DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 8-14 in the reply filed on February 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the soft magnetic powder" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously recites both an insulator-coated soft magnetic powder and a soft magnetic powder precursor. It is not clear which of these soft magnetic powders are being referred to in lines 7-8. For the purpose of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referring to the insulator coated soft magnetic powder in lines 7-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2018/0286548).
Considering Claim 8: Nakamura teaches an insulator coated magnetic powder comprising a soft magnetic powder and an insulated alumina containing film coated on the surface of the soft magnetic powder (¶0031).
Nakamura does not teach the claimed measure of the measured specific surface area and theoretical surface area. However, Nakamura teaches the specific surface area of the soft magnetic powder as controlling the filling property of the soft magnetic powder (¶0100). As the measured specific surface area is directly correlated with the claimed ratio, the ratio itself would be considered to be a result effective variable, based on the teaching of Nakamura. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the specific surface area ratio claimed through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nakamura suggests, to increase the filling property of the soft magnetic powder.
Considering Claims 9 and 10: Nakamura teaches the magnetic soft material as being a Fe-Si-Cr alloy (Table 1).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). The insulation resistance and magnetic permeability is measured, but the conditions are not disclosed, and as such it is not clear that these measurements are the claimed measurements. However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the withstand voltage, the insulation resistance, and the magnetic permeability would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claims 11-13: Nakamura teaches a magnetic core, magnetic element and electronic device comprising the magnetic powder (¶0005).
Considering Claim 14: Nakamura teaches the electronic device being used in a vehicle (¶0133).
Double Patenting
Claims 8 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,080,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claim 8: Claim 5 of Patent ‘456 teaches a soft magnetic powder comprising a soft magnetic powder and an insulating film on the surface of the powder, where the claimed ratio of measured to theoretical specific surface area is 1.0 to 4.0.
Considering Claims 11-14: Claims 6-9 of Patent ‘456 correspond to instant claims 11-14.
Claims 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claim 8: Claim 4 of Patent ‘101 teaches a soft magnetic powder comprising a soft magnetic powder and an insulating film containing a ceramic on the surface of the powder, where the claimed ratio of measured to theoretical specific surface area is 1.0 to 3.2.
Considering Claims 9 and 10: Claim 1 of Patent ‘101 teaches the magnetic soft material as being a Fe-Si-Cr alloy.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the withstand voltage, the insulation resistance, and the magnetic permeability would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claims 11-14: Claims 6-9 of Patent ‘456 correspond to instant claims 11-14.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767