DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on February 11, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1-6, 8-10, and 12-13 are amended.
Claim 18 is cancelled.
Claim 19 is new.
Claims 1-17 and 19 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santhalingam (ACM Interact, 2020) in view of Omer (US 2019/034409 A1) and Lyren (US 2015/0091780 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Santhalingam teaches an information processing system [page 26:3, last paragraph for 60 GHZ mmWave],
an information processing device configured to use radio waves to sense an action of a user who manually operates a device connected to the information processing device via a network, the information processing device including [page 26.6 and Section 3.1 for using signal processing with FPGA and DMA for recognizing user gestures over a transmit and receive network]:
the information processing system comprising [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs]:
one or more processors [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs];
and a memory storing a computer-readable program having instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute a process [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, last two paragraphs],
the process including acquiring a state of radio waves in an area where a device is installed [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:16, first two paragraphs for a conference room area for installation];
receiving notification information from the device, the notification information indicating that one of the predetermined events has been detected in the device [page 26:3 first two paragraphs for detecting user’s intent to initiate conversation or walking in the room (event) also page 26:5, last paragraph];
determining whether the one of the predetermined events has occurred based on a state of radio waves acquired by using a frequency band corresponding to the one of the predetermined events after receiving the notification information and on a state of radio waves acquired during a predetermined period before receiving the notification information [page 26:9, section 3.4 for using CNN based mode to determine the sector where the use is location and recognizing signs also page 26:24, first paragraph for capturing both sign and interfering (irrelevant) motions];
and in response to determining that the one of the predetermined events has occurred
notifying the device that one of the predetermined events is determine [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:10 first two paragraphs].
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to predetermined events in the device.
Omer has a motion detection system detects gestures (abstract) and teaches receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to predetermined events in the device [0033 for frequency range in Hz for human gestures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the frequency range as taught by Omer for the purpose to detect a time-frequency signature of the gesture (Omer, 0033).
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device after receiving an initial manual operation of the device by the user.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device [0067-0069 proceed to next sequence when task is performed correctly].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
Regarding Claim 2, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes: storing a machine learning model, the machine learning model being trained by machine learning with the detection of the one of the predetermined events by the device and the state of radio waves during the predetermined period before the one of the predetermined events, as training data [page 26:9 Section 3.4 for using machine learning models to recognize wake word gesture, page 26:13, Section 5.2];
and determining whether the one of the predetermined events has occurred at the device, based on the acquired state of radio waves and the machine learning model [page 26:12, first two paragraphs].
Regarding Claim 3, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes: training the machine learning model to learn the state of radio waves during the predetermined period by using the detection of the one of the predetermined event by the device as training data [page 26:12, first two paragraphs].
Regarding Claim 4, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes: in response to determining that the one of the predetermined events has occurred at the device, by the machine learning model, notifying the device that the one of the predetermined events has occurred [page 26:9 first paragraph for scanning for a wake-word (notification) and determining the sector the user is in with deep learning model].
Regarding Claim 5, Santhalingam teaches in response to receiving the notification that the one of the predetermined events has occurred, the device performs processing corresponding to the one of the predetermined events [page 26:9 first paragraph for scanning for a wake-word (notification) and determining the sector the user is in and page 26:10 first paragraph].
Regarding Claim 6, Santhalingam teaches the predetermined events include trial and error in operating the device by the user.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the predetermined event includes trial and error in operating the device by the user [0146-0150].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to provide instructions to a wearable electronic device for how to cure an error with an electronic device (Lyren, 0146).
Regarding Claim 7, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes: performing radio communication with one or more devices, wherein the state of radio waves includes channel state information acquired by the radio communication [page 26:2 second paragraph for using channel state information, with page 26:5, last paragraph].
Regarding Claim 8, Santhalingam teaches the radio communication is performed in a plurality of frequency bands [page 26:9, figure 5],
inputting the channel state information acquired by the radio communication in the frequency band into the stored machine learning model to determine that the user has performed a predetermined action [page 26:2 second paragraph for using channel state information, amd page 26:10 last paragraph].
Regarding Claim 9, Santhalingam teaches an information processing device configured to use radio waves to sense an action of a user manually who operates a device [page 26:3, last paragraph for 60 GHZ mmWave],
connected to the information processing device via a network [page 26:14 first two paragraphs]
the information processing device comprising [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs]:
one or more processors [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs];
and a memory storing a computer-readable program having instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute a process [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, last two paragraphs],
the process including acquiring a state of radio waves in an area where a device is installed [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:16, first two paragraphs for a conference room area for installation];
receiving notification information from the device, the notification information indicating that a one of the predetermined events has been detected [page 26:3 first two paragraphs for detecting user’s intent to initiate conversation or walking in the room];
determining whether the one of the predetermined events has occurred based on a state of radio waves acquired by using a frequency band corresponding to the one of the predetermined events after receiving the notification information and on a state of radio waves acquired during a predetermined period before receiving the notification information [page 26:9, section 3.4 for using CNN based mode to determine the sector where the use is location and recognizing signs also page 26:24, first paragraph for capturing both sign and interfering (irrelevant) motions];
and in response to determining that the one of the predetermined events has occurred notifying the device that the one of the predetermined events is determined [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:10 first two paragraphs].
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to the predetermined events in the device.
Omer has a motion detection system detects gestures (abstract) and teaches receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to the predetermined events in the device [0033 for frequency range in Hz for human gestures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the frequency range as taught by Omer for the purpose to detect a time-frequency signature of the gesture (Omer, 0033).
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device after receiving an initial manual operation of the device by the user.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device after receiving an initial manual operation of the device by the user [0067-0069],
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
Regarding Claim 10, Santhalingam teaches an information processing method used in an information processing system [page 26:3, last paragraph for 60 GHZ mmWave],
Including an information processing device [page 26:6 and section 3.1 for using commands from the user and a FPGA and DMA]
the information processing system being configured to use radio waves to sense an action of a user manually who operates a device [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs],
and having one or more processors and a memory storing a computer-readable program having instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, last two paragraphs],
cause the one or more processors to execute the information processing method [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs],
the information processing method comprising: acquiring a state of radio waves in an area where the device is installed [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:16, first two paragraphs for a conference room area for installation];
receiving notification information from the device, the notification information indicating that a one of the predetermined events has been detected in the device [page 26:3 first two paragraphs for detecting user’s intent to initiate conversation or walking in the room];
determining whether the one of the predetermined events has occurred based on a state of radio waves acquired by using a frequency band corresponding to the one of the predetermined events after receiving the notification information and on a state of radio waves acquired during a predetermined period before receiving the notification information [page 26:9, section 3.4 for using CNN based mode to determine the sector where the use is location and recognizing signs also page 26:24, first paragraph for capturing both sign and interfering (irrelevant) motions];
and in response to determining that the one of the predetermined events has occurred, notifying the device of that occurrence of the one of the predetermined events in the device is determined [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:10 first two paragraphs].
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to the predetermined events in the device.
Omer has a motion detection system detects gestures (abstract) and teaches receiving, from the device, frequency bands set in advance by the device corresponding to the predetermined events in the device [0033 for frequency range in Hz for human gestures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the frequency range as taught by Omer for the purpose to detect a time-frequency signature of the gesture (Omer, 0033).
Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device, after receiving an initial manual operation of the device by the user.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and the one of the predetermined events being a state of the action of the user with respect to an irrelevant motion without performing a manual operation of the device or an incorrect manual operation of the device, after receiving an initial manual operation of the device by the user [0067-0069].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
Regarding Claim 11, Santhalingam teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program having instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a computer in an information processing system, causes the computer to perform the information processing method [page 26:3, first three paragraphs and page 26:6, 2nd-3rd paragraphs].
Regarding Claim 12, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes determining that the one of the predetermined events has occurred at the device in response to detecting a predetermined number of times of the change [page 26:19 figure 17 and first paragraph for learning wake word gesture (predetermined event)].
Regarding Claim 13, Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach the device operated by the user is an image forming device, and the predetermined events include opening or closing a paper feed tray in the image forming device.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the device operated by the user is an image forming device, and the predetermined event includes opening or closing a paper feed tray in the image forming device [0067-0069].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
Regarding Claim 14, Santhalingam teaches a state of the radio waves includes channel state information, and the process further includes: associating the action of the user to be detected with an operation of the device [page 26:2, second paragraph for determine user pose and monitoring user];
and train the machine learning model using the channel state information, before the operation of the device is performed, as truth data [page 26:2, second paragraph].
Regarding Claim 15, Santhalingam teaches the device displays a display element for leading to an operation manual of the device on an operation panel of the device in response to receiving a notification that the trial and error by the user has occurred.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the device displays a display element for leading to an operation manual of the device on an operation panel of the device in response to receiving a notification that the trial and error by the user has occurred [0067-0069].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
.
Regarding Claim 16, Santhalingam teaches a state of the radio waves includes channel state information, and the process further includes setting a most frequent channel state information identified for each sensing direction as a reference state used for sensing the action of the user [page 26:2, second paragraph for determine user pose and monitoring user].
Regarding Claim 17, Santhalingam teaches the process further includes setting the most frequent channel state information at a predetermined setting time as the reference state [page 26:2, second paragraph for using machine learning and channel state information, and page 26:5 last paragraph].
Regarding Claim 19, Santhalingam fails to explicitly teach the device includes an operation panel, the device transmits, to the information processing device, the notification information indicating that the one of the predetermined events has been detected as an mis-operation, in response to the action of the user that is an operation to return to a previous screen on the operation panel or an operation to display a predetermined screen a predetermined number of times after receiving an initial manual operation of the operation panel by the user, and the information processing device determines that the one of the predetermined events has occurred as the mis-operation based on the state of radio waves acquired by using a frequency band corresponding to the one of the predetermined events after receiving the notification information and on the state of radio waves acquired during a predetermined period before receiving the notification information, and notifies the device that the one of the predetermined events is determined.
Lyren has a method detects a real object with a wearable electronic device and displays a virtual image of the real object (abstract) and teaches the device includes an operation panel [0067 for a printer (panel is well known in the art)],
the device transmits, to the information processing device, the notification information indicating that the one of the predetermined events has been detected as an mis-operation [0067 for a paper am],
in response to the action of the user that is an operation to return to a previous screen on the operation panel or an operation to display a predetermined screen a predetermined number of times after receiving an initial manual operation of the operation panel by the user [0067 for providing instructions in field of view of user],
and the information processing device determines that the one of the predetermined events has occurred as the mis-operation based on the state of radio waves acquired by using a frequency band corresponding to the one of the predetermined events after receiving the notification information and on the state of radio waves acquired during a predetermined period before receiving the notification information [0067, 0155],
and notifies the device that the one of the predetermined events is determined [0067-0069].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensor determining position techniques, as disclosed by Santhalingam, further including the printer jam as taught by Lyren for the purpose to shows operation of a series of steps to fix the paper jam (Lyren, 0067).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 9, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Santhalingam does not teach distinct frequency bands. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Omer teaching having specific frequency bands in Hz corresponding to gestures (user actions) [Omer, 0033].
On page 9, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Santhalingam does not teach determining predetermined events occurred based on a state of radio waves. The examiner respectfully Santhalingam teaches using high frequency components (state of radio waves) to determine the speed of the movements (events) [Santhalingam, page 26:8, second paragraph].
On page 10, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that new claim 19 is not taught in present references. The examiner respectfully Lyren teaches detecting the user with paper jams and ink changes and giving the user instructions in the user’s field of view to fix the printer [Lyren, 0067, 0155].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648