold (Paragraphs 42-44, wherein the comparison is made and the area to recover is determined and processing is limited to smaller areas to ensure proper restoration).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
make the comparison for each set of pixels or each set of segmented regions obtained by segmenting the edge parts (Paragraph 42, wherein the comparison is made based on segments of pixel locations).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
make the comparison by using as a pixel value in each segmented region, an average of pixel values of pixels included in the segmented region (Paragraphs 37, and 42-44, wherein the area to be measured can be constant, averaged).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
segment a region obtained by excluding the torn part from the edge parts, into a predetermined number of segmented regions and compare the segmented regions with each other (Paragraph 42, wherein the comparison is made based on segments of pixel locations).
Sawa and Wang are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of more easily facilitate restoration of documents (Wang: Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 12, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawa (US 2018/0124276) in view of Wang (US 2014/0029073) further in view of Noro (US 2017/0126929).
Regarding Claim 3, Sawa in view of Wang does not teach wherein:
the processor is configured to:
compensate for the torn part by using pixel values in a first range that is predetermined by assuming the torn part to be a base point.
Noro does teach wherein:
the processor is configured to:
compensate for the torn part by using pixel values in a first range that is predetermined by assuming the torn part to be a base point (Paragraph 69, wherein the torn piece is compensated for through pixel determination based on the effective data).
Sawa and Noro are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa in view of Wang with the teachings of Noro for the purpose of compensating for missing or incorrect data (Noro: Paragraph 69).
Regarding Claim 4, Noro further teaches wherein:
the processor is configured to:
when the torn part has been compensated for, further compensate for the torn part in the two facing pages by using pixel values in a second range that is predetermined by assuming the torn part to be a base point (Paragraph 69, wherein the torn part utilizes a least square method and then utilizes the linear expression to compensate for the torn part).
Sawa and Noro are combinable because they both deal with processing torn images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawa in view of Wang with the teachings of Noro for the purpose of compensating for missing or incorrect data (Noro: Paragraph 69).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699