DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“configured to coupled” in lines 1-2 should be “configured to be coupled” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burkholz (US 20210228127 A1; cited by applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Burkholz discloses
a flow restriction device (see paragraph 0055 and Figs. 6A-6C, adapter #55), comprising:
a housing (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60) defining a first lumen, a second lumen, and a cavity disposed between the first lumen and the second lumen (see paragraph 0055-0056 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60 has a first lumen where #14 is pointing and a second lumen on the distal end of where a cavity is in between; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes a first lumen on proximal side where #24 is, a second lumen on distal end where #20 is and a cavity in between both lumens where #30 is); and
an insert body disposed within the cavity (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, an inner component #58), the insert body comprising:
a first end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a first end on one side);
a second end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a second end on another side);
a longitudinal axis extending through the first and second ends (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, an longitudinal axis can pass between two ends of #58);
an outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has an outer surface that contacts #60); and
a channel defined on the outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56), wherein the channel extends between the first and second ends (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 between its two ends), the channel comprising a first portion that extends in a first direction away from the longitudinal axis and a second portion that extends in a second direction toward the longitudinal axis (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 that extends in two directions on the top and bottom with a hole #62 and an opening #63), and the channel and an inner surface of the cavity define a fluid passage in fluid communication with the first lumen and the second lumen (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #56 may include hole #62 that fluidly connects #56 to and opening #64).
With respect to claim 4, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the channel defines a serpentine fluid passage (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 which may include a coil or spiral shape).
With respect to claim 5, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the channel is at least partially sinusoidal (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 which may include a coil or spiral shape).
With respect to claim 6, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the insert body comprises a cylindrical body (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 is cylindrical).
With respect to claim 7, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the channel extends along the outer surface within an arc of a cross-section of the cylindrical body (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 is cylindrical where #56 extends along the outer surface within an arc as seem best in Fig. 6A).
With respect to claim 8, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the housing comprises a male luer connector portion defining the first lumen (see paragraph 0053-0060, distal end #12 of outer component #60 may include distal connector #14 which can be a male luer connector) and a female luer connector portion defining the second lumen (see paragraph 0059, inner component #58 may include on the proximal end #16 a proximal connector #18 such as a female luer connector; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes proximal connector #18 on proximal end of adapter #48 as seen in Fig. 4B where the housing is the adapter structure that is formed), and the male luer portion connector and the female luer connector portion are coupled together to cooperatively define the cavity (see paragraph 0055-0056 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60 has a first lumen where #14 is pointing and a second lumen on the distal end of where a cavity is in between).
With respect to claim 9, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the first lumen is configured to be coupled to a catheter hub (see paragraph 0029-0032, catheter assembly includes catheter hub with a distal and proximal end).
With respect to claim 10, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the second lumen is configured to coupled to a fluid collection device (see paragraph 0033, adapter includes proximal end #16 which includes proximal connector #18 configured to couple to blood collection device).
With respect to claim 11, Burkholz discloses
a flow restriction device (see paragraph 0055 and Figs. 6A-6C, adapter #55), comprising:
a male luer connector portion defining a first lumen (see paragraph 0053-0060, distal end #12 of outer component #60 may include distal connector #14 which can be a male luer connector);
a female luer connector portion defining a second lumen (see paragraph 0059, inner component #58 may include on the proximal end #16 a proximal connector #18 such as a female luer connector), wherein the male luer portion connector and the female luer connector portion cooperatively define a cavity (see paragraph 0055-0056 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60 has a first lumen where #14 is pointing and a second lumen on the distal end of where a cavity is in between; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes a first lumen on proximal side where #24 is, a second lumen on distal end where #20 is and a cavity in between both lumens where #30 is); and
an insert body disposed within the cavity (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, an inner component #58), the insert body comprising:
a first end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a first end on one side);
a second end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a second end on another side);
an outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has an outer surface that contacts #60); and
a serpentine channel defined on the outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 which may include a coil or spiral shape), wherein the channel extends between the first and second ends (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 between its two ends) and the channel and an inner surface of the cavity define a fluid passage in fluid communication with the first lumen and the second lumen (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #56 may include hole #62 that fluidly connects #56 to and opening #64).
With respect to claim 14, Burkholz discloses
a peripheral intravenous catheter assembly (see paragraph 0029-0032, catheter assembly) configured to limit hemolysis during drawing of blood from a patient (see paragraph 0029-0032, reduce likelihood of hemolysis during blood collection), comprising:
a catheter hub having a proximal end and a distal end (see paragraph 0029-0032, catheter assembly includes catheter hub with a distal and proximal end);
a fluid collection device (see paragraph 0033, adapter includes proximal end #16 which includes proximal connector #18 configured to couple to blood collection device); and
a flow restriction device (see paragraph 0055 and Figs. 6A-6C, adapter #55), comprising:
a housing (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60) defining a first lumen, a second lumen, and a cavity disposed between the first lumen and the second lumen (see paragraph 0055-0056 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60 has a first lumen where #14 is pointing and a second lumen on the distal end of where a cavity is in between; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes a first lumen on proximal side where #24 is, a second lumen on distal end where #20 is and a cavity in between both lumens where #30 is) wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with the catheter hub and the second lumen is in fluid communication with the fluid collection device (see paragraph 0029-0032, catheter assembly includes catheter hub with a distal and proximal end; and see paragraph 0033, adapter includes proximal end #16 which includes proximal connector #18 configured to couple to blood collection device); and
an insert body disposed within the cavity (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, an inner component #58), the insert body comprising:
a first end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a first end on one side);
a second end (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a second end on another side);
a longitudinal axis extending through the first and second ends (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, an longitudinal axis can pass between two ends of #58);
an outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0057 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has an outer surface that contacts #60); and
a tortuous channel defined on the outer surface (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 where #56 can be a coil or spiral), wherein the channel extends between the first and second ends (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 between its two ends) and the channel and an inner surface of the cavity define a fluid passage in fluid communication with the first lumen and the second lumen (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #56 may include hole #62 that fluidly connects #56 to and opening #64).
With respect to claim 17, all limitations of claim 14 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the channel is at least partially sinusoidal (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 has a groove #56 which may include a coil or spiral shape).
With respect to claim 18, all limitations of claim 14 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the insert body comprises a cylindrical body (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 is cylindrical).
With respect to claim 19, all limitations of claim 18 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the channel extends along the outer surface within an arc of a cross-section of the cylindrical body (see paragraph 0055-0060 and Figs. 6A-6C, #58 is cylindrical where #56 extends along the outer surface within an arc as seem best in Fig. 6A).
With respect to claim 20, all limitations of claim 14 apply in which Burkholz further discloses wherein the housing comprises a male luer connector portion defining the first lumen (see paragraph 0053-0060, distal end #12 of outer component #60 may include distal connector #14 which can be a male luer connector) and a female luer connector portion defining the second lumen (see paragraph 0059, inner component #58 may include on the proximal end #16 a proximal connector #18 such as a female luer connector; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes proximal connector #18 on proximal end of adapter #48 as seen in Fig. 4B where the housing is the adapter structure that is formed)), and the male luer portion connector and the female luer connector portion are coupled together to cooperatively define the cavity (see paragraph 0055-0056 and Figs. 6A-6C, outer component #60 has a first lumen where #14 is pointing and a second lumen on the distal end of where a cavity is in between; and see paragraph 0055, adapter #55 may be similar or identical in terms of the features to the adapter #10, adapter #44 and adapter #48; and see paragraph 0044 and Fig.4B, adapter #48 includes a first lumen on proximal side where #24 is, a second lumen on distal end where #20 is and a cavity in between both lumens where #30 is).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz in view of Cabot (US 20120191010 A1).
With respect to claim 2, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a diameter of about 0.02 inches to about 0.03 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any diameter so as long as it fits into a catheter (see paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified diameter because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel be able to fit within a catheter (Cabot: see [0032]) to allow the channel to flow through the catheter (Cabot: see [0032]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the diameter is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the diameter is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the diameter so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
With respect to claim 3, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a length of about 0.97 inches to about 1.30 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any length (see paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified length because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel extend through a placed catheter to collect fluid and allow a fluid sample to be taken directly from a source and avoids pain and clotting issues (Cabot: see [0031]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the length is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the length is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the length so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
With respect to claim 12, all limitations of claim 11 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a diameter of about 0.02 inches to about 0.03 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any diameter so as long as it fits into a catheter (see paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified diameter because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel be able to fit within a catheter (Cabot: see [0032]) to allow the channel to flow through the catheter (Cabot: see [0032]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the diameter is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the diameter is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the diameter so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
With respect to claim 13, all limitations of claim 11 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a length of about 0.97 inches to about 1.30 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any length (see paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified length because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel extend through a placed catheter to collect fluid and allow a fluid sample to be taken directly from a source and avoids pain and clotting issues (Cabot: see [0031]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the length is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the length is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the length so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
With respect to claim 15, all limitations of claim 14 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a diameter of about 0.02 inches to about 0.03 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any diameter so as long as it fits into a catheter (see paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified diameter because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel be able to fit within a catheter (Cabot: see [0032]) to allow the channel to flow through the catheter (Cabot: see [0032]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the diameter is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the diameter is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the diameter so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
With respect to claim 16, all limitations of claim 14 apply in which Burkholz does not specifically disclose wherein the channel has a length of about 0.97 inches to about 1.30 inches.
Cabot teaches that a collection catheter with a channel can be any length (see paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burkholz with the teachings of Cabot to have a channel be a specified length because it would have resulted in the predictable result of having a channel extend through a placed catheter to collect fluid and allow a fluid sample to be taken directly from a source and avoids pain and clotting issues (Cabot: see [0031]).
Alternatively, Cabot is suggesting that the length is subject to change. The diameter would depend upon the factors of materials and designer preference. As such, the length is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the factors materials and designer preference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the length so as to obtain the desired materials and designer preference.
Conclusion
/N.N.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791