Detailed Action
1. This Action is in response to Applicant's restriction election filed on February 12, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. This Action is made Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 23-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 12, 2026.
America Invents Act (AIA ) Information
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted within this application (has/have) been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17 and 19-22 (is/are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG; Chenchen et al. (US 20220353798 A1), hereafter “YANG.”
Consider claim 1. YANG discloses a first next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, comprising (see par. 0157: “a next generation radio access network node configuration update (NG-RAN node configuration update)”):
a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (see fig. 14, par. 0312: “first access network device may include at least one processor 1401, at least one communication interface 1402, and at least one memory 1403”):
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network or a second NG-RAN node, a mobility restriction list including a list of equivalent standalone non-public networks (SNPNs) (see par. 0280; “The AMF includes an allowed CAG list (allowed CAG list) of the terminal device in a mobility restriction list (mobility restriction list) of the handover request (handover request) message, and sends the handover request message to the second access network device. If a CAG/PNI-NPN that can be accessed by the terminal device is not a CAG/PNI-NPN supported by any target cell, that is, the terminal device is not allowed to access the target cell, the second access network device includes, in a handover failure (handover failure) message, a CAG ID/PNI-NPN and/or an NID that can be supported by the target cell or the target PLMN of the target cell, and sends the handover failure message to the AMF. The AMF forwards, to the first access network device, the handover preparation failure message including the handover failure message. For another example, in an NG interface setup or update process, for example, by using an NG setup response (NG setup response) message and an AMF configuration update (AMF configuration update) message, the AMF notifies the first access network device and the second access network device of NID/SNPN information configured by the AMF.” Examiner’s Analysis: the AMF exchanges handover request messages between first and second access network; the handover request messages includes mobility restriction list and a list of SNPN); and
determine a mobility action for a user equipment (UE) connected to the first NG-RAN node based on the mobility restriction list (see par. 0280: “If the handover fails because the second access network device originally supports the target NID/SNPN and no longer supports the target NID/SNPN after the configuration information is updated, but the second access network device does not perform configuration update with the AMF in time, after receiving the handover request message sent by the AMF, the second access network device may also be triggered to send a RAN configuration update (RAN configuration update) message, a NG reset (NG reset) message, or an error indication (error indication) message to the AMF, to update the NID/SNPN configuration information of the second access network device. The message may include the foregoing cause value. Details are not described again”).
Consider claim 2 in view of claim 1 above. YANG further discloses wherein the mobility restriction list includes one or more restrictions that apply to the list of equivalent SNPNs (see par. 0280: “If the AMF supports only one NID/SNPN, the AMF does not need to send the target NID/SNPN to the second access network device. If the target cell does not support the target NID/SNPN, the second access network device includes, in the handover failure (handover failure) message, the NID/SNPN and/or the PNI-NPN/CAG ID that can be supported by the target cell, and sends the handover failure message to the AMF”).
Consider claim 3 in view of claim 2 above. YANG further discloses wherein the mobility restriction list includes a list of equivalent public land mobile networks (PLMNs) and the one or more restrictions also apply to the list of equivalent PLMNs (see par. 0185L “A CAG priority, a PLMN priority, an NID priority, and/or the like are/is configured in the context or subscription information of the terminal device, for example, the mobility restriction list (mobility restriction list), so that when serving the terminal device based on this, the first access network device preferentially schedules a resource and the like in one or some CAG cells”).
Consider claim 4 in view of claim 2 above. YANG further discloses wherein the one or more restrictions are dedicated to the list of equivalent SNPNs and do not apply to any list of equivalent PLMNs (see par. 0279: “the first access network device includes an allowed CAG list (allowed CAG list) of the terminal device in a mobility restriction list (mobility restriction list) of a handover message, and sends the handover message to the second access network device. If a CAG/PNI-NPN that can be accessed by the terminal device is not a CAG/PNI-NPN supported by any target cell”).
Consider claim 5 in view of claim 2 above. YANG further discloses wherein the one or more restrictions include a radio access technology (RAT) restriction, a forbidden area restriction, or a service area restriction (see par. 0168: “a mobility restriction list (mobility restriction list), forbidden area information (forbidden area information), service area information (Service Area Information), or information about priorities for the terminal device to access different networks”).
Consider claim 6 in view of claim 2 above. YANG further discloses wherein the mobility action for the UE includes a handover operation for the UE (see par. 0280: “AMF in time, after receiving the handover request message sent by the AMF, the second access network device may also be triggered to send a RAN configuration update (RAN configuration update) message, a NG reset (NG reset) message”).
Consider claim 8 in view of claim 1 above. YANG further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to: receive a broadcast message indicating a list of SNPN IDs identifying candidate SNPN s for use in performing a handover operation of the UE from a source SNPN to a target SNPN, wherein: the at least one processor determines the mobility action by selecting the target SNPN from the candidate SNPNs based at least in part on the list of equivalent SNPN s of the mobility restriction list (see par. 0130).
Consider claim 9 in view of claim 8 above. YANG further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to the AMF, a handover required message including a SNPN ID of the list of SNPN IDs that identifies the target SNPN (see par. 0280).
Consider claim 10 in view of claim 8 above. YANG further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to a third NG-RAN node, a secondary node (s-node) addition request message including a SNPN ID of the list of SNPN IDs that identifies the target SNPN (see par. 0280).
Consider claim 11 in view of claim 8 above. YANG further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to a third NG-RAN node, a secondary node (s-node) addition request message including a SNPN ID of the list of SNPN IDs that identifies the target SNPN (see par. 0280).
Consider claim 12. YANG discloses method for wireless communication performed by a first next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, comprising (see par. 0157: “a next generation radio access network node configuration update (NG-RAN node configuration update)”):
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network or a second NG-RAN node, a mobility restriction list including a list of equivalent standalone non-public networks (SNPNs); (see par. 0280; “The AMF includes an allowed CAG list (allowed CAG list) of the terminal device in a mobility restriction list (mobility restriction list) of the handover request (handover request) message, and sends the handover request message to the second access network device. If a CAG/PNI-NPN that can be accessed by the terminal device is not a CAG/PNI-NPN supported by any target cell, that is, the terminal device is not allowed to access the target cell, the second access network device includes, in a handover failure (handover failure) message, a CAG ID/PNI-NPN and/or an NID that can be supported by the target cell or the target PLMN of the target cell, and sends the handover failure message to the AMF. The AMF forwards, to the first access network device, the handover preparation failure message including the handover failure message. For another example, in an NG interface setup or update process, for example, by using an NG setup response (NG setup response) message and an AMF configuration update (AMF configuration update) message, the AMF notifies the first access network device and the second access network device of NID/SNPN information configured by the AMF.” Examiner’s Analysis: the AMF exchanges hangover request messages between first and second access network; the hangover request messages includes mobility restriction list and a list of SNPN); and
determining a mobility action for a user equipment (UE) connected to the first NGRAN node based on the mobility restriction list (see par. 0280: “If the handover fails because the second access network device originally supports the target NID/SNPN and no longer supports the target NID/SNPN after the configuration information is updated, but the second access network device does not perform configuration update with the AMF in time, after receiving the handover request message sent by the AMF, the second access network device may also be triggered to send a RAN configuration update (RAN configuration update) message, a NG reset (NG reset) message, or an error indication (error indication) message to the AMF, to update the NID/SNPN configuration information of the second access network device. The message may include the foregoing cause value. Details are not described again”).
Consider claim 13, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 2. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 2.
Consider claim 14, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 3. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 3.
Consider claim 15, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 4. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 4.
Consider claim 16, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 5. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 5.
Consider claim 17, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 5. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 5.
Consider claim 19, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 8. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 8.
Consider claim 20, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 9. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 9.
Consider claim 21, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 10. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 10.
Consider claim 22, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 11. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
12. Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG, as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Falkenberg; Andreas (US 20240064592 A1), hereafter “Falkenberg.”
Consider claim 7 in view of claim 2 above, YANG discloses all the limitations that this claim depends upon, but, does not particular refer to the following limitation taught by Falkenberg, in analogous art: wherein the mobility action for the UE includes
a secondary cell group (SCG) selection for the UE during a dual connectivity procedure (see par. 0111: “NG-RAN node may store the information received in the Mobility Restriction List IE in the UE context; may use this information to determine a target for the UE during subsequent mobility action for which the NG-RAN node provides information about the target of the mobility action towards the UE, except when one of the PDU sessions has a particular ARP value in which case the information may not apply; may use this information to select a proper SCG during dual connectivity operation”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of YANG and have it include the teachings of Falkenberg. The motivation would have been in order to use all available cells to prevent service interruption (see par. 0111).
Consider claim 18, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 7. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 7.
Conclusion
13. The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon, but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210235339 A1: discloses that a mobile communications system may be a public land mobile network (PLMN) run by a network operator providing a variety of service including voice, data, short messaging service (SMS), multimedia messaging service (MMS), emergency calls, etc.
US 20220361068 A1: discloses sending, by a first BS, a broadcast message, which comprises: a NID and a PLMN ID, which correspond to each of one or more SNPNs supported by the first BS; receiving, by the first BS.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez can be reached at (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MARCOS BATISTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642
February 23, 2026