Status under America Invents Act
Acknowledgment of Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan (EP 3335665).
In regard to claim 1, Khan discloses a dental aligner comprised of a hollow shell 2 having buccal, lingual and occlusal walls and defining a plurality of cavities for receiving a patient’s teeth (noteFigure 7). One of the Khan aligner sidewalls includes an integral protrusion 3 having internal and external surfaces spaced from the gingival edge and shaped to space the internal surface from the patient’s tooth (note annotated Figure 9A below). The space is formed in part of a tooth receiving cavity. Khan further discloses an add-on hook 4 having a projection (annotated Figure 9A) that defines a recess and is capable of receiving an elastic member (e.g. a rubber band).
In regard to claim 9, the Khan integral protrusion is capable of engaging with a dental attachment on the patient’s tooth. In regard to claim 20, the Khan projection extends gingivally as in the annotated Figure.
Claims 1, 9, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilliard (US 2006/0188834).
In regard to claim 1, Hilliard discloses a dental aligner comprised of a hollow shell 20 with lingual, occlusal and buccal walls that defines a plurality for receiving a patient’s teeth 10 (note Figure 1). At least one of the sidewalls includes an integral protrusion 23 having internal and external surfaces wherein the internal surface is shaped to provide a space apart from the patient’s teeth (note annotated Figures 9 and 10 below). The space at least partially defines one of the tooth receiving cavities. Hilliard further discloses an add-on hook 52 on the external surface of the protrusion having a projection that is spaced apart from the sidewall defining a recess as indicated below in the annotated Figures.
In regard to claim 9, the Hilliard integral protrusion is capable of engaging with a dental attachment on the patient’s tooth. In regard to claims 12 and 14, Hilliard in the last sentence of paragraph [0046] indicates that the hook 52 is used to secure an elastic member. In regard to claim 20, the Hilliard projection is curved concavely relative to the sidewall as in the annotated Figure.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilliard (US 2006/0188834).
Hilliard indicates that the add-on hook member 52 is a separate member that is secured to the aligner, but does not disclose the claimed adhesive or welded attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art, however, would have readily found it obvious to have used a conventional prior art adhesive or weld to secure the add-on hook member 52 in order to ensure that it does not separate from the aligner during use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilliard (US 2006/0188834) in view of Zhuang et al (US 2022/0202533).
Zhuang et al for an add-on hook member 1 that is attached to a dental aligner 3 similar to that of Hilliard et al teach that it is desirable to form the hook member with a bulbous end member that forms a retention bump that helps to secure the member that is attached to the hook. To have formed the Hilliard et al add-on hook member with a bulbous end that acts as a retention member to help secure the attached elastic member would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teaching by Zhuang et al before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilliard (US 2006/0188834) in view of Hanson (US 5,120,218).
Hanson teaches that it is old and well known in the prior art to provide orthodontic elastic tension members with a hook 34 for attachment to the orthodontic appliance. To have provided the Hilliard elastic member referred to in the last sentence of paragraph [0046] with a common prior art hook as taught by example by Hanson would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
The examiner is in general agreement with applicant’s amendment and remarks presented 3/18/2026 in overcoming the rejections based on Hilliard (US 6,702,575) and Hanson (US 5,120,218), but note that the claims are of such breadth that they do not distinguish the claimed invention from other prior references as those applied above.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712