DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 11/19/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US Patent 9350241). Regarding claim 20, Chang discloses (see fig. 3-4) a method comprising: determining an on-time of a power converter based on an output voltage of the power converter ([Column 4, 25-26] FB) and a first reference voltage ([Column 4, 26-29] VREF); determining an offset interval (see fig. 4) responsive to a difference a bias voltage ([Column 5, 61-63] BST) and a second reference voltage ([Column 5, 63-65] 3412 Vt); within the on-time (see fig. 4) and the offset interval (see fig. 4), connecting a switching terminal ([Column 3, 66-67, Column 4, 1-2] BST) of the power converter to a capacitor ([Column 3, 38-42] Cboot), and disconnecting the switching terminal ([Column 3, 66-67, Column 4, 1-2] BST) from a ground terminal (GND), to generate the bias voltage ([Column 3, 66-67, Column 4, 1-2] BST) across the capacitor ([Column 3, 38-42] Cboot); and within the on-time (see fig. 4) and outside the offset interval (see fig. 4), connecting the switching terminal ([Column 3, 66-67, Column 4, 1-2] BST) to the ground terminal (GND). Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses (see fig. 3-4) that the offset interval (see fig. 4) is with respect to a start of the on-time ([Column 4,37-50] 3311). Regarding claim 22, Chang discloses (see fig. 3-4) that the offset interval (see fig. 4) is with respect to an end of the on-time ([Column 4,37-50] 3311).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 and 23-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to teach or disclose an apparatus comprising: a first rectifying device coupled between the current terminal and a first bias terminal: a second rectifying device coupled between the first bias terminal and a second bias terminal… a second driver circuit having a second driver bias terminal, a second driver reference terminal, a second driver input, and a second driver output, the second driver bias terminal coupled to the second bias terminal, and the second driver reference terminal coupled to the current terminal; and a control circuit having first and second inputs and first and second control outputs the first input coupled to the first bias terminal, the second input coupled to a second reference terminal, the first control output coupled to the first driver input, and the second control output coupled to the second driver input, in combination with all the limitations set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or disclose an apparatus comprising: a first rectifying device coupled between the current terminal and a first bias terminal; a second rectifying device coupled between the first bias terminal and a second bias terminal… a second driver circuit having a second driver bias terminal, a second driver reference terminal, a second driver input, and a second driver output, the second driver bias terminal coupled to the first bias terminal, the second driver reference terminal coupled to the ground terminal, and the second driver output coupled to the second control terminal; and a control circuit having first and second inputs and first and second control outputs, the first input coupled to the first bias terminal, the second input coupled to a reference terminal, the first control output coupled to the first driver input, and the second control output coupled to the second driver input, in combination with all the limitations set forth in claim 13. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 20, the applicant argues that “As for claim 20, the Office has not shown that Chang describes that the BST terminal (the alleged switching terminal) is connected to the ground terminal during the on-time of a power converter. In contrast, claim 20 recites “within the on-time and outside the offset interval, connecting the switching terminal to the ground terminal.” For at least these reasons, claim 20 is also not anticipated by Chang. Moreover, USPTO’s burden of factually supporting a prima facie case of obviousness has not been met. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the Office withdraw the § 102 rejection and allow the claims.”. The examiner does not agree with the applicant’s arguments regarding the Chang reference. When 32 is closed, the BST node is connected to the reference ground. Therefore, Chang does disclose (see fig. 3-4) a method comprising: within the on-time (see fig. 4) and outside the offset interval (see fig. 4), connecting the switching terminal ([Column 3, 66-67, Column 4, 1-2] BST) to the ground terminal (GND).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838