DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Twitchen et al., US2007/0148374.
Regarding claims 1-4, Twitchen teaches a cultured (synthetic) diamond comprising a synthetic diamond substrate, artificially embedded inclusions, and an encapsulating portion formed on the inclusions. The encapsulating portion is formed on the substrate/inclusions by chemical vapor deposition and thus is bonded to the substrate via covalent carbon bonds. See [0005]-[0007], Example 1, and claim 30.
Regarding claims 5-6, Twitchen teaches human or machine readable indicia such as a fingerprint or trademark which is considered at least an authentication identifier. See [0039], [0044], [0049], [0065], claim 28, and claim 53.
Regarding claim 7, Twitchen teaches the dopant (inclusion) is provided in one or more layers provided on the substrate. See Example 1, claims 3, 40, 44-49, and 51-52.
Regarding claim 8, Twitchen teaches the fingerprint or trademark is formed on a planar or non-planar surface. See Example 1 and Figures 9(a), 9(b), and 12-16 along with associated text.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore et al., US2017/0261855.
Regarding claims 1-4, Moore teaches a synthetic (cultured) diamond comprising a diamond substrate portion, creating a metallic layer (mark) layer on the diamond substrate, and an encapsulating synthetic diamond grown by CVD and thus bonded to the substrate portion via covalent carbon to carbon bonds. See [0006]-[0011], [0030], and [0037].
Regarding claims 5-7, Moore teaches the inclusions are human or machine readable written text in the form of a layer (Figures 5-6), logos, labels, captions, photograph or numbers. See [0003]-[0007] and [0033].
Regarding claim 8, Moore teaches at least planar surfaces for deposition. See Figure 1A – 1C and associated text.
Regarding claim 9, Moore teaches a metallic layer. See [0043].
Regarding claim 10, Moore teaches at least sputter coating and maskless lithography. See [0010] and [0032]-[0036].
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gloyer et al., US2018/0310677.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 11, Gloyer teaches a synthetic diamond grown around an inclusion (secondary gemstone). See Figure 1 and associated text. Gloyer teaches growing a substrate portion of a diamond using CVD, inserting the secondary gemstone and forming an encapsulating portion via CVD which forms carbon-carbon bonds which bond the encapsulating portion to the substrate. See [0035], [0038], [0043], and [0054].
Regarding claim 5, Gloyer teaches inclusions comprising readable indicia (insignia). See [0020] and [0042].
Regarding claim 6, Gloyer teaches identification insignia which is considered at least an authentication identifier. See [0020] and [0042].
Regarding claims 7-10, Gloyer teaches using laser etching (laser ablation or direct laser writing) which produces, i.e., deposits, a non-diamond graphitized carbon layer on an interior of the diamond on a planar or non-planar surface. See [0042]. (The instant spec indicates that laser irradiation causes graphitization. See [0071].)
Regarding claim 12, Gloyer teaches diamonds, rubies, sapphires, amethyst, citrine, garnet, etc. See [0034]-[0036].
Regarding claims 13-14, Gloyer teaches pretreatment including cutting, grinding, crushing, shaping, etc. which would create more nucleation sites and increase nucleation density and are considered to meet the at least the mechanical surface abrasion limitation. See [0041].
Regarding claim 15, Gloyer teaches disposing the gemstone in a formed cavity. See Figure 1, element 108 and [0038].
Regarding claim 16, Gloyer teaches chemical vapor deposition. See [0054].
Regarding claim 17, Gloyer teaches both including insignia and a secondary gemstone. See [0042].
Regarding claims 18-19, Gloyer teaches a synthetic diamond grown around an inclusion (secondary gemstone). See Figure 1 and associated text. Gloyer teaches growing a substrate portion of a diamond using CVD, inserting the secondary gemstone and forming an encapsulating portion via CVD which forms carbon-carbon bonds which bond the encapsulating portion to the substrate. See [0035], [0038] and [0043]. Gloyer teaches using laser etching which would produce a non-diamond graphtitized carbon layer on the interior surface. (The instant spec indicates that laser irradiation causes graphitization. See [0071].)
Regarding claim 20, Gloyer teaches both the substrate portion and the encapsulating portion can be grown by chemical vapor deposition. See [0054].
ANTHONY J. ZIMMER
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736