DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed July 27, 2023 & June 28, 2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species of ethyl propionate (EP) as the linear ester and the Species of ethyl isobutyrate (EI) as the branched ester in the reply filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19, 21-37, & 39-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG US Pub. 2022/0052319.
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery [0102], [0165],comprising: a primary lithium salt (LiPF6; [0179]); and a solvent composition comprising fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (examples of the additive may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: fluorocarbonate; [0162]; content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%;[0163]; fluorocarbonate may include fluoroethylene carbonate; [0167]), at least one linear ester (solvent used in the electrolyte of the present application includes one or more of cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, cyclic carboxylate, chain carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0159]; chain carboxylic ester may include one or more ethyl propionate; [0153]), and at least one branched ester (solvent used in the electrolyte of the present application includes one or more of cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, cyclic carboxylate, chain carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0159]; chain carboxylic ester may include one or more (solvent used in the electrolyte of the present application includes one or more of cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, cyclic carboxylate, chain carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0159]; chain carboxylic ester may include one or more ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]); wherein: a mole fraction of the FEC in the electrolyte is in a range of about 2 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%;[0163]; fluorocarbonate may include fluoroethylene carbonate; [0167]); and the electrolyte is substantially free of four-carbon cyclic carbonates (the cyclic carbonate has 3 to 6 carbon atoms; [0147]; Examiner’s Note: the cyclic carbonate may have 3, 5 or 6 carbons atoms based on the teaching in [0147]). With respect to claim 4, the at least one linear ester is selected from methyl acetate (MA), methyl propionate (MP), methyl butyrate (MB), ethyl acetate (EA), ethyl propionate (EP), ethyl butyrate (EB), propyl acetate (PA), propyl propionate (PP), propyl butyrate (PB), butyl acetate (BA), butyl propionate (BP), and butyl butyrate (BB) (solvent used in the electrolyte of the present application includes one or more of cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, cyclic carboxylate, chain carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0159]; chain carboxylic ester may include one or more ethyl propionate; [0153]). With respect to claim 5, the at least one branched ester is selected from methyl isobutyrate (MI), methyl trimethyl acetate (MT), methyl isovalerate (MIV), methyl 2-methylbutyrate (MMB), ethyl isobutyrate (EI), ethyl trimethylacetate (ET), ethyl isovalerate (EIV), ethyl 2-methylbutyrate (EMB), propyl isobutyrate (PI), propyl trimethylacetate (PT), propyl isovalerate (PTV), propyl 2-methylbutyrate (PMB), butyl isobutyrate (BI), butyl trimethylacetate (BT), butyl isovalerate (BTV), butyl 2-methylbutyrate (BMB), isopropyl acetate (IPA), isopropyl propionate (IPP), isopropyl butyrate (IPB), isopropyl isobutyrate (IPI), isopropyl trimethylacetate (IPT), isopropyl isovalerate (IPIV), isopropyl 2-methylbutyrate (IPMB), tert- butyl acetate (TBA), tert-butyl propionate (TBP), tert-butyl butyrate (TBB), tert-butyl isobutyrate (TBI), tert-butyl trimethylacetate (TBT), tert-butyl isovalerate (TBIV), tert-butyl 2-methylbutyrate (TBMB), isobutyl acetate (IBA), isobutyl propionate (IBP), isobutyl butyrate (IBB), isobutyl isobutyrate (IBI), isobutyl trimethylacetate (IBT), isobutyl isovalerate (IBIV), and isobutyl 2- methylbutyrate (IBMB) (solvent used in the electrolyte of the present application includes one or more of cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, cyclic carboxylate, chain carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0159]; chain carboxylic ester may include one or more ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]). With respect to claim 6, the at least one linear ester is ethyl propionate (EP) (ethyl propionate; [0153]) and the at least one branched ester is ethyl isobutyrate (EI) (ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]) and/or ethyl isovalerate (EIV). With respect to claim 7,
the electrolyte is substantially free of diethyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, and ethyl methyl carbonate (the cyclic carbonate has 3 to 6 carbon atoms; [0147]; Examiner’s Note: the cyclic carbonate may have 6 carbons atoms based on the teaching in [0147]). With respect to claim 8, the primary lithium salt is LiPF6 (LiPF6; [0179]). With respect to claim 9, a mole fraction of the primary lithium salt in the electrolyte is in a range from about 6 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (borate salt greater than 0.01 wt % and is smaller than 20 wt % , based on the total weight of the electrolytes [0182]). With respect to claim 10, further comprising: one or more charge-transfer additives selected from the following: lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI), lithium fluorosulfate (LiSO3F), lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB), and lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 11, the one or more charge-transfer additives comprise the lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), the lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), the lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and the lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 12, a mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 6 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)).
With respect to claim 13, the mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives is in a range of about 0.5 mol. % to about 1.5 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 14, further comprising: one or more high-temperature storage additives selected from adiponitrile, 3-(2- cyanoethoxy) propanenitrile, 1,5-dicyanopentane, 1-(cyanomethyl)cyclopropane-1-carbonitrile, 4,4-dimethylheptanedinitrile, trans-1,4-dicyano-2-butene, 1,3,6-hexanetricarbonitrile, 3-{[1,3- bis(2-cyanoethoxy)propan-2-yl]oxy} propanenitrile, 1-(propan-2-yl)-1H-imidazole-4,5- dicarbonitrile, pyridine-2,6-dicarbonitrile, ethylene glycol bis(propionitrile) ether, 3- (triethoxysilyl) propionitrile, succinonitrile, benzonitrile, 4-(trifluoromethyl) benzonitrile, 1,2,2,3- propanetetracarbonitrile, triisopropyl borate, 1-propene 1,3-sultone, 1,3-propanesultone, phenyl disulfide, sulfolane, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, succinic anhydride, maleic anhydride, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphate, dimethoxydiphenylsilane, tris(trimethylsilyl) borate, 3-(triethoxysilyl)propyl isocyanate, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide (DTD), and methylene methanedisulfonate (MMDS) (the electrolyte includes a compound with a cyano group(s), and the compound with a cyano group(s) includes at least one of adiponitrile [0123], 1,5-dicyanopentane; [0024], [0103]). With respect to claim 15, a mole fraction of the one or more high-temperature storage additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 3 mol. % (compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.001 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.01 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.1 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is smaller than 10 wt % and smaller than 10 wt %; [0138]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 16, further comprising: at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate selected from ethylene carbonate and vinylene carbonate (additive includes one or more kinds of ethylene carbonate containing carbon-carbon double bonds, such as vinylene carbonate; [0168]). With respect to claim 17, a mole fraction of the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.5 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 18, the mole fraction of the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 1 mol. % to about 6 mol. % (total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 19, a lithium-ion battery [0042], comprising: an anode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); and the electrolyte of claim 1 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode (electrolyte;[0044]). With respect to claim 21,
an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery [0042], comprising: a primary lithium salt (LiPF6 ; [0180]); and a solvent composition comprising fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (examples of the additive may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: fluorocarbonate; [0162]; content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; [0163]; fluorocarbonate may include fluoroethylene carbonate; [0167]), at least one ester (ethyl propionate and ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]) , and at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate; wherein (additive includes one or more kinds of ethylene carbonate containing carbon-carbon double bonds, such as vinylene carbonate; [0168]): a mole fraction of the FEC in the electrolyte is in a range of about 2 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%;[0163]; fluorocarbonate may include fluoroethylene carbonate; [0167]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.); a total mole fraction of the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.5 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; [0163]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.); and the electrolyte is substantially free of four-carbon cyclic carbonates (the electrolyte is substantially free of four-carbon cyclic carbonates (the cyclic carbonate has 3 to 6 carbon atoms; [0147]; Examiner’s Note: the cyclic carbonate may have 3, 5 or 6 carbons atoms based on the teaching in [0147]). With respect to claim 24, wherein the at least one ester is selected from methyl acetate (MA), methyl propionate (MP), methyl butyrate (MB), ethyl acetate (EA), ethyl propionate (EP), ethyl butyrate (EB), propyl acetate (PA), propyl propionate (PP), propyl butyrate (PB), butyl acetate (BA), butyl propionate (BP), butyl butyrate (BB), methyl isobutyrate (MI), methyl trimethyl acetate (MT), methyl isovalerate (MI), methyl 2-methylbutyrate (MMB), ethyl isobutyrate (EI), ethyl trimethylacetate (ET), ethyl isovalerate (EIV), ethyl 2-methylbutyrate (EMB), propyl isobutyrate (PI), propyl trimethylacetate (PT), propyl isovalerate (PIV), propyl 2- methylbutyrate (PMB), butyl isobutyrate (BI), butyl trimethylacetate (BT), butyl isovalerate (BIV), butyl 2-methylbutyrate (BMB), isopropyl acetate (IPA), isopropyl propionate (IPP), isopropyl butyrate (IPB), isopropyl isobutyrate (IPI), isopropyl trimethylacetate (IPT), isopropyl isovalerate (IPIV), isopropyl 2-methylbutyrate (IPMB), tert-butyl acetate (TBA), tert-butyl propionate (TBP), tert-butyl butyrate (TBB), tert-butyl isobutyrate (TBI), tert-butyl trimethylacetate (TBT), tert-butyl isovalerate (TBTV), tert-butyl 2-methylbutyrate (TBMB), isobutyl acetate (IBA), isobutyl propionate (IBP), isobutyl butyrate (IBB), isobutyl isobutyrate (IBI), isobutyl trimethylacetate (IBT), isobutyl isovalerate (IBIV), and isobutyl 2-methylbutyrate (IBMB) (ethyl propionate and ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]). With respect to claim 25, wherein the at least one ester comprises the ethyl acetate (EA), the ethyl propionate (EP), the ethyl isobutyrate (EI), and/or the ethyl isovalerate (EIV) (ethyl propionate and ethyl isobutyrate; [0153]). With respect to claim 26, the at least one ester comprises a mixture of the ethyl acetate (EA) and the ethyl propionate (EP) (solvent used in the electrolyte includes at least one of ethyl propionate or ethyl acetate; [0159]). With respect to claim 27, the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate is selected from ethylene carbonate and vinylene carbonate (additive includes one or more kinds of ethylene carbonate containing carbon-carbon double bonds, such as vinylene carbonate; [0168]). With respect to claim 28, the electrolyte is substantially free of diethyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, and ethyl methyl carbonate(the cyclic carbonate has 3 to 6 carbon atoms; [0147]; Examiner’s Note: the cyclic carbonate may have 6 carbons atoms based on the teaching in [0147]). With respect to claim 29,
the primary lithium salt is LiPF6 (LiPF6 ; [0180]). With respect to claim 30, a mole fraction of the primary lithium salt in the electrolyte is in a range from about 6 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (borate salt greater than 0.01 wt % and is smaller than 20 wt % , based on the total weight of the electrolytes [0182]). With respect to claim 31, further comprising: one or more charge-transfer additives selected from lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI), lithium fluorosulfate (LiSO3F), lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB), and lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 32, the one or more charge-transfer additives comprise the lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), the lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), the lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and the lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 33, a mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 6 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 34, the mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives is in a range of about 0.5 mol. % to about 1.5 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 35, further comprising: one or more high-temperature storage additives selected from adiponitrile, 3-(2- cyanoethoxy) propanenitrile, 1,5-dicyanopentane, 1-(cyanomethyl)cyclopropane-1-carbonitrile, 4,4-dimethylheptanedinitrile, trans-1,4-dicyano-2-butene, 1,3,6-hexanetricarbonitrile, 3-{[1,3- bis(2-cyanoethoxy)propan-2-yl]oxy} propanenitrile, 1-(propan-2-yl)-1H-imidazole-4,5- dicarbonitrile, pyridine-2,6-dicarbonitrile, ethylene glycol bis(propionitrile) ether, 3- (triethoxysilyl) propionitrile, succinonitrile, benzonitrile, 4-(trifluoromethyl) benzonitrile, 1,2,2,3- propanetetracarbonitrile, triisopropyl borate, 1-propene 1,3-sultone, 1,3-propanesultone, phenyl disulfide, sulfolane, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, succinic anhydride, maleic anhydride, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphate, dimethoxydiphenylsilane, tris(trimethylsilyl) borate, 3-(triethoxysilyl)propyl isocyanate, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide (DTD), and methylene methanedisulfonate (MMDS) (the electrolyte includes a compound with a cyano group(s), and the compound with a cyano group(s) includes at least one of adiponitrile [0123], 1,5-dicyanopentane; [0024], [0103]). With respect to claim 36, a mole fraction of the one or more high-temperature storage additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 3 mol. % (compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.001 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.01 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.1 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is smaller than 10 wt % and smaller than 10 wt %; [0138]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 37,. a lithium-ion battery [0042], comprising: an anode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); and the electrolyte of claim 1 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode (electrolyte;[0044]). With respect to claim 39,. the anode comprises graphitic carbon particles comprising carbon and being substantially free of silicon (Examples of the anode active material may include, but are not limited to, a carbon material such as natural graphite and artificial graphite; [0191]). With respect to claim 40, an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery, comprising: a primary lithium salt (LiPF6 ; [0180]); and a solvent composition comprising fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and at least one linear carbonate (one or more of the following: cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, carboxylic ester, cyclic ether, chain ether, phosphorus-containing organic solvents, sulfur-containing organic solvents, and aromatic fluorine-containing solvents; [0146]; chain carbonate such as dimethyl carbonate; [0148]); wherein: a mole fraction of the FEC in the electrolyte is in a range of about 2 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (examples of the additive may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: fluorocarbonate; [0162]; content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; [0163]; fluorocarbonate may include fluoroethylene carbonate; [0167]); the electrolyte is substantially free of four-carbon cyclic carbonates (the cyclic carbonate has 3 to 6 carbon atoms; [0147]; Examiner’s Note: the cyclic carbonate may have 3, 5 or 6 carbons atoms based on the teaching in [0147]); and the electrolyte is substantially free of any linear carbonate of molecular weight greater than 117 (one or more of the following: cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, carboxylic ester, cyclic ether, chain ether, phosphorus-containing organic solvents, sulfur-containing organic solvents, and aromatic fluorine-containing solvents; [0146]; chain carbonate such as dimethyl carbonate; [0148]; Examiner’s Note: based on the cited disclosure, one solvent must be used). With respect to claim 41, the at least one linear carbonate is selected from ethyl methyl carbonate and dimethyl carbonate (one or more of the following: cyclic carbonate, chain carbonate, carboxylic ester, cyclic ether, chain ether, phosphorus-containing organic solvents, sulfur-containing organic solvents, and aromatic fluorine-containing solvents; [0146]; chain carbonate such as dimethyl carbonate; [0148]; Examiner’s Note: based on the cited disclosure, one solvent must be used); and the total mole fraction of the at least one linear carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 60 mol. % to about 75 mol. % (the electrolyte contains 1 wt % to 60 wt % chain carboxylate, cyclic carboxylate and a combination thereof; [0160]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 42,
the primary lithium salt is LiPF6 (LiPF6 ; [0180]). With respect to claim 43,
a mole fraction of the primary lithium salt in the electrolyte is in a range from about 6 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (borate salt greater than 0.01 wt % and is smaller than 20 wt % , based on the total weight of the electrolytes [0182]). With respect to claim 44, further comprising: one or more charge-transfer additives selected from lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI), lithium fluorosulfate (LiSO3F), lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB), and lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 45, the one or more charge-transfer additives comprise the lithium difluorophosphate (LFO), the lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4), the lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and/or the lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB) (In case of using two or more electrolytes, the electrolytes include at least one salt selected from a group consisting of monofluorophosphate, borate, oxalate and fluorosulfonate; [0182]; LiPF6 is a monofluorophosphate [0180]; lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate is an oxalate [0180]; the salt is favorable for improving the output power characteristic, the high-power charge and discharge characteristic, the high-temperature storage characteristic, the cycle characteristic and the like of the electrochemical device; [0180]). With respect to claim 46, a mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 6 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 47, the mole fraction of the one or more charge-transfer additives is in a range of about 0.5 mol. % to about 1.5 mol. % (the total molar concentration of lithium in the electrolyte is greater than 0.3 mol/L, greater than 0.4 mol/L, or greater than 0.5 mol/L; [0181]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 48, further comprising: one or more high-temperature storage additives selected from adiponitrile, 3-(2- cyanoethoxy) propanenitrile, 1,5-dicyanopentane, 1-(cyanomethyl)cyclopropane-1-carbonitrile, 4,4-dimethylheptanedinitrile, trans-1,4-dicyano-2-butene, 1,3,6-hexanetricarbonitrile, 3-{[1,3- bis(2-cyanoethoxy)propan-2-yl]oxy} propanenitrile, 1-(propan-2-yl)-1H-imidazole-4,5- dicarbonitrile, pyridine-2,6-dicarbonitrile, ethylene glycol bis(propionitrile) ether, 3- Page 11 of 16 (triethoxysilyl) propionitrile, succinonitrile, benzonitrile, 4-(trifluoromethyl) benzonitrile, 1,2,2,3- propanetetracarbonitrile, triisopropyl borate, 1-propene 1,3-sultone, 1,3-propanesultone, phenyl disulfide, sulfolane, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, succinic anhydride, maleic anhydride, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphate, dimethoxydiphenylsilane, tris(trimethylsilyl) borate, 3-(triethoxysilyl)propyl isocyanate, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide (DTD), and methylene methanedisulfonate (MMDS) (the electrolyte includes a compound with a cyano group(s), and the compound with a cyano group(s) includes at least one of adiponitrile [0123], 1,5-dicyanopentane; [0024], [0103]). With respect to claim 49, a mole fraction of the one or more high-temperature storage additives in the electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 3 mol. % (compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.001 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.01 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is greater than 0.1 wt %. In some embodiments, based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the compound with a cyano group(s) is smaller than 10 wt % and smaller than 10 wt %; [0138]; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 50, further comprising: at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate selected from ethylene carbonate and vinylene carbonate (additive includes one or more kinds of ethylene carbonate containing carbon-carbon double bonds, such as vinylene carbonate; [0168]). With respect to claim 51, a mole fraction of the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 1 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 52,
the mole fraction of the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 15 mol. % to about 30 mol. % (total weight of the electrolyte, the content of the additive is 0.01% to 15%, 0.1% to 10%, or 1% to 5%; Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.)). With respect to claim 53, a lithium-ion battery [0042], comprising: an anode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); and the electrolyte of claim 1 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode (electrolyte;[0044]).
WANG does not teach or suggest: a total mole fraction of the at least one linear ester and the at least one branched ester in the electrolyte is at least about 45 mol. %; a molar ratio of the at least one linear ester to the at least one branched ester is in a range of about 1:10 to about 20:1 (claim 1); the total mole fraction of the at least one linear ester and the at least one branched ester in the electrolyte is in a range of about 60 mol. % to about 75 mol. % (claim 2); the molar ratio of the at least one linear ester to the at least one branched ester is in a range of about 1:1 to about 2:1 (claim 3); a total mole fraction of the at least one ester in the electrolyte is at least about 40 mol. % (claim 21); the total mole fraction of the at least one ester in the electrolyte is in a range of about 45 mol. % to about 70 mol. % (claim 22); a molar ratio of the at least one ester to the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate is in a range of about 1.5:1 to about 20:1 (claim 23); a total mole fraction of the at least one linear carbonate in the electrolyte is at least 40 mol. % (claim 40).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a total mole fraction of the at least one linear ester and the at least one branched ester in the electrolyte is at least about 45 mol. %; in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Further concerning claim 1, it would have been obvious to employ a molar ratio of the at least one linear ester to the at least one branched ester is in a range of about 1:10 to about 20:1 (claim 1); in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 2, the total mole fraction of the at least one linear ester and the at least one branched ester in the electrolyte being in a range of about 60 mol. % to about 75 mol. %; it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to the molar ratio of the at least one linear ester to the at least one branched ester being in a range of about 1:1 to about 2:1 (claim 3) ; it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a total mole fraction of the at least one ester in the electrolyte being at least about 40 mol. % (claim 21); it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to the total mole fraction of the at least one ester in the electrolyte being in a range of about 45 mol. % to about 70 mol. % (claim 22); it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a molar ratio of the at least one ester to the at least one non-FEC cyclic carbonate being in a range of about 1.5:1 to about 20:1 (claim 23); it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a total mole fraction of the at least one linear carbonate in the electrolyte being at least 40 mol. % (claim 40); it would have been obvious to employ in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 38, & 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG US Pub. 2022/0052319 in view of YUSHIN et al. US Pub. 2021/0313617.
WANG teaches and electrolyte as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claims 20, 38, & 54, the anode includes (B) graphitic carbon particles comprising carbon and being substantially free of silicon (the anode active material may include, but are not limited to, a carbon material such as natural graphite and artificial graphite; metal such as silicon (Si). See paragraph [0191]).
WANG does not teach or suggest: the anode comprising (A) silicon-comprising particles comprising silicon and carbon, and and a mass of the silicon is in a range of about 1.5 wt. % to about 60 wt. % of a total mass of the anode (claims 20, 38, & 54).
YUSHIN teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the anode comprising (A) silicon-comprising particles comprising silicon and carbon, (anode materials for use in Li-ion batteries; Si-carbon composites; may reduce volume changes during Li-ion insertion and extraction, which, in turn, may lead to better cycle stability in rechargeable Li-ion cells; [0057]; claims 20, 38, & 54).
WANG and YUSHIN are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabrication lithium-ion batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ (A) silicon-comprising particles comprising silicon and carbon of YUSHIN, in the anode of the lithium-ion battery of WANG, in order to reduce volume changes during Li-ion insertion and extraction, which, in turn, may lead to better cycle stability in rechargeable Li-ion cells. Further concerning claims 20, 38, & 54, it would have been obvious to employ a mass of the silicon in a range of about 1.5 wt. % to about 60 wt. % of a total mass of the anode, in the anode of WANG in view of YUSHIN, as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN et al, CN-107666011-A.
With respect to claim 55, SHEN teaches an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery (See title), comprising: a primary lithium salt (lithium hexafluorophosphate; See Equivalent Abstract); and a solvent composition comprising at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate (The solvent further comprises ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate ; See Equivalent Abstract); and ethyl trimethylacetate (ET) (volume of carboxylic acid ester chain is 70-95% (preferably 90-95%); The carboxylic acid ester chain is ethyl trimethylacetate; See Equivalent Abstract); or wherein: the at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate comprises ethylene carbonate (EC) The solvent further comprises ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate ; See Equivalent Abstract); and the electrolyte is substantially free of four-carbon cyclic carbonates (presence of a four-carbon cyclic carbonates is not required). With respect to claim 57, the primary lithium salt is LiPF6 (lithium hexafluorophosphate; See Equivalent Abstract). With respect to claim 60, the at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and/or vinylene carbonate (The solvent further comprises ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate ; See Equivalent Abstract). With respect to claim 61,
the electrolyte is substantially free of linear carbonates (presence of linear carbonates is not required).
SHEN does not teach or suggest: a mole fraction of the ET in the electrolyte is at least about 50 mol. % (claim 55); the mole fraction of the ET in the electrolyte is in a range of about 50 mol. % to about 80 mol. % (claim 56); a mole fraction of the primary lithium salt in the electrolyte is in a range from about 6 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (claim 58); a mole fraction of the at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte is in a range of about 20 mol. % to about 40 mol. % (claim 59).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a mole fraction of the ET in the electrolyte is at least about 50 mol. % (claim 55); in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of SHEN, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to the mole fraction of the ET in the electrolyte in a range of about 50 mol. % to about 80 mol. % (claim 56); it would have been obvious in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of SHEN, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a mole fraction of the primary lithium salt in the electrolyte in a range from about 6 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (claim 58); it would have been obvious in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of SHEN, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a mole fraction of the at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate in the electrolyte in a range of about 20 mol. % to about 40 mol. % (claim 59); it would have been obvious in the electrolyte of the lithium-ion battery of SHEN, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. The skilled artisan recognizes that the amounts of solvent and additives directly effect ion conductivity. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 62-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN et al, CN-107666011-A in view of WANG US Pub. 2022/0052319.
SHEN teaches an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery (See title), comprising: a primary lithium salt (lithium hexafluorophosphate; See Equivalent Abstract); and a solvent composition comprising at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate (The solvent further comprises ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate ; See Equivalent Abstract); and ethyl trimethylacetate (ET) (volume of carboxylic acid ester chain is 70-95% (preferably 90-95%); The carboxylic acid ester chain is ethyl trimethylacetate; See Equivalent Abstract); or wherein: the at least one three-carbon cyclic carbonate comprises ethylene carbonate (EC) The solvent further comprises ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate ; See Equivalent Abstract); as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Although SHEN teaches a lithium-ion battery, including an anode and cathode: the regence does not explicitly disclose: an anode current collector; a cathode current collector; an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector; a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector; and the electrolyte of claim 55 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode (claim 62); the anode comprises graphitic carbon particles comprising carbon and being substantially free of silicon (claim 63).
WANG teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a lithium-ion battery [0042], comprising: an anode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode current collector (cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector (coating mixed slurry including an active material; [0042]; cathode or anode current collector; [0042]); and the electrolyte of claim 1 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode (electrolyte;[0044]; claim 62); the anode comprises graphitic carbon particles comprising carbon and being substantially free of silicon (presence of linear carbonates is not required; Examples of the anode active material may include, but are not limited to, a carbon material such as natural graphite and artificial graphite; [0191]; claim 63).
SHEN and WANG are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabrication lithium-ion batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a lithium-ion battery, including an anode and cathode: the regence does not explicitly disclose: an anode current collector; a cathode current collector; an anode disposed on and/or in the anode current collector; a cathode disposed on and/or in the cathode current collector; and the electrolyte of claim 55 ionically coupling the anode and the cathode of WANG, as the lithium-ion battery of SHEN, as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723