DETAILED ACTION
This office action follows a reply filed on March 23, 2026. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1, 4-7 and 9-14 are currently pending and under examination.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai (US 2013/0342622) in view of JP 2011-079196.
Imai teaches an image recording method carried out by applying an ink to an intermediate transfer body and a step of transferring the intermediate image to a recording medium by heating (Abstract).
Imai teaches that the image recording method may further include a step of applying a liquid composition to the intermediate transfer boy prior to the intermediate image-recording step, where the liquid composition may contain such a reactant that precipitates or aggregates an ink component such as a colorant or polymer, where the reactant includes polyvalent metal ions and organic acids (p. 2, [0022]).
Imai teaches that the ink contains an aqueous medium and colorant (p. 4, [0039] and [0041]), and meets applicants’ aqueous inkjet ink.
Imai teaches that the liquid composition includes a polyvalent metal ion, such as calcium, and an aqueous medium and another compound, which may be the same as those useable in the ink (p. 5, [0048]). This liquid composition meets applicants’ pretreatment liquid.
Imai further teaches that the method may further include a step of cleaning a surface of the intermediate transfer body, where the method of cleaning may be any method conventionally used, and includes a method of showering a cleaning liquid on the intermediate transfer body (p. 2, [0024]).
Imai does not teach the described cleaning liquid.
JP ‘196 teaches a cleaning device for cleaning an intermediate transfer member provided in an ink jet type image forming apparatus for forming an image by applying a recording liquid such as an ink to an intermediate transfer member with a head (p. 1 ,[0001]). JP ‘196 teaches that an intermediate transfer image forming apparatus requires an initialization process for removing stains such as ink remaining after transfer, processing liquid, and reaction liquid, teaching that if stain removal is inadequate, the stain will be transferred to the recording material at the next transfer causing the image to be disturbed (p. 3, [0019]).
JP ‘196 teaches that the cleaning liquid contains water as the base, and an inorganic alkali metal salt, specifically listed to include potassium nitrate, teaching that the inclusion of such increases the ionic conductivity of the water and increases the electrolysis rate of water so that effective cleaning is exhibited in a short time (p. 17, [0130]). JP ‘196 also teaches the inclusion of a water-soluble organic solvent to prevent drying, and is exemplified as a combination of ethylene glycol and glycerin (p. 19, [0153]), where glycerin has an SP value of 16.7 and ethylene glycol has an SP value of 16.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used the cleaning liquid of JP ‘196 as the cleaning liquid of Imai, as Imai does not limit the particular cleaning method and JP ‘196 teaches that the cleaning liquid containing water, glycerin and an inorganic alkali metal salt provides effective cleaning in a short time, where both methods focus on the ink jet printing method using an intermediate transfer body.
While JP ‘196 does not specifically disclose lithium nitrate as a suitable inorganic alkali metal salt, JP ‘196 does not limit the alkali metals that can be used as part of the salt, and only requires that the electrolyte increase the ionic conductivity of the water present in the cleaning liquid. Lithium nitrate is a functionally equivalent alkali metal salt of potassium nitrate; therefore, choosing to use any alkali nitrate is prima facie obvious, and includes the claimed lithium nitrate.
Imai in view of JP ‘196 is prima facie obvious over instant claim 1.
As to claims 9-10, JP ‘196 exemplifies a cleaning liquid containing 30 wt% water-soluble organic solvent and 69 wt% water.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 11-14 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that lithium nitrate has been recognized in the art as a hazardous material, and the salts listed are the ones that one of ordinary skill in the art would have tried.
Please consider the following:
MPEP 2141.02(VI). PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention.
MPEP 2123 [R-5] Rejection Over Prior Art’s Broad Disclosure Instead of Preferred Embodiments
I. PATENTS ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.
While lithium nitrate is not listed, JP ‘196 only requires that the electrolyte increase the ionic conductivity of the water present in the cleaning liquid and that the electrolyte be an inorganic alkali metal salt. JP ‘196 teaches specific nitrates, sulfates, and chlorides, and the teaching of “alkali” suggests that any alkali metal of these salts would be prima facie obvious, as this is the broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art.
While lithium nitrate may be hazardous, JP ‘196 does not teach using nonhazardous materials, as potassium nitrate is also considered hazardous.
Additionally, applicants have shown that lithium nitrate and potassium nitrate are functionally equivalent when used in the claimed cleaning liquid; therefore, applicants do not show any unexpected or superior results when using lithium nitrate over potassium nitrate. Compare Example 2 with Example 5 and Example 9 with Example 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766