DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the inner side and/or the outer side” which lacks a prior antecedent.
Claim 4 recites “the outer side” which lacks a prior antecedent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boudjiet (FR 3107013 A1, see translation document for reference in this rejection).
Regarding claim 1
Boudjiet discloses a vehicle trim element (decorative piece 42, Fig 3, page 4 top, details in Fig 6) comprising
at least one support layer (base 52, Fig 6) having an inner face (bottom surface) and an outer face (top surface), and
at least one functional layer (second capacitive electrode 64, Fig 6, page 5 top) made of conductive material (second capacitive electrode 64 is made from a conductive ink, page 5 bottom) extending opposite at least part of the inner face of the support layer (functional layer 64 opposite of bottom surface of the support layer 52),
at least part of said functional layer (64) defining at least one pattern comprising at least one conductive area (conductive area with electrodes, annotated in Fig 6) and at least one non-conductive area (non-conductive area without electrodes annotated in Fig 6) formed by a through opening in the functional layer (non-conductive areas formed through the functional layer 64), said conductive area being powered by a current source electrically connected to the conductive area (conductive area of capacitive electrodes 64 is connected to a measurement system 70 which is a controller with a power current source, page 5 bottom), the pattern forming at least part of an electrical circuit (first and second capacitive electrodes 60, 64) arranged to perform a function of interacting with a vehicle passenger on an external surface of the trim element (the capacitive sensor determines the zone and force touched by the user on an external surface of trim element 42, Fig 5, page 6 bottom),
wherein the conductive material of the functional layer is a conductive paint (second capacitive electrode 64 is made from a conductive ink, page 5 bottom, the conductive ink is interpreted to be the conductive paint).
Regarding claim 3
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 1.
Boudjiet further discloses a protective layer (technical film 68, Fig 6, page 5 middle) extending over at least a part of the outer side of the support layer (52), said protective layer (68) being interposed between said support layer (52) and said functional layer (64).
Regarding claim 4
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 1.
Boudjiet further disclose wherein an insulation layer (a deformable layer 66, Fig 6, page 5 middle) extends over said functional layer (64) opposite the support layer (52), said insulation layer (66) covering said functional layer (64) at least opposite the pattern and filling the through opening in the functional layer (insulation layer 66 covering functional layer 64 in both the conductive and non-conductive areas, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 5
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 4.
Boudjiet further discloses wherein the insulation layer (66, Fig 6) is a dielectric paint layer (deformable layer 66, of electrically insulating material, which forms the dielectric of the capacitive sensor, page 5 middle).
Regarding claim 6
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 4.
Boudjiet further discloses wherein the functional layer (64, Fig 6) extends opposite the outer side of the support layer (top surface of support layer 52) and the insulation layer (66) forms the outer surface of the trim element (insulation layer 66 and film 58 form the outer surface of trim element 42 in Fig 6).
Regarding claim 8
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 4.
Boudjiet further discloses wherein the electrical circuit formed by the pattern in the functional layer is at least part of (“at least part of” is interpreted to be only 1 part is required by the claim) a capacitive circuit so as to form a tactile surface (first and second capacitive electrodes 60, 64 form the capacitive sensor used to determine the zone and force touched by the user on an external surface of trim element 42, Fig 5, page 6 bottom) or (“or” is interpreted as optional and not required by the claim) a proximity sensor on at least part of the outer surface of the trim element, a resistive circuit so as to form a pressure sensor or a force sensor on at least part of the outer surface of the trim element or a resistive circuit forming a heating element of part of the outer surface of the trim element (these limitations are not required by the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudjiet in view of Amba (US 20190118514 A1).
Regarding claim 2
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 1.
Boudjiet is silent on wherein the conductive paint comprises graphene and carbon black.
However, Amba teaches a capacitive sensing application for automotive display (0047) having a functional layer (functional layer 500, [0045 top]) with a conductive paint comprising graphene and carbon black (conductive coating including carbon based particles such as graphene, carbon nanotubes, or a combination thereof, [0048 bottom], indicating that the conductive coating/paint comprises a combination of graphene and carbon particles, i.e. carbon black).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the conductive paint in Boudjiet to comprise graphene and carbon black, as suggested and taught by Amba, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art (a functional layer having conductive paint formed of graphene and carbon black) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (fabricate the conductive paint of the functional layer using graphene and carbon black) with no change in their respective functions (to produce capacitive sensing application for automotive displays, i.e. vehicle trim elements), and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Regarding claim 7
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 1.
Boudjiet is silent on wherein the support layer is made of a composite material comprising natural fibres in a polypropylene matrix.
However, Amba teaches a capacitive sensing application for automotive display (0047) having a support layer (layer 100, Fig 3C) is made of a composite material comprising natural fibres in a polypropylene matrix (layer 100 includes a filler material such as carbon fiber, glass fiber, and polypropylene, as a combination, [0035 bottom]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the support layer in Boudjiet of a composite material comprising natural fibres in a polypropylene matrix, as suggested and taught by Amba, because composites are known to be a strong and light weight material (0026 bottom).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudjiet in view of Frey (US 20200011124 A1).
Regarding claim 9
Boudjiet discloses the trim element according to claim 1.
Boudjiet further discloses a method of manufacturing comprising the following steps:
providing a support layer (base 52, Fig 6);
applying a layer of conductive paint opposite at least part of the inner face of the support layer (second capacitive electrode 64 is made from a conductive ink, i.e. paint, page 5 bottom, applied opposite of inner/bottom surface of support 52),
the conductive paint layer (64) to form a pattern comprising at least one conductive area (conductive area with electrodes, annotated in Fig 6) formed by the conductive paint and at least one non-conductive area (non-conductive area without electrodes annotated in Fig 6) formed by a through opening in the conductive paint layer (non-conductive areas formed through the functional layer 64) so as to form a functional layer (64) defining at least part of an electrical circuit (first and second capacitive electrodes 60, 64), and
electrically connect the conductive area of the pattern of the functional layer to a power source (conductive area of capacitive electrodes 64 is connected to a measurement system 70 which is a controller with a power current source, page 5 bottom).
Boudjiet is silent on cutting the conductive paint layer through its thickness so as to form the pattern.
However, teaches a method of cutting the conductive paint layer (holes 502 extend through the conductor layer 404, Fig 5, [0055 middle], where holes 502 is formed by laser cutting or drilling, [0056 top], this indicates that the conductive paint layer 404 is cut through its thickness to form holes 502, annotated in Fig 5) through its thickness so as to form the pattern comprising at least one conductive area (areas with layer 404 present are conductive in Fig 5) and at least one non-conductive area (holes 502 are non-conductive) formed by a through opening in the conductive paint layer (holes 502 are through openings in the conductive paint layer 404).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to manufacture the functional layer in Boudjiet by cutting the conductive paint layer through its thickness so as to form the pattern of at least one conductive area and at least one non-conductive area, as suggested and taught by Frey, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art (a functional layer having a conductive paint layer with a pattern comprising of conductive and non-conductive areas) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (machine the pattern on the conductive paint layer by cutting through its thickness using laser cutting or drilling ) with no change in their respective functions (to produce a desired pattern of conductive and non-conductive areas on a conductive paint layer), and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Regarding claim 10
Boudjiet in view of Frey discloses the method according to claim 9.
Boudjiet further discloses a step of applying a protective layer (technical film 68, Fig 6, page 5 middle) on at least a portion of the outer face of the support layer (52) before the step of applying the conductive paint layer (technical film/protective layer 68 is formed in between the support layer 52 and conductive paint layer 64, thus it would be applied prior to conductive paint layer 64), said protective layer (68) being interposed between said support layer (52) and said functional layer (64).
Regarding claim 11
Boudjiet in view of Frey discloses the method according to claim 9.
Boudjiet further discloses a step of applying an insulating layer (a deformable layer 66, Fig 6, page 5 middle) to said functional layer (64) opposite the support layer (52) after the step of cutting the conductive paint layer (insulating layer 66 covers the conductive paint layer 64 in both conductive and non-conductive areas, indicating that the insulation layer 66 is applied after cutting of the conductive layer 64), said insulating layer (66) covering said functional layer (64) at least opposite the pattern and filling the through opening in the functional layer (Fig 5 shows that insulating layer 66 covers the opening of the functional layer 64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Veerasamy (US 9371032 B2) teaches to have an electrical circuit within a vehicle trim element, Fig 1D
Salter (US 10466195 B2) teaches moisture sensor
Mazuir (US 11505119 B2) teaches a capacitive touch sensor
/Thuyhang N Nguyen/Examiner, Art Unit 3761