DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on September 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Claims 1-15 are not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, claim(s) 1-15 do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Claims 1-15 are directed to methods of applying to seeds, plants, plant parts, crops, or soils a composition comprising one or more of Alternaria destruens, Fusarium commune, Fusarium oxysporum or a combination thereof.
Applicants attention is directed to the Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published by the Office in 2019.
https://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility
Applicants claims recite a method of applying naturally occurring compositions to naturally occurring seeds/plants.
The claim recites a series of steps or acts. Thus the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: Yes).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. In the second step, the claims recite applying naturally occurring Alternaria destruens, Fusarium commune, Fusarium oxysporum or a combination to naturally occurring plants/seeds. This limitation sets forth a judicial exception, because this type of correlation is a consequence of natural processes, similar to the naturally occurring correlation found to be a law of nature by the Supreme Court in Mayo. Thus, the claim is directed to at least one exception (Step 2: Yes), which may be termed a law of nature, naturally occurring process, or both.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception.
Husna et al (Plant Pathology Vol. 70, No. 1, pp 123-132, 2021) set forth that Fusarium commune isolates were identified on different parts (root, stem, and seeds) of rice plants. (See abstract).
Jonbozrogi et al (Biological Journal of Microorganism, 8th year, No. 29, pp 1-20, Spring 2019) set forth of the isolation and identification of fungal endophytes from cowpea plants. (See abstract). Jonbozrogi et al further set forth of identifying Alternaria destruens. (See abstract).
Accordingly, Applicants claimed method occurs naturally in nature and is deemed a judicial exception.
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent eligible application of that exception. Thus the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Accordingly, claims 1-15 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Claims 6, 8 and 10 (which depend on and further limit the breadth of claim 1) recite nucleic acid sequences having at least 70% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1-8.
The specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between genus members is permitted. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, "70% identity with SEQ ID NO: 1-8" alone is insufficient to describe the genus. Applicants (SEQ ID NO: 1) is a nucleic acid of 1194 nucleotides. Applicants claimed variant is defined as having at least 70% identity. Doing the math, this creates variants in which 358 nucleotides may be altered. Expressed another way, Applicants variants encompass (4)358 different nucleic acid sequences (4 naturally occurring nucleotides with 358 wild card locations). Doing the math again, this equals 3.44 x 10215 sequence variants, a number the Examiner cannot possibly name without looking up. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus.
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it. The protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ 2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Lts., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
Vas-Cath Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 111, clearly states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." Generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d 956, 966, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath make clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision.
Furthermore, in The Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that while Applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of a genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of DNA molecules, usually defined by a nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(1), the court states that "An adequate written description of a DNA... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
3. Claims 7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification lacks complete deposit information for the deposit of CBS 121454, CBS 106.34, NRRL 28387, NRRL 13816, NRRL 28058, NRRL 20433 and NRRL 1943, it is not clear that strains possessing the identical properties of CBS 121454, CBS 106.34, NRRL 28387, NRRL 13816, NRRL 28058, NRRL 20433 and NRRL 1943 are known and publicly available or can be reproducibly isolated from nature without undue experimentation.
Exact replication of a strain is an unpredictable event. Although applicant has provided a written description of a method for selecting the claimed strain, this method will not necessarily reproduce cells which are chemically and structurally identical to those claimed. Undue experimentation would be required to screen all of the possible species to obtain the claimed cells.
Because one skilled in the art could not be assured of the ability to practice the invention as claimed in the absence of the availability of the CBS 121454, CBS 106.34, NRRL 28387, NRRL 13816, NRRL 28058, NRRL 20433 and NRRL 1943, a suitable deposit for patent purposes, evidence of public availability of the CBS 121454, CBS 106.34, NRRL 28387, NRRL 13816, NRRL 28058, NRRL 20433 and NRRL 1943 strains or evidence of the reproducibility without undue experimentation is required.
If the deposit has been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, filing of an affidavit or declaration by applicant or assignees or a statement by an attorney of record who has authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number stating that the deposit has been accepted by an International Depository Authority under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, that all restrictions upon public access to the deposit will be irrevocably removed upon the grant of a patent on this application and that the deposit will be replaced if viable samples cannot be dispensed by the depository is required. This requirement is necessary when deposits are made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty as the Treaty leaves this specific matter to the discretion of each State. Amendment of the specification to recite the date of deposit and the complete name and full street address of the depository is required. As a possible means for completing the record, applicant may submit a copy of the contract with the depository for deposit and maintenance of each deposit.
If the deposits have not been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, then in order to certify that the deposits comply with the criteria set forth in 37 CFR §1.801-1.809, assurances regarding availability and permanency of deposits are required. Such assurance may be in the form of an affidavit or declaration by applicants or assignees or in the form of a statement by an attorney of record who has the authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number averring:
(a) during the pendency of this application, access to the deposits will be afforded to the Commissioner upon request;
(b) all restrictions upon the availability to the public of the deposited biological material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent on this application;
(c) the deposits will be maintained in a public depository for a period of at least thirty years from the date of deposit or for the enforceable life of the patent of or for a period of five years after the date of the most recent request for the furnishing of a sample of the deposited biological material, whichever is longest; and
(d) the deposits will be replaced if they should become nonviable or non-replicable.
In addition, a deposit of biological material that is capable of self-replication either directly or indirectly must be viable at the time of deposit and during the term of deposit. Viability may be tested by the depository. The test must conclude only that the deposited material is capable of reproduction. A viability statement for each deposit of a biological material not made under the Budapest Treaty must be filed in the application and must contain:
1) The name and address of the depository;
2) The name and address of the depositor;
3) The date of deposit;
4) The identity of the deposit and the accession number given by the depository;
5) The date of the viability test;
6) The procedures used to obtain a sample if the test is not done by the depository; and
7) A statement that the deposit is capable of reproduction.
As a possible means for completing the record, applicant may submit a copy of the contract with the depository for deposit and maintenance of each deposit.
If the deposit was made after the effective filing date of the application for patent in the United States, a verified statement is required from a person in a position to corroborate that the cell line described in the specification as filed is the same as that deposited in the depository. Corroboration may take the form of a showing of a chain of custody from applicant to the depository coupled with corroboration that the deposit is identical to the biological material described in the specification and in the applicant's possession at the time the application was filed.
Applicant's attention is directed to In re Lundack, 773 F.2d. 1216, 227 USPQ 90 (CAFC 1985) and 37 CFR §1.801-1.809 for further information concerning deposit practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al.
The claims are drawn to a method comprising administering or applying to seeds, plants, plant parts, crops, soil, or combinations thereof, a composition comprising one or more of the following endophytes: Alternaria destruens, Fusarium commune, Fusarium oxysporum, or a combination thereof.
Xie et al (CN 108660080) disclose of compositions of Fusarium oxysporum. (See claim 1). Xie et al further disclose of applying the composition to tomato leaves and roots. (See claim 2). Xie et al further disclose of sequences having greater than 70% identity with SEQ ID NO: 5 of the instant invention. Xie et al further disclose of sequences having greater than 70% identity with SEQ ID NO: 8 of the instant invention.
RESULT 6
DE Fusarium oxysporum TEF DNA, SEQ ID 3.
CC PN CN108660080-A.
CC PT New Fusarium oxysporum strain FB-7-1 useful for screening tomato disease
SQ Sequence 686 BP; 157 A; 199 C; 147 G; 183 T; 0 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 86.8%; Score 588.4; Length 686;
Best Local Similarity 95.4%;
Matches 649; Conservative 0; Mismatches 26; Indels 5; Gaps 4;
Qy 1 GACTCACCTTAACGTCGTCGTCATCGGCCACGTCGACTCTGGCAAGTCGACCACTGTGAG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4 GACTCACCTTAACGTCGTCGTCATCGGCCACGTCGACTCTGGCAAGTCGACCACTGTGAG 63
Qy 61 TACTCCCCTTGGACGATGAGCTTATCTGCCATCGTTAATCCCGACCAAGACCTGGCGGGG 120
||||| || | ||| |||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 64 TACTCTCC-TCGACAATGAGCTTATCTGCCATCGTCAATCCCGACCAAGACCTGGTGGGG 122
Qy 121 TATTTCTCAAAGGCAATATGCTGATATCGTTTCACAGACCGGTCACTTGATCTACCAGTG 180
|||||||||||| ||| || |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 123 TATTTCTCAAAGTCAACATACTGACATCGTTTCACAGACCGGTCACTTGATCTACCAGTG 182
Qy 181 CGGTGGTATCGACAAGCGAACCATCGAGAAGTTCGAGAAGGTTAGTCACTTTCCCTTCGA 240
|||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 183 CGGTGGTATCGATAAGCGAACCATCGAGAAGTTCGAGAAGGTTAGTCACTTTCCCTTCGA 242
Qy 241 TCGCGCGTCCTCTGCCCATCGATTTCCCCTACGACTCGAAACCTGCCCGCTACCCCGCTC 300
||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 243 TCGCGCGTCCTTTGCCCATCGATTTCCCCTACGACTCGAAACGTGCCCGCTACCCCGCTC 302
Qy 301 GAGACCAAAAATTTTGCGATATGACCGTAA-TTTTTTTTGGTGGGGCATTTACCCCGCCA 359
||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 303 GAGACCAAAAATTTTGCAATATGACTGTAATTTTTTTTTGGTGGGGCACTTACCCCGCCA 362
Qy 360 CTCGAGCGACGGGCGCGTTTGCCCTCCT-CCCATTTCCACAACCTCAATGAGCGCATCGT 418
|| |||||||||| |||||||||||| | ||||| ||||||||||||||| || ||||
Db 363 CTTGAGCGACGGGAGCGTTTGCCCTCTTAACCATTCTCACAACCTCAATGAGTGCGTCGT 422
Qy 419 CACGTGTCACGCAGTCACTAACCATTCAATAATAGGAAGCCGCTGAGCTCGGTAAGGGTT 478
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 423 CACGTGTCAAGCAGTCACTAACCATTCAACAATAGGAAGCCGCTGAGCTCGGTAAGGGTT 482
Qy 479 CCTTCAAGTACGCCTGGGTTCTTGACAAGCTCAAGGCCGAGCGTGAGCGTGGTATCACCA 538
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 483 CCTTCAAGTACGCCTGGGTTCTTGACAAGCTCAAGGCCGAGCGTGAGCGTGGTATCACCA 542
Qy 539 TCGATATTGCTCTCTGGAAGTTCGAGACTCCTCGCTACTATGTCACCGTCATTGGTATGT 598
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 543 TCGATATTGCTCTCTGGAAGTTCGAGACTCCTCGCTACTATGTCACCGTCATTGGTATGT 602
Qy 599 TGTCGCTCATGCTTCATTCTACTTCTCTTCGTACTGACATATCACTCAGACGCTCCCGGT 658
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 603 TGTCGCTCATGCTTCATTCTACTTCTCTTCGTACTAAC--ATCACTCAGACGCTCCCGGT 660
Qy 659 CACCGTGATTTCATCAAGAA 678
||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 CACCGTGATTTCATCAAGAA 680
Accordingly, Xie et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
5. Claim(s) 1-6, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elfar et al.
The claims are drawn to a method comprising administering or applying to seeds, plants, plant parts, crops, soil, or combinations thereof, a composition comprising one or more of the following endophytes: Alternaria destruens, Fusarium commune, Fusarium oxysporum, or a combination thereof.
Elfar et al (Plant Disease, Vol. 102, No. 11, pp 2158-2169, 2018) disclose of the isolation and characterization of Alternaria species from apples. (See abstract). Elfar et al further disclose of isolates of A. destruens. (See page 2162). Elfar et al further disclose of nucleic acid sequences comprising 100% identity with the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1.
RESULT 1
MG740628
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 1194)
AUTHORS Elfar,K., Zoffoli,J.P. and Latorre,B.A.
TITLE Identification and Characterization of Alternaria species
Associated with Moldy Core of Apple in Chile
JOURNAL Unpublished
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 1194)
AUTHORS Elfar,K., Zoffoli,J.P. and Latorre,B.A.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (29-DEC-2017) Patologia Frutal, P. Univ. Catolica de
Chile, Vicuna Mackenna 4860, Santiago, R. Metropolitana 7820436,
Chile
/translation="YILFYRDTRTNPHAEQTTKKKAWWQFWKSGSATAATPIQDAGAV
PDDYLNTELRTGLTSSDVEQRRKRYGFNEISSEKTNLLKQFIGYFTGPILYVMELAAL
LAAGLQDWVDFGVICGILLLNAIVGWYQEKQAADVVASLKGDIAMKATVVRDNQQQTI
LARELVPGDIVVIEEGQSVPGDARLICGYDHPEDFDLYMKLKAEDKFHDADPEDEKDD
DVDEEKFDEENPITQGHPLVACDQSSITGESLAVDKYMGEVAYYTTGCKRGKAYGIVI
TTAKHSFVGRT
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1194; Length 1194;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1194; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 TACATCCTCTTCTACCGCGACACCCGAACCAACCCTCACGCCGAGCAAACCACCAAGAAG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 TACATCCTCTTCTACCGCGACACCCGAACCAACCCTCACGCCGAGCAAACCACCAAGAAG 60
Qy 61 AAGGCCTGGTGGCAGTTCTGGAAGTCTGGCTCAGCTACCGCTGCCACTCCCATCCAGGAT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AAGGCCTGGTGGCAGTTCTGGAAGTCTGGCTCAGCTACCGCTGCCACTCCCATCCAGGAT 120
Qy 121 GCCGGTGCCGTCCCCGACGACTGTAAGTTTTATCATCCTGCTCACTCGATTGCATGCACC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GCCGGTGCCGTCCCCGACGACTGTAAGTTTTATCATCCTGCTCACTCGATTGCATGCACC 180
Qy 181 TGCATCACATAGCACTGCTGTTTGCGGCAGCGCTCAACGTACCTCGCCAATTCATCCTTT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 TGCATCACATAGCACTGCTGTTTGCGGCAGCGCTCAACGTACCTCGCCAATTCATCCTTT 240
Qy 241 GTTGAGCTTTACCTCGACATTTGGTGGCTGGCATGGTCCGCGCTCAAGCTGCTCCCTGCT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GTTGAGCTTTACCTCGACATTTGGTGGCTGGCATGGTCCGCGCTCAAGCTGCTCCCTGCT 300
Qy 301 AGCGACGCGATAGCGGCAGAAATGGTGGAGCCAATCATGCAATCCGGCTCCACCAAACTA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AGCGACGCGATAGCGGCAGAAATGGTGGAGCCAATCATGCAATCCGGCTCCACCAAACTA 360
Qy 361 CCCGCTTCTGCAGCATCCGAAATGAGCAACACGATCAAGAGGAATTTTGCTAACATGGAA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CCCGCTTCTGCAGCATCCGAAATGAGCAACACGATCAAGAGGAATTTTGCTAACATGGAA 420
Qy 421 TTGCAGACCTCAACACTGAGCTCCGAACTGGTCTCACCTCGTCCGACGTTGAGCAGCGTC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 TTGCAGACCTCAACACTGAGCTCCGAACTGGTCTCACCTCGTCCGACGTTGAGCAGCGTC 480
Qy 481 GCAAGCGCTATGGTTTCAACGAAATCTCTTCTGAGAAGACCAACCTTCTCAAGCAGTTCA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 GCAAGCGCTATGGTTTCAACGAAATCTCTTCTGAGAAGACCAACCTTCTCAAGCAGTTCA 540
Qy 541 TCGGTTACTTCACTGGTCCCATTCTCTACGGTAAGCATCCCTGCACAAACTTGTTTAGCG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 TCGGTTACTTCACTGGTCCCATTCTCTACGGTAAGCATCCCTGCACAAACTTGTTTAGCG 600
Qy 601 CCAAACTAACGCATCATAGTCATGGAGCTCGCTGCTCTTCTCGCCGCTGGTCTTCAGGAT 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 CCAAACTAACGCATCATAGTCATGGAGCTCGCTGCTCTTCTCGCCGCTGGTCTTCAGGAT 660
Qy 661 TGGGTCGATTTCGGTGTCATCTGCGGTATCCTGTTGCTCAACGCCATCGTCGGTTGGTAC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TGGGTCGATTTCGGTGTCATCTGCGGTATCCTGTTGCTCAACGCCATCGTCGGTTGGTAC 720
Qy 721 CAGGAGAAACAGGCTGCTGATGTCGTCGCTTCGCTCAAGGGTGATATCGCCATGAAGGCC 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 CAGGAGAAACAGGCTGCTGATGTCGTCGCTTCGCTCAAGGGTGATATCGCCATGAAGGCC 780
Qy 781 ACCGTCGTTCGTGACAACCAGCAACAGACCATTCTCGCTCGTGAGCTTGTTCCCGGTGAC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 ACCGTCGTTCGTGACAACCAGCAACAGACCATTCTCGCTCGTGAGCTTGTTCCCGGTGAC 840
Qy 841 ATCGTCGTTATTGAGGAGGGTCAATCCGTCCCCGGTGACGCCCGTCTTATCTGCGGCTAC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 ATCGTCGTTATTGAGGAGGGTCAATCCGTCCCCGGTGACGCCCGTCTTATCTGCGGCTAC 900
Qy 901 GACCACCCTGAGGACTTCGACTTGTACATGAAGCTCAAGGCTGAGGACAAGTTCCACGAC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 GACCACCCTGAGGACTTCGACTTGTACATGAAGCTCAAGGCTGAGGACAAGTTCCACGAC 960
Qy 961 GCTGACCCCGAGGACGAGAAGGATGACGACGTCGATGAGGAGAAGTTCGACGAGGAGAAC 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 GCTGACCCCGAGGACGAGAAGGATGACGACGTCGATGAGGAGAAGTTCGACGAGGAGAAC 1020
Qy 1021 CCCATCACTCAGGGCCACCCTCTCGTTGCTTGCGATCAATCGTCCATCACCGGAGAGTCT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 CCCATCACTCAGGGCCACCCTCTCGTTGCTTGCGATCAATCGTCCATCACCGGAGAGTCT 1080
Qy 1081 CTCGCTGTCGACAAGTACATGGGAGAAGTCGCCTACTACACCACTGGTTGCAAGCGCGGC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 CTCGCTGTCGACAAGTACATGGGAGAAGTCGCCTACTACACCACTGGTTGCAAGCGCGGC 1140
Qy 1141 AAGGCCTACGGTATCGTCATCACCACTGCTAAGCACTCTTTCGTCGGTCGCACT 1194
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 AAGGCCTACGGTATCGTCATCACCACTGCTAAGCACTCTTTCGTCGGTCGCACT 1194
Accordingly, Elfar et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
6. Claim(s) 1-5, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yoo et al.
The claims are drawn to a method comprising administering or applying to seeds, plants, plant parts, crops, soil, or combinations thereof, a composition comprising one or more of the following endophytes: Alternaria destruens, Fusarium commune, Fusarium oxysporum, or a combination thereof.
Yoo et al (US Patent Number 5,270,039) disclose of compositions of Fusarium oxysporum. (See abstract). Yoo et al further disclose of applying the composition to plants, cloves, roots, bulbs or seeds. (See claim 1).
It is noted that Yoo et al do not apply the composition in an amount of 109-1016 CFU per hectare. However, those of skill in the art would be able to readily optimize the precise amount of composition for optimal results. As set forth in In re Boesch, 617, F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219, (CCPA 1980), it is normally within the skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable.
/ALBERT M NAVARRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 November 3, 2025