DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method of sorbing CO2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of a polymer composition (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the additional search does not present a serious burden. This is not found persuasive, because inventions of a polymer composition and a method of sorbing CO2 belong to different classification chapters and require separate searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Newly submitted claims 25-32 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the elected claims because they are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the polymers of claims 1-16 could be used as a heterogenous proton sponge material.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits.
Note that newly submitted claims 25-32 represent the same invention as presently cancelled claims 17-24.
Accordingly, claims 25-32 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (Synthesis of novel guanidine-based ABA triblock copolymers and their antimicrobial honeycomb films, Polym. Chem., 2018, 9, 3922–3930).
Zhang teaches an antimicrobial microporous film (see Fig.3 at page 3927) formed from poly(methacryl guanidine hydrochloride)-block-polystyrene-block-poly(methacryl guanidine hydrochloride) (PMAGH-b-PS-b-PMAGH) ABA triblock copolymers (see page 3924), meeting the limitations of claim 8:
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Zhang discloses homopolymer PMAGH, where 100% mol of the repeat unit have a guanidine -derived substitution (see Table 1 at page 3926).
Claims 1-3 and 7-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiainen et al (CO2 Capture and Low-Temperature Release by Poly(aminoethyl methacrylate) and Derivatives, Langmuir 2022, 38, 5197– 5208).
Tiainen teaches microporous particles made from Poly(aminoethyl methacrylate) (PAEMA), poly- (ethylene oxide)-block-(aminoethyl methacrylate) (PEO−PAEMA), and their guanidinylated derivates, poly(guanidine ethyl methacrylate) (PGEMA) and poly(ethylene oxide)-block-(guanidine ethyl methacrylate) (PEO−PGEMA) used to study their capabilities for CO2 adsorption and release, which represents the same use as one of Applicant (see Abstract).
Tiainen discloses a polymer having both primary amine and guanidine-derived substitutes (see Scheme 3, PGEMA).
The reference discloses PGEMA polymers with 7-46% mol guanidine substitutions (see Table 2 and page 5200, right column).
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (US 20100248324).
Xu teaches a microporous powder formed from copolymer a tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(8-cyano-5-me thyl-3,6-dioxa-1-octene) (8 CNVE) having amidine pendant groups (see Example 12 at 0103 and claim 10)
The concentration of comonomer containing in the resulting functional group (i.e., amidine) in TFE copolymers may be between 0.01 and 5 mol% (see 0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang or Tiainen.
Zhang and Tiainen do not compare a surface area of substituted and unsubstituted polymers.
However, since references cited above and Applicant’s polymers have the same substitutes, their surface area comparison inherently obeys the same rules.
The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property, which is inherently present in the prior art, does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect the same surface area comparison for Zhang, Tiainen and Applicant’s compositions, since they have the same substitutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al as applied to claims 1-2 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Mattheis et al (Effect of Guanidinylation on the Properties of Poly(2-aminoethylmethacrylate)-Based Antibacterial Materials, Macromol. Biosci. 2013, 13, 242–25)
Zhang fails to teach amine -containing substitution and guanidine derivatives within the range of 10-70%.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Mattheis discloses the following copolymer (see Scheme 3 at page 23):
where PAEMA, BMA, IBAAm molar ratio is 72:22:6 (see page 23).
Mattheis discloses that IBAAm was chosen for the its ability to be covalently attached to various functional groups upon heat treatment (see page 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use IBAAm in Zhang’s compositions, since it increases polymer ability to covalently attach various functional groups upon heat treatment.
Note that the formula above also meets the limitations of claim 7, because PGEMA has two aliphatic carbons between a backbone and guanidine.
Mattheis discloses an influence of Poly(2-guanidinoethylmethacrylate) (PGEMA) content on the properties of its copolymer with Butylmethacrylate (BMA) in PGEMAcoBMA copolymer (see Scheme 2 at page 13 and Table 1) at 0, 25, 50 and 60 mol% (see page 15).
Mattheis demonstrates that at a lower BMA content in the therefore less hydrophobic terpolymers, the introduction of guanidine groups resulted in a decrease of cytotoxicity (see page 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary BMA and PGEMA content in PGEMAcoBMA copolymer in order to achieve a needed hydrophilic/ hydrophobic balance at low cytoxicity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 14-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Search for prior art does not result in a microporous composition, comprising a guanidine substitution and further having 10% mol of amine, aminomethyl group, having a backbone comprising PIM-1 and Py-PIM or having 10% mol or more of amidine substitution.
The closest prior art is represented by the following articles:
Patel et al (Noninvasive functionalization of polymers of intrinsic microporosity for enhanced CO2 capture, Chem. Commun., 2012, 48, 9989–9991) .
Patel teaches the functionalization of the polymers of intrinsic microporosity (PIMs), where inclusion of the amidoxime functionality in PIM-1 increases carbon dioxide capacity up to 17% and micropore surface area by 20% without losing its film forming ability (see Abstract).
However, Patel fails to teach such substitutes as guanidine or amidine derivatives.
Xu et al (US 20100248324).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Xu teaches a microporous powder formed from copolymer a tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(8-cyano-5-me thyl-3,6-dioxa-1-octene) (8 CNVE) having amidine pendant groups (see Example 12 at 0103 and claim 10).
However, Xu fails to teach an additional pendant amino group and amount of amidine of 10% or more. Specifically, the reference teaches that concentration of comonomer containing a functional group in the resulting functional TFE copolymers may be between 0.01 and 5 mol% (see 0024).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765