DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 requires an upper limit of 200nm while its dependent claim (claim 1) requires an upper limit of 100nm.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
[Rejection based on Larsen]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larsen (US 20120027673 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Larsen discloses a sample of ZSM-5 in which the molar silica alumina ratio is 30 (Larsen [Table 1 Sample1-E4), with a crystal size of 26nm (Larsen [Table II Sample1-E4). Furthermore, based on table 1 the mesopore volume is 0.43 cc/g the micropore volume is 0.104 cc/g (Larsen [Table 1 Sample1-E4). While the prior art does not note the process of desilication, the claimed invention is in reference to a product and this is a product-by-process limitation that limits the product only in terms of the structural implication of the process limitation. Desilication is used to achieve a specific mesopore structure in the product, a structure which is met by the prior art as indicated by the micropore volume. Therefore, the prior art fulfils the limitations set by instant claim requiring a crystalline material to have a SAR of 15 or more, a crystal size of 100nm or less, a mesopore volume of at least 0.40 cm-3 /g and a micropore volume of at least 0.10 cm-3 /g.
Regarding claim 5, Larsen discloses the molar SAR as 30(Larsen [Table 1 Sample1-E4). Therefore, this disclosure fulfills the limitations set by the instant claim requiring the material to have a SAR ranging between 15 to 300.
Regarding claim 6, Larsen discloses that organic structure templates can comprise of TPAOH and TPABr (Larsen[0069]). Using the data provided in Example 1, the molar ratios can be used to determine a weight ratio(Larsen [Example 1]). Finding the total molar mass, and then identifying the amount of organic template, the wt.% is calculated by dividing the organic template’s mass over the total mass. This reveals that the organic template makes up 8wt% of the product. Therefore, the prior art fulfils the limitations set in the instant claim requiring an organic structuring directing agent to make up 0.1 to 10 wt.% of the product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jan (US 20160257623 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jan discloses crystalline material comprising of an MFI framework with a silica to alumina ratio of 41.4 with a crystal size between 20 to 50 nm (Jan [0034]). The prior art also teaches a mesopore volume of 0.52 cc/g and a micropore volume of 0.161 cc/g (Jan [0034]). This disclosure, from the prior art, fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring a desilicated crystalline material to have a structure with a SAR od 15 or more, an average crystal size less than 100nm, a mesopore volume greater that 0.40 cm3/g and a micropore volume greater than 0.10 cm3/g.
Regarding claim 5, Jan discloses a crystalline material with a silica to alumina ratio of 41.4 (Jan [0034]). Therefore, this disclosure fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the SAR of the particle to be between a range of 15 to 300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan (US 20160257623 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jan discloses a crystalline material with a crystal size of 20 to 50nm(Jan [0034]). The range provided in the prior art overlaps with the 40 to 200 nm range required in the instant claim, resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that a particle of a size of 20 to 50nm would share structural properties similar to the material described in the instant claim due to the overlap in size.
Regarding claims 4, Jan discloses a crystalline material with a crystal size of 20 to 50nm(Jan [0034]). The range provided in the prior art borders the range required in the instant claim, 50 to 100nm resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that a particle of a similar size would also share its structural properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant's remarks, filed December 22,2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1)/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Larsen (US 20120027673 A1) and Jan (US 20160257623 A1).
Conclusion
/ANNETTE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736