DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This second non-final action is in response to applicant's arguments of Oct. 2, 2025. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Examiner's response
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Woo (US 20130169612 Al) in view of Katsuyuki (JP 2004-224132A)
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a display system (for vehicle), comprising
a display controller configured to supply display data to the display (Fig. 6);
a display power supply relay configured to switch on and off feeding of electric power to the display (Woo, switch 120, Figs. 1-4 and corresponding paragraphs);
a controller power supply relay configured to switch on and off feeding of electric power to the display controller (Woo, switch 133; Figs. 1-4 and corresponding paragraphs);
an instruction receiver configured to receive instructions for turning on and off the display power supply relay (Woo, [0029] The power-saving power supplier may further include a first receiver to receive a power on/off signal of the load from a remote controller and to receive the power for driving from the charger; [0015] a power supply including a receiver of a remote controller receiver); and
a power supply controller configured to control the display power supply relay and the controller power supply relay (remote controller 2 in Fig. 2, the first switch 120 (relay) that is only on during normal mode and second switch 133 (inside the power-saving supply unit in Fig. 3 ) that is on during normal mode and then controlled to be on/off depending on charging but allows for power to remain being supplied during sleep/standby mode),
wherein the power supply controller switches the controller power supply relay from an OFF state to an ON state at a predetermined point of time and also switches the display power supply relay from an OFF state to an ON state at a point of time of receiving an ON instruction from the instruction receiver, thereby placing the display system in a displaying mode in which feeding of power to both of the display controller and the display is carried out, and in the displaying mode, upon receiving an OFF instruction from the instruction receiver, the power supply controller switches the display power supply relay from the ON state to the OFF state while maintaining the controller power supply relay in the ON state, and thereby places the display system in a sleep mode in which feeding of power to the display is shut off while feeding of power to the display controller is maintained (the first switch 120 (relay) that is only on during normal mode and second switch 133 (inside the power-saving supply unit in Fig. 3 ) that is on during normal mode and then controlled to be on/off depending on charging but allows for power to remain being supplied during sleep/standby mode).
Woo does not explicitly teach but Katsuyuk teaches a display system for vehicle, a display located on an outer face or inside a vehicle cabin of a vehicle (Katsuyuki, liquid crystal display device 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology into Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Woo teaches the power supply controller switches the display power supply relay from the ON state to the OFF state, and thereby places the display system in the sleep mode ( switch from a normal mode to a standby mode, the first switch 120 (relay) from on to off and second switch 133 (inside the power-saving supply unit in Fig. 3 ) on/off depending on charging but allows for power to remain being supplied during sleep/standby mode)).
Woo does not explicitly teach but Katsuyuk teaches when, after detecting switching of an ignition switch of the vehicle from an ON state to an OFF state while in the displaying mode a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the detection( timings of t5, t8, and t9 in Fig. 3 of Katsuyuki ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology into Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption.
In addition, all of the claimed elements (switching display mode (from ON to OFF, from OFF to ON) and trig events, e.g. pressing a button) were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination (switching display modes under known events-- pressing a button on a remote controller, closing/ opening a vehicle door, or switching of an ignition) would have yielded nothing more than predictable results -- trig turning on/off the display).
Regarding claim 3, wherein upon receiving an ON instruction from the instruction receiver while in the sleep mode, the power supply controller switches the display power supply relay from the OFF state to the ON state, and thereby places the display system back in the displaying mode ( switch from to a standby mode to a normal mode upon receiving a signle form a remote controller 2 in Fig. 6, the first switch 120 (relay) from off to on and second switch 133 (inside the power-saving supply unit in Fig. 3 ) on/off depending on charging but allows for power to remain being supplied during sleep/standby mode)).
Regarding claim 4, Woo teaches upon receiving an ON instruction from the instruction receiver while in the sleep mode, the power supply controller switches the display power supply relay from the OFF state to the ON state, and thereby places the display system back in the displaying mode ( switch from standby mode to normal mode, the first switch 120 (relay) from off to on).
Regarding claim 5, Woo teaches the power supply controller switches the controller power supply relay from the ON state to the OFF state ( second switch 133 (inside the power-saving supply unit in Fig. 3 ) on/off depending on charging) when locking of the door is detected by the lock detector.
Woo does not explicitly teach but Katsuyuk teaches further comprising a lock detector configured to detect locking of a door effected by a key of the vehicle and locking of the door is detected by the lock detector ( timings of t5, t8, and t9 in Fig. 3 of Katsuyuki ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology in Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption.
In addition, all of the claimed elements (switching display mode (from ON to OFF, from OFF to ON) and trig events, e.g. pressing a button) were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination (switching display modes under known events-- pressing a button on a remote controller, closing/ opening a vehicle door, or switching of an ignition) would have yielded nothing more than predictable results -- trig turning on/off the display.
Regarding claims 6-8, please look at the rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Woo teaches the power supply controller switches the controller power supply relay from the OFF state to the ON state when unlocking of the door is detected by the unlock detector (switch to normal mode, first switch switched from the OFF state to the ON).
Woo does not explicitly teach but Katsuyuk teaches further comprising an unlock detector configured to detect unlocking of a door effected by a key of the vehicle ( timings of t5, t8, and t9 in Fig. 3 of Katsuyuki ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology in Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption. In addition, all of the claimed elements (switching display mode (from ON to OFF, from OFF to ON) and trig events, e.g. pressing a button) were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination (switching display modes under known events-- pressing a button on a remote controller, closing/ opening a vehicle door, or switching of an ignition) would have yielded nothing more than predictable results -- trig turning on/off the display.
Regarding claims 10-12, please look at the rejection to claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, Woo teaches wherein the instruction receiver is a press button located inside the vehicle cabin of the vehicle, upon detecting pressing of the press button while the display power supply relay is in the OFF state, the power supply controller accepts this pressing as an instruction to turn on the display power supply relay, and upon detecting pressing of the press button while the display power supply relay is in the ON state, the power supply controller accepts this pressing as an instruction to turn off the display power supply relay ( upon pressing a button in a remote controller in 2 in Fig. 6, switch to normal mode, first switch switched from the OFF state to the ON ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology in Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption. In addition, all of the claimed elements (switching display mode (from ON to OFF, from OFF to ON) and trig events, e.g. pressing a button) were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination (switching display modes under known events-- pressing a button on a remote controller, closing/ opening a vehicle door, or switching of an ignition) would have yielded nothing more than predictable results -- trig turning on/off the display.
Regarding claim 14, Woo teaches wherein the instruction receiver is an ignition switch of the vehicle, upon detecting a change in the ignition switch from an OFF state to an ON state, the power supply controller accepts this change as an instruction to turn on the display power supply relay, and upon detecting a change in the ignition switch from the ON state to the OFF state, the power supply controller accepts this change as an instruction to turn off the display power supply relay ( upon pressing a button in a remote controller in 2 in Fig. 6, switch to standby mode, first switch switched from the ON state to the OFF ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine, a power saving display, as taught by Woo, a power saving display for a vehicle, as taught by Katsuyuki, as Katsuyuki and Woo are directed to the same field of endeavor (a power saving display) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established function of utilizing the known display power saving technology in Katsuyuki’s teaching to intelligently control the vehicle display, e. g. minimize battery consumption. In addition, all of the claimed elements (switching display mode (from ON to OFF, from OFF to ON) and trig events, e.g. pressing a button) were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination (switching display modes under known events-- pressing a button on a remote controller, closing/ opening a vehicle door, or switching of an ignition) would have yielded nothing more than predictable results -- trig turning on/off the display.
Conclusion
/JINGLI WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666