DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the rotating body defines a ramp surface, and the ramp surface is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of the first and second valve element toward each other” (claim 3 and 20) and “an end of the rotating body is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements toward each other” (cl 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The “valve extension portion” has been defined as element 132 [0037, Fig 5]. The ramp surface is 118 [0041]. The drawing fails to show the rotating body having a ramp surface or an “end” of the rotating body configured to contact the valve extension portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3544060 (Stoltz).
Regarding claim 1-7, 19-26, Stoltz teaches a fluid clamp (Fig 13-19), comprising: a clamp body (73); a first and second valve element at least partially disposed within the clamp body (with jaw members 81 and valve extension portions annotated below; first valve element on the left, second valve element on the right), wherein each valve element comprises: a valve extension portion (annotated below); and a valve end portion extending from the valve extension portion (81); wherein the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements are disposed opposite to each other and configured to allow a tubing to pass between the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements (tubing 11 between the end portions); and a rotating body rotatably coupled to the clamp body (rotating body 71), wherein the rotating body is configured to rotate and move the valve end portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements inward to compress the tubing and reduce the flow rate through the tubing and outward to release the tubing and increase the flow rate through the tubing (col 4 l. 21-42; rotation in one direction would constrict the tubing and rotation in the other direction would open the tubing, thereby adjusting the flow rate through the tubing), the rotating body is in threaded coupling with the clamp body (col 4 l. 21-42), the rotating body defines a ramp surface, and the ramp surface is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of the first and second valve element toward each other (ramp surface 79), wherein an upper end of the rotating body is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements toward each other (an “upper end of the rotating body” is construed as including the ramp surface), an outer surface of the rotating body defines one or more grooves (grooves construed as the grooves of the threaded portion 75 on an outer surface of 71); the clamp body comprises a shroud disposed at least partially around the rotating body (shroud annotated below, and may also include 85); wherein the shroud defines a circumferential opening (annotated below), wherein the clamp body defines threads (annotated below), wherein the threads are disposed around the valve extension portions (annotated below), wherein each of the valve extension portions are biasing members (col 4 l. 21-42; valve extension portions are biased outwards such that the tubing is open until the ramp surface of the rotating body pushes against the bias to close the valve elements), wherein each of the valve end portions are wedge shaped (Fig 19; end portions 81 are tapered – e.g. wedge shaped – towards the tubing),
Regarding claim 19-20, Stoltz teaches a fluid clamp (Fig 7-11), comprising: a clamp body (65, 63); a first and second valve element (annotated below), wherein each valve element comprises: a valve extension portion (annotated below); and a valve end portion extending from the valve extension portion (annotated below); wherein the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements are disposed opposite to each other and configured to allow a tubing to pass between the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements (Fig 10-11; tubing 11 between the end portions); and a rotating body rotatably coupled to the clamp body (rotating body 51, 55), wherein rotation of the rotating body configured to move the valve end portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements inward to compress the tubing and reduce the flow rate through the tubing and outward to release the tubing and increase the flow rate through the tubing (col 3 l. 66-col 4 l. 20; rotation in one direction would constrict the tubing and rotation in the other direction would open the tubing, thereby adjusting the flow rate through the tubing), the rotating body is in threaded coupling with the clamp body (via threading 57, 65), the rotating body defines a ramp surface, and the ramp surface is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of the first and second valve element toward each other (annotated below; ramp surface 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3544060 (Stoltz) in view of US 4456030 (Bogossian).
Regarding claim 24, Stoltz teaches the valve end portions being wedge shaped. However, even if Stoltz did not teach the end portions being wedge shaped, Bogossian teaches wedge-shaped end portions (Fig 2-3; wedge shaped clamping members 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the valve end portions being wedge shaped, as taught by Bogossian. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, the valve end portions being wedge shaped yields predictable results (closing the tube).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the drawing amendments, Examiner notes that it is unclear what changes were made to the drawings. The drawings remain objected to for the reasons presented above.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references are not understood to disclose or teach each and every feature of independent Claim 19, particularly with regard to the features of ‘a clamp body,’ ‘a first and second valve element,’ and ‘a rotating body rotatably coupled to the clamp body.’”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Stoltz teaches each of the elements, as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741