DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitation “a sliding path of the sun visor lens relative to the back plane is defined solely by the magnetic attraction” is not found in the specification. The use of the word “solely” makes the limitation a negative limitation and “Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure.” See MPEP 2173.05(i). Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller (US Pat 8,544,933) in view of Peterson (US Pat 3,825,296), Metier (US Pat 3,369,837), Magness (US Pat 2,239,240), Damari (US Pat 9,073,409), and McKnight (US PG Pub 2022/0410671).
Regarding claim 1, Examiner interprets “an integrated structure arranged between the hand-held projecting sheet and the sun visor lens” to mean that the hand-held projecting sheet and the sun visor lens are a continuous structure and the hand-held projecting sheet is integrated into the sun visor lens, based on the specification and drawings provided.
Fuller discloses a sun visor for cars, comprising a back plane 102 and a sun visor lens 112, wherein an inner portion 402 of the back plane 102 is fixedly connected with a metallic magnetic sheet 400 (see Figures 4A-B; Col. 3, lines 20-27), a left portion of an upper end of the back plane 102 is fixedly connected with a left buckle 104A, and a right portion of the upper end of the back plane 102 is fixedly connected with a right buckle 104A (see Figures 1-3; Col. 2, lines 41-63); a rear portion of an upper end of the sun visor lens 112 is fixedly connected with a sun visor bottom plate 502, a middle portion of an upper end of the sun visor bottom plate 502 is inserted in a middle portion of the back plane 102; a middle portion of a front end of the sun visor lens 112 is provided with a hand-held projecting sheet 114, and a first magnet 500A and a second magnet 500B are positioned on the sun visor lens 112 (see Figure 5A; Col. 3, line 53-Col. 4, line 32); the metallic magnetic sheet is fixed between middle portions of opposite surfaces of two fixing plates (see Col. 3, lines 20-32), and wherein both upper end surfaces of the plurality of first magnets 500A and upper end surfaces of the plurality of second magnets 500B are flush with an upper end surface of the sun visor bottom plate 502 (see Figures 5A-B; Col. 3, line 53-Col. 4, line 60).
Fuller fails to disclose the metallic magnetic sheet is iron, a plurality of first magnets and a plurality of second magnets, and two second magnets are distributed transversely between the two adjacent first magnets; the back plane is made by sewing two fixing plates with the sewing thread and the iron sheet is fixed by glue; an integrated structure is arranged between the hand-held projecting sheet and the sun visor lens and the sun visor bottom plate is pasted on the sun visor lens by glue; and a sliding path of the sun visor lens relative to the back plane is defined solely by the magnetic attraction.
Peterson discloses a sun visor 226 for a vehicle that is adjustable in position by using a magnetically attractable ball 244 made from iron, steel, or nickel that attracts a magnet 250 (see Figures 7-9; Col. 6, lines 33-47).
Metier discloses a sun visor for cars comprising a back plane 10 and a sun visor lens 35, a left portion of an upper end of the back plane 10 is fixedly connected with a left buckle 23, and a right portion of the upper end of the back plane 10 is fixedly connected with a right buckle 25 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 1, lines 66-71); a middle portion of an upper end of the back plane 10 is fixedly connected with a plurality of first magnets 33 and a plurality of second magnets 31 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 1-11, 33-56). Two second magnets 31 are distributed transversely between the two adjacent first magnets 33 (see annotated Figure 1 below; Col. 2, lines 1-11). A sliding path of the sun visor lens 35 relative to the back plane 10 is defined solely by magnetic attraction (see Col. 2, lines 42-56). The magnets 31 allow the sun visor lens 35 to be moved either downwardly or laterally with respect to the back plane 10 to increase the effective shading area of the vehicle visor (see Col. 2, lines 39-56).
Magness discloses a sun visor for cars comprising a back plane 2 and a sun visor lens 10 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 18-28, 42-51), a middle portion of a front end of the sun visor lens 20 is provided with a hand-held projecting sheet 17 (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 31-37), and a sewing thread 7 is sewn between peripheries of the upper end of the back plane 16 (see Figure 9; Col. 2, lines 18-28). A rubber grip 18 is provided on the hand-held projecting sheet 17 to provide a more secure means of holding the hand-held projecting sheet 17 (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 31-37). A back plane 6 is made by sewing two fixing plates 4 with sewing thread 7 (see Figures 5-9; Col. 2, lines 18-28).
The claimed phrases “a sewing thread is sewn” and “is made by sewing two fixing plates with sewing thread” are being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the end product of Magness (with reference to sewing end product). As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. It is noted however that Magness teaches “stitching” which generally requires thread and sewing.
Damari discloses a sun visor extender 10 for a car having a back plane 46, a sun visor panel 42 and left and right buckles 48, 50 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 24-28, 61-67). The sun visor panel 42 has two panels, 40, 42 that are connected in a non-separable manner by glue (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 34-43).
McKnight discloses a sun visor 100 having a sun visor lens 106 with a hand-held projection 206 that is integrated into the sun visor lens 106 (see Paragraphs 37-38 and 44). The sun visor 100 uses glue to secure two panels together (see Paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the metallic metal sheet of Fuller from iron, with a reasonable expectation of success, because iron is ferromagnetic material that readily attracts a magnet is widely available, as taught by Peterson.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the sun visor bottom plate of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, with a plurality of first magnets and a plurality of second magnets to fixedly connect the sun visor lens to the back plane with two second magnets distributed transversely between the two adjacent first magnets, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a removable connecting means that is simple, secure, and readily available, as taught by Metier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to define a sliding path of the sun visor lens of Fuller, as modified by Person and Metier, solely by the magnetic attraction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase the effective shading area of the vehicle visor while allowing multiple positions of the sun visor lens to be used without requiring additional hardware, as taught by Metier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to sew two fixing plates with sewing thread to form the back plane of Fuller, as modified by Peterson and Metier twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a simple and well-known means of producing the back plane, as taught by Magness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to glue the iron sheet of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, and Magness, to a middle portion of the fixing plate, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a non-separable means of securing the iron sheet, as taught by Damari.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hand-held projecting sheet and the sun visor lens of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, and Damari, as an integrated structure, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by McKnight, to simplify the manufacturing process and cut costs by avoiding the use of excess materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to fix the sun visor bottom plate of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight, to the sun visor lens using glue, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by McKnight, to provide a means of securing the sun visor bottom plate that would remain durable and secure after repeated use.
Regarding claim 6, as understood, Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, discloses the sun visor for cars according to claim 1, wherein the sun visor lens 112 and the back plane 102 are connected with each other by magnetic attraction (see Col. 4, lines 9-22). It is noted that the use of “and” in the listing of additional connecting means is inclusive, indicating that both connecting means are present in the same embodiment.
Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, fails to disclose the sun visor lens and back plane are additionally connected with each other by means of glue and hook and loop fasteners.
A second embodiment of Fuller discloses a sun visor for cars having a sun visor lens 112 and a back plane 102 that are connected with each other by magnetic attraction, and are connected with each other by means of rollers 1110 (see Figures 10-12; Col. 5, line 53-Col. 6, line 15). The rollers 1110 are used to better secure the sun visor lens 112 and back plane 102 when there is a loss of magnetic bond (see Col. 5, lines 53-58).
A third embodiment of Fuller discloses a sun visor lens 600 that is attached to the base plate 102 using hook and loop material 900 (see Figures 9A-B; Col. 5, lines 35-52.
Damari discloses a sun visor extender 10 for a car having a back plane 46, a sun visor panel 42 and left and right buckles 48, 50 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 24-28, 61-67). The sun visor panel 42 has two panels, 40, 42 that are connected in a non-separable manner by glue (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the sun visor lens and back plane of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, McKnight twice, using hook and loop fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure that the sun visor lens remains in place when a loss of magnetic attraction occurs, as taught by a third embodiment of Fuller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the sun visor lens and back plane of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, McKnight twice, and a third embodiment of Fuller, using glue, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Damari, to ensure that the sun visor lens remains in place when a loss of magnetic attraction occurs, as taught by the second embodiment of Fuller.
Claim 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, in view of Brule (US Pat 8,226,149) and Monahan et al. (US Pat 6,648,396).
Regarding claim 4, Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, disclose the sun visor for cars according to claim 1, wherein the left buckle 104A comprises a fixing belt, one end of the fixing belt is sleeved with a fixing buckle lock, and one end of the fixing belt away from the fixing buckle lock is sleeved with a fixing release buckle (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 41-63).
Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, fail to disclose a front portion of an outer surface of the fixing belt is sleeved with a Tri glide button, and both a front portion of a lower end and a rear portion of the lower end of the fixing belt are sewn to a front side of the left portion of the upper end and a rear side of the left portion of the upper end of the back plane by the sewing thread.
Brule discloses a sun visor 101 for a car with a connecting means 103, 104 having a front portion of an outer surface of the fixing belt 108 sleeved with a Tri glide button 109 (see Figure 1C; Col. 3, lines 58-61).
Monahan et al. disclose a sun visor lens 12 having straps 24 attached to a lower end of the sun visor lens by being sewn into the lower hem 18 of the sun visor lens 12 (see Figures 1-5; Col. 3, lines 29-45). The lower hem 18 is formed by sewing sewing thread in a fabric of the sun visor lens 12 (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a front portion of an outer surface of the fixing belt of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, and McKnight twice, with a Tri glide button, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Brule, to provide an adjustment means that would allow use of the sun visor in multiple vehicles with differing sun visor sizes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to sew both a front portion of a lower end and a rear portion of the lower end of the fixing belt of Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, McKnight twice, and Brule, to a front side of the left portion of the upper end and a rear side of the left portion of the upper end of the back plane by sewing thread, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Monahan et al., to avoid using additional means of securing the fixing belt that would require additional cost to manufacture.
Regarding claim 5, Fuller, as modified by Peterson, Metier twice, Magness, Damari, McKnight twice, Brule, and Monahan et al., disclose the sun visor for cars according to claim 4, wherein the fixing buckle lock is engaged with the fixing release buckle, and a structure of the left buckle 104A is consistent with a structure of the right buckle 104B (see Figures 1-8; Col. 2, lines 41-63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
On page 4 of Remarks, filed June 11, 2026, Applicant asserts that no new matter has been added, but does not provide specific support for amendments made to claim 1 found in the specification. A new matter rejection is therefore outlined above.
On page 4 of Remarks, filed June 11, 2026, Applicant asserts that “Metier teaches magnets secured to a panel for static engagement with a metal roof. The magnets are designed for fixed attachment, not for sliding between two planar components. Metier actually teaches away from using magnets for sliding guidance.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Metier does not teach that the magnets are used to attach a panel to a metal roof. Metier indeed teaches a sun visor very similar to Applicant’s invention. The sun visor of Metier includes a plate 10 that is attached to a roof of a vehicle by clips or springs 23, 25 and flat, metal plate 35 that is magnetically affixed to the plate 10 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 1, lines 65-71; Col. 2, lines 1-10). The flat, metal plate 35 is able to be moved to various configurations on the plate 10 to increase the effective shading area of the sun visor (see Col. 2, lines 40-56). The movement of the flat, metal plate 35 occurs by sliding along the plate 10 and maintaining position by magnets 29, 31 (see Col. 2, lines 40-56). This means that “a sliding path of the sun visor lens [of Metier] relative to the back plane is defined solely by the magnetic attraction”. The assertion that Metier teaches away from a sliding path by magnetic attraction is unsubstantiated. Therefore, the rejection presented above and relying upon the teaching of Metier is appropriate and reasonable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gabas (US Pat 5,177,643) discloses a sun visor for a vehicle having a hinged cover and a fixing belts. Zetterlund (US Pat 5,466,029) discloses a sun visor having a sun visor lens used to increase an effective shading area of the sun visor. McNutt et al. (US Pat 6,309,004) disclose a sun visor lens for a sun visor having a fixing belt. Yang (US Pat 5,040,841) discloses an attachment for a sun visor that is affixed to a sun visor by magnets.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612