DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plating layer protrudes from the insulating layer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, there is no antecedent basis for “the plating layer”.
Regarding claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for “the plating layer”.
Regarding claim 7, there is no antecedent basis for “the plating layer”.
Regarding claim 8, there is no antecedent basis for “the plating layer”.
Regarding claim 17, there is no antecedent basis for “the plating layer”.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the plating layer “protrudes” from the insulating layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-10 and 18-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noo et al. [CN 112103028 A].
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Noo et al. discloses a coil component that is a multilayer coil component [figures 1-2] comprising:
- an element assembly [2] containing a magnetic material;
- a coil [11] embedded in the element assembly;
- an outer electrode [51, 52, 53] electrically coupled to the coil and disposed on a bottom surface of the element assembly; and
- an insulating layer [61] on the bottom surface of the element assembly, wherein the insulating layer has a cavity [figure 2], and the outer electrode is in the cavity, wherein the area of the cavity is less than or equal to the area of the bottom surface electrode in plan view when viewed from the bottom surface side of the element assembly [figure 2].
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Noo et al. discloses the insulating layer is a resin material.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Noo et al. discloses the magnetic material contains a metal magnetic particle [73, figure 1].
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qui et al. [CN 110858513 A].
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Qui et al. discloses a coil component [figures 1-2] comprising:
- an element assembly [1] containing a magnetic powder material [13];
- a coil [13] embedded in the element assembly;
- an outer electrode [2] electrically coupled to the coil and disposed on a bottom surface of the element assembly; and
- an insulating layer [4, 14, figures 3-4] on the bottom surface of the element assembly, wherein the insulating layer has a cavity [figures 3-4], and the outer electrode is in the cavity, wherein the area of the cavity is less than or equal to the area of the bottom surface electrode in plan view when viewed from the bottom surface side of the element assembly [figure 2].
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Noo et al. discloses the insulating layer is a resin material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 8, 10-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 11-12, Qiu et al. discloses the outer electrode includes a bottom surface electrode and a layer on the bottom surface electrode [multilayer structure 21, 22, 23 formed of nickel, tin, gold], wherein the bottom surface electrode is in the element assembly, and the plating layer is in the cavity, wherein the area of the cavity is less than or equal to the area of the bottom surface electrode in plan view when viewed from the bottom surface side of the element assembly.
The specific use of plating method for the bottom layer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claims 5 and 13-14, Qiu et al. discloses the bottom/plating layer is flush with the insulating layer [figures 3-4].
The specific use of plating method for the bottom layer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Qiu et al. discloses the use of nickel, tin, gold for the multilayer structure outer electrode.
The specific use of plating method for the bottom layer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
The specific material Ni-Sn use for the bottom layer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating internal/external connection.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the specific magnetic metal use for the magnetic powder would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating the desired magnetic flux/field.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noo et al. or Qiu et al. in view of Yoshioka et al. [CN 111986882 A].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Qiu et al. or Noo et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the bottom/plating layer is recessed on the bottom surface of the insulating layer.
Yoshioka et al. discloses a recess [410] arranged on outer terminal [41] of a coil component.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the recess arrangement of the of Yoshioka et al. in Noo et al. or Qiu et al., for the purpose of facilitating external connection and/or surface mounting.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, the specific “protrudes” of the bottom/plating layer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating external connection and/or surface mounting.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837