Status of Claims
Applicant's submission filed on 3/18/26 has been entered. Claim 1 is cancelled. Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Famularo et al. (US 10339493 B1), in view of Eichenblatt (US 20160247344), in further view of TORRES et al. (US 20150186840 A1).
Re-claim 2, Famularo et al. teach a method for tracking a package, comprising:
--obtaining, by a data acquirer, package identification information from a scannable medium associated with the package;
(see e.g. col. 20, lines 59-62--For example, as items are added to inventory, one or more images of the known items may be obtained, processed and item image information stored in the inventory data store 1915 and associated with the item.
col. 19, lines 15-19-- Other inputs that may be considered in determining actions and/or confidence scores may include, but are not limited to, active tags (e.g., RFID), visual tags (e.g., barcodes, QR codes, bokodes), photodiodes, and/or auto-facing unit.
col. 4, lines 27-41--In addition to cameras, other input devices, such as pressure sensors, infrared sensors, scales, light curtains, load cells, active tag readers, etc., may be utilized with the implementations described herein.-- The light curtain may also include a reader, such as an active tag reader, that can detect a tag included on an item as the item passes into or out of the inventory location. For example, if the item includes an RFID tag (an active tag) a RFID reader (active tag reader) may detect the RFID as the item passes into or out of the inventory location.)
--detecting, by one or more image sensors, a placement of at least one object at a location by detecting a change in an image compared to a previous image corresponding to a position of the at least one object at the location of the at least one object based on image information acquired of the location;
(see e.g. col. 19, lines 36-55; One or more images of the location prior to the event may also be obtained, as in 1404. In some implementations, images and/or video of inventory locations, totes, etc. may be periodically obtained and maintained by the inventory management system for a period of time. If an event is detected, images of the location where the event occurred may be obtained that represents the location before the event occurrence. Likewise, one or more images of the location of the event after the event occurrence may also be obtained, as in 1406. The set of images may then be processed and compared, as in 1408. For example, one or more image processing techniques, such as feature extraction, object recognition, edge detection etc., may be performed and the results of the processed images compared to identify a difference between the images. The comparison may be used to determine if an item was placed at the location or picked from the location. For example, if edge detection is performed on each image and the results compared, it can be determined if an item was added or removed from the location.
col. 19, lines 19-25 -- For example, in some implementations, an item may include an active and/or visual tag that may be detected when an event occurs. That detected tag may be utilized to assist in identifying the item, and/or action. ----- When an item is picked or placed from the auto facing unit, the change in position of the items may be used to assist in determining the action and/or item involved in the event.)
--calculating. from the image information, after the detected changed in the image and placement of the at least one object at the location, at least one distinguishing characteristic of the at least one object at the location in the area; and --
(see e.g. col. 6, lines 54-59 -- In this example, the user 204 has picked “Item D” from the inventory area 230. Images of the user, the action, the item, and/or other inputs (e.g., weight change at the inventory location) are received and processed to determine each aspect of the event. In this example, the action and the user are determined with a high degree of confidence.
col. 19, lines 40-50 --If an event is detected, images of the location where the event occurred may be obtained that represents the location before the event occurrence. Likewise, one or more images of the location of the event after the event occurrence may also be obtained, as in 1406. The set of images may then be processed and compared, as in 1408. For example, one or more image processing techniques, such as feature extraction, object recognition, edge detection etc., may be performed and the results of the processed images compared to identify a difference between the images.
col. 20, lines 4-17 --FIG. 15 is a flow diagram of an example item determination subroutine, according to one implementation. The example subroutine 1500 begins upon receipt of one or more captured images of an item, as in 1502. A received image is processed to identify features of an item in the image, as in 1504. In some implementations, the image may be processed in grey-scale to identify features. Features of an item may be anything or combination of things that are identifiable for that item. For example, a feature may be the shape of the item, a color of the item, the label or logo on the item, the wording on the item, a symbol on the item, a character on the item, a word on the item, a number on the item, a texture of the item, a gradient of the item, a shape of the item, a reflectivity of the item, an edge of the item, and the like.)
-comparing the calculated at least one distinguishing characteristic to the package identification information obtained from the scannable medium:
-determining whether the comparison satisfies a set of criteria for object identification and
col. 20, lines 62- 67; col. 21, lines 1-5-- For each potential item, a correlation score between processed item image information and the stored item image information obtained from the inventory data store is determined, as in 1508. For example, features of the processed item image information and/or the arrangement of those features may be compared to the stored item image information and a correlation score determined that identifies how strongly (or how close) the features of the processed item image information correspond to the stored item image information for the potential item.
The Examiner notes that “the correlation score identifying how strongly (or how close) the features of the processed item image information correspond to the stored item image information for the potential item.” Is equivalent to “determining whether the comparison satisfies a set of criteria for object identification”.
--registering distinguishable visual characteristics of the at least one object with a set of criteria used to identify the object and associate the object as the package identified by the package identification information obtained from the scannable medium,
(see e.g. col. 20, lines 62- 67; col. 21, lines 1-16-For each potential item, a correlation score between processed item image information and the stored item image information obtained from the inventory data store is determined, as in 1508. For example, features of the processed item image information and/or the arrangement of those features may be compared to the stored item image information and a correlation score determined that identifies how strongly (or how close) the features of the processed item image information correspond to the stored item image information for the potential item. ---For example, if a weight change is detected, an amount of the detected weight change may be compared to the weight associated with the potential item and the correlation score adjusted based on the similarity between the two weights. Likewise, if an identifier (e.g., active tag identifier, passive tag identifier) is detected, it may be determined if the identifier corresponds to the potential item and the correlation score increased or decreased accordingly. )
The Examiner notes in order to compare the features of the items from the two set images, the features must have been saved/registered.
the method further comprising:
-- identifying the package, in response to satisfying the set of criteria as the at least one object at the location in the area by associating the image information about the at least one object with the package identification information;
(see e.g. col. 21, lines 31- 33; --an item determination confidence score is determined for the potential item having the highest correlation score, as in 1512.
col. 21, lines 50-56 --Upon determining the item determination confidence score, the example subroutine 1500 returns the item identifier corresponding to the highest correlation score and returns the determined item determination confidence score.
--registering a position of the change in the position of the package at the location of the detected at least one object in response to a determined difference between the at least one distinguishing characteristic calculated from the image information and the package identification information and the package identification information satisfying the set of criteria; and
(see e.g. col. 20, lines 56-63 ---Based on the compared images and the other inputs, an action determination confidence score for each potential action at the determined location is determined, as in 1412. For example, if the location is determined to be a tote, an action determination confidence score for an action of an item pick from the tote is determined and an action determination confidence score for an action of an item place into the tote is determined.
--col. 10, lines 57-61 --Likewise, if an image captured by an image capture device within the materials handling facility is processed and it is determined that an item has been picked from a tote, an event may be determined.
--col. 8, lines 1-4 -- The computing resources 303 may process images of users 304 to identify the user 304, process images of items to identify items, determine a location of items and/or determine a position of items.
Note: the Examiner interprets “--registering a position of the change in the position of the package at the location of the detected at least one object” as ‘storing or noting the new location of the package’.
Famularo et al. teach location determination in (73) the first alternative action 906 “Placed On Shelf” to confirm that the action performed was the user placing the item at an inventory location.”
Famularo et al. teach presenting information to the user about items to be picked in a materials handling facility (see e.g.(col. 3, lines 53-59), but do not explicitly teach the following limitation as claimed.
However, Eichenblatt teaches
--providing a notification to the party, the notification including the access code and an image of the package at the position;
[0026] The data input device 7 can accept the inputs associated with a particular package, such as the tracking number or other package identifier associated with the package or a password provided to the courier delivering the package.
[00073] As an example, as described above, a password may be used instead of a package identifier. As used herein, an “authorization code” refers to any information, such as a package identifier or password, that is used to authenticate a user for the purpose of unlocking the door locking mechanism 5. In one embodiment, the authorization code may be a temporary code that is valid for only a single use or for only a limited time, such as one day or one week. Such code may be provided to the person needing access through the package door 3, and the code may be received by the data input device 7 and used for comparison to the attribute data 27 in order to determine whether to unlock the door locking mechanism 5, as described above for the package identifier. )
using image information collected by the one or more image sensors, confirming that the party took the package from the location; capturing, by the one or more image sensors, video of the party picking up the package for verification of package retrieval; and
(see e.g. [0020] -- In the system, the package door may include an input device for entering package information and an image capture device for visually recording the arrival of a courier. At least one wireless transceiver is attached to the input device and to the image capture device, and the transceiver is operable to wirelessly transmit the information obtained from the input device and the image capture device to a remote device. Based on the package information entered via the input device, the system determines whether the package information matches a predetermined value, such as a package tracking number. The system may automatically unlock the package door if the package information matches the predetermined value.
[0027] The image capture device 9 is configured and positioned to capture visual information associated with a particular package, such as a digital photograph or a video of the courier and/or the package.
38) For example, upon a courier's arrival at the package door 3, the courier may enter a particular tracking number using the data input device 7, and the system logic 25 may compare such tracking number to the tracking numbers stored in the attribute data 27 previously retrieved from the server 30 or otherwise received by the computing device 19. If the tracking number received from the courier by the data input device 7 matches one stored in the attribute data 27, the system logic 25 may automatically transmit a signal to the door locking mechanism 5 to cause it to unlock, thereby allowing the package door 3 to be opened so that a package can be delivered to or picked up from the interior of the house or other building in which the package door 3 is mounted.
detecting, by the one or more image sensors, removal of the package from the location by the party; and in response to detecting the removal, notifying a package recipient that the package has been taken,
[0084] In another embodiment, the message may automatically become accessible and/or displayed upon the entry of the tracking code during the deliver package option 132. --- For example, a system operator may leave a message for an expected guest that the system operator will be arriving to the building or residence in a few minutes.)
the notification to the package recipient including an identity of the party and an estimated delivery time, the method further comprising:
[0023] For example, the system 1 may capture the time of delivery or pickup, a tracking number or other identifier of the package, contact information (e.g., name or address) of the sender or recipient, or an identifier of a courier service used to deliver the package.
[0041] Each tracking number is correlated with various attribute information pertaining to the associated package, including for example, the names and addresses of the package's sender and recipient, date of pickup and expected date of delivery.
[0052] The package data 23 may correlate each tracking number with a timestamp indicating the approximate date and time of delivery or pickup.
receiving, from the party, a communication indicating completion of delivery of the package to the package recipient; and
[0083] Once the package is placed within the storage area and the package door 3 is closed, a second picture of the user can be taken with the camera 135 to confirm delivery. The information and pictures captured by the user interface 130 can be sent to the system operator on the remote access device 21 in an email or other type of message.
[0085] The leave message option 136 can be used by the user to leave a message for the system operator regarding the delivery of the package.)
computing an amount of time between removal of the package from the location and receipt of the package by the package recipient.
[0052] The package data 23 may correlate each tracking number with a timestamp indicating the approximate date and time of delivery or pickup.
[0023] For example, the system 1 may capture the time of delivery or pickup, a tracking number or other identifier of the package, contact information (e.g., name or address) of the sender or recipient, or an identifier of a courier service used to deliver the package.
[0053] Thus, the package data 23 defines not just a history of when packages are delivered or picked up, but also a history of package attributes, such as names of the senders and/or recipients of the packages that are delivered or picked up. Such information may be useful to learn the habits or tendencies of the occupant of the house or building.
[0054] The package data 23 may be analyzed or used for other purposes in other embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Famularo et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Eichenblatt, in order to facilitate the collection and delivery of packages. (see e.g. [0021]).
Famularo et al., in view of Eichenblatt do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, TORRES et al. teach --and in response to registering the position of the change in position of the package due to the determined difference satisfying the set of criteria, providing an access code to a party who by receiving an identification verification of the access code becomes authorized to pick up and deliver the package and is made available the location of the package based on the registered position of the package.
(see e.g. [0024] In an exemplary embodiment, the locker station includes sensors for detecting the presence of a parcel within an individual locker.
[0067] After a parcel is deposited within a locker, the system may update its respective databases, and/or provide notice to a recipient. The system may, for example, indicate that the locker is no longer available for future deliveries. The locker location may be correlated, such as in a database, to the parcel and intended recipient. The system may alert the recipient of the presence of the parcel within the locker station. For example, based on the preferences of a resident at step 86, the system may provide an email and/or text message that a parcel is ready for pick-up. The notice may include information necessary to retrieve the parcel from the locker station. The notice may also include other information for the user. For example, the notice may include an access code or other identifier or instructions for retrieving the parcel.
[0078] If entered through the web service, the recipient may be given an access code to enter at the locker station to open a locker. The system may then work similar to that described herein with respect to courier drop-off, but the recipient is the courier and the courier identifier is the access code provided through the web service. -- The system may then provide an alert or notice to the courier that a parcel is ready to be retrieved or picked-up. )
Furthermore, TORRES et al. anticipate:
receiving, from the package recipient, a confirmation of receipt of the package from the party;
(see e.g. [0071] In an exemplary embodiment, at step 114, the system verifies receipt of the parcel. For example, the system may use one or more sensors to determine that the parcel was removed from the locker and/or that the locker door was secured and locked.
[0098] The resident selects the "Parcel Pickup" option and the software transitions to the "Enter Pickup Code" screen, at step 68, that displays a text box and full keyboard.
[0100] The resident enters the provided six character access code. [0101] The resident retrieves the parcel from the locker compartment 8. At step 76, the software checks the status of the locker door and obtains information from the compartment's infrared sensor to determine if the parcel is still inside.
[0102] After the parcel is removed and the locker door is closed, the software can update that particular compartment locker status to "vacant."
NOTE: The courier delivers the parcel. When retrieving the parcel, the resident communicates with the system by selecting “ Parcel Pickup” and providing a provided a Pickup Code. Furthermore, the system detects the removal of the parcel. Receipt of the package by the recipient is confirmed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Famularo et al., in view of Eichenblatt and include the steps cited above, as taught by TORRES et al., for the ease, convenience, and security of delivering and retrieving parcels (see e.g. abstract)
Re-claims 7, 8, Famularo et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein the location of the detected object is at a retail establishment or a vehicle,
(see e.g. col. 3, lines 7-10The materials handling facility 100 may be configured to receive different kinds of inventory items 135 from various suppliers and to store them until a user orders or retrieves one or more of the items.
col. 2, lines 51-57 --As used herein, a materials handling facility may include, but is not limited to, warehouses, distribution centers, cross-docking facilities, order fulfillment facilities, packaging facilities, shipping facilities, rental facilities, libraries, retail stores, wholesale stores, museums, or other facilities or combinations of facilities for performing one or more functions of materials (inventory) handling.)
Although Famularo et al. teach ((col. 1, lines 5-16-- Retailers, wholesalers, and other product distributors typically maintain an inventory of various items that may be ordered, purchased, leased, borrowed, rented, viewed, etc., by clients or customers. For example, an e-commerce website may maintain inventory in a fulfillment center. When a customer orders an item, the item is picked from inventory, routed to a packing station, packed and shipped to the customer. Likewise, physical stores maintain inventory in customer accessible areas (e.g., shopping area) and customers can locate items from within the store, pick the items from inventory and take them to a cashier for purchase, rental, etc.
col. 2, lines 51-57 -- The materials handling facility 100 may be configured to receive different kinds of inventory items 135 from various suppliers and to store them until a user orders or retrieves one or more of the items.)
Famularo et al., in view of Eichenblatt do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, TORRES et al. explicitly teach and wherein the computing system interfaces with a database to register the package with a target package recipient and contact information of the target package recipient in order for the computing system to issue a notification to the target package recipient.
[0067] After a parcel is deposited within a locker, the system may update its respective databases, and/or provide notice to a recipient. The system may, for example, indicate that the locker is no longer available for future deliveries. The locker location may be correlated, such as in a database, to the parcel and intended recipient. The system may alert the recipient of the presence of the parcel within the locker station. For example, based on the preferences of a resident at step 86, the system may provide an email and/or text message that a parcel is ready for pick-up. The notice may include information necessary to retrieve the parcel from the locker station. The notice may also include other information for the user. For example, the notice may include an access code or other identifier or instructions for retrieving the parcel.
the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving, by a radio-frequency (RF) receiver coupled to the processor, the access code via an RF transmission from a mobile device, the RF transmission containing the access code.
(see e.g. For example, the exemplary system described herein identifies a user by an access code entered into the system through the touch screen or key pad. Other identification methods may be used. Identifiers may also be electronically made and stored on a smart phone. For example, a digital code may be sent to a user with the notification. Through near field communication (NFC) or Bluetooth, the phone many communicate the code to the locker station to confirm identity.
Note: Bluetooth is a type of RF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Famularo et al., in view of Eichenblatt and include the steps cited above, as taught by TORRES et al., in order to provide access to the lockers through proximity technology (see e.g. [0111]).
Claims 9, 16 recite similar limitations as claimed 2 and are therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 14, 21 recite similar limitations as claimed 7 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations as claimed 8 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 3-5, 10-12, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Famularo et al. (US 10339493 B1), in view of Eichenblatt (US 20160247344), in further view of TORRES et al. (US 20150186840 A1), in further view of Bhattacharya (US 20090164277 A1).
Re-claims 3-5, Famularo et al., in view of Eichenblatt, in further view of TORRES et al., do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Bhattacharya teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: executing a bidding process where bids are made for delivering the package from the location to the party; and providing the access code to the person selected from the bidding process. The method of claim 3, wherein the party is a final destination of the package. (see e.g. paragraphs
[0026] Alternatively, the access code to the recipient's lock box, the recipient's address and other information may be provided to the delivery company via the Internet, email or telephone. Subsequently, the delivery company can send a driver to pick up the item for shipment. The driver may conveniently enter the recipient's premise using the access code to the lock box without requiring the presence of the recipient at the premise. In one embodiment, the access code may be provided to the delivery driver electronically by email as the driver arrives at the premise. Alternatively, the access code may be provided to the driver via a mobile phone or other mobile device.
[0031]In step 512, the company invites bids from a plurality of service providers to bid for the job or service. In step 516, the winning bid is awarded contract for the job. In step 520, the winning service provider is provided with the access code to the lock box (or programmable door or garage door opener) and security alarm code, if applicable. In step 520, the winning service provider enters the premise using the access code and provides the requested service.
Re-claim 5, Famularo et al. teach the method of claim 2, further comprising: tracking the package within the area based on the image information and package identification information (see e.g. 27) detect a tag included on an item as the item passes into or out of the inventory location.
col. 8, lines 12-17-- Each of the servers 303(1)-(P) include a processor 317 and memory 319, which may store or otherwise have access to an inventory management system 150, which may include or provide image processing (e.g., for user identification, expression identification, and/or item identification), inventory tracking, and/or location determination.
Famularo et al., et al., in view of in view in view of Eichenblatt, in further view of TORRES et al., do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Bhattacharya teaches (to) offer a fee in the bidding process to individuals for delivering the package in the area to a corresponding package recipient; and selecting the party who accepts the fee in return for transporting the given package to the corresponding package recipient, to provide the access code to the party selected from the bidding process. (see e.g. paragraphs
[0059] According to one embodiment, the shipper may specify how much he is willing to pay for the shipment. ---According to another embodiment, the shipper may add a range of cost he is willing to pay, in which case the client module is designed to automatically decrease or increase the initially specified amount by an amount on behalf of the shipper when there is no response from a carrier or there are more than one carriers interested in transporting his shipment.
[0053] Depending on an implementation, various parameters may be included to assist a carrier to determine the costs or profit so as to conclude whether to take on the LCL shipment. Some of the parameters will be further described herein. In any case, from the calculations, the carrier can determine a minimum charge of transporting the shipment along a planned route. In general, any charge above the minimum charge is a profit. If the proposed fee by the shipper is significantly greater than the minimum charge, the carrier may simply accept the shipping request as is provided the carrier can handle the delivery. Otherwise, the carrier may counter a proposed bid with modified terms or fees. To prevent the shipper from accepting a bid from a competing carrier, a bid may be made to automatically reduce the charge by a fixed amount when there are one or more other carriers expressing an interest to make a bid to the shipping request from shipper. FIG. 3D illustrates a display 330 to summarize a bid with a lowest bid the carrier could accept.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Famularo et al., in view of in view in view of Eichenblatt, in further view of TORRES et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Bhattacharya, in order to allow secure, unattended delivery of goods and services to any premises. (see e.g. paragraph 0007).
Claims 10, 17 recite similar limitations as claimed 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 11, 18 recite similar limitations as claimed 4 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 12, 19 recite similar limitations as claimed 5 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 6, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Famularo et al. (US 10339493 B1), in view of Eichenblatt (US 20160247344), in further view of TORRES et al. (US 20150186840 A1), in view of Bhattacharya (US 20090164277 A1), in view of Atchley et al. (US 20160260161 A1),
Re-claim 6, Famularo et al, Eichenblatt , TORRES et al., Bhattacharya.do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, of Atchley et al. teach the method of claim 5, further comprising controlling a light source to direct the selected party to find the given package within the area, using the images collected by the one or more image sensors.
(see e.g. [0077] ) For example, the central computer system 106 uses the location detection system 116 to determine the location of the motorized transport unit 102. For example, LED smart lights (e.g., the ByteLight system) of the location detection system 116 transmit a location number to smart devices which are with the customer (e.g., user interface units 114), and/or on the item container 104/motorized transport unit 102. The central computer system 106 receives the LED location numbers received by the smart devices through the wireless network 124. Using this information, in some embodiments, the central computer system 106 uses a grid placed upon a 2D CAD map and 3D point cloud model (e.g., from the databases 126) to direct, track, and plot paths for the other devices. Using the grid, the motorized transport unit 102 can drive a movable item container 104 in a straight path rather than zigzagging around the facility. As the user moves from one grid to another, the motorized transport unit 102 drives the container 104 from one grid to the other. In some embodiments, as the user moves towards the motorized transport unit, it stays still until the customer moves beyond an adjoining grid.
[0108] In some embodiments, movable item containers 650 include sensors for receiving smart LED light transmissions useful to determine the location of the movable item containers 650. In some embodiments, the sensors 630 may comprise one or more sensors for determining the locations of MTUs 640. The sensors 630 may communicate with the central computer system through any wired or wireless communication means such as described herein.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Famularo et al, Eichenblatt , TORRES et al., Bhattacharya, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Atchley et al., in order to determine the location of the movable item containers 650 (see e.g. paragraph [0108]).
Claims 13, 20 recite similar limitations as claimed 6 and are therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-21 have been considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark:
Applicant submits that the cited references, whether considered alone or in any combination, fail to teach, suggest, or render obvious the claims as presently amended. The following analysis demonstrates the fundamental deficiencies in the Examiner's rejection.
Examiner’s Response:
This argument is moot since new references are relied upon to teach the new limitations.
Applicant’s remark:
With further regard to claims 5, 12, and 19, claims 5, 12, and 19 …..the Examiner has alleged that Bhattacharya teaches these limitations. See Office Action, pages 14-15. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Bhattacharya teaches that "the company invites bids from a plurality of service providers to bid for the job or service." Bhattacharya, paragraph [0031]. This is the opposite direction from what is claimed. In Bhattacharya, service providers submit bids to the company. In contrast, claims 5, 12, and 19 require the system to "offer a fee in the bidding process to individuals" and then select "the party who accepts the fee." The claimed system offers a pre-set fee to individuals who may accept it-not a system where professional carriers calculate costs and submit competing bids.
b. Examiner’s Response:
Please see the following embodiment from Bhattacharya’s teaching:
[0059] According to one embodiment, the shipper may specify how much he is willing to pay for the shipment. ---According to another embodiment, the shipper may add a range of cost he is willing to pay, in which case the client module is designed to automatically decrease or increase the initially specified amount by an amount on behalf of the shipper when there is no response from a carrier or there are more than one carriers interested in transporting his shipment.
Applicant’s remark:
Additionally, claims 5, 12, and 19 require "tracking the package within the area based on the image information and package identification information to offer a fee in the bidding process." This requires integration of image-based tracking with the fee offering process. Neither Famularo nor Bhattacharya teaches this integration. Famularo teaches image-based tracking for warehouse inventory management, and Bhattacharya teaches bidding for delivery services, but neither teaches using image-based package tracking to offer a fee for delivery.
c. Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner maintains that Famularo et al. teach the limitation. In at least col. 4, lines 27-41, the tag is tracked throughout the inventory location through image processing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
April 28, 2026