DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (US 2020/0144584 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 11/05/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Zeng discloses a battery (secondary battery, 10) comprising: a container (case, 20) including a bottom wall and a peripheral wall and defining an inner cavity (internal space) that is open in a height direction (up and down page in Figure 1) toward a side opposite to a side where the bottom wall is located (Figure 1, [0055-0056]). Zeng further discloses a lid member (cap assembly, 40) attached to the peripheral wall of the container (case, 20) in a state in which an opening of the inner cavity (internal space) is closed (Figure 1, [0055]). Zeng further discloses an electrode group (main body, 301) including a positive electrode (first electrode plate) and a negative electrode (second electrode plate) and arranged in the inner cavity (internal space) of the container (case, 20); a current collecting tab (tab, 302) protruding in the electrode group (main body, 301) toward a side where the lid member (cap assembly, 40) is located (Figures 1 and 2, [0057]). Zeng further discloses an electrode terminal (60) exposed in an outer surface of the lid member (cap assembly, 40); a lead (current collecting member, 70) arranged between the electrode group (main body, 301) and the lid member (cap assembly, 40) in the inner cavity (internal space) and electrically connecting the current collecting tab (tab, 302) and the electrode terminal (60) to each other (Figure 2, [0058]). Zeng further discloses a spacer (insulating member, 80) integrally formed of an electrically insulating material, the spacer (insulating member, 80) including a top plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) sandwiched between the lead (current collecting member, 70) and the lid member (cap assembly, 40), and a peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the top plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) toward a side where the electrode group (main body, 301) is located and covering the lead (current collecting member, 70) and the current collecting tab (tab, 302) in the inner cavity (internal space) from an outer peripheral side (Figure 2, [0059]). Zeng further discloses that the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) comes into contact with the electrode group (main body, 301) from a side where the lid member (cap assembly, 40) is located (Figures 2 and 3, [0059]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Zeng US 2020/0144584 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Zeng further discloses that the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the spacer (insulating member, 80) has a through-hole (see annotated Figure 2 below) formed through the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) (Figure 2). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Zeng US 2020/0144584 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Zeng further discloses that the through-hole penetrates the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 above) along a depth direction intersecting the height direction (up and down page in Figure 1), and the through-hole overlaps the current collecting tab (tab, 302) and the lead (current collecting member, 70) in a projection from the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) (Figures 2 and3, [0058]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Regarding Claim 4, Zeng further discloses that the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 above) has a first through-hole (through-hole in “front”, as shown in annotated Figure 2 above) and a second through-hole (corresponding through-hole in “back”) formed as the through-hole (see annotated Figure 2 above) (Figure 2). Zeng further discloses that the first through-hole (through-hole in “front”, as shown in annotated Figure 2 above) overlaps the second through-hole (corresponding through-hole in “back”) in a projection from a depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) intersecting the height direction (up and down page in Figure 1), the first through-hole (through-hole in “front”, as shown in annotated Figure 2 above) is located on one side in the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) with respect to the current collecting tab (tab, 302) and the lead (current collecting member, 70), and the second through-hole (corresponding through-hole in “back”) is located on a side opposite to the first through-hole (through-hole in “front”, as shown in annotated Figure 2 above) in the depth direction with respect to the current collecting tab (tab, 302) and the lead (current collecting member, 70) (Figure 2, [0058]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Regarding Claim 6, Zeng further discloses that the spacer (insulating member, 80) includes a protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) protruding in the peripheral plate portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) toward a side where the bottom wall is located in the height direction (up and down page in Figure 1), and where a depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) intersecting the height direction (up and down page in Figure 1) and a lateral direction intersecting both the height direction (up and down page in Figure 1) and the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) are defined, the protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the spacer (insulating member, 80) is close to the electrode group (main body, 301) from outside in the lateral direction (Figures 2 and 3, [0059]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Zeng US 2020/0144584 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Zeng further discloses that the protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) includes a facing surface (inner surface) facing the electrode group (main body, 301) from outside in the lateral direction (Figure 2, [0059]). Zeng further discloses that the electrode group (main body, 301) includes an electrode group end surface (see annotated Figure 2 below) forming an outer end portion of an outer surface in the lateral direction, and the facing surface (inner surface) of the protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) is formed to have a shape along the electrode group end surface (see annotated Figure 2 below) (Figures 2 and 3, [0059]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Zeng US 2020/0144584 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Zeng further discloses that in the electrode group (main body, 301), the positive electrode (first electrode plate) and the negative electrode (second electrode plate) are wound, with a winding axis along the height direction as a center (Figure 2, [0057]). Zeng further discloses that the electrode group end surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the electrode group (main body, 301) is formed as a curved surface that is arcuate in a cross section perpendicular to the height direction, and the facing surface of the protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is formed to have a shape along the curved surface of the electrode group end surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the electrode group (main body, 301) (Figures 2 and 3, [0057]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 9, Zeng further discloses that a plural of the electrode group (main body, 301) are arranged in the inner cavity (internal space), the plurality of electrode groups (main body, 301) includes a first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) and a second electrode group (“back” main body, 301) arranged adjacent to the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) in the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) (Figure 2, [0057]). Zeng further discloses that the protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the spacer (insulating member, 80) includes: a first protrusion (“front” protrusion, see annotated Figure 2 above) located on a side opposite to the second electrode group (“back” main body, 301) in the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) with respect to the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301), and being close to the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) from outside in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below). Zeng further discloses a second protrusion (“back” protrusion corresponding to the “front” protrusion, see annotated Figure 2 above) located on a side opposite to the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) in the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2) with respect to the second electrode group (“back” main body, 301), and being close to the second electrode group (“back” main body, 301) from outside in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below). Zeng further discloses a third protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) located between the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) and the second electrode group (“back” main body, 301) in the depth direction (“front” to “back” of Figure 2), and being close to the first electrode group (“front” main body, 301) and the second electrode group (“back” main body, 301) from outside in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Zeng US 2020/0144584 A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Zeng further discloses that the electrode terminal (60) includes a positive terminal (60), and a negative terminal (60) arranged on the outer surface of the lid member (cap assembly, 40) at a position away from the positive terminal (60) (Figure 2, [0058]). Zeng further discloses that the current collecting tab (tab, 302) includes a positive electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) that protrudes in the electrode group (main body, 301) toward a side where the lid member (cap assembly, 40) is located, and a negative electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) provided away from the positive electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) and protruding in the electrode group (main body, 301) toward a side where the positive electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) protrudes (Figures 2 and 3, [0057]). Zeng further discloses that the lead (current collecting member, 70) includes a positive electrode side lead (current collecting member, 70) that electrically connects the positive terminal (60) and the positive electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) to each other, and a negative electrode side lead (current collecting member, 70) that electrically connects the negative terminal (60) and the negative electrode current collecting tab (tab, 302) to each other (Figure 2, [0058]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2020/0144584 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 11/05/2024), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 2009/0122455 A1).
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Zeng discloses the battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Zeng teaches that the prevention of short-circuiting within the battery (secondary battery, 10) improves the safety of the battery (secondary battery, 10) [0064].
Zeng is deficient in disclosing a closing member made of an electrically insulating material and attached to the electrode group and the peripheral plate portion of the spacer in a state where the through-hole of the peripheral plate portion is closed.
Jang discloses a battery (secondary battery, 600) comprising an electrode group (electrode assembly, 12) and a spacer (insulating case, 27), wherein the electrode group (electrode assembly, 12) comprises electrode tabs (positive tab, 16, and negative tab, 17) (Figure 7, [0051, 0057]). Jang further discloses a closing member (insulating tape, 18) which is made of an electrically insulating material and is attached to the electrode group (electrode assembly, 12) and the spacer (insulating case, 27), and serves to prevent a short-circuit in the electrode group (electrode assembly, 12) (Figure 7, [0051, 0054]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery of Zeng to include the closing member of Jang in a location between the electrode group and the spacer, in order to prevent the short-circuiting of the electrode group, as taught by Jang. Upon such a modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the overall safety of the battery would be improved by minimizing the potential of a short-circuiting event, as taught by Zeng. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Conclusion
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724