DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
It is unclear in lines 2 and 5 of claim 1, what all is encompassed by the limitation of “a photo-aligned group”.
The term “photo-aligned” infers that the group has already been irradiated by light in a certain direction to align the group in said certain direction, in which case, the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, is in an intermediate phase in which the group has already been photo-aligned in the certain direction, which then brings up a question of whether the main chain skeleton of polymer A which has the repeating unit A1 containing the photo-aligned group, is also aligned/photo-aligned in the certain direction, because the group can be a group on a pendant side-chain of polymer A, which, when photo-aligned in the certain direction, can also mean that only the pendant side-chain is aligned. For the purpose of examination, both interpretations are deemed to be within the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Furthermore, it is unclear what are all the chemical groups that are encompassed by the limitation. Are these chemical groups limited to the ones that have been directly aligned by photo-irradiation, or also comprise indirectly aligned chemical groups that are aligned by the directly photo-aligned chemical groups? For the purpose of examination, both interpretations are deemed to be within the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claims 2-20 depend on and contain all the subject matter of claim 1, but fail to provide any solutions to the indefinite issues described above.
Clarification and/or amendment accompanied by relevant citation(s) from the specification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 12-15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (Clarivate Analytics English translation of CN-102079876-A).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches a composition for forming a photo-alignment film, comprising: a polymer B of Applicant, which has a repeating unit B1 of Applicant containing a cationically polymerizable group (poly-organic siloxane A having epoxy group [0080], repeating unit represented by the formula C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] where X1 is an epoxy group [0082] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired crosslinking (epoxy compound [0293]), but does not contain a photo-aligned group (other polyorganosiloxane [0268]); a polymer A of Applicant (light orientating polyorganosiloxane compound having an epoxy group [0140]) which has a repeating unit A1 containing a photo-aligned group of Applicant (cinnamic acid derivative [0140] highly oriented [0052]) and a repeating unit A2 of Applicant containing a cationically polymerizable group (remaining epoxy group, a mixture [0140]); and a thermal acid generator (acid salt … high-temperature decomposition type heat cationic polymerization latent curing accelerator [0288], generation of acid [0031]), for the purpose of providing the desired crosslinking to improve toughness (more firm [0270]) and heat resistance ([0031]).
In addition, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above) where X1 is an epoxy group ([0082]) which, being hydrophobic, has a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter of less than 10.0, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Tables 3 and 4 [0253-0254]), and where Y1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([0087]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter of less than 10.0, for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic (hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]).
Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant that is taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass, which is within the claimed range of 90% by mass or greater, of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above, in which a hydrogen bond element of a Hansen solubility parameter is expected to be less than 10.0, with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above.
Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches that the photo-aligned group contained in the repeating unit A1 of Applicant is a cinnamoyl group (cinnamic acid derivative [0078], light orientation radical preferably having a cinnamic acid structure group [0018]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, Kimura teaches that the cationically polymerizable group of the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is an epoxy group (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] where X1 is an epoxy group ([0082] in English translation; formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above) where X1 is an epoxy group ([0082]) which, being hydrophobic, has a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within a range of 16.0 or greater, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Tables 3 and 4 [0253-0254]), and where Y1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([0087]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within a range of 16.0 or greater, for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic (hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]).
Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant, as taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass, which is within the claimed range of greater than 60%, by mass of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above, in which a dispersion element of the Hansen solubility parameter is expected to be within a range of 16.0 or greater, with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above.
Regarding claims 5, 14, Kimura teaches that the polymer B of Applicant can be a homopolymer of siloxane repeating units (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above) where X1 is an epoxy group ([0082] represented by X1-2, 3rd para of page 44 in translation, [0026] of original document) which, being hydrophobic, has a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or greater, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Repeating unit B1, Table 3 [0253]), and where Y1 can be more specifically an alkoxy group ([0087]) which, also being hydrophobic, is expected to also have a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or greater, for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic (hydrocarbon compounds, ketone compounds [0099]).
Accordingly, the polymer B of Applicant, as taught by Kimura, has 100% by mass, which is within the claimed range of 10% by mass or greater, of the repeating unit represented by formula (3) of Kimura, shown above, having a Log P value that is within a range of 2.0 or higher, which contains the claimed range of 2.2 or greater, with respect to all repeating units of the polymer B of Applicant (the poly-organic siloxane with epoxy group is preferably a repeating unit represented by the formula (C3) [0080], formula (3) [0084] in English translation, formula (3) [0081] in original document, shown above), for the purpose of providing the desired good solubility in organic solvents which are hydrophobic, as described above.
Regarding claims 6, 15, Kimura teaches that a content of the polymer B of Applicant (other polyorganosiloxane [0268]) is 100 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polymer A of Applicant (relative to 100 parts by mass of light orientation polyorganosiloxane compound [0268]), which is within the claimed range of greater than 40 parts by mass.
Regarding claims 10, 19, Kimura teaches a photo-alignment film (light orientation sensitivity of the orientation film is good [0051]) which is formed of the composition for forming a photo-alignment film as described above.
Claims 8-9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as applied to claims 1-6, 10, 12-15, 19 above, and further in view of Nozoe, WO-2019/117082-A1 (US 2020/0004087 is used here as the English translation).
Kimura teaches the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, comprising: a polymer A which has a repeating unit A1 containing a photo-aligned group and a repeating unit A2 containing a cationically polymerizable group; and a polymer B which has a repeating unit B1 containing a cationically polymerizable group, but does not contain a photo-aligned group, as described above. In addition, Kimura teaches that instead of the polyorganosiloxane backbone (formula (3) [0081] of original document), polymer B of Applicant (other polymer [0231]) can have a polyacrylate backbone ([0231]), such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formulae (1) and (5) of Applicant, as evidenced by Nozoe.
Nozoe teaches that a polyorganosiloxane backbone (D-2 [0217] shown below on the left) is replaced by a polyacrylate backbone ((B-4 [0076] shown below on the right), such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formulae (1) and (5) of Applicant, where R1 of Applicant = R5 of Applicant = a hydrogen atom, and L1 of Applicant = L5 of Applicant = a divalent linking group, for the purpose of providing the desired improvement in heat resistance ([0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have replaced the polyorganosiloxane backbone of the polymer B in the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, of Kimura, with a polyacrylate backbone such that the repeating unit B1 of Applicant is a repeating unit represented by Formulae (1) and (5) of Applicant, where R1 of Applicant = R5 of Applicant = a hydrogen atom, and L1 of Applicant = L5 of Applicant = a divalent linking group, in order to obtain the desired improvement in heat resistance, as taught by Nozoe.
Claims 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as applied to claims 1-6, 10, 12-15, 19 above, and further in view of Sakurai (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-2000238490-A).
Kimura teaches the photo-alignment film formed of the composition for forming a photo-alignment film, as described above. In addition, Kimura teaches an optical laminate comprising the photo-alignment film; and a liquid crystal layer (organic semiconductor molecule is conjugated compound with conjugated double bond [0332] represented by … liquid crystal [0337-0339]) which is aligned by the photo-alignment film (orientation of the invention endues anisotropy to the organic semiconductor layer [0316]). Kimura teach that the liquid crystal layer is an anisotropic layer (anisotropy [0326]), but fails to teach that it is a light absorption anisotropic layer containing a dichroic substance.
However, Kimura teaches that the liquid crystal layer is electrically conductive when aligned (molecule orientation [0007]).
Sakurai teaches that an anisotropic layer containing liquid crystal further contains a dichroic substance, for the purpose of providing the desired wavelength light absorption (predetermined wavelength range according to the molecular structure of the … dye is absorbed, last para of page 14), and fine-tuning of alignment by electric field (last para of page 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have contained a dichroic substance in the anisotropic liquid crystal layer of the optical laminate of Kimura, to obtain a light absorption anisotropic layer, in order to provide the desired wavelength light absorption, and fine-tuning of alignment by electric field, as taught by Sakurai.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art cited above, fail to fairly teach or suggest, even in view of each other, the feature in which the polymer B has 10% by mass or greater of a repeating unit in which a value of the hydrogen bond element of the Hansen solubility parameter, is within a narrower range of 7.0 or greater and less than 10.0, because said narrower range is on the high end of the broader range of less than 10.0 of the parent claim 1. None of the prior art citied above, teach said narrower range, as evidenced by Applicant’s specification which discloses that the epoxy groups all have values that are distinctly below the lower limit of 7.0 (5.3 for B8, to 6.4 for B9, in Table 4 [0254]), and that only the one group shown below (B11 in Table 4 [0254]), not taught by the prior art cited above, has a value of the hydrogen bond element of the Hansen solubility parameter that is within the narrower range of 7.0 or greater and less than 10.0.
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782