DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “223” has been used to designate both tray and positive terminal in Fig. 2A as stated in [0045] US 2023/0261309. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "225" and "227" have both been used to designate junction in Fig. 2A ([0045] US 2023/0261309. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
4. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “461” has been used to designate both first PCB and BMP in Fig. 4 as stated in [0052]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
5. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: connection 570 as stated in [0057] US 2023/0261309. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “ moving the second board and the second stack side toward each other to mechanically and electrically connect the junctions on the second stack side to the second connectors on the second board.” includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “ moving the second board and the second stack side toward each other to mechanically and electrically connect the junctions on the second stack side to the second connectors on the second board;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1 and 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
9. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the board" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the first board" as there is antecedent basis.
10. Claims 2-16 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
11. Claim 2 recites the limitation " the first connectors " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of first connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
12. Claim 3 recites the limitation " the first connectors " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of first connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
13. Claim 5 recites the limitation " the first connectors " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of first connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
14. Claim 6 recites the limitation " the first connectors " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of first connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
15. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the board" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the first board" as there is antecedent basis.
16. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the blades" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "blades".
17. Claim 9 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
18. Claim 10 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
19. Claim 12 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
20. Claim 13 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
21. Claim 13 recites the limitation "the blades" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "blades".
22. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation " the configuration of first connectors " in line 1. It is not clear whether it is the same or different first connectors as recited in claim 1 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a configuration of the plurality of first connectors ".
23. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the blade" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a blade".
24. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation " the configuration of second connectors " in lines 2-3. It is not clear whether it is the same or different second connectors as recited in claim 8 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " a configuration of the plurality of second connectors ".
25. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the blade" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a blade".
26. Claim 15 recites the limitation " the second conductors " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the second electrical conductors " as there is antecedent basis.
27. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites the limitation “third conductors” in line 3. It is not clear whether they are the same or different third conductors as recited in line 2. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the third conductors”.
28. Claim 15 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
29. Claims 17 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
30. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the board" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the first board" as there is antecedent basis.
31. Claims 18-20 are rejected as depending from claim 17.
32. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the junctions" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "junctions".
33. Claim 17 recites the limitation " the first connectors " in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of first connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
34. Claim 18 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
35. Claim 19 recites the limitation " the second connectors " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " the plurality of second connectors " as there is antecedent basis.
36. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the blades" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "blades".
37. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the board" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the second board" as there is antecedent basis.
38. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitation " the configuration of first connectors " in line 1. It is not clear whether it is the same or different first connectors as recited in claim 17 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " a configuration of the plurality of first connectors ".
39. Claim 20 recites the limitation "the blades" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "blades".
40. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitation " the configuration of second connectors " in line 3. It is not clear whether it is the same or different second connectors as recited in claim 18 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " a configuration of the plurality of second connectors ".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
43. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077).
Regarding claim 1, McCartney discloses a rechargeable battery system (battery system 14, Fig. 2, [0019], [0022]) comprising: a collection of at least four flat cells(see battery packs 20A-20F with modules 40 in Fig. 2 and cells 50 in Fig. 4, [0022]-[0023], [0025]), each with a positive terminal extending from one side of each cell and a negative terminal extending from an opposite side of each cell(see positive tab 52+ and negative tab 52- in Fig. 4, [0027]), and arranged and connected in an alternating stack (Fig. 4) with a first stack side (see module 40 on left side in Fig. 3) and second stack side (see module 40 on right side in Fig. 3), and wherein the cells are arranged such that each cell, except for a cell at one end of the stack, has its positive terminal mechanically and electrically connected at a junction to the negative terminal of an adjacent cell(tab 52, Fig. 4, [0027]), and such that each cell, except for a cell at the other end of the stack, has its negative terminal mechanically and electrically connected at a junction to the positive terminal on an adjacent cell(tab 52, Fig. 4, [0027]); a first board located on the first stack side(module control unit 60, Fig. 4, [0023], [0030]), the first board comprising: a plurality of first connectors extending from the first board for mechanically and electrically connecting to the junctions on the first stack side(electrical contact elements 62, Figs. 4-6, [0031]); a battery management processor(battery management system may include different levels of controllers that control the operation of battery system 15 based on sensor input and/or variables programmed into these controllers[0023]); first electrical conductors to electrically connect each first connector of the plurality of first connectors to the battery management processor(traces 68, Figs. 5 and 6, [0034]); whereby the state of at least each pair of cells connected at each first connector can be monitored by the battery management processor([0030]).
Regarding claim 2, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses the mechanical and electrical connection of the junctions on the first stack side to the plurality of first connectors is achieved simultaneously by moving the first board and the first stack side toward each other(when lid 44 of container 42 is closed [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses the first board is a first printed circuit board([0030]), and wherein the first electrical conductors are first traces on the first printed circuit board([0034]).
Regarding claim 8, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses further comprising a second board located on the second stack side(module control unit 60 as shown in Fig. 4 located on module 40 on right side of Fig. 3), the second board comprising: a plurality of second connectors extending from the second board for mechanically and electrically connecting to the junctions on the second stack side (electrical contact elements 62, Figs. 4-6, [0031]); second electrical conductors to directly or indirectly connect each second connector of the plurality of second connectors to the battery management processor (traces 68, Figs. 5 and 6, [0034]); whereby the state of each cell can be monitored by the battery management processor ([0030]).
Regarding claim 9, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses the mechanical and electrical connection of the junctions on the second stack side to the plurality of second connectors is achieved simultaneously by moving the second board and the second stack side toward each other(when lid 44 of container 42 is closed [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses further comprising a multiconductor cable for joining the second electrical conductors on the second board with third conductors on the first board, which the third conductors are electrically connected to the battery management processor, to thereby electrically connect the plurality of second connectors to the battery management processor(bus bars 38, Figs. 2 and 3, [0021], [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses further comprising a cell support structure that supports the stack of cells, wherein the second board is attached to the battery cell support structure(container 42 with lid 44, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, McCartney discloses a method for manufacturing a rechargeable battery system (battery system 14, Fig. 2, [0019], [0022], [0039]) comprising: providing a collection of at least four flat cells (see battery packs 20A-20F with modules 40 in Fig. 2 and cells 50 in Fig. 4, [0022]-[0023], [0025]), each with a positive terminal extending from one side of each cell and a negative terminal extending from an opposite side of each cell (see positive tab 52+ and negative tab 52- in Fig. 4, [0027]); arranging the cells in an alternating stack with a first stack side (see module 40 on left side in Fig. 3) and a second stack side (see module 40 on right side in Fig. 3), the cells arranged such that the positive terminal of every other cell is on the first stack side and the negative terminals of the remaining cells are on the first stack side (Figs. 3 and 4), and such that the negative terminal of every other cell is on the second stack side and the positive terminals of the remaining cells are on the second stack side(Figs. 3 and 4); mechanically and electrically connecting the positive terminals of the cells on each side to the negative terminals of the adjacent cells on the same side at a junction (tab 52, Fig. 4, [0027]);
connecting the cell at one end of the stack to a first electrical lead, and the cell at the other end to a second electric lead, wherein one of the leads is positive and the other is negative(Fig. 4);
providing a first board located on the first stack side (module control unit 60, Fig. 4, [0023], [0030]), the first board comprising: a plurality of first connectors extending from the first board for mechanically and electrically connecting to junctions on the first stack side (electrical contact elements 62, Figs. 4-6, [0031]); a battery management processor (battery management system may include different levels of controllers that control the operation of battery system 15 based on sensor input and/or variables programmed into these controllers[0023]); first electrical conductors to electrically connect each first connector of the plurality of first connectors to the battery management processor (traces 68, Figs. 5 and 6, [0034]); whereby the state of at least each pair of cells connected at each first connector can be monitored by the battery management processor ([0030]); moving the first board and the first stack side toward each other to mechanically and electrically connect the junctions on the first stack side to the plurality of first connectors on the first board(when lid 44 of container 42 is closed [0031]).
Regarding claim 18, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney further discloses further comprising: providing a second board located on the second stack side (module control unit 60 as shown in Fig. 4 located on module 40 on right side of Fig. 3), the second board comprising: a plurality of second connectors extending from the second board for mechanically and electrically connecting to the junctions on the second stack side (electrical contact elements 62, Figs. 4-6, [0031]); second electrical conductors to directly or indirectly connect each second connector of the plurality of second connectors to the battery management processor (traces 68, Figs. 5 and 6, [0034]); moving the second board and the second stack side toward each other to mechanically and electrically connect the junctions on the second stack side to the plurality of second connectors on the second board(when lid 44 of container 42 is closed [0031]); whereby the state of each cell can be monitored by the battery management processor([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
46. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Karr (US 2021/0226187).
Regarding claim 3, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney discloses the junctions on the first stack side are mechanically and electrically connected to the plurality of first connectors by means of contact element 62 may include one or more spring members 64 (Fig. 5, [0033]) but does not explicitly disclose a blade and receptacle type quick connection.
Karr teaches a battery pack assembly made up of a battery stack case housing a plurality of battery cells abutting each other is provided for powering a vehicle, such as an electric/hybrid vehicle, and/or a vehicle's electrical components(abstract). Karr teaches a blade (terminals 104a-2, Fig. 4D, [0065]) and receptacle type quick connection(clip/sleeve 120, Fig. 4D, [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of McCartney with a blade and receptacle type quick connection as taught by Karr as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
47. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077) further in view of Karr (US 2021/0226187) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2011/0293992).
Regarding claim 4, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney discloses each pair of a positive and negative terminal forms a tab (McCartney, tab 52, Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose forms a blade for a blade and receptacle type quick connection.
Hsu teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged in a stacked configuration, each of the battery cells including a first terminal disposed on a first end of the battery cell and a second terminal disposed on a second end of the battery cell, wherein the first terminal of at least one of the battery cells is in direct electrical communication with the second terminal of another non-adjacent one of the battery cells(abstract, Figs. 2-4). Hsu teaches each pair of a welded positive and negative terminal forms a blade for a blade and receptacle type quick connection(Fig. 2, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of modified McCartney with each pair of a welded positive and negative terminal forms a blade for a blade and receptacle type quick connection as taught by Hsu as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 5, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney further discloses the plurality of first connectors are in the form of a spring clip type quick connection(McCartney [0033], Karr [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney further discloses the plurality of first connectors on the first board and blades of the positive and negative terminals on the first stack side are configured so that the first board is installable in a single orientation(McCartney [0031]).
48. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 9 above, and further in view of Karr (US 2021/0226187).
Regarding claim 10, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney discloses the junctions on the second stack side are mechanically and electrically connected to the plurality of second connectors by means of contact element 62 may include one or more spring members 64 (Fig. 5, [0033]) but does not explicitly disclose a blade and receptacle type quick connection.
Karr teaches a battery pack assembly made up of a battery stack case housing a plurality of battery cells abutting each other is provided for powering a vehicle, such as an electric/hybrid vehicle, and/or a vehicle's electrical components(abstract). Karr teaches a blade (terminals 104a-2, Fig. 4D, [0065]) and receptacle type quick connection(clip/sleeve 120, Fig. 4D, [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of McCartney with a blade and receptacle type quick connection as taught by Karr as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
49. Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077) further in view of Karr (US 2021/0226187) as applied to claims 1 and 8-10 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2011/0293992).
Regarding claim 11, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney does not explicitly disclose each of the positive terminals and each of the negative terminals is in the shape of a flat ribbon, and wherein the positive terminals on the first stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the first stack side by welding, and the positive terminals on the second stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the second stack side by welding.
Hsu teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged in a stacked configuration, each of the battery cells including a first terminal disposed on a first end of the battery cell and a second terminal disposed on a second end of the battery cell, wherein the first terminal of at least one of the battery cells is in direct electrical communication with the second terminal of another non-adjacent one of the battery cells(abstract, Figs. 2-4). Hsu teaches each of the positive terminals and each of the negative terminals is in the shape of a flat ribbon(Figs. 2-4), and wherein the positive terminals on the first stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the first stack side by welding([0024]), and the positive terminals on the second stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the second stack side by welding([0024]). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the terminals are attached: by welding. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of modified McCartney with each of the positive terminals and each of the negative terminals is in the shape of a flat ribbon, and wherein the positive terminals on the first stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the first stack side by welding, and the positive terminals on the second stack side are mechanically and electrically attached to negative terminals on the second stack side by welding as taught by Hsu as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 12, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney further discloses the plurality of second connectors are in the form of a spring clip for the blade and receptacle type quick connection(McCartney [0033], Karr [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney further discloses the plurality of second connectors on the second board and blades of the positive and negative terminals on the second side are configured so that the second board is installable in a single orientation(McCartney [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney discloses different configurations of connectors (McCartney, Figs. 5 and 6) but does not explicitly disclose a configuration of the plurality of first connectors and a blade of the positive and negative terminals on the first stack side are different from a configuration of the plurality of second connectors and a blade of the positive and negative terminals on the second side so that the first board is installable only on a first stack side and the second board is installable only on a second stack side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of modified McCartney with the configuration of first connectors and the blade of the positive and negative terminals on the first stack side are different from the configuration of second connectors and the blade of the positive and negative terminals on the second side so that the first board is installable only on a first stack side and the second board is installable only on a second stack side as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
50. Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCartney et al. (US 2017/0187077) as applied to claims 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2011/0293992).
Regarding claim 19, McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. McCartney discloses the plurality of second connectors on the second board and the tabs of the positive and negative terminals on the second side are configured so that the second board is installable in a single orientation(McCartney [0031]) but does not explicitly disclose blades of the positive and negative terminals.
Hsu teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged in a stacked configuration, each of the battery cells including a first terminal disposed on a first end of the battery cell and a second terminal disposed on a second end of the battery cell, wherein the first terminal of at least one of the battery cells is in direct electrical communication with the second terminal of another non-adjacent one of the battery cells(abstract, Figs. 2-4). Hsu teaches each pair of a welded positive and negative terminal forms a blade (Fig. 2, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of McCartney with blades of the positive and negative terminals as taught by Hsu as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 20, modified McCartney discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified McCartney discloses different configurations of connectors (McCartney, Figs. 5 and 6) but does not explicitly disclose a configuration of the plurality of first connectors on the first board and blades of the positive and negative terminals on the first stack side are different from a configuration of the plurality of second connectors on the second board and the blades of the positive and negative terminals on the second side so that the first board is installable only on a first stack side and the second board is installable only on a second side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of modified McCartney with a configuration of the plurality of first connectors on the first board and blades of the positive and negative terminals on the first stack side are different from a configuration of the plurality of second connectors on the second board and the blades of the positive and negative terminals on the second side so that the first board is installable only on a first stack side and the second board is installable only on a second side as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Other References Considered
51. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
The prior art of Stoughton et al. (US 2012/0040221) discloses a rechargeable battery system(abstract, [0043]) comprising: a collection of at least four flat cells(cells 70, Figs. 1-4, [0033]), each with a positive terminal extending from one side of each cell and a negative terminal extending from an opposite side of each cell(Figs. 1 and 2), and arranged and connected in an alternating stack with a first stack side and second stack side(Figs. 1 and 2), a first board located on the first stack side(flexible strip or bandoleer 105, Fig. 5, [0041]), the board comprising: a plurality of first connectors extending from the first board for mechanically and electrically connecting to the positive and negative tabs on the first stack side(spring loaded conductive clip 100, Figs. 4 and 5, [0040]-[0041]); a battery management processor([0042]-[0043]); first electrical conductors to electrically connect each first connector of the plurality of first connectors to the battery management processor([0042]); whereby the state of at least each pair of cells connected at each first connector can be monitored by the battery management processor([0042]-[0043]).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724