Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant on page 7, first two paragraphs, stated that Wang memory 230 can be built-in or external and that Wang does not require memory 230 to be on-chip and thus cannot teach an on-chip memory. However Examiner would point out in MPEP 2131.05 it states “A reference is no less anticipatory if, after disclosing the invention, the reference then disparages it. The question whether a reference "teaches away" from the invention is inapplicable to an anticipation analysis. Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 ”. Therefore the teaching of Wang which teaches that the memory 230 can be on-chip or optionally external 230 will still anticipate the claimed on-chip memory of claim 1. Wang clearly teaches an on-chip memory 230 as disclosed in Fig. 6-9 as a preferred embodiment and thus anticipates the claimed on-chip memory.
Further on page 9 of Remarks, Applicant stated the combination with Larson is not proper firstly because it does not teach the newly amended limitations and secondly because the motivation to combine “does not support the combination”. Further Applicant states that the motivation is unrelated to the storing of intermediate data generated in the node on the on-chip memory to achieve “efficient data transfer” between ISP and AI processors. However the Larson reference was only relied on to teach specific transfer size of the image data between the ISP and the on-chip memory since the primary reference of Wang was silent on size of image data transferred from ISP to the on-chip memory. Further on top of page 10, Applicant stated that there lacks explanation on how the Larson system can be integrated into the ISP/AI processor system of Wang. The only modification that is required based on the teachings of Larson is to modify the transfer size of image blocks in units of tiles in the system of Wang when transferring the image processed data from the ISP to the on-chip memory. Wang teaches the complete architecture for performing the image processing and transferring of image data between ISP and AI processor via on-chip memory. It lacks teachings of image size used for transferring. The motivation is clearly stated in Larson which is to provide compressed storage of image data in tile blocks on chip memory without overlapping tiles which can thereby streamline the processing of image data and eliminate to certain degree the reliance on firmware resource that are complex and can consume a lot of resources (paragraph 25, 40, 51). Streamlining the image processing by removing reliance on firmware will result in an efficient image processing system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis.
!!NOTE under AIA the foreign priority date of Wang ‘519 is used as effectively filed date!!
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a system on chip (SOC) integrated into a same chip (paragraph 101; multimedia processing chip (System on chip on same chip 200)), comprising:
an image signal processor (ISP), configured to receive an image data from an image sensor, and perform third image signal processing on the image data to obtain a first image signal (paragraph 105, 118, 124, 247; ISP receives image from camera; optimizing module 214 of ISP process image via BPC (third image signal processing) to generate first image signal);
an artificial intelligence (AI) processor, configured to perform first image signal processing on the first image signal to obtain a second image signal (paragraph 118-119; ISP includes optimizing module 214 that performs image processing such as BPC on dynamic image to generate optimized first image; paragraph 73, 98, 247; NPU (AI processor) processes this optimized image to generate processed image data (second image)), wherein the AI processor includes a dedicated neural processor (paragraph 104; NPU includes dedicated neural processor) and
on-chip memory, coupled to the AI processor and the ISP and configured to transfer an image block in the first image signal between the ISP and the AI processor (paragraph 105, 247; memory 230 is on chip memory for chip 200 and is coupled to NPU 220 and ISP 210 in Fig. 6; image processed by the ISP includes optimizing module 214 is stored to memory 230 which is then sent to the NPU (AI); paragraph 105; NPU processor reads part of the image frame (partial) in terms of data blocks from memory), wherein the image block is a partial image signal in a frame of the first image signal (paragraph 105; image transferred from memory 230 to NPU is in image data blocks that are part of frame (1/n frame));
wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated (paragraph 168-169; optimizing module 214 of the ISP 210 can first process data and send processed data to memory 230 as “first optimizing” data ; this data is transferred from memory 230 to the NPU which then processes this data and then this processed data by NPU (running process) is stored back in memory 230 and then transferred back to the optimizing module 214 of the ISP for "second optimization" in block 2046; data processed, output by the NPU and stored in memory 230 prior to "second optimization" is intermediate data since the processing is not complete and further processing (second optimization) is performed by the optimizing module 214).
However Wang does not disclose wherein the ISP stores the first image signal to the on- chip memory in a form of the image block.
Larson discloses wherein the ISP stores the first image signal to the on- chip memory in a form of the image block (paragraph 26, 48-49; compressor 15 (ISP) stores compressed imaged data into on-chip memory 60 in form of image tiles (image blocks)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Larson to provide image block storage in memory.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide compressed storage of image data in tile blocks on chip memory that can be scaled to various block sizes without overlapping tiles thereby streamlining the processing of image data and eliminating to degree the reliance on firmware resource that are complex and can consume a lot of resources (paragraph 25, 40, 51).
However Wang does not disclose wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated in a running process of the AI processor, the intermediate data comprising data generated at network nodes in a neural network run by the AI processor.
Kartsaklis discloses wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated in a running process of the AI processor, the intermediate data comprising data generated at network nodes in a neural network run by the AI processor (paragraph 13, 24, 26-27, 59-61, 72, 79-80; on-chip cache 252 of the SOC 250 is configured to store output data from each node as intermediate data generated from intermediate layer of the NN (running process); neural processor 256 (AI processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Kartsaklis to provide storing of intermediate node data on the on-chip memory.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide faster and efficient transfer of neural network data generated at the nodes by splitting the processing of neural network nodes into multiple parallel operations that process a smaller size of data which can be easily stored in fast on-chip memory instead of using slower DRAM memories (paragraph 13-14).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the third image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: noise cancellation, black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, or demosaicing (paragraph 263; chip 200 performs noise reduction).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, further comprising: a central processing unit CPU, configured to control running of the ISP and the AI processor (paragraph 133, 172; CPU 260 controls the NPU (AI) and ISP including optimizing module 214).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein
the on-chip memory comprises an on-chip random access memory RAM (paragraph 127; memory 230 can be SDRAM).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the dedicated neural processor comprises a neural processing engine (paragraph 104; NPU (Neural processor) includes dedicated processor).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses an image processing method of a system on chip (SOC) integrated into a same chip (paragraph 101; multimedia processing chip (System on chip on same chip 200)), wherein the method comprises:
receiving an image data from an image sensor and perform third image signal processing on the image data to obtain a first image signal, by an image signal processor ISP in the system on chip (paragraph 105, 118, 124, 247; ISP receives image from camera; optimizing module 214 of ISP process image via BPC (third image signal processing) to generate first image signal; paragraph 114; ISP 210 in system on chip 200);
transferring, by an on-chip memory in the system on chip, an image block in the first image signal between the ISP and an artificial intelligence AI processor in the system on chip, wherein the image block is a partial image signal in a frame of the first image signal (paragraph 105, 247; memory 230 is on chip memory for chip 200 and is coupled to NPU 220 and ISP 210 in Fig. 6; image processed by the ISP includes optimizing module 214 is stored to memory 230 which is then sent to the NPU (AI); paragraph 105; NPU processor reads part of the image frame (partial) in terms of data blocks from memory),; and
performing, by the AI processor, first image signal processing on the first image signal to obtain a second image signal (paragraph 118-119; ISP includes optimizing module 214 that performs image processing such as BPC on dynamic image to generate optimized first image; paragraph 73, 98, 247; NPU (AI processor) processes this optimized image to generate processed image data (second image));
wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated (paragraph 168-169; optimizing module 214 of the ISP 210 can first process data and send processed data to memory 230 as “first optimizing” data ; this data is transferred from memory 230 to the NPU which then processes this data and then this processed data by NPU (running process) is stored back in memory 230 and then transferred back to the optimizing module 214 of the ISP for "second optimization" in block 2046; data processed, output by the NPU and stored in memory 230 prior to "second optimization" is intermediate data since the processing is not complete and further processing (second optimization) is performed by the optimizing module 214).
However Wang does not disclose the ISP stores the first image signal to the on-chip memory in a form of the image block.
Larson discloses the ISP stores the first image signal to the on-chip memory in a form of the image block (paragraph 26, 48-49; compressor 15 (ISP) stores compressed imaged data into on-chip memory 60 in form of image tiles (image blocks)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Larson to provide image block storage in memory.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide compressed storage of image data in tile blocks on chip memory that can be scaled to various block sizes without overlapping tiles thereby streamlining the processing of image data and eliminating to degree the reliance on firmware resource that are complex and can consume a lot of resources (paragraph 25, 40, 51).
However Wang does not disclose wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated in a running process of the AI processor, the intermediate data comprising data generated at network nodes in a neural network run by the AI processor.
Kartsaklis discloses wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store intermediate data generated in a running process of the AI processor, the intermediate data comprising data generated at network nodes in a neural network run by the AI processor (paragraph 13, 24, 26-27, 59-61, 72, 79-80; on-chip cache 252 of the SOC 250 is configured to store output data from each node as intermediate data generated from intermediate layer of the NN (running process); neural processor 256 (AI processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Kartsaklis to provide storing of intermediate node data on the on-chip memory.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide faster and efficient transfer of neural network data generated at the nodes by splitting the processing of neural network nodes into multiple parallel operations that process a smaller size of data which can be easily stored in fast on-chip memory instead of using slower DRAM memories (paragraph 13-14).
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 14. Further Wang discloses an non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when being executed by at least one processor in a system on chip, the computer program being used to implement a method (paragraph 104, 127, 133; CPU executing program instructions together with memory 230 storing program instructions to implement method).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis further in view US 20180137603 to Hsiao.
Regarding claim 2, Wang does not disclose the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the ISP is further configured to: perform second image signal processing on the second image signal to obtain an image processing result.
Hsiao discloses wherein the ISP is further configured to: perform second image signal processing on the second image signal to obtain an image processing result (paragraph 33-34; image processor 36 receives post-processing data from CNN 35 as second image signal and processes (second image signal processing) this data to generate forward prediction high resolution frame (image processing result)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Hsiao to provide ISP that performs additional image processing on AI processed data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide cooperative image processing of image data such that encoding/decoding ISP processing can be processed separately from the processing of the AI processor that processes the resolution of the image such that high quality image of high resolution can be output (paragraph 7, 26-28).
Regarding claim 3, Hsiao discloses the system on chip according to claim 1 wherein the third image signal processing comprises a plurality of processing processes, and in two adjacent processing processes in the plurality of processing processes (paragraph 20, third signal processing includes decoder 32 and encoder 38 as adjacent processes), a previous processing process is used to generate a third image signal, and a next processing process is used to process a fourth image signal (paragraph 25-26, 28; decoder 32 (previous processing) generates decoded data (third image) and encoder 38 (next processing) encodes received super-resolution frame (fourth image)); and
the AI processor is further configured to perform fourth image signal processing on the third image signal to obtain the fourth image signal (paragraph 26-27; convolutional neural network module 35 (AI processor) performs “super-resolution reconstruction image processing” (fourth image signal processing) on decoded data (third image) to obtain super-resolution image (fourth image)).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the system on chip according to claim 2 wherein the second image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: noise cancellation, black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, demosaicing, color difference calibration, gamma calibration, or RGB-to- YUV domain conversion (paragraph 263; chip 200 performs noise reduction).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis in view of US 20190320127 to Buckler.
Regarding claim 4, Wang does not disclose the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the first image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: noise cancellation, black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, demosaicing, color difference calibration, or gamma calibration.
Buckler discloses wherein the first image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: noise cancellation, black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, demosaicing, color difference calibration, or gamma calibration (paragraph 34; AI processor performs first image signal processing such as demosaicing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Buckler to provide first image processing including demosaicing.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide efficient and power saving system for image processing for computer vision mode executed by AI processors by generating image data of lower quality that is sufficient for machine vision without generating high quality image that requires a lot of processing (paragraph 21).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis further in view US 20180137603 to Hsiao further in view of US 20190320127 to Buckler.
Regarding claim 7, Wang does not disclose the electronic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the fourth image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, demosaicing, or color difference calibration.
Buckler discloses wherein the fourth image signal processing comprises at least one of the following processing processes: black level calibration, shadow calibration, white balance calibration, demosaicing, or color difference calibration (paragraph 37, 44; AI processor executes fourth image processing in step 218 including demosaicing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Buckler to provide first image processing including demosaicing.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide efficient and power saving system for image processing for computer vision mode executed by AI processors by generating image data of lower quality that is sufficient for machine vision without generating high quality image that requires a lot of processing (paragraph 21).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis further in view of US 20210295145 to Bayat.
Regarding claim 12, Wang does not disclose the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store weight data of each network node in a neural network run by the AI processor.
Bayat discloses wherein the on-chip memory is further configured to store weight data of each network node in a neural network run by the AI processor (paragraph 19, 53, 61; on-chip memory stores weight of the layer (nodes) of neural network (accelerator processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Bayat to provide on-chip storage of node weights.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide reduction in cost that is associated with having the node weights in an external memory by placing the node weights in on-chip memory (paragraph 61).
Claim(s) 13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230086519 to Wang in view of US 20200402263 to Larson further in view of US 20200380375 to Kartsaklis further in view of US 20200160494 to Hwang.
Regarding claim 13, Wang does not disclose the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein an interrupt signal is transmitted between the AI processor and the ISP through an electronic line connection.
Hwang discloses wherein an interrupt signal is transmitted between the AI processor and the ISP (paragraph 113, 157; interrupt request between image processor (processor 120) and neural network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Wang as taught by Hwang to provide interrupt signals between AI processor and ISP device.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide manual interruption of image processing via user request to stop processing in the neural network (paragraph 113).
Although Hwang does not disclose “through an electronic line connection”, Examiner is taking official notice that electronic line connection are inherent to all electronic devices
Regarding claim 16, Hwang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, wherein the AI processor is further configured to run one or more image processing models to perform the first image signal processing (paragraph 71, 151; processor 120 (AI) performs image processing using neural network that is trained model).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang discloses the system on chip according to claim 16, wherein the AI processor is further configured to load an executable program in an off-chip memory to run the one or more image processing models (paragraph 148-151, 159, 168; processor 120 including 1410/1420 on a chip and it loads program from memory 130 which is off chip as shown in Fig. 14; program is used to execute the models for image processing).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit (paragraph 182; communication interface 1750).
Regarding claim 19, Hwang discloses the system on chip according to claim 18, wherein the communication unit comprises at least one of: a short-distance communication unit or a cellular communication unit (paragraph 182; Bluetooth network 1752 (short distance)).
Regarding claim 20, Hwang discloses the system on chip according to claim 1, further comprising a graphics processing unit (GPU) (paragraph 168; GPU).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
09/24/2026