DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 6 “compartment” should be –compartments--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2 “incorrected dispensed” should be –incorrectly dispensed--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 4 “compartment” should be –compartments--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: on lines 2-3 “an indicated” should be –an indicator--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2 “incorrected dispensed” should be –incorrectly dispensed--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Samples et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0313031).
Regarding claim 1, Samples et al. disclose a medicine dispensing system comprising:
- a dispenser control module (112) arranged to receive a medication prescription including at least one prescription item (see Figure 2);
- a cabinet control module (112) arranged to locate a position (see “a compartment of a cabinet…associated with the verified prescription” in paragraph [0008]) of each of the at least one prescription item stored in one of a plurality of predetermined compartment (126) of a cabinet (116); and
- an indicator module (see “LED indicator” in paragraph [0060]) arranged to provide a visual indication to a dispenser (see “a lock” in paragraph [0060]) indicating a physical location of each of the at least one prescription item (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 1, further comprising an electronic weight arranged to weigh the prescription item according to the medication prescription (see paragraphs [0058] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 2, further comprising an optical imager (118) arranged to identify the prescription item being weighed (see paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 2, further comprising a dispenser input module arranged to receive a manual confirmation indicating that the prescription item has been weighed and dispensed (see paragraphs [0048] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 4, where the dispenser control module is further arranged to update the visual indication provided to the dispenser indicating the physical locations of prescription items which have not been weighed and dispensed (see paragraphs [0057], [0110], [0060] and Figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 6, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 5, wherein the indicator module comprises a plurality of indicators (see “green LED” and “red LED” in paragraph [0060]) each provided on a compartment of the cabinet, and wherein the physical locations of prescription items which have not been weighed and dispensed are indicated by lighting up an indicator provided on the respective compartment of the cabinet (see paragraphs [0057], [0110], [0060] and Figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 7, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 1, further comprising a display module arranged to notify the dispenser an error or a potential error associated with the at least one prescription item of the medication prescription (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 7, wherein the error includes the at least one prescription item being overweighed or incorrected dispensed (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 7, wherein the potential error includes a wrong prescription item being selected due to confusion (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Samples et al. disclose the medicine dispensing system of claim 9, further comprising a confusion matrix module arranged to generate the visual indication to the dispenser indicating physical locations of a plurality of confusing prescription items in a staggered manner (see paragraphs [0078], [0060], [0110], and Figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, Samples et al. disclose a method for facilitating medicine dispensing, comprising the step of:
- receiving a medication prescription including at least one prescription item (see Figure 2);
- locating a position (see “a compartment of a cabinet…associated with the verified prescription” in paragraph [0008]) of each of the at least one prescription item stored in one of a plurality of predetermined compartment (126) of a cabinet (116); and
- providing a visual indication to a dispenser (see “a lock” in paragraph [0060]) indicating a physical location of each of the at least one prescription item (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising the step of weighing the prescription item according to the medication prescription (see paragraphs [0058] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising the step of identifying, by an optical imager (118), the prescription item being weighed (see paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising the step of receiving a manual confirmation indicating that the prescription item has been weighed and dispensed (see paragraphs [0048] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 14, further comprising the steps of updating the visual indication provided to the dispenser indicating the physical locations of prescription items which have not been weighed and dispensed (see paragraphs [0057], [0110], [0060] and Figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 16, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the physical locations of prescription items which have not been weighed and dispensed are indicated by lighting up an indicated provided on the respective compartment of the cabinet (see paragraphs [0057], [0110], [0060] and Figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 17, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising the step of notifying the dispenser an error or a potential error associated with the at least one prescription item of the medication prescription (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the error includes the at least one prescription item being overweighed or incorrected dispensed (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 19, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the potential error includes a wrong prescription item being selected due to confusion (see paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 20, Samples et al. disclose the method of claim 19, further comprising the step of providing the visual indication to the dispenser indicating physical locations of a plurality of confusing prescription items in a staggered manner (see paragraphs [0078], [0060], [0110], and Figure 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
8/28/2025
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655