DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. It is unclear in lines 2 and 5 of claim 1, what all is encompassed by the limitation of “a photo-aligned group” . T he term “photo-aligned” infers that the group has already been irradiated by light in a certain direction to align the group in said certain direction , in which case, the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, is in an intermediate phase in which the group has already been photo-aligned in the certain direction , which then brings up a question of whether the main chain skeleton of polymer A which has the repeating unit A1 containing the photo-aligned group, is also aligned/photo-aligned in the certain direction , because the group can be a group on a pendant side-chain of polymer A, which, when photo-aligned i n the certain direction, can also mean that only the pendant side-chain is aligned . For the purpose of examination, both interpretations are deemed to be within the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, it is unclear what are all the chemical groups that are encompassed by the limitation. Are these chemical groups limited to the ones that have been directly aligned by photo-irradiation, or also comprise indirectly aligned chemical groups that are aligned by the directly photo-aligned chemical groups? For the purpose of examination, both interpretations are deemed to be within the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation. Claims 2-20 depend on and contain all the subject matter of claim 1, but fail to provide any solutions to the indefinite issue s described above. Clarification and/or amendment accompanied by relevant citation(s) from the specification are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1- 6 , 10, 12-1 5 , 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (Clarivate Analytics English translation of CN-102079876-A) . Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches a composition for forming a photo-alignment film, comprising: a polymer B of Applicant , which has a repeating unit B1 of Applicant containing a cationically polymerizable group (poly-organic siloxane A having epoxy group [0080], repeating unit represented by the formula C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] where X 1 is an epoxy group [0082] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired crosslinking (epoxy compound [0293]), but does not contain a photo-aligned group ( other polyorganosiloxane [0268]); a polymer A of Applicant (light orientating polyorganosiloxane compound having an epoxy group [0140]) which has a repeating unit A1 containing a photo-aligned group of Applicant (cinnamic acid derivative [0140] highly oriented [0052] ) a nd a repeating unit A2 of Applicant containing a cationically polymerizable group ( remaining epoxy group , a mixture [0140]) ; and a thermal acid generator (acid salt … high-temperature decomposition type heat cationic polymerization latent curing accelerator [0288], generation of acid [0031]), for the purpose of providing the desired crosslinking to improve toughness (more firm [0270]) and heat resistance ( [0031]). In addition, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units ( the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above ) where X 1 is an epoxy group ([00 8 2]) which , being hydrophobic, has a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter of less than 10.0 , as disclosed in Applicant ’s specification (Tables 3 and 4 [0253-0254]) , a nd where Y 1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([00 8 7]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter of less than 10.0, for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic ( hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]) . Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant that is taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass , which is within the claimed range of 90% by mass or greater , of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above , in which a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter is expected to be less than 10.0, with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above ) , for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above. Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches that the photo-aligned group contained in the repeating unit A1 of Applicant is a cinnamoyl group (cinnamic acid derivative [0078], light orientation radical preferably having a cinnamic acid structure group [0018]). Regarding claim s 3, 12, Kimura teaches that the cationically polymerizable group of the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is an epoxy group (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] where X 1 is an epoxy group ([0082] in English translation ; formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above). Regarding claim s 4 , 13, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above) where X 1 is an epoxy group ([0082]) which, being hydrophobic, has a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within a range of 16.0 or greater, as disclosed in Applicant ’s specification (Tables 3 and 4 [0253-0254]), and where Y 1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([0087]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within a range of 16.0 or greater, for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic (hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]). Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant , as taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass , which is within the claimed range of greater than 60% , by mass of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above, in which a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter is expected to be within a range of 16.0 or greater , with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above. Regarding claims 5, 14, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above) where X 1 is an epoxy group ([0082] represented by X 1 -2 , 3rd para of page 44 in translation, [0026] of original document ) which, being hydrophobic, has a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or great er, as disclosed in Applicant ’s specification ( Repeating unit B1, Table 3 [ 0253]), and where Y 1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([0087]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or greater , for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic (hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]). Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant , as taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass , which is within the claimed range of 1 0% by mass or greater, of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above, having a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or higher, which contains the claimed range of 2.2 or greater , with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above. Regarding claims 6, 15, Kimura teaches that a content of the polymer B of Applicant (other polyorganosiloxane [0 2 68]) is 100 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polymer A of Applicant (relative to 100 parts by mass of light orientation polyorganosiloxane compound [0268]), which is within the claimed range of greater than 40 parts by mass . Regarding claim s 10, 19, Kimura teaches a photo-alignment film (light orientation sensitivity of the orientation film is good [0051]) which is formed of the composition for forming a photo-alignment film as described above. Claim s 8-9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as applied to claim s 1-6, 10, 12-15, 19 above, and further in view of Nozoe, WO-2019/117082-A1 (US 2020/0004087 is used here as the English translation). Kimura teaches the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, comprising: a polymer A which has a repeating unit A1 containing a photo-aligned group and a repeating unit A2 containing a cationically polymerizable group; and a polymer B which has a repeating unit B1 containing a cationically polymerizable group , but does not contain a photo-aligned group, as described above. In addition, Kimura teaches that instead of the polyorganosiloxane backbone (formula (3) [0081] of original document) , polymer B of Applicant (other polymer [0231]) can have a polyacrylate backbone ([0231]), such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formula e (1) and (5) of Applicant , as evidenced by Nozoe. Nozoe teaches that a polyorganosiloxane backbone (D-2 [0217] shown below on the left ) is replaced by a polyacrylate backbone ((B-4 [0076] shown below on the right) , such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formula e (1) and (5) of Applicant , where R 1 of Applicant = R 5 of Applicant = a hydrogen atom , and L 1 of Applicant = L 5 of Applicant = a divalent linking group, for the purpose of providing the desired improvement in heat resistance ([0253]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have replaced the polyorganosiloxane backbone of the polymer B in the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, of Kimura, with a polyacrylate backbone such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formulae (1) and (5) of Applicant , where R 1 of Applicant = R 5 of Applicant = a hydrogen atom, and L 1 of Applicant = L 5 of Applicant = a divalent linking group, in order to obtain the desired improvement in heat resistance, as taught by Nozoe. Claims 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as applied to claim s 1-6, 10, 12-15, 19 above, and further in view of Sakurai (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-2000238490-A) . Kimura teaches the photo-alignment film formed of the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, as described above. In addition, Kimura teaches an optical laminate comprising the photo-alignment film; and a liquid crystal layer ( organic semiconductor molecule is conjugated compound with conjugated double bond [0332] represented by … liquid crystal [0337-0339]) which is aligned by the photo-alignment film ( orientation of the invention endues anisotropy to the organic semiconductor layer [0316]) . Kimura teach that the liquid crystal layer is a n anisotropic layer (anisotropy [0326]), but fails to teach that it is a light absorption anisotropic layer containing a dichroic substance. However, Kimura teaches that the liquid crystal layer is electrically conductive when aligned (molecule orientation [0007]). Sakurai teaches that an anisotropic layer containing liquid crystal further contains a dichroic substance , for the purpose of providing the desired wavelength light absorption (predetermined wavelength range according to the molecular structure of the … dye is absorbed, last para of page 14), a nd fine-tuning of alignment by electric field (last para of page 14) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have contained a dichroic substance in the anisotropic liquid crystal layer of the optical laminate of Kimura, to obtain a light absorption anisotropic layer, in order to provide the desired wavelength light absorption, and fine-tuning of alignment by electric field, as taught by Sakurai. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 7 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art cited above, fail to fairly teach or suggest, even in view of each other, the feature in which the polymer B has 10% by mass or greater of a repeating unit in which a value of the hydrogen bond element of the Hansen solubility parameter , is within a narrower range of 7.0 or greater and less than 10.0 , because s aid narrower range i s on the high end of the broader range of less than 10.0 of the parent claim 1 . None of the prior art citied above, teach said narrower range , as evidenced by Applicant’s specification which discloses that the epoxy groups all have values that are distinctly below the lower limit of 7.0 (5.3 for B8, to 6.4 for B9, in Table 4 [0254]) , and that only the one group shown below (B11 in Table 4 [0254]) , not taught by the prior art cited above, has a value of the hydrogen bond element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within the narrower range of 7.0 or greater and less than 10.0. Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Sow-Fun Hon whose telephone number is (571)272-1492. The examiner is on a flexible schedule but can usually be reached during a regular workweek between the hours of 10:00 AM and 6:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Aaron Austin, can be reached at (571)272- 8935 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Center ( https://patentcenter.uspto.gov ). Should you have any questions on the Patent Center system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. / Sophie Hon / Sow-Fun Hon Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782