DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: both claim 14 and claim 15 which depends from claim 14 recite the limitation “said first cradle extends cross-wise relative to said first draft sill of said railroad car”, it is assumed that this repetition was a typo and claim 15 will be examined as though this limitation was not present. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. US 9944302 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of application 18184265 is taught by claim 1 of US 9944302 B1, see how a brake component (specifically “a brake-applying tension-bearing linkage connected to a second end of the reversing lever”) is “mounted on […] a lateral side of the car”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boring et al. (US 8950341 B2, herein after referred to as Boring).
Regarding claim 1 Boring teaches a railroad tank car (FIG. 8: 10) having a side-mounted trackside-operable handbrake installation (FIG. 8: 30 & 32).
Regarding claim 2 Boring teaches that said handbrake is a low-mounted handbrake that is located at a height reachable by an operator standing on the ground (FIG. 8: depicted).
Regarding claim 3 Boring teaches that said handbrake is mounted in a side recess of said tank car (FIG. 8: depicted in a recess).
Regarding claim 5 Boring teaches that said tank car has a tank and said tank has a transverse handrail mounted thereto (FIG. 8: handrail portion of 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 9, 10, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boring et al. (US 8950341 B2, herein after referred to as Boring) in view of Miltaru (US 6357363 B1).
Regarding claim 4 & 15 Boring teaches railroad car trucks (FIG. 8: 8) for rolling motion along railroad tracks (FIG. 8: depicted suitable for this purpose); a first draft sill extending longitudinally outboard of a first of said trucks (FIG. 8: 20); an end sill is spaced lengthwise outboard of said first cradle and oriented cross-wise relative to said first draft sill (FIG. 4: 22); but does not explicitly teach a tank mounted on first and second cradles; said first cradle extends cross-wise relative to said first draft sill of said railroad car; and said side-mounted trackside-operable handbrake assembly is recessed between said first cradle and said end sill.
However, Miltaru does teach a tank (FIG. 1: 22) mounted on first and second cradles (FIG. 1: 42). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the tank and cradles of Miltaru with the car of Boring in order to allow for the efficient carrying of liquids as cargo. As a result of the combination said first cradle extends cross-wise relative to said first draft sill of said railroad car and said side-mounted trackside-operable handbrake assembly is recessed between said first cradle and said end sill.
Regarding claims 6 & 17 Boring teaches trucks (FIG. 8: 8), said tank car having a walkway located longitudinally outboard (FIG. 8: 26), and said walkway running transversely across said tank car, but does not teach a tank as part of the tank car.
However, Miltaru does teach a tank (FIG. 1: 22). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the tank and cradles of Miltaru with the car of Boring in order to allow for the efficient carrying of liquids as cargo.
Regarding claims 9 & 14 Boring teaches that carried upon railroad car trucks for rolling motion along railroad tracks (FIG. 8: 8); a first draft sill extending longitudinally outboard of a first of said trucks (FIG. 8: 20); an end sill oriented cross-wise relative to said first draft sill (FIG. 7: 22); an end sill walkway (FIG. 8: 26); and said end sill walkway surmounts said end sill (FIG. 8: depicted) but does not teach that said tank car has a tank mounted on first and second cradles, said first cradle extends cross-wise relative to said first draft sill of said railroad car; the end sill is spaced lengthwise outboard of said first cradle.
However, Miltaru does teach that said tank car has a tank (FIG. 1: 22) mounted on first and second cradles (FIG. 1: 42). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the tank and cradles of Miltaru with the car of Boring in order to allow for the efficient carrying of liquids as cargo. As a result of the combination, said first cradle extends cross-wise relative to said first draft sill of said railroad car and that the end sill is spaced lengthwise outboard of said first cradle.
Regarding claim 10 Boring as modified above teaches that said handbrake is a low-mounted handbrake that is located at a height reachable by an operator standing on the ground (Boring, FIG. 8: depicted).
Regarding claim 16 Boring as modified above teaches that said tank car has a tank and said tank has a transverse handrail mounted thereto (FIG. 8: handrail portion of 26).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11-13, 18, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boring et al. (US 8950341 B2, herein after referred to as Boring) in view of Miltaru (US 6357363 B1) and further in view of Kadel et al. (US RE18266 E, herein after referred to as Kadel).
Regarding claim 7 Boring does not teach that said tank car has a tank carried on a pair of first and second tank cradles, said tank cradles being longitudinally spaced apart; said tank car having first and second spaced apart main bolsters, each of said main bolsters being mounted at a respective truck center over a corresponding railroad car truck; each of said cradles being mounted upon a respective one of said main bolsters; and said tank car having jacking pads located at the laterally outermost extremities of said main bolsters.
However, Miltaru does teach that said tank car has a tank (FIG. 1: 22) carried on a pair of first and second tank cradles (FIG. 1: 42), said tank cradles being longitudinally spaced apart (FIG. 1: depicted); said tank car having first and second spaced apart main bolsters (FIG. 1: 36 & 38), each of said main bolsters being mounted at a respective truck center over a corresponding railroad car truck (FIG. 1: depicted over trucks 24); each of said cradles being mounted upon a respective one of said main bolsters (FIG. 1: depicted); but also does not teach that said tank car having jacking pads located at the laterally outermost extremities of said main bolsters. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the tank and cradles of Miltaru with the car of Boring in order to allow for the efficient carrying of liquids as cargo.
Furthermore, Kadel teaches jacking pads (FIG. 1: 9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the jacking pads of Kadel with the rail car of Boring as modified above in order to allow the car to be jacked up for repairs. The jacking pads would be a the laterally outermost extremities of the bolsters as claimed as a result of the combination.
Regarding claim 8 Boring as modified above teaches that said tank car has a side sill (Boring, FIG. 8: 20) extending lengthwise outboard of said bolster (result of the above combinations), said side sill is recessed laterally inboard clear of said jacking pad (result of the above combination).
Regarding claim 11 Boring as modified above teaches that wherein said tank car has first and second spaced apart main bolsters (Miltaru FIG. 1: 36 & 38), each of said main bolsters being mounted at a respective truck center over a corresponding railroad car truck (Miltaru, FIG. 1: depicted over trucks 24); each of said cradles being mounted upon a respective one of said main bolsters (Miltaru, FIG. 1: depicted); but does not teach said tank car having jacking pads located at the laterally outermost extremities of said main bolsters.
However, Kadel teaches jacking pads (FIG. 1: 9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the jacking pads of Kadel with the rail car of Boring as modified above in order to allow the car to be jacked up for repairs. The jacking pads would be a the laterally outermost extremities of the bolsters as claimed as a result of the combination.
Regarding claim 12 Boring as modified above teaches that said tank car has a side sill (Boring, FIG. 8: 20) extending lengthwise outboard of said bolster (result of the combination), said side sill is recessed laterally inboard clear of said jacking pad (result of the combination).
Regarding claim 13 Boring as modified above teaches that said handbrake is mounted in a side recess of said tank car (Boring, FIG. 1: depicted) located between said main bolster and said end sill (result of the above combination).
Regarding claim 18 Boring as modified above teaches that said tank car has first and second spaced apart main bolsters (Miltaru, FIG. 1: 36 & 38), each of said main bolsters is mounted at a respective truck center over a corresponding one of said railroad car trucks (Miltaru, FIG. 1: depicted over 24); each of said cradles is mounted upon a respective one of said main bolsters (Miltaru, FIG. 1: depicted); but does not teach said tank car having jacking pads located at the laterally outermost extremities of said main bolsters.
However, Kadel teaches jacking pads (FIG. 1: 9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the jacking pads of Kadel with the rail car of Boring as modified above in order to allow the car to be jacked up for repairs. The jacking pads would be a the laterally outermost extremities of the bolsters as claimed as a result of the combination.
Regarding claim 19 Boring as modified above teaches that said tank car has a side sill (Boring, FIG. 8: 20) extending lengthwise outboard of said bolster (result of the combination), said side sill is recessed laterally inboard clear of said jacking pad (result of the combination).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not replied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO 892 teach rail cars of interest.
/MAXWELL L MESHAKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/PAUL N DICKSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614