DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Withdrawn
1. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-20 anticipated by Ju et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 1/2/26.
New Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Ju et al. (US11088410).
As to claim 13, Ju et al. discloses a busbar including a first slot and a first bent portion (figure 15 number 22c) that establishes a base of the first slot (23a); a first battery cell including a first tab terminal (12) that extends through the first slot such that
the first tab terminal is positioned against an upper surface of the first bent portion, wherein a portion of the first tab terminal is exposed within the first slot for welding; and a weld that secures the first tab terminal to the upper surface of the first bent portion (col. 5 lines 17-25).
As to claim 14, Ju et al. discloses wherein the first tab terminal is received within
the first slot such that at least a portion of the first tab terminal is positioned on an
opposite side of the busbar from a housing of the first battery cell (figure 10 number
23,23a,20).
As to claim 15, Ju et al. discloses wherein the first slot is flanked by a first
crimped portion and a second crimped portion of the busbar (figure 3b number 23a).
As to claim 16, Ju et al. discloses, wherein each of the first crimped portion and
the second crimped portion includes an inner curved surface that is configured to limit
an insertion distance of the first tab terminal into the first slot (figure 3b number 23a).
As to claim 17, Ju et al. discloses comprising an elastic guide that is configured
to urge the first tab terminal into the first slot (figure 10 number 30).
As to claim 18, Ju et al. discloses wherein the elastic guide is part of a busbar
frame that is secured to the busbar, and further wherein the busbar frame and the
busbar establish a bus bar module of the traction battery pack (figure 10 number 30).
As to claim 19, Ju et al. discloses wherein the busbar includes a second slot and
a second bent portion, and further wherein a second tab terminal of a second battery
cell extends through the second slot and is supported by the second bent portion (figure
4b).
As to claim 20, Ju et al. discloses wherein the busbar electrically connects the
first battery cell and the second battery cell (figure 4b).
As to claim 21, Ju et al. discloses wherein the portion of the first tab terminal is spaced apart from an upper edge of the first slot (figure 15 number L3).
As to claim 22, Ju et al. discloses wherein a distal tip of the first tab terminal is received in abutting contact with the inner curved surface to limit the insertion distance
into the first slot (figure 4b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,3-9,12,23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fail to teach or suggest the busbar frame includes an elastic guide comprising a flexible clip-like feature having a curved body configured to resiliently urge the tab terminal into the slot and bias the tab terminal against the upper surface of the bent portion. Applicant teaches this to conveniently locate and position one or more battery cell tab terminals relative to a slot feature of the busbar. The busbars provide for a more consistent and accurate tab terminal alignment and welding, reduce welding errors, and allow for simple and convenient weld repairs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724