DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claim’s amendment dated 6/28/2026.
Election/Restrictions
3. Newly submitted claims 29-32 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claims 29-32 belong to specie shown in figure 15, as admitted by the Applicant in the “Remarks”.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 29-32 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and all the respectively dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. U.S. Pub. 2015/0146069 (hereinafter D1) in view of An et al. U.S. Pub. 2013/0034685 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Garelli et al. U.S. Pub. 2012/0050975 (hereinafter D7).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches an electronic device (shown in figures 14A1 and 14A2) comprising:
a display panel (111; figure 14A1) that displays an image (206; figure 14A1), wherein the display panel (111) has a rounded corner (see above annotated figure 14A1) that is bent about two, non-parallel axes (see above annotated figure 14A1) and wherein the display panel has a first coefficient (by default) of thermal expansion;
However, D1 does not specifically teach a display cover layer that covers the display panel; and
a patterned film that is attached to the display panel, wherein the patterned film is interposed between the display panel and the display cover layer and wherein the patterned film has a first portion with the first coefficient of thermal expansion and a second portion with a second coefficient of thermal expansion different than the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
D2, teaches an electronic device (101; figure 1), including a display panel (100; figure 1); a display cover layer (300; figure 1) that covers (see figure 1) the display panel; and a patterned film (500; figure 1) that is attached to the display panel (100), wherein the patterned film (500) is interposed between (see figure 1) the display panel (100) and the display cover layer (530).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the electronic device of D1 with a display cover layer that covers the display panel; and a patterned film that is attached to the display panel, wherein the patterned film to be interposed between the display panel and the display cover layer, as suggested by D2, to provide impact absorbing capability.
D7, teaches a display device (10; figure 1B), suggesting a pattern film (84 + 138; figure 16) coupled to the display panel (12A; figure 16) wherein the pattern film has a first portion (30; figure 15) with a first coefficient (implicitly taught) of thermal expansion and a second portion (region 138 excluding 140; figure 16) with a second coefficient (implicitly taught) of thermal expansion different than the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a patterned film that is attached to the display panel of D1, wherein the patterned film would be interposed between the display panel and the display cover layer and wherein the patterned film has a first portion with the first coefficient of thermal expansion and a second portion with a second coefficient of thermal expansion different than the first coefficient of thermal expansion, as suggested by D7, in order to provide a logo on the cover of said display device.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach that the first portion has the same coefficient of thermal expansion as the display panel, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose the materials for said first portion and said display panel such that the first portion would have the same coefficient of thermal expansion as the display panel , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first and second portions are separated by a gap (see figures 15-16; there must be a gap between logo 30 when it’s positioned in the space 140).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the patterned film has a third portion (84; figure 16 of D7) with the second coefficient of thermal expansion and wherein the second and third portions are separated by a gap (see figure 16).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 5, wherein the first portion of the patterned film is interposed between (see figures 15-16 of D7) the second and third portions of the patterned film.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 5, wherein the second portion of the patterned film includes a curved surface (“apple” logo 30 of figures 15-16 of D7 shows curve surface => the adjacent corresponding portion of 138 is also curved) that has a concave curvature (see figures 15-16 of D7) and wherein the first portion of the patterned film includes an additional curved surface (see figures 15-16 of D7) that conforms to the curved surface.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D7 teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1.
Note: Having a low coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) means a material changes size very little when heated or cooled. It represents high dimensional stability, ensuring that the material retains its precise shape, volume, and integrity across varying temperatures.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein the second portion has a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel, however, it is clear that the portion of the pattern film of D1/D2/D7 serves to support said display panel. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide or choose a material of said pattern film such that the portion would have a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel to retain its precise shape, volume, and integrity across varying temperatures to optimally support said display panel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (in this case, choose a material such that it would have lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 1, which further comprises an adhesive layer (520; figure 1 of D2; 520 is a thermosetting resin layer = adhesive layer) that is interposed between the display cover layer and the patterned film.
Regarding claim 13, D1 teaches an electronic device (shown in figures 14A1 and 14A2) comprising:
a display panel (111; figure 14A1) that displays an image (206; figure 14A1), wherein the display panel (111) has a rounded corner (see above annotated figure 14A1) that bends about two, non-parallel axes (see above annotated figure 14A1).
However, D1 does not specifically teach a display cover layer that covers the display panel; and
a film that is interposed between the display panel and the display cover layer, wherein the film has a first portion with a first Young's modulus and a second portion with a second Young's modulus that is different than the first Young's modulus.
D2, teaches an electronic device (101; figure 1), including a display panel (100; figure 1); a display cover layer (300; figure 1) that covers (see figure 1) the display panel; and a patterned film (500; figure 1) that is attached to the display panel (100), wherein the patterned film (500) is interposed between (see figure 1) the display panel (100) and the display cover layer (530).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the electronic device of D1 with a display cover layer that covers the display panel; and a patterned film that is attached to the display panel, wherein the patterned film to be interposed between the display panel and the display cover layer, as suggested by D2, to provide impact absorbing capability.
D7, teaches a display device (10; figure 1B), suggesting a pattern film (84 + 138; figure 16A) coupled to the display panel (12A; figure 16), wherein the pattern film has a first portion (30; figures 15-16) with a first Young's modulus (by default of the material of logo 30) and a second portion (138 + 84; figure 16) with a second Young's modulus (by default of the material of 138 + 84) that is different than the first Young's modulus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a patterned film, as recited in claim 13, to be attached to the display panel of D1/D2, as suggested by D7, to provide a logo on the cover of said display device. Such modification would result in the pattern film having a first portion with a first Young's modulus and a second portion with a second Young's modulus that is different than the first Young's modulus, as recited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 13, wherein the first and second portions are coplanar (see figures 15-16 of D7).
Regarding claim 15, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 13, wherein the first portion is a patch (figure 15 of D7; logo 30 is a patch); wherein the first portion (30; figure 15 of D7, which is positioned in space 140 shown in figure 16) is laterally surrounded by the second portion (84 + 138; figure 16 of D7).
Even though, D1/D2/D7 does not specifically teach that the patch overlaps the rounded corner of the display panel, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange said patch to overlaps the rounded corner of the display panel, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, the modification of D1/D2/D7 would result in the electronic device defined in claim 13, wherein the film has a footprint (implicitly resulted from modification of D2) with a central portion (main portion of the film on portion 111 resulted from modification; figure 14A1 of D1) and a gradient portion (curving portion along the edge of 101 resulted from modification; figure 14A1 of D1) formed along an edge (curved edge of 101; figure 14A1 of D1) of the central portion, wherein the central portion has a uniform (implicitly taught) Young’s modulus, and wherein the gradient portion has a gradient (implicitly taught from modification) Young’s modulus.
Note: A gradient represents the rate of change of a value.
A gradient Young's modulus refers to a material where the Young's modulus (a measure of stiffness) changes gradually across its structure, rather than being uniform.
7. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. U.S. Pub. 2015/0146069 (hereinafter D1) in view of An et al. U.S. Pub. 2013/0034685 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Garelli et al. U.S. Pub. 2012/0050975 (hereinafter D7) and in further view of Jeong et al. U.S. Patent 11,145,838 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, the modification of D1/D2/D7 teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D7 does not specifically teach an additional patterned film, wherein the display panel is interposed between the additional patterned film and the patterned film.
D3 teaches a similar structure, which suggests an additional patterned film (210; figure 1) positioned on the lower (or inner side) of a display panel (120; figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further the electronic device of D1/D2/D7 with an additional pattern film, as suggested by D3, such that the display panel would be interposed between an additional patterned film and the patterned film, to further enhance the structural integrity of said electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D7/D3 teaches the electronic device defined in claim 11.
Even though, D1/D2//D7/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the second portion has a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel and therein the additional patterned film has an additional third portion with a higher coefficient of thermal expansion and the display panel, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide or choose a material of said pattern film and the additional patterned film such that the second portion would have a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel to retain its precise shape, volume, and integrity across varying temperatures to optimally support said display panel, and the additional patterned film would have a third portion with a higher coefficient of thermal expansion and the display panel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (in this case, choose a material such that it would have lower/higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the display panel) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. U.S. Pub. 2015/0146069 (hereinafter D1) in view of An et al. U.S. Pub. 2013/0034685 (hereinafter D2) and in view of Garelli et al. U.S. Pub. 2012/0050975 (hereinafter D7) and in further view of Qiao et al. U.S. Patent 11,388,329 (hereinafter D6).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of D1/D2/D7 teaches the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the patterned film has some transparent characteristic (see par[0097] and [0106] of D7).
Even though, D1/D2/D7 does not specifically teach wherein the patterned film has a transparency of less than 80%, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a patterned film to have a transparency of less than 80%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggests the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the second portion is a corner portion that overlaps the rounded corner of the display panel, wherein the corner portion has first and second orthogonal edges and a curved edge that connects the first and second orthogonal edges, and wherein the first and second orthogonal edges are interposed between the curved edge and a center of the display panel.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the second portion of the patterned film includes first and second curved surfaces that meet at vertex, wherein the first portion of the patterned film is interposed between the first curved surface and a center of the display panel, wherein the first portion of the patterned film is interposed between the second curved surface and the center of the display panel, and wherein the vertex is closer to the center of the display panel than the first curved surface.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841