DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/15/2023, 1/12/2024, 9/26/2024, 12/13/2024 and 8/29/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 5/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no burden is present because of shared technical features. This is not found persuasive because the claims have different claimed structures and therefore create a search and examination burden. Furthermore Applicants have not properly responded to the species requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 13-30 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term “long chain” is not defined properly in the specification and appears to include a single carbon, which would not be long and therefore it is an indefinite descriptor. The term long should be removed and replaced with a definite structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 5,602,208) to Klamann et al. (hereinafter Klamann) in view of the teachings of (US 2012/0016065 A1) to Sawada et al. (hereinafter Sawada).
Klamann is directed toward thermoplastic compositions. Klamann discloses at (C5, L15) that the composition that includes an aminoalkanolamide ester processing aid that may be added to any thermoplastic and blends thereof of polyesters and polycarbonates.
Klamann discloses at (C2, L15) that formula 1 (shown above) reads on Applicants plasticizer formula and (Y), (X) and (Z) respectively and they may contain a double bond or be a straight chain within Applicants , which is therefore biodegradable. Klamann discloses at (C5, L3) that the plasticizer is 0.01 to 10 parts by weight of the resin, which reads on Applicants range of 0.01 to 15%. Klamann discloses a thermoplastic polyester and blends with a polycarbonate, but is silent regarding the use of a PLA.
Sawada is directed toward biodegradable polyester thermoplastic compositions. Klamann and Sawada are both directed toward polyester thermoplastic compositions. One skilled in the art would be motivated to use a biodegradable thermoplastic polymer to be environmentally friendly. Sawada teaches at paragraph [0050] that a biodegradable polymer includes polyester, specifically a PLA. Sawada teaches at paragraph [0066] that it is preferable that the biodegradable resin contains a plasticizer. Sawada teaches at paragraph [0060] that the biodegradable resin may include a polycarbonate. The composition is identical and therefore would inherently have the identically claimed rate of degradation.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Klamann in view of the teachings of Sawada to modify Sawada by selecting a PLA as the polyester combined with the plasticizer to have a biodegradable thermoplastic polyester with good molding properties that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-12.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766