DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grembowicz et al., US 5,575,583 in view of Frelich et al., US 2017/0030027 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Grembowicz teaches a material handling system for a work machine (Abstract), the material handling system comprising:
a receptacle (hopper 120) for storing paving material;
an auger assembly (125), at least a portion of which is in communication with the receptacle (Figure 1), and configured to direct the paving material from the receptacle for deposition on a work surface (column 2 lines 24-30);
a conveyor system (115) configured to convey the paving material from the receptacle towards the auger assembly (Figure 1);
a material feed sensor (auger sensor 415) disposed at an outer end of the auger assembly (since it monitors the amount of material near the edge of the screed; column 3 lines 11-13), wherein the material feed sensor is configured to monitor an amount of the paving material being directed towards the work surface; and
a controller (410) communicably coupled to each of the auger assembly, the conveyor system, and the material feed sensor (Figure 4), wherein the controller is configured to:
determine if a speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system lies within a predetermined speed range (“desired rotational speed of auger”; Abstract);
determine if the amount of the paving material being directed towards the work surface is outside of a predetermined amount range (“desired material height”; Abstract); and
transmit, if the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system is not within the predetermined speed range and/or the amount of the paving material being directed towards the work surface is outside of the predetermined amount range, a control signal to at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system for adjusting the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system such that the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system lies within the predetermined speed range (column 5 lines 16-26).
While Grembowicz fails to disclose a speed sensor configured to generate a speed signal indicative of a speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor assembly, Frelich teaches a monitoring system for a paving machine and discloses a conveyor speed sensor configured to generate a signal indicative of a speed of a conveyor (last five lines of [0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grembowicz to include a speed sensor configured to generate a speed signal indicative of a speed of the conveyor assembly in view of Frelich’s disclosure since the speed of the conveyor directly impacts the flow of paving material directed towards the work surface.
Frelich further discloses that elements of the monitoring system may include the conveyor speed sensor and that a controller is connected to each element including the conveyor speed sensor, the controller being configured to determine a correction factor based on information from each element including the conveyor speed sensor ([0024]), which includes the limitation of monitoring the speed sensor based on the speed signal received from the speed sensor, since the correction factor must come from monitoring the information from the sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to monitor the speed of the conveyor system of the resulting combination based on the speed signal received from the speed sensor to be able to determine a correction factor as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2, the controller (Grembowicz’s 410) is further configured to determine if the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system is over damped; and transmit a filter signal to dampen the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system if the speed of at least one of the auger assembly and the conveyor system is over damped (“controller 410 receives the actual material height signal and performs a filtering operation [which means it must transmit a filter signal] to remove any spurious waveforms”; column 4 lines 56-58), the filter signal would dampen the speed of the at least one auger assembly since the speed of the auger is in response to the actual material height.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation in claim 3 pertains to an alternative from claim 1 which was not required, therefore this limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 4, in the resulting combination, Grembowicz discloses a screed assembly positioned downstream of the auger assembly relative to a material movement direction, wherein the screed assembly is configured to spread and compact the paving material into a mat on the work surface (Abstract and column 2 lines 20-32). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose the screed including an actuator, there must be an actuator since Grembowicz discloses “the linear position or extension of the screed extension”; there must be an actuator to be able to change the screed’s position and extend/retract the screed extensions. Grembowicz further discloses that it is known that a screed on pivoting draft arms is a “floating screed” (column 1 lines 19-22) and Grembowicz’s material handling system includes a floating screed assembly (column 2 lines 18-19). In view of the screed being in combination with the controller of the material handling system of the resulting combination, and Frelich disclosing a controller is connected to each element ([0024]), it is an obvious modification that the controller can determine if the screed assembly is in a float mode (allowed to pivot) and can transmit a control signal when the screed assembly is in the float mode to indicate or confirm that to the operator.
Regarding claim 7, it is obvious that the controller is configured to determine if the work machine is in a paving mode since the controller can be set to automatic control (column 4 lines 53-55). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode, the Examiner took Official Notice in the previous office action that a controller sending a signal when in operating mode (such as a car controller sending a signal as indicated on the car’s dashboard when the car is in drive mode) is old and well-known. Applicant failed to challenge the Official Notice in their arguments. Under the guidelines of MPEP 2144.03, to adequately traverse Official Notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner's action including stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice would be inadequate. Since applicant did not adequately traverse the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice, the facts are now considered to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.03). Applicant's traversal is considered inadequate because there was no reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the resulting combination to transmit a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode for confirmation.
Regarding claim 8, it is obvious that the controller is configured to determine if the work machine is propelling in a forward direction since the controller can be set to automatic control (column 4 lines 53-55). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode, the Examiner took Official Notice in the previous office action that a controller sending a signal when in operating in a forward direction (such as a car controller sending a signal as indicated on the car’s dashboard when the car is in drive mode versus reverse mode) is old and well-known. Applicant failed to challenge the Official Notice in their arguments. Under the guidelines of MPEP 2144.03, to adequately traverse Official Notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner's action including stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice would be inadequate. Since applicant did not adequately traverse the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice, the facts are now considered to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.03). Applicant's traversal is considered inadequate because there was no reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the resulting combination to transmit a control signal when the work machine is propelling in the forward direction for confirmation.
Regarding claim 11, the system as detailed above for claim 1 includes the method steps claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the system as detailed above for claim 2 includes the method steps claimed.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation in claim 13 pertains to an alternative from claim 11 which was not required, therefore this limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 15, the resulting combination from claim 11 includes the method steps of the claim, since Grembowicz discloses a screed assembly positioned downstream of the auger assembly relative to a material movement direction, wherein the screed assembly is configured to spread and compact the paving material into a mat on the work surface (Abstract and column 2 lines 20-32). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose the screed including an actuator, there must be an actuator since Grembowicz discloses “the linear position or extension of the screed extension”; there must be at least one actuator to be able to change the screed’s position and extend/retract the screed extensions.
Regarding claim 16, the resulting combination from claim 15 makes obvious that there must be a screed actuator since there must be an actuator to be able to change the screed’s position and extend/retract the screed extensions. Grembowicz further discloses that it is known that a screed on pivoting draft arms is a “floating screed” (column 1 lines 19-22) and Grembowicz’s material handling system includes a floating screed assembly (column 2 lines 18-19). In view of Grembowicz disclosing a screed position signal that is produced by the screed sensor (425) and the screed is in combination with the controller of the material handling system of the resulting combination, and Frelich disclosing a controller is connected to each element ([0024]) and suggesting that a paving machine may be autonomous ([0025]), it is an obvious modification that the controller can determine if the screed assembly is in a float mode (allowed to pivot) and can transmit a control signal when the screed assembly is in the float mode to indicate or confirm that to the operator.
Regarding claim 19, it is obvious that the method includes the step of determining, by the controller, if the work machine is in a paving mode since the controller can be set to automatic control (column 4 lines 53-55). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode, the Examiner took Official Notice in the previous office action that a controller sending a signal when in operating mode (such as a car controller sending a signal as indicated on the car’s dashboard when the car is in drive mode) is old and well-known. Applicant failed to challenge the Official Notice in their arguments. Under the guidelines of MPEP 2144.03, to adequately traverse Official Notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner's action including stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice would be inadequate. Since applicant did not adequately traverse the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice, the facts are now considered to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.03). Applicant's traversal is considered inadequate because there was no reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grembowicz’s method to include transmitting, by the controller, a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode for confirmation.
Regarding claim 20, it is obvious that the method includes the step of determining, by the controller, if the work machine is propelling in a forward direction since the controller can be set to automatic control (column 4 lines 53-55). While Grembowicz fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the work machine is in paving mode, the Examiner took Official Notice in the previous office action that a controller sending a signal when in operating in a forward direction (such as a car controller sending a signal as indicated on the car’s dashboard when the car is in drive mode versus reverse mode) is old and well-known. Applicant failed to challenge the Official Notice in their arguments. Under the guidelines of MPEP 2144.03, to adequately traverse Official Notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner's action including stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice would be inadequate. Since applicant did not adequately traverse the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice, the facts are now considered to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.03). Applicant's traversal is considered inadequate because there was no reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grembowicz’s method to include the step of transmitting, by the controller, a control signal when the work machine is propelling in the forward direction for confirmation.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grembowicz in view of Frelich as applied above to claims 4 and 15 in view of Kale et al., US 11,576,297 B2.
Regarding claim 5, Grembowicz further discloses that “the speed of the conveyor may be controlled in response to the paving width. For example, multiplication block 840 may additionally receive a screed position signal produced by the screed sensor 425, where the screed position signal is indicative of the paving width” (column 5 lines 39-43); this means that there must be at least one screed width sensor communicably coupled to the controller to receive a signal indicative of the paving width of the mat. Since Grembowicz discloses “signals produced by a screed position sensor 425, which monitors the linear position or extension of the screed extension” (column 3 lines 15-17), the resulting combination includes at least one screed width sensor (screed position signal produced by the screed sensor 425, where the screed position signal is indicative of the paving width) communicably coupled to the controller to receive a signal indicative of a paving width of the mat, wherein the controller is configured to receive the signal indicative of the paving width from the screed width sensor at different instances of time (“any change in paving width is automatically compensated by the control to achieve the desired material height”; column 6 lines 21-23; which means the screed width sensor is continuously sending signals throughout paving to be able to know whether there is any change in paving width).
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the paving width at different instances of time is the same, Kale teaches automatic control of a work machine and discloses the concept of one or more signals from one or more sensor devices associated with an operation for confirming an operation (column 13 line 65 through the first line of column 14). Since Frelich suggests that a paving machine can be autonomous ([0025]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to transmit a control signal when the paving width at different instances of time is the same which is signals for confirming in view of Kale’s disclosure as discussed above when the controller of the resulting combination is in automatic control mode.
Regarding claim 17, Grembowicz further discloses that “the speed of the conveyor may be controlled in response to the paving width. For example, multiplication block 840 may additionally receive a screed position signal produced by the screed sensor 425, where the screed position signal is indicative of the paving width” (column 5 lines 39-43); this means that there must be at least one screed width sensor communicably coupled to the controller to receive a signal indicative of the paving width of the mat. Since Grembowicz discloses “signals produced by a screed position sensor 425, which monitors the linear position or extension of the screed extension” (column 3 lines 15-17), it appears obvious that the resulting combination includes at least one screed width sensor (screed position signal produced by the screed sensor 425, where the screed position signal is indicative of the paving width) communicably coupled to the controller to receive a signal indicative of a paving width of the mat, wherein the controller is configured to receive the signal indicative of the paving width from the screed width sensor at different instances of time (“any change in paving width is automatically compensated by the control to achieve the desired material height”; column 6 lines 21-23; which means the screed width sensor is continuously sending signals throughout paving to be able to know whether there is any change in paving width).
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose the method step of transmitting, by the controller, a control signal when the paving width at different instances of time is the same, Kale teaches automatic control of a work machine and discloses the concept of one or more signals from one or more sensor devices associated with an operation for confirming an operation (column 13 line 65 through the first line of column 14). Since Frelich suggests that a paving machine can be autonomous ([0025]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to include the method step of transmitting, by the controller, a control signal when the paving width at different instances of time is the same which is signals for confirming in view of Kale’s disclosure as discussed above when the controller of the resulting combination is in automatic control mode.
Claims 6 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grembowicz in view of Frelich as applied above to claims 4 and 15 in view of Fritz et al., US 2023/0340736 A1 and Kale et al., US 11,576,297 B2.
Regarding claim 6, while Grembowicz discloses that the thickness of the pavement is established by the screed assembly (column 2 lines 30-31) but the resulting combination fails to include further details about the paving depth, Fritz teaches a construction machine system and discloses that actual paving depth signals from sensors may be received by a controller ([0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination further include a paving depth measuring device (paving depth sensor) configured to generate a signal indicative of a paving depth of the mat in view of Fritz’s disclosure as discussed above to be able to automatically monitor the pavement produced by the paver/work machine.
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the paving depth at different instances of time is the same, Kale teaches automatic control of a work machine and discloses the concept of one or more signals from one or more sensor devices associated with an operation for confirming an operation (column 13 line 65 through the first line of column 14). Since Grembowicz discloses that the work machine can be in automatic control mode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to transmit a control signal when the paving depth at different instances of time is the same which is signals for confirming in view of Kale’s disclosure as discussed above when the controller of the resulting combination is in automatic control mode.
Regarding claim 18, Grembowicz discloses that the thickness of the pavement is established by the screed assembly (column 2 lines 30-31) but the resulting combination from claim 15 fails to include further details about the paving depth, Fritz teaches a construction machine system and discloses that actual paving depth signals from sensors may be received by a controller ([0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination further include a paving depth measuring device (paving depth sensor) configured to generate a signal indicative of a paving depth of the mat in view of Fritz’s disclosure as discussed above to be able to automatically monitor the pavement produced by the paver/work machine. The resulting combination includes the method step of receiving, by the controller, the signal indicative of the paving depth from the paving depth measuring device at different instances of time (since the controller is automatically, continuously monitoring).
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to transmit a control signal when the paving depth at different instances of time is the same, Kale teaches automatic control of a work machine and discloses the concept of one or more signals from one or more sensor devices associated with an operation for confirming an operation (column 13 line 65 through the first line of column 14). Since Grembowicz discloses that the work machine can be in automatic control mode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to transmit a control signal when the paving depth at different instances of time is the same which is signals for confirming in view of Kale’s disclosure as discussed above when the controller of the resulting combination is in automatic control mode. The resulting combination includes the method step of transmitting, by the controller, a control signal when the paving depth at different instances of time is the same.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grembowicz in view of Frelich as applied above to claim 1 in view of Walczynski et al., US 2024/0068205 A1.
Regarding claim 9, while Grembowicz’s material handling system discloses an operator station (column 4 line 17) but fails to explicitly disclose a user interface, Walczynski teaches a work machine and discloses a user interface for the operator of the work machine ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grembowicz’s material handling system to include a user interface in view of Walczynski’s disclosure to provide information to the operator and allow input from the operator. The limitation “wherein the alert notification…” pertains to an alternative from claim 1 which was not required, therefore this limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 10, Grembowicz discloses that the operator has control over the conveyor and auger speeds (column 3 lines 2-6) and that a material height dial is used to set the desired amount of material (column 4 lines 6-10; the operator must set the dial), the resulting combination from claim 9 makes obvious that the predetermined speed range and the predetermined amount range are configurable by the user via the user interface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments pertain to newly-added limitations which have been addressed in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE J CHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671