Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 12, Para. [0043], Line 10, change “moto” to –motor—
Page 13, Para. [0048], Line 3, Should “first electric motor 204” be --second electric motor 208--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The reference to “placing a d-axis of a rotor of the first electric motor close to an inactive winding of the first electric motor” appears to be copied from another application since there is nothing in the specification, or drawings, to explain what is being claimed, and it does not appear to align with the disclosure as a whole. Although “d-axis” is mentioned in the specification 4 times, it is simply a repetition of the same sentence in 4 different areas of the spec. Likewise, “inactive winding/phase” is used in the same 4 sentences, and is not defined as to how placing a d-axis of a rotor close to it relates to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. U.S. PGPub 2013/0147431 A1 (hereinafter Lim).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches a method of charging a vehicle (Lim, Para. [0002]), comprising: forming a circuit between a charging station (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 300; Paras. [0075] – [0077]) and a battery of the vehicle (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 106; Para. [0069]) through a first electric motor of the vehicle (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 101; Para. [0069]) and a second electric motor of the vehicle (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 102; Para. [0069]); and charging the battery from the charging station through the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1; Paras. [0013] – [0019]).
Regarding Claim 2, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lim teaches further comprising forming the circuit when a charging voltage level at the charging station is less than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = No, then Steps S108-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 3, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lim teaches further comprising forming a direct charging circuit between the charging station and the battery when a charging voltage level at the charging station is greater than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = Yes, then Steps S106-S115; Paras. [0096], [0112] - [0115] and [0125] – [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 4, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lim teaches further comprising interleaving a first phase of the first electric motor with a second phase of the second electric motor to reduce a ripple in a charging current at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin, then Steps S109-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0123]).
Regarding Claim 5, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/1. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein interleaving the first phase and the second phase further comprises operating the first electric motor and the second electric motor in one of: (i) a four phase interleaved mode; and (ii) a six-phase interleaved mode (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin; Paras. [0115] - [0123]).
Regarding Claim 6, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/1. Furthermore, Lim teaches further comprising placing a d-axis of a rotor of the first electric motor close to an inactive winding of the first electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin; Paras. [0115] - [0123]. Since this was not explained in the specification to any detail, it is believed to be inherent in the invention of Lim based on the premise that Lim and the instant application perform the same interleaving between the two motors. See 112 rejection of claim 6 above.).
Regarding Claim 7, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lim teaches further comprising adjusting a ramp cycle to distribute power to the first electric motor and the second electric motor proportionate to a first power capacity of the first electric motor and a second power capacity of the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S111; Paras. [0083] - [0085] and [0116] - [0123]. Where the adjusting of a ramp cycle is inherent in control by PWM performed by the controller.).
Regarding Claim 8, Lim teaches a system for charging a battery of a vehicle (Lim, Para. [0002]), comprising: a first electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 101; Para. [0069]) coupled to the battery (Lim, Fig. 1, Via Inverter 103 and Voltage Transformer 105; Paras. [0083] and [0085]); a second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 102; Para. [0069]) coupled to the battery (Lim, Fig. 1, Via Inverter 104 and Voltage Transformer 105; Paras. [0083] and [0085]); a switch for forming a circuit between a charging station and the battery through the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 107; Para. [0107]); and a processor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 200; Para. [0069], “controller”) configured to: control a configuration of the switch (Lim, Para. [0127]. Where it is inherent the switch is on for the during of the charging and turned off by the controller once charging is complete as explicitly stated in paragraph [0127].); and commence charging of the battery from the charging station through the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = No, then Steps S108-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0127]).
Regarding Claim 9, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to form the circuit when a charging voltage level at the charging station is less than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = No, then Steps S108-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 10, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to form a direct charging circuit between the charging station and the battery when a charging voltage level at the charging station is greater than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = Yes, then Steps S106-S115; Paras. [0096], [0112] - [0115] and [0125] – [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 11, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to interleave a first phase of the first electric motor with a second phase of the second electric motor to reduce a ripple in a charging current at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin, then Steps S109-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0123]).
Regarding Claim 12, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 11/8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein interleaving the first phase and the second phase further comprises operating the first electric motor and the second electric motor in one of: (i) a four phase interleaved mode; and (ii) a six-phase interleaved mode (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin; Paras. [0115] - [0123]).
Regarding Claim 13, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 11/8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to place a d-axis of a rotor of the first electric motor close to an inactive winding of the first electric motor(Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin; Paras. [0115] - [0123]. Since this was not explained in the specification to any detail, it is believed to be inherent in the invention of Lim based on the premise that Lim and the instant application perform the same interleaving between the two motors. See 112 rejection of claim 13 above.).
Regarding Claim 14, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to adjust a ramp cycle to distribute power to the first electric motor and the second electric motor proportionate to a first power capacity of the first electric motor and a second power capacity of the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S111; Paras. [0083] - [0085] and [0116] - [0123]. Where the adjusting of a ramp cycle is inherent in control by PWM performed by the controller.).
Regarding Claim 15, Lim teaches a vehicle (Lim, Para. [0010]), comprising: a battery (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 106; Para. [0069]); a first electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 101; Para. [0069]) coupled to the battery (Lim, Fig. 1, Via Inverter 103 and Voltage Transformer 105; Paras. [0083] and [0085]); a second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 102; Para. [0069]) coupled to the battery (Lim, Fig. 1, Via Inverter 104 and Voltage Transformer 105; Paras. [0083] and [0085]); a switch for forming a circuit between a charging station and the battery through the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 107; Para. [0107]); and a processor (Lim, Fig. 1, Element 200; Para. [0069], “controller”) configured to: control a configuration of the switch (Lim, Para. [0127]. Where it is inherent the switch is on for the during of the charging and turned off by the controller once charging is complete as explicitly stated in paragraph [0127].); and commence charging of the battery from the charging station through the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = No, then Steps S108-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0127]).
Regarding Claim 16, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to form the circuit when a charging voltage level at the charging station is less than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = No, then Steps S108-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 17, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to form a direct charging circuit between the charging station and the battery when a charging voltage level at the charging station is greater than a battery voltage level at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S105 = Yes, then Steps S106-S115; Paras. [0096], [0112] - [0115] and [0125] – [0127]. Where the charging station voltage is Vin and the battery voltage is Vbatt.).
Regarding Claim 18, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to interleave a first phase of the first electric motor with a second phase of the second electric motor to reduce a ripple in a charging current at the battery (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin, then Steps S109-S115; Paras. [0115] - [0123]).
Regarding Claim 19, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 18/15. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to place a d-axis of a rotor of the first electric motor close to an inactive winding of the first electric motor(Lim, Fig. 2, Step S108 switching back and forth, i.e. interleaving, between S109 (positive) and S110 (negative) based on the phase of Vin; Paras. [0115] - [0123]. Since this was not explained in the specification to any detail, it is believed to be inherent in the invention of Lim based on the premise that Lim and the instant application perform the same interleaving between the two motors. See 112 rejection of claim 19 above.).
Regarding Claim 20, The teaching of the Lim reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to adjust a ramp cycle to distribute power to the first electric motor and the second electric motor proportionate to a first power capacity of the first electric motor and a second power capacity of the second electric motor (Lim, Fig. 2, Step S111; Paras. [0083] - [0085] and [0116] - [0123]. Where the adjusting of a ramp cycle is inherent in control by PWM performed by the controller.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liang CN-112440766-A teaches interleaving to reduce ripple voltage of the DC Bus.
King et al. U.S. PGPub 2010/0096926 teaches a vehicle charging using an on-board charger through the motor inverter(s).
Zhu U.S. PGPub 2019/0092180 teaches a two motor vehicle with external source charging of the battery via the on-board inverters.
Song et al. U.S. PGPub 2012/0007552 teaches a two motor vehicle with external source charging of the battery via the on-board inverters.
Jongsuk KR-20240122236-A teaches a dual inverter-based motor charging system.
Wei CN-113541564-A teaches a two motor charging control method.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859