DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 and Group I without traverse in the reply filed on 11/29/25 is acknowledged. There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the reasons provided in the restriction, including searching valve elements inside the rotating body versus outside the rotating body; or searching valve elements at one location on the tube versus on two locations on the tube; and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention (for example, prior art showing a valve elements at one location on the tube is not likely applicable to the species having two sets of valve elements).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the rotating body defines a ramp surface, and the ramp surface is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of the first and second valve element toward each other” (claim 3 and 20) and “an end of the rotating body is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements toward each other” (cl 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The “valve extension portion” has been defined as element 132 [0037, Fig 5]. The ramp surface is 118 [0041]. The drawing fails to show the rotating body having a ramp surface or an “end” of the rotating body configured to contact the valve extension portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3544060 (Stoltz).
Regarding claim 1-5, 19-20, Stoltz teaches a fluid clamp (Fig 7-11), comprising: a clamp body comprising a first and second valve element (annotated below), wherein each valve element comprises: a valve extension portion (annotated below); and a valve end portion extending from the valve extension portion (annotated below); wherein the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements are disposed opposite to each other to allow a tubing to pass between the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements (Fig 10-11; tubing 11 between the end portions); and a rotating body rotatably coupled to the clamp body (rotating body 51, 55), wherein rotation of the rotating body moves the valve end portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements inward to compress the tubing and reduce the flow rate through the tubing and outward to release the tubing and increase the flow rate through the tubing (col 3 l. 66-col 4 l. 20; rotation in one direction would constrict the tubing and rotation in the other direction would open the tubing, thereby adjusting the flow rate through the tubing), the rotating body is in threaded coupling with the clamp body (via threading 57, 65), the rotating body defines a ramp surface, and the ramp surface is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of the first and second valve element toward each other (annotated below; ramp surface 59), wherein an end of the rotating body is configured to contact and advance the valve extension portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements toward each other (annotated below; an “end of the rotating body” is construed as including the ramp surface), an outer surface of the rotating body defines one or more grooves (gripping portion 55 comprises grooves in between each of the protrusions).
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0168682 (Braga).
Regarding claim 1, 6-7, 19, Braga teaches a fluid clamp (Fig 5-7), comprising: a clamp body comprising a first and second valve element (annotated below), wherein each valve element comprises: a valve extension portion (annotated below); and a valve end portion extending from the valve extension portion (annotated below); wherein the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements are disposed opposite to each other to allow a tubing to pass between the valve end portion of the first and second valve elements (Fig 6-7; tubing 410 between the end portions); and a rotating body rotatably coupled to the clamp body (rotating body 436), wherein rotation of the rotating body moves the valve end portion of at least one of the first and second valve elements inward to compress the tubing and reduce the flow rate through the tubing and outward to release the tubing and increase the flow rate through the tubing (para 49-50; rotation in one direction moves element 404 and would constrict the tubing and rotation in the other direction would open the tubing, thereby adjusting the flow rate through the tubing), the clamp body further comprises a shroud disposed at least partially around the rotating body (shroud is the portion of 406 around the rotating body) the shroud defines a circumferential opening (annotated below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3544060 (Stoltz) in view of US 2011/0048540 (Stroup).
Regarding claim 6-7, Stoltz fails to teach the clamp body further comprises a shroud disposed at least partially around the rotating body, the shroud defines a circumferential opening. However, Stroup teaches a shroud disposed at least partially around a rotating body, the shroud defining a circumferential opening (Fig 65A-66B, para 363-364; shroud 1780’’ comprising a circumferential opening, annotated below; disposed around a rotating body 1740’’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a shroud disposed at least partially around the rotating body, the shroud defines a circumferential opening, as taught by Stroup. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a shroud disposed at least partially around the rotating body, the shroud defines a circumferential opening, yields predictable results (protecting the rotating body).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4687176 teaches a fluid clamp with a rotating body and first and second valve elements, wherein rotation of the rotating body adjusts flow through the tubing.
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741