Detailed Action
This is a Final Office action based on application 18/184,084 filed on 15 March 2023. The application is a 111(a) with priority to provisional application 63/333,251 filed 21 April 2022.
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been fully considered.
Status of the Rejection
The §103 rejections of record are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment.
New §103 grounds are established.
One of the previous §112(b) rejections is withdrawn; one is maintained; and new §112(b) grounds are introduced responsive to Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 recites “forming a brine recirculation loop that threats the high-salinity brine stream to prevent scaling on the ion exchange membranes”. However, the claim prior to that point recites four distinct brine streams, and it is not clear which one of those brine streams is the intended antecedent for “the high salinity brine stream”. Claim 1 and its dependent claims are rejected under §112(b) because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the high salinity brine stream” recited in claim 1.
Amended claim 1, at its last line, recites “reducing scale accumulation in the brine chamber and pipelines”. Claim 1 and its dependent claims are rejected under §112(b) because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitation of “the ... pipelines”.
Amended claim 10 recites “forming a brine recirculation loop that threats the high-salinity brine stream to prevent scaling on the ion exchange membranes”. However, the claim prior to that point recites two distinct brine streams, and it is not clear which one of those brine streams is the intended antecedent for “the high salinity brine stream”. Claim 10 and its dependent claims are rejected under §112(b) because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the high salinity brine stream” recited in claim 10.
Amended claim 10, at its last line, recites “reducing scale accumulation in the brine chamber and pipelines”. Claim 10 and its dependent claims are rejected under §112(b) because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claim limitation of “the ... pipelines”.
Claims 1 and 10 and their dependent claims are indefinite because a limitation of these claims is defined by reference to another object, and the relationship between the limitation and the object is not defined in enough detail to allow the reader to ascertain the scope of the claim (MPEP 2173.05(b)(II)). Particularly, the feature that makes claim 1 indefinite is “wherein a system pressure increase during operation of the water treatment system is reduced by 30-60 % compared to a system without the TAC filter treating the brine stream”. Claim 10 is similarly made indefinite by the recitation “wherein a system pressure increase during operation is reduced by 30-60% compared to a method without the TAC filter treating the brine steam”. The claims do not recite any specific system or method without a TAC filter, and the specification does not provide sufficient guidance to allow one to determine what range of system pressure increases a system/method without a TAC filter could operate at. Therefore it is not clear what range of system pressures would fall within the claimed range “30-60% less than a system pressure increase of a method without a TAC filter”. Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are similarly indefinite because they each depend from claim 1 or claim 10.
A similar §112(b) ground of rejection was applied in the last office action (see O.A. of May 4, 2026, pages 2-3), and Applicant responded by amending the claim text with an apparent intention to clarify the meaning of the limitation in question. Nevertheless we still find that the scope of this limitation is undefined. As recited in claim 1, a comparative “system without the TAC filter treating the brine stream” is any system without a TAC filter that could be used to treat a brine stream. As recited in claim 10, a comparative “method without the TAC filter treating the brine stream” is any method without a TAC filter that could be used in the treatment of a brine stream. As such, the pressure that the benchmark system or method operates at could be any pressure. The operating pressure of Applicant’s claimed invention is 30-60% less than an unascertainable number.
One way the claim could be made definite in scope to overcome this ground of rejection is by defining the comparative benchmark system/method in clear enough detail that one skilled in the art could unambiguously determine what pressure that system/method operates at. Another way is by amending the claim to directly recite the operating pressure as a numerical range.
For the purpose of further treatment against the art in this action, Examiner interprets that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “system/method without a TAC filter” is any system/method of any kind that does not include a TAC filter. It follows that the claim 1 feature of “system pressure increase during operation of the water treatment system is reduced by 30-60% compared to a system without the TAC filter” requires only that there exists a number which the system pressure increase of the claimed system is 30-60% less than. Therefore any apparatus or method inherently possesses the feature in question. Method claim 10 is understood similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Matsui” (US 2023/0241555 A1 to Matsui et al) in view of “Chau” (US 2021/0323842 A1 to Chau) and “Giuffrida” (US 3,341,441 A to Giuffrida et al).
Regarding claim 1, Matsui discloses a water treatment system for reducing water hardness (figure 9, system 200), comprising:
an electrodialysis device (figure 9, electrodialysis device 230; para [0196]) comprising a brine inlet stream (figure 9, concentrate inlet stream 22; para [0196], [0205]), a feed stream (figure 9, diluate inlet stream 23; para [0196]), a brine outlet stream (figure 9, “electrodialysis concentrated water”; para [0196]), and a product outlet stream (figure 9, “electrodialysis diluted water”; para [0196]), wherein the electrodialysis device comprises a brine chamber and ion exchange membranes (para [0105], [0196]);
a crystallization device (figure 9, crystallization device 210; para [0196]) comprising a brine inlet stream (figure 9, inlet stream to crystallization device 210; para [0196]) and a brine outlet stream (figure 9, outlet stream of crystallization device 210; para [0196]), wherein the brine inlet stream of the crystallization device comprises the brine outlet stream of the electrodialysis device (figure 9, the brine outlet of the electrodialysis device 230 is treated at electrolyzer 220 to make it more alkaline, and then the alkalinized ED brine outlet stream 27 is recycled to the inlet of the crystallization device 210; para [0196]-[0205]) and the brine inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises the brine outlet stream of the crystallization device (figure 9-10, every inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises the outlet stream of the crystallization device) thereby forming a brine recirculation loop that treats the high salinity brine stream to prevent scaling on the ion exchange membranes (para [0155], [0196], scale forming minerals are removed from the brine stream before it contacts the ion exchange membranes) without requiring consumable chemicals (para [0191]), wherein a system pressure increase of the water treatment system during operation is 30-60% less than a system pressure increase of a system without a TAC filter (inherently, because there is no limit to what pressure a system without a TAC filter may operate at) reducing scale accumulation in the brine chamber and pipelines (para [0155], [0196], scale forming minerals are removed from the brine stream before it contacts the ion exchange membranes). Matsui teaches that the system operates on water containing scale-forming ions such as calcium, (para [0242], pg 15 Table 1, the brine inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises 58 ppm Ca2+), and further teaches “[t]he crystallization device 110 crystallizes and removes calcium carbonate from the wastewater containing at least chloride ions, alkali metal ions, carbonate ions, and calcium ions flowing in from the wastewater inflow pipe 10. As the crystallization device 110, a known device capable of depositing and removing calcium carbonate can be used” (para [0155]).
However, Matsui does not disclose any particular device structure for the crystallization device. Matsui does not teach that the crystallization device is a TAC filter comprising polymeric media providing nucleation sites for divalent cations to combine into stable microcrystals that do not adhere to surfaces.
Chau discloses a water treatment system (figures 3a-3b) comprising a reverse osmosis membrane filter (figures 3a-3b, RO filter unit 20), and a crystallization filter configured to crystallize and thereby remove hardness minerals from a water stream (figure 3, filter unit 30), wherein an outlet stream of the crystallization device is an inlet stream to the reverse osmosis device (figures 3-6, filtered water flows out of filter 30 into inlet 21 of the RO unit water; para [0019]-[0020], [0029]), thereby treating the high salinity brine stream to prevent scaling without requiring consumable chemicals (para [0063]-[0065]), wherein a system pressure of the water treatment system is 30-60% less than a system pressure of a process without a TAC filter (inherently, because there is no limit to what pressure a method without a TAC filter may operate at), thereby reducing scale accumulation in membranes and chambers of the device (para [0063], “effectively preventing formation of scale”).
Chau further teaches that the crystallization filter is a template assisted crystallization (TAC) filter comprising polymeric media providing nucleation sites for divalent cations to combine into stable microcrystals that do not adhere to surfaces (para [0062]-[0065]). Chau teaches that a TAC filter is a particularly suitable variety of crystallization filter because it is effective to nucleate precipitates of hardness minerals, requires no consumable chemicals to operate, and has a long service lifetime (para [0063]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as the unspecified crystallization device in the invention of Matsui, a template-assisted crystallization (TAC) filter, based on Chau’s teaching that a TAC filter is a particularly suitable variety of crystallization filter because it is effective to nucleate precipitates of hardness minerals, requires no consumable chemicals to operate, and has a long service lifetime (para [0063]-[0065]).
Matsui also does not disclose that their electrodialysis device is an electrodialysis reversal device.
Giuffrida teaches that a known shortcoming of electrodialysis devices is that they are prone to accumulating mineral scale, which degrades device performance over time by increasing electrical resistance and hydraulic resistance, leading to significant operational downtime as the device needs to be regularly shut down to clean out the scale (col 1 ln 65 – col 2 ln 9; col 2 ln 38-53). Giuffrida teaches that the scaling problem can be mitigated by modifying the electrodialysis device to operate as an electrodialysis reversal device, i.e. by periodically reversing the polarity of the applied current and switching fluid streams such that the concentrate chambers become diluate chambers and vice versa (col 2 ln 66 – col 3 ln 17). Giuffrida teaches that an electrodialysis system can be straightforwardly modified into an electrodialysis reversal system without substantial reconstruction of the electrodialysis stack itself, by adding an electric switch between the electrodialysis device and its DC power supply for flipping the polarity of the applied voltage (figure 1, switch 32; col 4 ln 11-49), and valves at the water outlet manifolds for re-routing the liquid outputs between the brine outlet stream and the product outlet streams (figure 1, valves 21 and 21A; col 3 ln 58 – col 4 ln 49). The disclosed benefit of making this modification is that it mitigates fouling and scale formation within the electrodialysis device (col 10 ln 23 – 32, “The unit was reassembled and operation was continued using a polarity reversal period of 30 minutes ... Inspection of the electrode chambers after 47 days of continuous operation showed negligible scale accumulation”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsui’s electrodialysis device into an electrodialysis reversal device as disclosed in Giuffrida, based on Matsui’s disclosure that their electrodialysis device is used with scale forming ions e.g. calcium, and Giuffrida’s teaching that electrodialysis reversal improves the efficiency and uptime of an electrodialysis device by preventing the accumulation of mineral scale in the device. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. The incorporation of a predictable improvement into a known base invention, based on a finding that the prior art contained a comparable device that has been improved in the same way, is prima facie obvious as being part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (MPEP 2143(C)).
Regarding claim 10, Matsui teaches a method for reducing water hardness (para [0001], “wastewater treatment method”), the method comprising:
routing a brine inlet stream and a feed stream to an electrodialysis device (figure 9, brine inlet stream 22 and feed stream 23 are routed into electrodialysis device 230; para [0196]) wherein the electrodialysis device comprises a brine chamber and ion exchange membranes (para [0105], [0196]); and
routing a brine outlet stream of the electrodialysis device to a crystallization device (figure 9, the brine outlet of the electrodialysis device 230 is treated at electrolyzer 220 to make it more alkaline, and then the alkalinized ED brine outlet stream 27 is recycled to the inlet of the crystallization device 210; para [0196]-[0205]),
wherein the brine inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises a brine outlet stream of the crystallization device (figure 9-10, every inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises the outlet stream of the crystallization device), thereby forming a brine recirculation loop that treats the high salinity brine stream to prevent scaling on the ion exchange membranes (para [0155], [0196], scale forming minerals are removed from the brine stream before it contacts the ion exchange membranes) without requiring consumable chemicals (para [0191]), and a system pressure of the method is 30-60% less than a system pressure of a method without a TAC filter. Matsui teaches that “[t]he crystallization device 110 crystallizes and removes calcium carbonate from the wastewater containing at least chloride ions, alkali metal ions, carbonate ions, and calcium ions flowing in from the wastewater inflow pipe 10. As the crystallization device 110, a known device capable of depositing and removing calcium carbonate can be used” (para [0155]), and a system pressure of the method is 30-60% less than a system pressure of a method without a TAC filter (inherently, because there is no limit to what pressure a method without a TAC filter may operate at) thereby reducing scale accumulation in the brine chamber and pipelines (para [0155], [0196], scale forming minerals are removed from the brine stream before it contacts the ion exchange membranes).
However, Matsui does not disclose any particular device structure for the crystallization device. Matsui does not teach that the crystallization device is a TAC filter comprising polymeric media providing nucleation sites for divalent cations to combine into stable microcrystals that do not adhere to surfaces.
Chau discloses a water treatment system (figures 3a-3b) comprising a reverse osmosis membrane filter (figures 3a-3b, RO filter unit 20), and a crystallization filter configured to crystallize and thereby remove hardness minerals from a water stream (figure 3, filter unit 30), wherein an outlet stream of the crystallization device is an inlet stream to the reverse osmosis device (figures 3-6, filtered water flows out of filter 30 into inlet 21 of the RO unit water; para [0019]-[0020], [0029]) thereby treating the high salinity brine stream to prevent scaling without requiring consumable chemicals (para [0063]-[0065]), and a system pressure at which Chau’s system operates is 30-60% less than a system pressure of a method without a TAC filter (inherently, because there is no limit to what pressure a method without a TAC filter may operate at), thereby reducing scale accumulation in membranes and chambers of the device (para [0063], “effectively preventing formation of scale”).
Chau further teaches that the crystallization filter is a template assisted crystallization (TAC) filter comprising polymeric media providing nucleation sites for divalent cations to combine into stable microcrystals that do not adhere to surfaces (para [0062]-[0065]). Chau teaches that a TAC filter is a particularly suitable variety of crystallization filter because it is effective to nucleate precipitates of hardness minerals, requires no consumable chemicals to operate, and has a long service lifetime (para [0063]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as the unspecified crystallization device in the invention of Matsui, a template-assisted crystallization (TAC) filter, based on Chau’s teaching that a TAC filter is a particularly suitable variety of crystallization filter because it is effective to nucleate precipitates of hardness minerals, requires no consumable chemicals to operate, and has a long service lifetime (para [0063]-[0065]).
Matsui also does not disclose that their electrodialysis method is an electrodialysis reversal method.
Giuffrida teaches that a known shortcoming of electrodialysis devices and methods is that the device is prone to accumulating mineral scale, which degrades device performance over time by increasing electrical resistance and hydraulic resistance, leading to significant operational downtime as the device needs to be regularly shut down to clean out the scale (col 1 ln 65 – col 2 ln 9; col 2 ln 38-53). Giuffrida teaches that the scaling problem can be mitigated by modifying the electrodialysis method to operate as an electrodialysis reversal method, i.e. by periodically reversing the polarity of the applied current and switching fluid streams such that the concentrate chambers become diluate chambers and vice versa (col 2 ln 66 – col 3 ln 17). Giuffrida teaches that an electrodialysis system can be straightforwardly modified into an electrodialysis reversal system without substantial reconstruction of the electrodialysis stack itself, by adding an electric switch between the electrodialysis device and its DC power supply for flipping the polarity of the applied voltage (figure 1, switch 32; col 4 ln 11-49), and valves at the water outlet manifolds for re-routing the liquid outputs between the brine outlet stream and the product outlet streams (figure 1, valves 21 and 21A; col 3 ln 58 – col 4 ln 49). The disclosed benefit of making this modification is that it mitigates fouling and scale formation within the electrodialysis device (col 10 ln 23 – 32, “The unit was reassembled and operation was continued using a polarity reversal period of 30 minutes ... Inspection of the electrode chambers after 47 days of continuous operation showed negligible scale accumulation”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsui’s electrodialysis method into an electrodialysis reversal method as disclosed in Giuffrida, based on Matsui’s disclosure that their electrodialysis device is used with scale forming ions e.g. calcium, and Giuffrida’s teaching that electrodialysis reversal improves the efficiency and uptime of an electrodialysis device by preventing the accumulation of mineral scale in the device. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. The incorporation of a predictable improvement into a known base invention, based on a finding that the prior art contained a comparable device that has been improved in the same way, is prima facie obvious as being part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (MPEP 2143(C)).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment system of claim 1 and method of claim 10, and Matsui further teaches an acid supply and an acid feed stream (para [0081]-[0095], the electrolysis device electrolyzes a brine stream to generate an aqueous acid supply and an aqueous base supply; figure 9, para [0196] the aqueous acid supply is directed to acid feed streams 29 and 30), wherein the brine inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises the brine outlet stream of the crystallization filter and the acid feed stream (figure 9, brine inlet stream of the electrodialysis device comprises the brine outlet stream of the crystallization filter with the addition of acid feed stream 30; para [0207]-[0208]).
Regarding claims 3-6, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the apparatus of claim 1. The limitations recited in claims 3-6 do not add any further patentable weight because they relate only to the composition of a material that the claimed apparatus could work upon, and do not in any way limit the structure of the apparatus itself. “Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935); see MPEP 2115.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment method of claim 10. Matsui teaches that alkali metal ions in the feed stream may be present at a concentration range of from 0.1 ppm to 500 ppm (para [0066]), a range which overlaps the claimed range of 30-35 ppm Na+. Matsui does not specify that the feed stream being worked upon has a sodium concentration in the overlapping range of 30-35 ppm Na+, or a potassium concentration in the overlapping range of 0-3 ppm K+. However, given the teaching of Matsui regarding the alkali metal ions being present in a concentration range of from 0.1 ppm to 500 ppm (para [0066]) it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Matsui to treat any feed stream in need of treatment within the range of ion concentrations that Matsui teaches their method is applicable to, including a feed stream comprising 30-35 ppm Na+ and/or 0.3 ppm K+ as claimed. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 15, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment method of claim 10, and Matsui further teaches the feed stream comprises water having a Ca2+ concentration in the claimed range of 40-70 ppm Ca2+ (para [0242], “crystallization treated water” corresponds to the feed stream of the electrodialysis device; pg 15 Table 1, the “Crystallization treated water” comprises 58 ppm Ca2+).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 16, and 17, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment system of claim 1 and method of claim 10, and Matsui further teaches a dissolved ion concentration of the product outlet stream is at least 25% less, and at least 40% less, than the dissolved ion concentration of the feed stream (para [0242], the feed stream is “crystallization treated water”; para [0248], the “electrodialysis diluted water” (i.e. product stream) is mixed with a portion of “crystallization treated water” and a portion of “acidic aqueous solution” to form a stream of water supplied to the reverse osmosis membrane; pg 15 Table 1, the “Crystallization treated water”, has a total dissolved solids (TDS) of 2000 ppm, the “acidic aqueous solution” has a TDS of 7380 ppm, and the “Water to be supplied to reverse osmosis membrane” has TDS of 950 ppm. The dissolved ion concentration of the product stream is therefore, at most, 52.5% less than the TDS of the feed stream).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of “Adachi” (US 5,415,751 A to Adachi et al).
Regarding claim 13, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment method of claim 10, however, Matsui discloses their feed stream comprises water having 66 ppm Mg2+ (para [0254], pg 15 table 1). Giuffrida meanwhile tests their method on a feed stream comprising 168 ppm Mg2+ (col 9 ln 1-17). Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida do not disclose a feed stream comprising water having 0-5 ppm Mg2+.
Adachi, similarly directed to electrodialysis, teaches that polyvalent cations e.g. Mg2+ can form scale deposits within an electrodialysis device that impede electrodialysis (col 2 ln 56 – col 3 ln 11). Adachi teaches that this problem can be mitigated, and electrodialysis thereby improved, by treating the feed stream to reduce its magnesium concentration to 0-5 ppm Mg2+ before submitting the feed stream to electrodialysis (col 3 ln 1-54, pretreatment reduces the polyvalent ion concentration to “a concentration of not more than several ppm and, preferably, at a concentration of smaller than 1 ppm”; col 8 ln 8-16, in Example 1 Adachi’s feed water is pre-treated to form an electrodialysis feed stream with a Mg2+ concentration of 0.6 ppm; col 9 ln 55-60, in Example 4 the feed water is pre-treated to form an electrodialysis feed stream with a Mg2+ concentration of 1.7 ppm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsui by using, as the feed stream to the electrodialysis device, a feed stream with a Mg2+ concentration in the range of 0 – 5 ppm, based on Adachi’s teaching that the Mg2+ concentration of the electrodialysis feed should be kept in a similarly low range for the purpose of preventing the formation of scale deposits in the electrodialysis device. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of “Mason” (US 3,003,940 A to Mason et al).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Matsui, Chau, and Giuffrida render obvious the water treatment system of claim 2 and the method of claim 11. Matsui further teaches the acid feed stream comprises hydrochloric acid (para [0084]-[0086]), and is added to the electrodialysis device’s brine inlet stream for purposes of pH control and preventing scale fouling of the electrodialysis membranes (para [0091]-[0095], [0207]-[0208]). However, Matsui does not disclose the concentration of the hydrochloric acid in the acid feed stream.
Mason is similarly directed to adding an acid feed stream to the brine inlet stream of an electrodialysis device for the purpose of controlling pH of the influent stream and suppressing hard water scale deposition at the electrodialysis membranes (col 1 ln 11-26; col 4 ln 11-52). In one embodiment (Example 1, 35-75) Mason teaches that a suitable acid feed stream is one that comprises “concentrated sulfuric acid”; note that “concentrated sulfuric acid” colloquially means 98% sulfuric acid. In another embodiment (Example 2, col 7 ln 1-47), Mason teaches that a suitable acid feed stream is 35% hydrochloric acid, i.e. a composition that comprises 31% hydrochloric acid (per MPEP 2111.03(I), “The transitional term ‘comprising’ ... is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, for the hydrochloric acid feed concentration in the invention of Matsui, a concentration comprising 31% hydrochloric acid, based on Mason’s teaching that an acid feed of this composition is suitable for Matsui’s intended purpose of controlling the brine inlet pH and suppressing hard water scale formation in the electrodialysis device (Mason at col 7 ln 1-47). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see Remarks filed 23 July 2026) have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 10, reciting that the electrodialysis device is an electrodialysis reversal device, overcomes the §103 rejection of record. New grounds of rejection are applied based on the previously applied references in further view of Giuffrida. Applicant’s other arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant amends the claims to more specifically recite that the TAC filter uses polymeric media to provide nucleation sites for scale forming ions, and is situated in a brine recirculation loop that treats the high-salinity brine to prevent scaling on the ion exchange membranes without requiring consumable chemicals. At Remarks pg 4-6, Applicant argues that this recitation distinguishes the claimed invention from the art, because Matsui does not specify that the crystallization device in their brine recirculation loop is a TAC filter, and because Chau, who is relied on to suggest using a TAC filter for the crystallization device, does not disclose the claimed brine recirculation loop.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the test for obviousness does not require that the claimed invention be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues (Remarks pg 6) that the operating principle of the Matsui reference relies on removing scale minerals by crystallizing them and removing the crystals from the brine stream, whereas Chau discloses only crystallizing the minerals and does not disclose removing the crystal particles from the brine stream. Applicant argues that the modification of Matsui in view of Chau is nonobvious because it changes the principle of operation of the base reference.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because Chau does not teach away from removing the crystals from the brine stream; on that point Chau is completely silent. Chau is relied on only for the suggestion that a TAC filter would be a suitable type of crystallization device to use in Matsui’s system.
Applicant argues (Remarks pg 7) that the claimed invention is nonobvious because it achieves unexpected advantages.
This argument is not persuasive, because prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by recognizing advantages that would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art (see MPEP 2145(II)).
Applicant argues (Remarks pg 7-8) that claims 3-6, which recite the cation concentration of the feed stream that the claimed apparatus treats, are not merely directed to materials worked upon, but instead define a specific composition that the apparatus is designed to treat. Applicant argues that the apparatus is optimized for treatment of a certain brine composition and this optimization sets the claimed apparatus apart from the prior art apparatus.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because functional recitation will only distinguish a claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus if it implies a structural feature that the prior art lacks (see In re Schrieber, 128 F. 3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also MPEP 2114-2115). At this time, the prosecution record has not identified any explicit or implicit structural difference that can be relied upon to distinguish the claimed device from the prior art device. If the device structure has indeed been optimized for treatment of a particular brine composition, Applicant might be able to distinguish their apparatus from the prior art apparatus by pointing out a specific structural feature which they built into their device to achieve this function, which the prior art apparatus lacks.
Note that the limitations directed to the feed stream composition are given patentable weight in the corresponding method claims 12-15 and have been treated against the art above.
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 10 to specify that the electrodialysis device is an electrodialysis reversal device. Since Matsui does not specify that their electrodialysis device is an electrodialysis reversal device, this amendment overcomes the previous ground of rejection. The previous §103 rejection is withdrawn, and new §103 grounds are established based on the same references in further view of Giuffrida.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW KOLTONOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795