DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-16 and 21-24 are rejected.
Claims 5 and 14 withdrawn.
Claims 17-20 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knopke et al. (US 2021/0323839) [hereinafter Knopke] in view of Kahana (US 5,637,214).
With respect to claim 1, Knopke discloses a water filter cartridge 110 (fluid filter), as shown in Fig. 7, that can be located in a dispensing apparatus that has a first region in which an unfiltered fluid is located and a second region in which a filtered fluid is collected (see paragraph 0044, filter is to be used with water filter pitcher) having: a housing 112 located to receive the unfiltered fluid from a first region, as shown in Fig. 9, the housing 112 including a wall having an inner surface and a bottom surface that collectively define a chamber 122 (cavity), as shown in Fig. 11, holes 120 (inlet opening) through which unfiltered fluid passes into the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 11, and an outlet opening 126 through which filter fluid passes from the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 6, the housing 112 defining a flow path for fluid passing therethrough between the inlet opening 120 and the outlet opening 126, as shown in Fig. 9; a top cover 118 (top) removably coupled to the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 9, the top 118 including a rim 140 (body) and holes 142 (side portion), as shown in Fig. 11, that extends downwardly from the body 140 and that engages the housing 112 to couple the top 118 to the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 9, the top 118 also including an engagement portion extending downwardly from the body 140, as shown in the figure below, the engagement portion extending farther from the body 140 than a distance that the side portion 142 extends from the body 140, as shown in the figure below; and filter media 124, located therein, as shown in Fig. 9, the filter media 124, being insertable into the cavity 122 when the top 118 is removed from the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 11 (see paragraphs 0038, 0042), wherein when the filter media 124 is located in the housing 112 the engagement portion of the top 118 applies a force on the filter media 124 as shown in Fig. 9 (see paragraphs 0039-0041), the filter media 124 engages the inner surface of the housing wall so that the filter media 124 extends across the flow path and seal laterally across a cross-section of the cavity the housing 12, as shown in Fig. 9, thereby ensuring that fluid passing from the inlet opening 120 to the outlet opening 126 engages the filter media 124, so that at least one contaminant is reduced from the fluid passing through the fluid filter 110, as shown in 9.
Knopke lacks a drapeable container having the filter media and being insertable into the cavity when the top is removed from the housing; and the drapeable container expanding laterally into engagement with the inner surface of the housing wall.
Kahana discloses a water treatment apparatus 10, as shown in Fig. 1, having: a filter assembly 16, as shown in Fig. 7, having a housing 34, as shown in Fig. 2, located to receive the unfiltered fluid from a receptacle 30 (first region), as shown in Fig. 1; a lid 36 (top) removably coupled to the housing 34, as shown in Fig. 7 (see col. 3, lines 22-25); and a filter bag 38 (drapeable container) having a filter media 80 located therein, as shown in Fig. 7, the drapeable container 38 being insertable into the cavity when the top 36 is removed from the housing 34, as shown in Fig. 7 (see col. 3, lines 49-51). Kahana teaches that after prolonged use, the filter assembly 16 is removed from the pitcher insert 14, the lid 36 is removed from the filter housing 34, the drapeable container 38 is removed and replaced with a new drapeable container 38, the lid 36 is replaced on the filter housing 34, and the filter assembly 16 is reinserted into the filter holder 32 in the pitcher insert 14. Thus, there is no need to discard the filter housing 34 and lid 36 when replacing the filter media (see col. 4, lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the filter disclosed by Knopke with a drapeable container having the filter media and being insertable into the cavity when the top is removed from the housing, as taught by Kahana, in order to be able to reuse the filter housing and reducing waste of materials by a user (see col. 4, lines 1-9 of Kahana). With this modification, it is inherent and/or obvious that the drapeable container taught by Kahana expands laterally into engagement with the inner surface of the housing wall of Knopke, as required by claim 1, since Knopke teaches a compressing force from the top 118 (see paragraphs 0039-0041 of Knopke).
With respect to claim 2, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the wall of the housing 112 extends around an inner perimeter of the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 11 of Knopke, and the drapeable container 38 engages the inner surface of the wall around the inner perimeter of the cavity, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana.
With respect to claim 3, Knopke as modified by Kahana lacks wherein the applied force from the engagement portion causes the drapeable container to expand laterally to contact the inner surface of the wall. However, Knopke teaches the engagement portion of the top 18 applies a force on the filter media, as shown in Fig. 3 (see paragraph 0039 of Knopke), and therefore, it would be obvious that with the modification with Kahana, the applied force from the engagement portion causes the drapeable container to expand laterally to contact the inner surface of the wall, since the applied force will be on the drapeable container.
With respect to claim 4, Knopke discloses wherein the engagement portion is substantially ring-shaped, as shown in Figs. 1-11.
With respect to claim 6, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 includes an inner bottom surface, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke, and when the drapeable container 38 is engaged by the engagement member, the drapeable container 38 engages the inner surface of the wall continuously around the cavity to seal the flow path between the inlet opening 120 and the outlet opening 126, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke.
With respect to claim 7, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the drapeable container 38 is formed of at least one wall member made of a porous material, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana, the at least one wall member defining a compartment in which the filter media 80 is located, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana, and the fluid flowing from the inlet opening 52 to the outlet opening 72 flows through the at least one wall member and engages the filter media 80 in the drapeable container 38, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana.
With respect to claim 8, Knopke discloses wherein the housing 112 has an upper end and a lower end opposite the upper end, as shown in Fig. 8, the housing wall extends from the upper end to the lower end and is tapered from the upper end to the lower end, as shown in Fig. 8, and the cavity 122 defined by the inner surface of the wall has a first inner diameter proximate to the upper end and a second inner diameter proximate to the lower end, the first inner diameter being larger than the second inner diameter, as shown in Fig. 9.
With respect to claim 9, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 has an inner bottom surface and at least one projection 132 (post) extending upwardly from the inner bottom surface, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke, and the at least one post 132 is proximate to the outlet opening 126 and engages the drapeable container 38 when the drapeable container 38 is in the cavity to prevent the drapeable container 38 from blocking the outlet opening 126, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke.
With respect to claim 10, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 includes four spaced apart posts 132 extending upwardly from the inner bottom surface, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke, and each of the posts 132 engages the drapeable container when the drapeable container is in the cavity, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke.
With respect to claim 11, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 has an inner bottom surface with a spacing structure 132 extending upwardly therefrom, as shown in Fig. 9, and the spacing structure 132 engages the drapeable container 38 to prevent it from blocking the outlet opening 126, as shown in Fig. 4 of Knopke.
With respect to claim 12, Knopke discloses a water filter cartridge 110 (fluid filter), as shown in Fig. 7, having: a housing 112 including a wall and a bottom surface defining a cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 11, the housing 112 including an outlet 126 through which fluid can pass, as shown in Fig. 10, the outlet 126 being in communication with the cavity 122, as shown in Figs. 9-10; a top 118 removably coupled to the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 9, one of the housing 112 and the top 118 including an inlet 120 through which fluid can pass, the inlet 120 being in communication with the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 7, the housing 112 defining a flow path between the inlet 120 and the outlet 126, as shown in Fig. 9, the top 118 including a body 140 and a side portion 142 that extends downwardly from the body 140 and that engages the housing 112 to couple the top 118 to the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 7, the top 118 also including an engagement portion extending downwardly from the body 140, as shown in the figure above, the engagement portion extending farther from the body 140 than a distance that the side portion 142 extends from the body 140, as shown in the figure above; and a filter media 124, therein, as shown in Fig. 9, the filter media 124, being disposable in the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 9, the top 118 engaging the filter media 124, when the top 118 is coupled to the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 9, wherein the engagement portion applies a force to the filter media 124 (see paragraphs 0039-0041), so that the filter media 124, extend across the cavity 122 and seal the flow path laterally across a cross-section of the cavity 122 so that fluid entering the inlet 120 engages the filter media 124 before the fluid exits the outlet 126 of the housing 112, as shown in Fig. 9.
Knopke lacks a drapeable pouch containing the filter media therein, the drapeable pouch being disposable in the cavity.
Kahana discloses a water treatment apparatus 10, as shown in Fig. 1, having: a filter assembly 16, as shown in Fig. 7, having a housing 34 located to receive the unfiltered fluid from a receptacle 30 (first region), as shown in Fig. 1; a lid 36 (top) removably coupled to the housing 34, as shown in Fig. 7 (see col. 3, lines 22-25); and a filter bag 38 (drapeable pouch) having a filter media 80 located therein, as shown in Fig. 7, the drapeable pouch 38 being insertable into the cavity when the top 36 is removed from the housing 34, as shown in Fig. 7 (see col. 3, lines 49-51). Kahana teaches that after prolonged use, the filter assembly 16 is removed from the pitcher insert 14, the lid 36 is removed from the filter housing 34, the drapeable pouch 38 is removed and replaced with a new drapeable pouch 38, the lid 36 is replaced on the filter housing 34, and the filter assembly 16 is reinserted into the filter holder 32 in the pitcher insert 14. Thus, there is no need to discard the filter housing 34 and lid 36 when replacing the filter media (see col. 4, lines 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the filter disclosed by Knopke with a drapeable pouch containing the filter media therein, the drapeable pouch being disposable in the cavity, as taught by Kahana, in order to be able to reuse the filter housing and reducing waste of materials by a user (see col. 4, lines 1-9 of Kahana). With this modification, it is obvious that the engagement portion of the top applies a force on the drapeable pouch.
With respect to claim 13, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing wall extends around an inner perimeter of the cavity 122, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke, and the drapeable pouch 38 engages the housing wall around the inner perimeter of the cavity, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana.
With respect to claim 15, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 includes an inner bottom surface and a spacing structure 132 extending upwardly from the inner bottom surface as shown in Fig. 9 of Kopke, and the spacing structure 132 engages the drapeable pouch 38 and prevents the drapeable pouch 38 from blocking the outlet 126 when the drapeable pouch 38 is in the housing 12, as shown in Fig. 7 of Kahana.
With respect to claim 16, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the housing 112 has an upper end and a lower end opposite the upper end, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke, the housing wall is tapered from the upper end to the lower end, as shown in Fig. 8 of Knopke, the cavity 122 has a first inner diameter proximate to the upper end and a second inner diameter proximate to the lower end, and the first inner diameter is larger than the second inner diameter, as shown in Fig. 9 of Knopke.
With respect to claims 21 and 23, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the engagement portion is a substantially circular or ring-shaped wall, as shown in the figure above.
With respect to claims 22 and 24, Knopke as modified by Kahana discloses wherein the wall has a lower surface that contacts the drapeable container/pouch, as shown in the figure above, since with the modification of Knopke with Kahana, the filter media will be in a drapeable container, as taught by Kahana, and the force applied to the top 118 of Knopke will make the wall of the engagement portion of Knopke to contact the drapeable container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 13, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Knopke and Kahana lack the new limitations added to claims 1 and 12: This argument is not persuasive. The combination of Knopke and Kahana teaches the new limitations added to claims 1 and 12, as stated in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773