DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “Interlocking slider” disclosed in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The “emergency motor” disclosed in claim 10 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mo (US 20140111144).
Regarding claim 1, Mo teaches a locking device for an electric vehicle (figure 1 shows an inlet connector of an electric vehicle with a locking device),
the locking device being configured to maintain an electrical connection state between an outlet module and an inlet module (paragraph [0008] discloses a charging connector locking device, or apparatus for locking an outlet module (plug connector) with an inlet module (charging connector) while charging. Locking the plug and connector maintains an electrical connection state while charging)
when the outlet module of an outlet unit to which a hook block is rotatably coupled (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein the outlet module (plug connector 40) with a hook block, interpreted as a plug latch 42) is rotatably coupled to the inlet module) and
the inlet module of an inlet unit provided in the electric vehicle are electrically connected to each other (figure 1 and [0071] discloses wherein the inlet is mounted on the vehicle), and
the locking device comprising:
an automatic locking module configured to maintain the electrical connection state between the outlet module and the inlet module by pulling the hook block with respect to the electric vehicle according to whether the outlet unit is coupled on the basis of the inlet unit (figures 7A-D and paragraphs [0090] - [0092] disclose wherein the output module (plug connector 40) is inserted into the inlet module (inlet connector 10) for charging. Paragraphs [0092]-[0093] discloses an automatic locking when electrical coupling is accomplished a driving source 38 automatically operates (without human interference) to lock the inlet to the connector. Paragraph [0144] discloses that after the user couples the plug to the connector, the driving source 230 is operated by a signal of initiating charging, thus an automatic lock) or
release the electrical connection state between the outlet module and the inlet module by pushing the hook block with respect to the electric vehicle (paragraph [0096] discloses when the charging is completed, the driving source is operated and lock is released, allowing the hook (plug latch 42) to withdraw from the inlet. Paragraph [0103] discloses wherein the plug latch is pushed).
Mo Figure 1 shows a locking device within a vehicle inlet
Regarding claim 11, Mo teaches the smart inlet for an electric vehicle the smart inlet being electrically connected to an outlet module of an outlet unit to which a hook block is rotatably coupled and the smart inlet comprising: an inlet body coupled to the electric vehicle (figure 1 shows an inlet connector of an electric vehicle with a locking device);
an inlet module provided in the inlet body and electrically connected to the outlet module (figure 1 shows an inlet connector of an electric vehicle with a locking device); and
a locking module configured to maintain an electrical connection state between the outlet module and the inlet module when the outlet module and the inlet module are electrically connected to each other, wherein the locking module comprises the locking device for the electric vehicle according to claim 1 (figures 7A-D and paragraphs [0090] - [0092] disclose wherein the output module (plug connector 40) is inserted into the inlet module (inlet connector 10) for charging. Paragraphs [0092]-[0093] discloses an automatic locking when electrical coupling is accomplished a driving source 38 automatically operates (without human interference) to lock the inlet to the connector. Paragraph [0144] discloses that after the user couples the plug to the connector, the driving source 230 is operated by a signal of initiating charging, thus an automatic lock).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (US 20140111144) in view of Kahara (US 9088104).
Regarding claim 2, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 1, wherein the automatic locking module comprises: a clasp block coupled to an inlet body provided in the inlet unit such that the clasp block is capable of being slidably moved (figure 20 shows a clasp block, interpreted as a locking lever 243. The lever is slidably (linearly) moved restrict the plug from being removed from the inlet);
an operating gear coupled to the inlet body via an operating shaft such that the operating gear is capable of being rotated, the operating gear being engaged with the clasp block (shown as item 241 defined in paragraph [0138] as a pinion gear); and
an operating driving member configured to rotate the operating gear in forward and reverse directions (figure 1 shows a driving source housing item 37, which includes a driving source item 38 to drive the gear. Figure 17 shows driving source item 230 to drive the operating gear, pinon 241).
Mo does not explicitly teach wherein the clasp block being engaged with the hook block.
Kahara discloses the clasp block being engaged with the hook block (shown in figures 5A-5B item 19 defined in column 3 lines 24 – 36 wherein a clasp block, interpreted as lock device item 19 is slidably engaged with the hook block, lock arm, item 13 of the charging device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be selectively engaged and disengaged.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 1 lines 30 - 35 wherein selective engagement and disengagement is taught.
Kahara Figures 5A-5B show a locking device within the vehicle inlet
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (US 20140111144) in view of Kahara (US 9088104) as applied to claim 2 and in further view of Kim (US 20170217403).
Regarding claim 3, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 2, wherein the clasp block comprises: a clasp body (figure 20 item 243 defined in [0133] as a locking lever) coupled to the inlet body such that the clasp body is capable of being slidably moved (paragraph [0130] discloses wherein the lever is coupled to inlet body, inlet connector 210. Figure 20 and paragraph [0139] discloses wherein the locking lever 243 is slidably moved);
an operating groove portion which is recessively formed on a first side of the clasp body and into which the operating gear is rotatably inserted when the clasp body is slidably moved in the inlet body (figure 20 item 245 defined in paragraph [0140] as a rack gear part);
an operating rack gear provided on the operating groove portion and engaged with a pinion gear (figure 20 item 241 defined as a pinion gear which interacts with the groove portion of 245)
a protrusion body which protrudes on a second side of the clasp body and on which the hook block is seated (figures 17 and 20 show a protrusion body on the second side of the clasp body, latch 243, which engages with the hook block item 226).
Mo does not explicitly teach a clasp hook provided on an end portion of the protrusion body, the clasp hook being capable of being engaged with the hook block.
Kim teaches a clasp hook provided on an end portion of the protrusion body, the clasp hook being capable of being engaged with the hook block (figure 3 item 322 shows a clasp hook on an end portion of a latch item 322 to engage with a hook block of the charging plug item 331).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo and Kahara references with the hook system of the Kim reference so that the user may selectively activate an anti-theft system for an individual charging connector.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kim paragraph [0010] wherein selectively activating an anti-theft system is taught.
Kim Figure 3 shows a locking device within the vehicle inlet
Regarding claim 4, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 3, wherein a fixing protrusion portion protrudes from the inlet body, the fixing protrusion portion being spaced apart from the clasp block so as to cover a part of the hook block as the electric connection between the outlet module and the inlet module is completed (figure 17 shows a fixing protrusion, defined in paragraph [0133] as a lever through hole which is spaced from the clasp block and covers part of the hook block as the charging connector is coupled with the inlet 210).
Regarding claim 5, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 3,
wherein the automatic locking module further comprises an interlocking slider coupled to the clasp block such that the interlocking slider is capable of being slidably moved, the interlocking slider being capable of covering a part of the hook block that is engaged with the clasp block (paragraph [0102] discloses in interlocking slider, defined as an interlocking part item 119 and a fixing rod item 127, which is slidably moved forward and rearward),
wherein the clasp block further comprises an interlocking guide hole portion which is in communication with the operating groove portion and to which the interlocking slider is coupled such that the interlocking slider is capable of being slidably moved (paragraph [0084] discloses an interlocking guide hole, interpreted as a rod through hole 36’ which allows the fixing rod to pass through).
Mo does not explicitly teach wherein the interlocking slider comprises an interlocking rack gear with which the operating gear provided in the operating groove portion is engaged.
Kahara teaches the interlocking slider comprises an interlocking rack gear with which the operating gear provided in the operating groove portion is engaged (figure 3 shows a rack gear items 32 and 38 engaging with an interlocking slider, interpreted as an engagement pin 40, to slidably move).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be selectively engaged and disengaged.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 1 lines 30 - 35 wherein selective engagement and disengagement is taught.
Regarding claim 6, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 2, teaches a driving source [0085] item 38 to operate the gear, but does not explicitly teaches further comprising: a control member configured to control an operation of the operating driving member according to whether the outlet unit is coupled on the basis of the inlet unit.
Kim teaches further comprising: a control member configured to control an operation of the operating driving member according to whether the outlet unit is coupled on the basis of the inlet unit (figure 2 item 220 defined in paragraph [0069] as a controller which controls the operation of the gear).
Regarding claim 7, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: an emergency locking module to which a spare key provided in a smart key of the electric vehicle is coupled and which is configured to operate the automatic locking module according to an operation of the spare key.
Kahara teaches an emergency locking module (fig 6 item 50) to which a spare key provided in a smart key of the electric vehicle is coupled and which is configured to operate the automatic locking module according to an operation of the spare key (shown in figures 8 and 9 defined in column 5 lines 5 – 12 wherein a lock device 19 may be operated for emergencies in a manual mode with a key, interpreted as a forcible unlocking mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be manually unlocked in the event of a function failure.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 6 lines 5-14 the locking device may be forcible unlocked during locking failure.
Regarding claim 8, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the emergency locking module comprises: an emergency coupling portion spaced apart from the inlet module and provided in the inlet body; a bevel rod coupled to the emergency coupling portion such that the bevel rod is capable of being rotated and slidably moved; a reciprocating bevel gear coupled to a first end portion of the bevel rod; a driving bevel gear coupled to the operating shaft such that the driving bevel gear is capable of being detachably engaged with the reciprocating bevel gear, the driving bevel gear being configured to be rotated together with the operating shaft; and an operation head which is coupled to a second end portion of the bevel rod and to which the spare key is capable of being detachably coupled.
Kahara teaches comprises: an emergency coupling portion (fig 6 item 51) spaced apart from the inlet module and provided in the inlet body (figures 8-11 defined in column 5 lines 5 – 12 item 45 as a forcible unlocking mechanism);
a bevel rod coupled to the emergency coupling portion such that the bevel rod is capable of being rotated and slidably moved (Figure 10 item 26 defined in column 6 lines 23 – 25 as a lock pin);
a reciprocating bevel gear coupled to a first end portion of the bevel rod (figure 10 item 29 defined in column 6 lines 23 – 26 as an urging member);
a driving bevel gear coupled to the operating shaft such that the driving bevel gear is capable of being detachably engaged with the reciprocating bevel gear, the driving bevel gear being configured to be rotated together with the operating shaft (figure 10 item 38 defined as a pinion coupled with the shaft); and
an operation head which is coupled to a second end portion of the bevel rod and to which the spare key is capable of being detachably coupled (figure 10 item 24 defined in column 3 lines 37 – 38 as tabs which control the forcible unlocking operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be manually unlocked in the event of a function failure.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 6 lines 5-14 the locking device may be forcible unlocked during locking failure.
Regarding claim 9, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the emergency locking module further comprises: a reciprocating elastic member elastically pressing the bevel rod toward the operation head with respect to the emergency coupling portion.
Kahara teaches wherein the emergency locking module further comprises: a reciprocating elastic member elastically pressing the bevel rod toward the operation head with respect to the emergency coupling portion (shown in figure 10 items 29 and 30 defined in column 3 lines 58 – 67 as a coil spring and an O-ring, both are known in the art to be elastic an presses the bevel toward the operation head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be manually unlocked in the event of a function failure.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 6 lines 5-14 the locking device may be forcible unlocked during locking failure.
Regarding claim 10, Mo teaches the locking device of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the emergency locking module further comprises: an emergency motor provided on an end portion of the bevel rod, the emergency motor being configured to rotate the reciprocating bevel gear in the forward and reverse directions according to a rotation direction of the bevel rod.
Kahara teaches wherein the emergency locking module further comprises: an emergency motor provided on an end portion of the bevel rod, the emergency motor being configured to rotate the reciprocating bevel gear in the forward and reverse directions according to a rotation direction of the bevel rod (figure 10 item 33 defined in column 5 lines 5 – 12 as a motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle locking system of the Mo reference with the locking system of the Kahara reference so that the locking device may be manually unlocked in the event of a function failure.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kahara reference in column 6 lines 5-14 the locking device may be forcible unlocked during locking failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20150343913 A1 Actuator Fukai; Akira Et Al.
Us 12516553 B2 Locking Actuator Gao; Wenhong Et Al.
Us 20120238122 A1 Power Plug Locking Device Hirashita; Takahiro Et Al.
Us 20130078840 A1 Power Plug Locking Device Inoue; Tomohiro Et Al.
Us 20230349205 A1 Charging Door Assembly Of Vehicle Jeong; Yong-Won Et Al.
Us 20130255334 A1 Lock Device Kurumizawa; Naoto Et Al.
Us 8357002 B2 Locking Device Katagiri; Toshiharu Et Al.
Us 20200395713 A1 Port Locking Actuator Motomiya; Masahiro Et Al.
Us 20110034053 A1 Charging Connector Matsumoto; Mitsuhiro Et Al.
Us 10665992 B2 Actuator Miwa; Hiroya Et Al.
Us 20140235087 A1 Charging Port Locking Device Nakajima; Tsuyoshi
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859