DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 14, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Mutschler et al (US 20100075269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mutschler discloses a dental aligner (best seen as 32 in figure 4; partially seen in figure 5a) for use in orthodontic treatment of a patient comprising:
a hollow shell (side of hollow shell seen as 120/122 in figures 5a-5b) having a buccal sidewall, an occlusal wall, and a lingual sidewall (best seen in figure 4), and defining a plurality of cavities to receive respective ones of the patient's teeth, the sidewalls defining a gingival edge that forms an opening in the hollow shell (best seen in figure 4),
wherein at least one of the sidewalls includes an integral protrusion 122 (figure 5a-5b) (i) having an internal surface and an external surface (figure 5b), (ii) being spaced apart from the gingival edge (figure 5b), and (iii) being shaped so as to space the internal surface apart from the patient's tooth when the patient wears the dental aligner (figure 5b), and
wherein the internal surface of the integral protrusion at least partially defines one cavity of the plurality of cavities (figure 5b), and
wherein the integral protrusion lacks penetrations through the at least one of the sidewalls (figure 5b); and
an add-on hook 124 or 148 (figures 5a-7) including a projection (at least a portion of 140a or tubular portion disclosed in paragraph 0051; alternatively, arms 154/156; note that a “hook” is defined as a “a…bent device for catching, holding, or pulling” or “something…bent like a hook”; wherein the disclosed elements are bent/angled so as to be able to catch/hold something; alternatively, paragraph 0059 discloses the clip having a tubular member receiving spring clip 324 which is seen to have a hook element in figure 21; also see figures 22-23 showing alternative mounting portions with projections and hooks), the add-on hook being on the external surface of the integral protrusion so that the projection is spaced apart from the at least one of the sidewalls and defines a recess between the projection and the at least one of the sidewalls, the recess being configured to receive an elastic member (any of disclosed structures set forth above are of a shape that would allow them to receive an elastic member and spaced from sidewall; 154 is behind 156 and would necessarily be spaced from sidewall; at least a portion of 140a may serve as a “projection” that forms part of tube and would necessarily be distanced from sidewall; figures 21-23 show hooks that would necessarily be spaced from sidewall due to size and shape).
Regarding claim 9, the integral protrusion a dental attachment that is secured to the patient's tooth when the patient wears the aligner (cavity near 122 able to accept an attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, the projection (326 and/or 327) comprises a retention bump (see bump at end of 326 and 327) extending into the recess that is configured to retain the elastic member in the recess (of a shape that would assist in retaining an elastic in recess).
Regarding claim 11, the projection 338 is curved concavely relative to the sidewall (see concavely curved portions near “338” in figure 23).
Regarding claim 12, when an elastic member is secured in the recess, the aligner is configured to apply a greater repositioning force than the aligner alone to the respective ones of patient's teeth or the patient's jaw (inherent given that an elastic would provide additional forces)
Regarding claim 20, the projection extends gingivally (extends in a gingival direction/has an extension in a gingival direction).
Regarding claim 14, Mutschler discloses a dental assembly comprising the aligner of claim 1 (as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above; wherein the clip includes the tubular member 320 of figure 21 and the portion of 320 with the opening forms a projection, projecting from the bottom surface of the tube and forms the recess within the tube, the recess being located between the projection and the sidewall, with wall 322 being therebetween) further comprising:
an elastic member 324 that is configured to be secured in the recess (paragraph 0059; “spring clip” necessarily is elastic and serves as an “elastic member”).
Regarding claim 16, the elastic member 324 comprises a hook (see bent shaped portion at end of 326) that attaches the elastic member to the recess.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo et al (US 20110269092 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo discloses a dental aligner (best seen as 10/30 in figures 1-3; figure 8A-8B cited to) for use in orthodontic treatment of a patient comprising:
a hollow shell having a buccal sidewall, an occlusal wall, and a lingual sidewall, and defining a plurality of cavities to receive respective ones of the patient's teeth, the sidewalls defining a gingival edge that forms an opening in the hollow shell (figures 1-3 and 8A-8B),
wherein at least one of the sidewalls includes an integral protrusion (sidewall near “62” in figure 8B is in the form of a protrusion that generally follows the contour of the tooth 28) (i) having an internal surface and an external surface (figure 8B), (ii) being spaced apart from the gingival edge (figure 8B), and (iii) being shaped so as to space the internal surface apart from the patient's tooth when the patient wears the dental aligner (see space in figure 8B; additionally, this is a functional limitation and the tooth is not claimed as part of the claimed invention; the device may be used on a patient with an erupting tooth, smaller tooth or tooth otherwise shaped so as to be spaced from internal surface of protrusion), and
wherein the internal surface of the integral protrusion at least partially defines one cavity of the plurality of cavities (figure 8B), and
wherein the integral protrusion lacks penetrations through the at least one of the sidewalls (figure 8B); and
an add-on hook 62 (hook for adding on another element, such as an elastic) including a projection (projection of hook 62), the add-on hook being on the external surface of the integral protrusion (figure 8B) so that the projection is spaced apart from the at least one of the sidewalls and defines a recess between the projection and the at least one of the sidewalls, the recess being configured to receive an elastic member 32 (figure 8B).
Regarding claim 9, the integral protrusion a dental attachment that is secured to the patient's tooth when the patient wears the aligner (able to accept an attachment as claimed such as adhesive liner or other sized element able to be situated in space).
Regarding claim 11, the projection 62 is curved concavely relative to the sidewall (figure 8B)
Regarding claim 12, when an elastic member is secured in the recess, the aligner is configured to apply a greater repositioning force than the aligner alone to the respective ones of patient's teeth or the patient's jaw (inherent given that an elastic would provide additional forces)
Regarding claim 20, the projection extends gingivally (figure 8B; extends from projection in gingival direction).
Regarding claim 14, Kuo discloses a dental assembly comprising the aligner of claim 1 (as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above; further comprising:
an elastic member 32 that is configured to be secured in the recess (figure 8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo and in view of Phan et al (US 20020192617 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kuo discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Kuo is silent regarding the add-on hook is a separate component that is adhesively attached to the protrusion. Phan teaches an add-on hook 16 (figure 25) that is a separate component that is adhesively attached to an aligner 10 (figure 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have the hook be a separate component that is adhesively attached to the protrusion, as taught by Phan, for the purpose of allowing separate manufacture of the hook and attachment to a desired aligner.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo and in view of Cam et al (US 20190000593 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kuo discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Kuo is silent regarding the add-on hook is a separate component that is adhesively attached or welded to the protrusion. Cam teaches an attachment to an aligner, wherein the attachment is adhesively attached or welded to the aligner (paragraph 0134). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kuo, by having the hook/attachment be separate and adhesively attached or welded to the protrusion, as taught by Cam, for the purpose of allowing separate manufacture of the hook and attachment to a desired aligner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772