DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horie (US 2024/0291016 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Horie teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a battery, the apparatus comprising: a conductor conveyor configured to convey a conductor (21) adapted to function as an electrode that is an element of the all-solid state battery using a gel polymer electrolyte ([0027] & [0057]); an insulator conveyor (1200+1400) to convey an insulator adapted to function as an insulating member that is an element of the battery ([0055], [0059] & [0067]); a cutter configured to form an insulating frame (35) that is an element of the battery, in the insulator, a cutter configured to punch and cut the insulator in corresponding with a shape of the insulating member ([0059]); and a laminator-pressurizer configured to laminate and pressurize the conductor conveyed by the conductor conveyor and the insulator punched and cut by the cutter ([0058]); wherein, the conductor conveyor includes two types of conveyor: a positive electrode conductor conveyor for transporting conductors that will become positive electrodes, and a negative electrode conductor conveyor for transporting conductors that will become negative electrodes ([0054] & [0057]); and furthermore, the apparatus continuously produces unit cells in which a solid electrolyte layer is laminated between positive electrodes obtained as a continuous body in the positive electrode transport system and negative electrodes obtained as a continuous body in the negative electrode transport system ([0003], [0070] & [0148]).
Regarding claim 2, Horie teaches the insulator conveyor conveying the insulator together with a carrier sheet (40B) while fitting the carrier sheet on the insulator such that the insulator and the carrier sheet are layered on each other ([0151]), and the cutter forming a cut in the insulator conveyed by the insulator conveyor ([0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Horie teaches a peeler provided downstream of the laminator-pressurizer in a conveying direction of the insulator conveyor, and configured to peel off a portion of the insulator, the portion being other than a portion shaped by the cutter into the insulating member that is the element of the all-solid state battery ([0071]-[0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2024/0291016 A1) in view of Miyazaki (US 2014/0059855 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Horie teaches the apparatus of claim 1 but is silent as to at least one of the conductor conveyor or the insulator conveyor including a tensioner configured to hold the conductor or the insulator under a tension in an area upstream of the laminator-pressurizer in a conveying direction of the conductor conveyor and the insulator conveyor. Miyazaki teaches an apparatus for producing a battery, the apparatus comprising a tensioner configured to hold an insulator (13) under a tension in an area upstream of a laminator-pressurizer (26) in a conveying direction of an insulator conveyor (130) ([0022]-[0023], [0025]-[0026] & [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide a tensioner, as presently claimed, in order to set the tension of the separator comparatively low and prevent possible problems, such as the separator snapping or contracting after folding and also to prevent problems such as creases being produced and warping during folding due to the tension of the separator being too weak.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As presently claimed, the subject matter of claims 1-2 & 4 is found to be anticipated by Horie with claim 3 being found obvious in view of Miyazaki as noted in the above updated rejection. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-4 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727